DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16, 17, 19-21, and 24-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miyata et al. (US 2018/0170914) (hereafter “Miyata”).
Regarding claims 16, 17, 19-21, and 24-32, Miyata teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transporting layer, and cathode (paragraphs [0653]-[0663]) (claims 24-26). Miyata teaches that the light emitting layer comprises a host material at 82 vol %, a blue emitting dopant at 3 vol %, and an additional compound at 15 vol % (paragraphs [0199] and [0661]) (claims 26, 28, and 30-32). Miyata teaches that the additional compound can have the following structure,
,
, and
are a few examples (paragraphs [0199] and [0202]) (claims 16, 17, and 19-21). Miyata teaches that the light emitting layer comprising the aforementioned compounds is made using vapor deposition (paragraphs [0655] and [0661]) (claims 29 and 32).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18, 22, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyata et al. (US 2018/0170914) (hereafter “Miyata”) as applied to claims 16, 17, 19-21, and 24-32 above.
Regarding claims 18, 22, and 23, Miyata teaches that the compounds mentioned above are derived from the following formula,
, where at least one Z1-Z6 is an electron donating group and at least one is an electron withdrawing group, and the other groups can be hydrogen, an aryl group, or a heteroaryl group, and further teaches that it is preferable that the electron donating group and the electron withdrawing group are orthro to each other on the phenyl ring (paragraphs [0158]-[0187]). Miyata teaches preferred examples of electron donating group can be
,
, or
, and preferred examples of the electron withdrawing group can be,
or
(paragraph [0202]). Miyata teaches in
two of Z1-Z6 can be electron withdrawing groups, one of Z1-Z6 can be an electron donating group, and the rest of Z1-Z6 can be hydrogen atoms (paragraph [0192]). Miyata teaches that
can have the following formula, where A are electron donating groups and D are electron withdrawing groups,
and
(paragraph [0192]).
Miyata does not specifically teach a compound that meets applicant’s formula VIa-1, VIb-1, VIc-1, or VId-1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try to make a compound according to the formula of Miyata,
, where Z1 and Z3 are each
or
, one of Z6 or Z4 is
,
, or
, and the other 2 or 3 Z groups are hydrogen atoms. These compounds would have been obvious given the teaches general formula, more specific formulas, and specific compounds taught by Miyata. Given these teachings, it would have been obvious to try to make a compound that comprises the aforementioned groups. One of ordinary skill in the art would expect the compounds to act in a similar manner as the other compounds of Miyata. These compounds would meet applications formula VIa-1, VIb-1, VIc-1, or VId-1.
Double Patenting
Claims 16-32 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,543,496. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,543,496 are a species of the claims of the instant application and anticipate the claims of the instant application. All the compounds claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,543,496 are a species of the claims of the instant application and read on the claims of the instant application.
Claims 16-23 of the instant application are covered by claims 1-4 and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,543,496.
Claims 24-32 of the instant application are covered by claims 5-13 and 15-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,543,496.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Stubbs et al. (WO 2019/197902) teaches that the hole transporting layer that is in contact with the light emitting layer, where the hole transporting layer comprises a carbazole compound with cyano substituent groups.
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759