DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Response to Amendment / Arguments
The response and amendments, filed 2/5/26, has been entered. Claims 1-10 are pending upon entry of this Amendment. The previous objections of claim 10 is withdrawn due to amendment. Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered:
on pages 5-7 of Remarks, Applicant is arguing 112 (a) rejection of claims 1 and 10 and arguing the state of the prior art provides evidence for the degree of predictability in the art and is related to the amount of direction or guidance to meet the enablement requirement and a person of ordinary skill in the art would be capable of making and using the full scope of the claimed invention. Applicant argues “One non-limiting test is potentiometric titration” and the claims recite mechanical elements, which are deemed by the MPEP to be "predictable factors" for which broad enablement may be established through a single embodiment. The above-referenced excerpts establish at least a single embodiment for the claimed method. The state of the prior art also provides evidence of the amount of direction required for enablement.
Response:
In response and in accordance with applicants arguments (that one non-limiting test is potentiometric titration), and the examiner’s previous assertion (that the Hassell reference "teaches to estimate an amount of water in the fluid" and "estimating a water content of the core sample . .. using the estimated amount of water in the fluid" ) and that these steps are, therefore, "within the purview of a skilled artesian, and the limitation in question is broadly met by the prior art (Hassell) teaching. Examiner withdraws the 112 (a) rejection.
on page 7 of Remarks, Applicant is arguing 112 (b) rejection of claim 8, and because term “selective” has dictionary meaning the claim is definite.
Response:
the indefiniteness was because it was not clear what is selected, not the terminology of term “selective”. Nevertheless, in accordance with Applicant’s arguments the claim is broadly interpreted and the 112 (b) rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s argument on page 8 of Remarks, regarding limitation “claim reciting transporting to a facility is moot as rejection relies also on Kadayam, US 20200408090 A1 and also GONG, furthermore Examiner remind that “If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction.” See MPEP 2111.02 (II).
On pages 8 of Remarks, Applicant argues that Reid does not teach : (d) extracting at least a portion of the slurry from the chamber.
Response:
Reid teaches: e.g., ¶0051 means to extract sample from 134 to 138 (see e.g., office action1 page 10)
Reid teaches: receiving a core sample in the tool, extracting at least a portion of the hydrocarbon from the core sample in the tool, and analyzing at least a portion of the extracted hydrocarbon (¶0014)
placing at least a portion of the core sample into a processing chamber, at least partially flooding the core sample, extracting fluid from the core sample, and analyzing at least a portion of the core.(¶0015)
The extracted fluid may be conveyed into a fluid storage chamber 63 disposed in the fluid storage section 61. The fluid storage section may comprise a fluid transfer means 67, such as a bidirectional pump, for circulating fluid between the fluid storage section 61 and the core analysis section 31. Additionally, downhole sensors (not shown) provided in conjunction with the fluid storage section 61 could be used to analyze extracted hydrocarbons and to determine physical properties such as density, viscosity, and phase borders as well as chemical composition. For example, these downhole sensors may provide spectroscopic measurements, as is well known in the art. (¶0045). See also¶0050¶0051¶0056¶0058¶0060¶0070¶0072.
Therefore, Reid clearly and explicitly teaches the limitation as broadly as possible.
On page 8 of Remarks, Applicant argues rejection claim 5 because Reid does not suggest such an action is beneficial or that any similar measures should be taken to improve the analysis.
Response
Although Examiner has provided one motivation from GONG in the action, Applicant is reminded that based on GUIDELINES in MPEP 2141.II and III : Prior art is not limited just to the references being applied, but includes the understanding of one of ordinary skill in the art and in this case, neither reference provides any indication that their combination would not have yielded a predictable result, and the combination of arts meet the claimed limitations.
On page 9 of Remarks, Applicant argues that Gafner does not teach agitator to release water. The argument is moot as the amendment necessitated new ground of rejection in view of Smith, US 2641922 A.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims Must Particularly Point Out and Distinctly Claim the Invention (MPEP 2173, MPEP 2111.04(II), MPEP 2143.03), therefore, term “if” in claim 1, makes claim indefinite, because it is not clear if the limitation is required or just conditional and optional(see MPEP 2173.05(h)(II)). For examination it is interpreted as not required limitation. Claims 2-7 are rejected due to their dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reid , US 20140090893 A1 in view of Kadayam US 20200408090 A1, and Hassell, US 20180031524 A1.
