DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/20/2023 and 3/24/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim 1 - a substrate, an antifogging layer and an intermediate layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, cited term of “…an antifogging layer composition containing the following components (A) to (D)” (line 2-3) is vague and renders the claims indefinite, as component (D) is not specified in the claim.
Therefore proper amendments are required in order to clarify the scopes of the claims and overcome the rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroyuki et al (WO 2018105593, English translation attached).
Regarding Claim 1, Hiroyuki teaches a colored spectacle lens comprising (abstract; fig. 5 and ¶[0090], line 1-2, used for sunglasses, goggles, corrective eyeglass lenses):
a substrate (X) containing a colorant (fig. 5, 32, 14a, 12; ¶[0062], line 1-9, The thermoplastic resin layer 32 may also contain conventionally known additives as appropriate, and may also contain an ultraviolet absorber. It is also possible to include a dye that absorbs a specific wavelength in the visible light range);and
an intermediate layer (Y) (fig. 5, 14b) between the substrate (X) (fig. 5, 32, 14a and 12) and the water- absorbent antifogging layer (Z) (see below).
But Hiroyuki in the embodiment of fig. 5 does not specifically disclose that a water-absorbent antifogging layer (Z) present on at least one surface side of the substrate (X).
However, Hiroyuki also teaches that wherein a water-absorbent antifogging layer (Z) present on at least one surface side of the substrate (X) (¶[0059], line 1-3, a coating layer, an anti-fogging layer, an anti-fouling layer, a water-repellent layer, etc., as described below, may be provided on at least one surface of the first protective layer 14a and the second protective layer 14b of the lens 10a as needed.---that is, the antifogging layer on 14b, and 14b is between the antifogging layer and the substrate; ¶[0088], line 1-16; On the coating layer, an anti-fogging layer, an anti-fouling layer, and a water-repellent layer may be formed as needed; anti-fogging and anti-fouling treatment methods include covering the surface with a surfactant, adding a hydrophilic film to the surface to make it water-absorbent,….).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the embodiment of fig. 5 of Hiroyuki to have the anti-fogging layer to present on at least one surface side of the substrate (X) for a purpose to provide a lens with excellent appearance in which differences in hue and color shading of the lens are suppressed (¶[0010], line 1-9).
Regarding Claim 2, Hiroyuki teaches the spectacle lens according to claim 1, wherein a difference (IY - IZ) between an indentation hardness IY of the intermediate layer (Y) at a load of 100 mgf and an indentation hardness IZ of the water-absorbent antifogging layer (Z) at a load of 100 mgf is more than 0 (¶[0020], line 1-3, the thermoplastic resin contained in the first protective layer 14a and the second protective layer 14b is at least one selected from polycarbonate resin, triacetyl cellulose resin, polyamide resin, polyester resin, and acrylic resin; ¶[0088], line 1-16; anti-fogging layer; forming a water-repellent treatment layer by vapor deposition or sputtering a fluorine-containing silane compound; ---- polycarbonate may have a hardness of 4H; acrylic resin may have a hardness of 5H; fluorine-containing silane may have a hardness of 3H, so a difference between hardness of the intermediate layer (Y) and the antifogging layer is more than 0).
Regarding Claim 3, Hiroyuki teaches the spectacle lens according to claim 1, the spectacle lens according to wherein a ratio (IY/IZ) of the indentation hardness IY to the indentation hardness IZ is 1.1 or more (see above, in case of the intermediate layer (Y) 14b of polycarbonate (hardness 4H), and antifogging layer of fluorine-containing silane (hardness 3H); ratio (IY/IZ) = 1.33).
Regarding Claim 4, Hiroyuki teaches the colored spectacle lens according to claim 1, wherein the substrate (X) and the intermediate layer (Y) are in direct contact with each other (fig. 5, (32, 14a 12)--substrate and 14b)
Regarding Claim 5, Hiroyuki teaches the colored spectacle lens according to claim 1, wherein the intermediate layer (Y) and the water-absorbent antifogging layer (Z) are in direct contact with each other (¶[0059], line 1-3, a coating layer, an anti-fogging layer, an anti-fouling layer, a water-repellent layer, etc., as described below, may be provided on at least one surface of the first protective layer 14a and the second protective layer 14b of the lens 10a as needed.---that is, the antifogging layer on top of 14b in fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 6, Hiroyuki teaches the colored spectacle lens according to claim 1, wherein an optical film thickness of the intermediate layer (Y) in light having a wavelength of 450 to 650 nm is 0.2λ to 0.3λ (fig. 5, 14a, 12, 14b,-- 14a, 12, 14b have about same thickness; ¶[0016], line 1-3, The thickness of the polarizing layer 12 is about 10 to 500 µm; --14b may have a thickness same as 12 about 10 µm; ¶[0019], line 1-5, The thickness of the first protective layer 14a and the second protective layer 14b may be the same or different, but is generally about 50 to 1000 µm, ---further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955)).
Regarding Claim 7, Hiroyuki teaches the colored spectacle lens according to claim 1, wherein the intermediate layer (Y) is a cured product of a composition containing a thermosetting resin (¶[0020], line 1-3, the thermoplastic resin contained in the first protective layer 14a and the second protective layer 14b is at least one selected from polycarbonate resin, triacetyl cellulose resin, polyamide resin, polyester resin, and acrylic resin).
Regarding Claim 9, Hiroyuki teaches the spectacle lens according to claim 1, wherein the water-absorbent antifogging layer (Z) is an outermost layer (¶[0059], line 1-3, a coating layer, an anti-fogging layer, an anti-fouling layer, a water-repellent layer, etc., as described below, may be provided on at least one surface of the first protective layer 14a and the second protective layer 14b of the lens 10a as needed.---that is, the antifogging layer on 14b of fig. 5).
Examiner’s Note
Regarding the references, the Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the reference(s), as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicant fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as taught by the reference(s) or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
/JIE LEI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872