Claim 1
Reid in e.g., Fig.2B teaches:
A method of processing a core sample 132, retrieved from a subterrain formation (e.g., ¶0003 pores of an underground formation) comprising:
(a) hermetically sealing (e.g., ¶0054¶0090-¶0093) the core sample 132 in a chamber 134 of an enclosure (better shown in fig.1 as 31);
(b) comminuting (by 150) the core sample 132 while the chamber134 is hermetically sealed (e.g., ¶0090-¶0093) ;
(c) injecting (from 153) a hydrophilic agent (polar solvent e.g., ¶0055) into the chamber 134, wherein a slurry is formed (function met by polar liquid and sample 132) by at least the hydrophilic agent (polar solvent e.g., ¶0055) and water released by the core sample (132);
(d) mixing the comminuted core sample if at least a portion of the hydrophilic agent is injected after the core sample is comminuted (not required by Reid);
(e) extracting (e.g., ¶0014: extracting at least a portion of the hydrocarbon from the core sample in the tool, and analyzing at least a portion of the extracted hydrocarbon) at least a portion of the slurry from the chamber 134;
(f) separating a fluid from the slurry (e.g., ¶0055);
(g) analyzing the separated fluid (e.g., ¶0056).
Reid does not specifically teach transported to ; and transported to a facility (h) estimating a water content of the core sample using the estimated amount of water in the fluid.
In the similar field of endeavor, Kadayam in figs.1-4 and e.g., ¶0057 teaches a method of processing a core sample (132), retrieved from a subterrain formation 30 and transported to a facility (150 ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Kadayam‘s core sample retrieved from a subterrain formation transported to a facility for Reid’s method. The intended use of the modified device to use the method in a facility and transferring the samples to a facility does not distinct of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, and the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction.” See MPEP 2111.02 (II).
The modified Reid does not teach: and (h) estimating a water content of the core sample using the estimated amount of water in the fluid.
In the similar field of endeavor, Hassell in e.g., figs1A-1B teaches to estimate an amount of water in the fluid (e.g., ¶0032); and (h) estimating a water content of the core sample (e.g., ¶0032 hydrocarbon fluid sample) using the estimated amount of water in the fluid (using analyzer 100 and e.g., step 136).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Hassell‘s analyzer for the modified Reid‘s Analyzer and (f) analyzing the modified Reid’s separated fluid to estimate an amount of water in the fluid; and (g) estimating a water content of the modified Reid’s core sample using the estimated amount of water in the fluid, based on MPEP 2143 (A), courts have ruled that Combining prior art elements (Reid’s method of processing a core sample and Hassell’s analyzer) according to known methods to yield predictable results (Hassell’s estimating water content) is within the purview of a skilled artisan. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421,82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reid , US 20140090893 A1 in view of GONG, CN 106840957A and Hassell, US 20180031524 A1.
Claim 1
Reid in e.g., Fig.2B teaches:
A method of processing a core sample 132, retrieved from a subterrain formation (e.g., ¶0003 pores of an underground formation) comprising:
(a) hermetically sealing (e.g., ¶0054¶0090-¶0093) the core sample 132 in a chamber 134 of an enclosure (better shown in fig.1 as 31);
(b) comminuting (by 150) the core sample 132 while the chamber134 is hermetically sealed (e.g., ¶0090-¶0093) ;
(c) injecting (from 153) a hydrophilic agent (polar solvent e.g., ¶0055) into the chamber 134, wherein a slurry is formed (function met by polar liquid and sample 132) by at least the hydrophilic agent (polar solvent e.g., ¶0055) and water released by the core sample (132);
(d) mixing the comminuted core sample if at least a portion of the hydrophilic agent is injected after the core sample is comminuted (not required by Reid);
(e) extracting (e.g., ¶0014: extracting at least a portion of the hydrocarbon from the core sample in the tool, and analyzing at least a portion of the extracted hydrocarbon) at least a portion of the slurry from the chamber 134;
(f) separating a fluid from the slurry (e.g., ¶0055);
(g) analyzing the separated fluid (e.g., ¶0056).
Reid does not specifically teach transported to ; and transported to a facility (h) estimating a water content of the core sample using the estimated amount of water in the fluid.
In the similar field of endeavor, GONG teaches a method of processing a core sample (shale e.g., ¶0008¶0012), retrieved from a subterrain formation and transported to a facility (e.g.,¶0006 ¶0009and the test device and facility disclosed by GONG in fig.1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use GONG‘s method of processing a core sample retrieved from a subterrain formation transported to a facility. The intended use of the modified device to use the method in a facility and transferring the samples to a facility does not distinct of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction.” See MPEP 2111.02 (II).
The modified Reid does not teach: and (h) estimating a water content of the core sample using the estimated amount of water in the fluid.
In the similar field of endeavor, Hassell in e.g., figs1A-1B teaches to estimate an amount of water in the fluid (e.g., ¶0032); and (h) estimating a water content of the core sample (e.g., ¶0032 hydrocarbon fluid sample) using the estimated amount of water in the fluid (using analyzer 100 and e.g., step 136).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Hassell‘s analyzer for the modified Reid‘s Analyzer and (f) analyzing the modified Reid’s separated fluid to estimate an amount of water in the fluid; and (g) estimating a water content of the modified Reid’s core sample using the estimated amount of water in the fluid, based on MPEP 2143 (A), courts have ruled that Combining prior art elements (Reid’s method of processing a core sample and Hassell’s analyzer) according to known methods to yield predictable results (Hassell’s estimating water content) is within the purview of a skilled artisan. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421,82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim 2
Reid in view of GONG, Hassell teaches the method of claim 1, Reid teaches wherein at least a portion of the hydrophilic agent (polar solvent e.g., ¶0055) is injected before comminuting the core sample 132. Examiner notes that adding hydrophilic agent is for better absorbing water from core sample and adding it before or after or during comminuting the core sample does not have any criticality and only a design choice, and neither non-obvious nor unexpected results, i.e. results which are different in kind and not in degree from the results of the prior art, will be obtained as long as the hydrophilic agent is used after or before or during comminuting the core sample, as already suggested by Reid.
Claim 3
Reid in view of GONG, Hassell teaches the method of claim 1, Reid teaches method of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the hydrophilic agent (polar solvent e.g., ¶0055) is injected during the comminuting of the core sample. Examiner notes that a skilled artesian knows adding hydrophilic agent is for better absorbing water from core sample and adding it before or after or during comminuting the core sample does not have any criticality and only a design choice, and neither non-obvious nor unexpected results, i.e. results which are different in kind and not in degree from the results of the prior art, will be obtained as long as the hydrophilic agent is used after or before or during comminuting the core sample, as already suggested by Reid.
Claim 4
Reid in view of GONG, Hassell teaches the method of claim, GONG teaches wherein at least a portion of the hydrophilic agent is injected after the comminuting of the core sample (e.g., ¶0076-¶0077), comminuting of the core sample can increase the contact area between the shale sample and oil/water, accelerate self-imbibition, and shorten the experimental cycle (GONG e.g., ¶0013) adding hydrophilic agent is for better absorbing water of core sample or mobility enhancement techniques (e.g., ¶0055 of Reid) and adding it before or after or during comminuting the core sample does not have any criticality and only a design choice, and neither non-obvious nor unexpected results, i.e. results which are different in kind and not in degree from the results of the prior art, will be obtained as long as the hydrophilic agent is used after or before or during comminuting the core sample, as already suggested by Reid and GONG. Since the applicant has not established the criticality (see next paragraph) and since the hydrophilic agent is injected after the comminuting of the core sample is in common use in similar devices in the art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use this step in the modified Reid’s device. Please note that the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of this limitation or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim 5
Reid in view of GONG, Hassell teaches the method of claim 1, GONG teaches wherein at least a portion of air is evacuated from the chamber before injecting the hydrophilic agent into the chamber (e.g., ¶0075). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to at least a portion of air is evacuated from the chamber before injecting the hydrophilic agent into the modified Reid’s chamber as taught by GONG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve accuracy of results pf calculation of the portions of agent and water, based on MPEP 2143(D), courts have ruled that Simple applying a known technique to a known product to yield predictable results, is within the purview of a skilled artisan. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421,82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim 6
Reid in view of GONG, Hassell teaches the method of claim 1, GONG teaches wherein the hydrophilic agent is a solvent and electrovalent compound (KCl in e.g., ¶0016), based on MPEP 2143 (B), courts have ruled that Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, is within the purview of a skilled artisan. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421,82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reid , US 20140090893 A1 in view of GONG, CN 106840957A Hassell, US 20180031524 A1 and Ragland, US 11133165 B1.
Claim 7
Reid in view of GONG, Hassell teaches the method of claim 1, the combination does not specifically teach further comprising maintaining a vacuum pressure in the chamber while comminuting the core sample.
In the similar field of endeavor, Ragland in fig.1 teaches further comprising maintaining a vacuum pressure (e.g., col.3 lines 47-49) in the chamber (vacuum chamber 14) while comminuting the core sample (12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to maintaining a vacuum pressure in the chamber while comminuting the core sample as taught by Ragland, based on MPEP 2143 (C), courts have ruled that Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way is within the purview of a skilled artisan. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421,82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claims 8-9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reid , US 20140090893 A1 in view of Smith, US 2641922 A.
Claim 8
Reid in e.g., Fig.2B teaches:
An apparatus for processing a core sample 132, retrieved from a subterrain formation (e.g., ¶0003 pores of an underground formation) comprising:
(a) an enclosure (better shown in fig.1 as 31) having a chamber 134, the enclosure (better shown in fig.1 as 31) being configured to hermetically seal (e.g., ¶0090-¶0093)the core sample in the chamber 134;
(b) a comminuting element 150 disposed inside the enclosure (via chamber134) and configured to comminute the core sample 132 inside the hermetically sealed chamber (134 and ¶0090¶0093);
Reid teaches the core sample is broken up (grinding e.g., ¶0044,0055)
(d) an injector (not labeled but injecting means for injecting agent solvent from 153 to the chamber 134 such as pumps and valves between 153 and 134) in selective fluid communication with the chamber 134, the injector configure to inject a hydrophilic agent (polar liquid as solvent ¶0055) into the hermetically sealed chamber (134 and ¶0090-¶0093), wherein a slurry is formed by at least the hydrophilic agent (¶0055) and water released by the core sample (function met by core 132 and solvent); and
(e) an extractor (e.g., ¶0051 means to extract sample from 134 to 138) in selective fluid communication with the chamber 134, the extractor configured to extract at least a portion of a slurry (the function met by the extractor means to extract slurry from 134 to 138) from the chamber 134, wherein the slurry is formed by at least the hydrophilic agent (polar liquid as solvent agent ¶0055) and water released by the core sample 132.
Reid does not teach and transported to a facility , step (c ) an agitator configured to agitate the enclosure to release water while the core sample is broken up while the enclosure is agitated.
Reid teaches: Extraction might require the use of a solvent, or the use of heat. Extraction might also require the use of a grinder (¶0044), also teaches : The core may be ground into pieces with a grinder or mill 150, disposed in the processing chamber 134. The methods of separating the reservoir fluid from the formation rock may include mobility enhancement techniques (¶0055)
In the similar field of endeavor, Smith teaches and transported to a facility (e.g., col.1 lines 8-22) , step (c ) an agitator configured to agitate the enclosure (3) to release water while the core sample (2) is broken up while the enclosure is agitated (col.4 lines 67-722).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Smith‘s agitator for Reid‘s comminuting element and the core sample inside the modified Reid’s hermetically sealed chamber configured to agitate the modified Reid’s enclosure to release water while the core sample is broken up while the modified Reid’s enclosure is agitated. One of ordinary skill in the art knows applying pressure to flush out the material would have been motivated to make this modification in order to wash the individual particles of the core and flush out any gas or material in the core, particles (Smith col.4 lines 71-72) and release the contents to analysis (col.2 lines 16-18)
Claim 9
Reid in view of Smith teaches the apparatus of claim 8, Reid teaches further comprising a pump (not labeled but between 153, 138 and 134) in selective fluid communication with the chamber 134, the pump configured to reduce a pressure in the chamber to at least below an ambient pressure external to the enclosure (function met by the not labeled pumps).
Claim 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reid , US 20140090893 A1 in view of Hassell, US 20180031524 A1 and Smith, US 2641922 A.
Claim 10
Reid teaches:
A system for the core sample 132, comprising:
(a) an enclosure (better shown in fig.1 as 31) having a chamber 134, the enclosure being configured to hermetically seal (e.g., ¶0090-¶0093) the core sample 132 in the chamber 134;
(b) a comminuting element (150) disposed inside the enclosure (which contains 134) and configured to comminute the core sample 132 inside the hermetically sealed chamber 134;
(d) an injector (not labeled but injecting means for injecting agent solvent from 153 to the chamber 134 such as pumps and valves between 153 and 134) in selective fluid communication with the chamber 134, the injector configured to inject a hydrophilic agent (e.g.,¶0055 polar liquid as solvent) into the hermetically sealed chamber 134, wherein a slurry is formed (function met by core sample and polar liquid) by at least the hydrophilic agent (polar liquid) and water released (function met by core sample) by the core sample 132; and
(e) an extractor (e.g., ¶0051 means to extract sample from 134 to 138) in selective fluid communication with the chamber 134, the extractor configured to extract at least a portion of a slurry (the function met by the extractor means to extract slurry from 134 to 138) from the chamber 134, wherein the slurry is formed by at least the hydrophilic agent (polar liquid) and water released (the function met by the core sample) by the core sample 132.
(f) a separator (e.g., all means to separation such as 154,138, unlabeled pumps and valves and connection lines ¶0055)configured to separate a fluid from the slurry (¶0055);
Reid does not teach:
A system for estimating a water content of the core sample,
step (c ) an agitator configured to agitate the enclosure to release water while the core sample is broken up while the enclosure is agitated;
(g) a fluid analyzer configured to estimate an amount of water in the fluid by analyzing the separated fluid; and
(h) a processor configured to estimate a water content of the core sample using the estimated amount of water in the fluid.
Regarding limitations 1 and 3:
Hassell in e.g., figs1A-1B teaches to estimate an amount of water in the fluid (e.g., ¶0032); and (g) to estimate an amount of water content of the core sample (e.g., ¶0032 hydrocarbon fluid sample) using the estimated amount of water in the fluid (using analyzer 100 and e.g., step 136).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Hassell‘s analyzer for Reid‘s Analyzer and analyzing the modified Reid’s separated fluid to estimate an amount of water in the fluid; and (g) to estimate an amount of water content of the modified Reid’s core sample using the estimated amount of water in the fluid, based on MPEP 2143 (A), courts have ruled that Combining prior art elements (Reid’s method of processing a core sample and Hassell’s analyzer) according to known methods to yield predictable results (Hassell’s estimating water content) is within the purview of a skilled artisan. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421,82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding limitation 2:
Smith teaches and transported to a facility (e.g., col.1 lines 8-22) , step (c ) an agitator configured to agitate the enclosure (3) to release water while the core sample (2) is broken up while the enclosure is agitated (col.4 lines 67-723).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Smith‘s agitator for Reid‘s comminuting element and the core sample inside the modified Reid’s hermetically sealed chamber configured to agitate the modified Reid’s enclosure to release water while the core sample is broken up while the modified Reid’s enclosure is agitated. One of ordinary skill in the art knows applying pressure to flush out the material would have been motivated to make this modification in order to wash the individual particles of the core and flush out any gas or material in the core, particles (Smith col.4 lines 71-72) and release the contents to analysis (col.2 lines 16-18)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FATEMEH ESFANDIARI NIA/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
1 Previous office action : 09/17/2027
2 When the core is broken up,, the liquid 25 may be. flushed through the core by applying pressure and agitation to rubber container 3 so as to, wash the individual particles of the core and flush out any gas or material in the core, particles.
3 When the core is broken up,, the liquid 25 may be. flushed through the core by applying pressure and agitation to rubber container 3 so as to, wash the individual particles of the core and flush out any gas or material in the core, particles.