DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Greco et al (WO 2021/148323).
A photoelectric conversion element comprising:
a photoelectric conversion portion (Fig.2B (105a- active surface performs photoelectric conversion) and [page 9, lines: 10-20; page 11, lines:20-25]); and
a proton beam shielding layer (Fig.2B (215a- protective material) and [page 11, line:5- page 13, line:25]) on the photoelectric conversion portion (Fig.2B (105a- active surface performs photoelectric conversion) and [page 9, lines: 10-20]) in direct contact with an electrode (Fig.2B (100) and page 9, lines: 1-10- Applicant’s remarks (page 5, dated 5/13/26) also admit that Greco’s 100 has a top electrode usually bus bars having an active window in the center; this is understood in the art as a conventional solar cell configuration- electrodes are typically on the top and bottom of the pn junctions) of the photoelectric conversion portion (Fig.2B (105a- active surface performs photoelectric conversion) and [page 9, lines: 10-20; page 11, lines:20-25]), wherein the proton beam shielding layer (Fig.2B (215a- protective material) and [page 11, line:5- page 13, line:25]) and shields the photoelectric conversion portion from a proton beam [page 9, line: 31- page 10, line:25], wherein a product of an electron density [electron density of :aluminum oxide is 1.18 x1024 (e/cm3); tantalum oxide is 2 x1024 (e/cm3); titanium oxide is 1.216 x1024 (e/cm3); cerium oxide is 2.3 x1024 (e/cm3)] ; and a film thickness (Fig.3- teaching thicknesses from greater than 2 um to 50 um) of the proton beam shielding layer is 5 x 1020 (cm-2) or more (mathematically this calculates for most of the insulating materials with thicknesses greater than 4 um which is taught- Fig.3).
The photoelectric conversion element according to claim 1, wherein the photoelectric conversion portion (Fig.1A-1C/2AS-2D (105a- active surface performs photoelectric conversion) and [page 9, lines: 10-20]) is formed on a substrate [page 1, lines: 5-15/ page 11, lines: 15-20]. .
The photoelectric conversion element according to claim 1, wherein the photoelectric conversion portion includes a semiconductor substrate [page 1, lines: 5-15/ page 11, lines: 15-20].
The photoelectric conversion element according to claim 1 , wherein the proton beam shielding layer is a layer including a first material selected from one or more of A12O3, Y203, ZrO2, MgO, HfO2, Bi2O3, TiO2, ZnO, In2O3, SnO2, Nb2O5, and Ta205 [page 11, lines: 20-30].
The photoelectric conversion element according to claim 4, wherein the proton beam shielding layer is stacked films in which layers including two or more types of the first material are stacked (Fig.2D (215a and 215b) and [page 12, lines: 14-35]).
The photoelectric conversion element according to claim 1, further comprising a heat emission layer formed on the proton beam shielding layer (Fig.2D (215b) and [page 12, lines: 15-25]).
7. The photoelectric conversion element according to claim 6, wherein the heat emission layer is a layer including a second material selected from at least one of SiO2 and A12O3 (Fig.2D (215b) and [page 12, lines: 15-25]).
8. The photoelectric conversion element according to claim 7, wherein the heat emission layer has a thickness of 210 nm or more (Fig.3- 2um to 50 um).
9. The photoelectric conversion element according to claim 8, wherein the heat emission layer is stacked films in which layers including two types of the second material are stacked (Fig.2D (215a and 215b) and [page 12, lines: 14-35]).
10. The photoelectric conversion element according to claim 9, wherein a thickness of any one of film in stacked films of the heat emission layer is 110 nm or more (Fig.3- 2um to 50 um).
11. A method for manufacturing a photoelectric conversion element including a photoelectric conversion portion (Fig.2B (105a- active surface performs photoelectric conversion) and [page 9, lines: 10-20]), and a proton beam shielding layer (Fig.2B (215a- protective material) and [page 11, line:5- page 13, line:25]) on the photoelectric conversion portion (Fig.2B (105a- active surface performs photoelectric conversion) and [page 9, lines: 10-20]) in direct contact with an electrode (Fig.2B (100) and page 9, lines: 1-10- Applicant’s remarks (page 5, dated 5/13/26) also admit that Greco’s 100 has a top electrode usually bus bars having an active window in the center; this is understood in the art as a conventional solar cell configuration- electrodes are typically on the top and bottom of the pn junctions) of the photoelectric conversion portion (Fig.2B (105a- active surface performs photoelectric conversion) and [page 9, lines: 10-20; page 11, lines:20-25]), wherein the proton beam shielding layer (Fig.2B (215a- protective material) and [page 11, line:5- page 13, line:25]) shields the photoelectric conversion portion from a proton beam [page 9, line: 31- page 10, line:25],forming the proton beam shielding layer (Fig.1A-1C (115- protective material) and [page 9, line:31- page 10, line:25]) having a product of electron density [electron density of :aluminum oxide is 1.18 x1024 (e/cm3); tantalum oxide is 2 x1024 (e/cm3); titanium oxide is 1.216 x1024 (e/cm3); cerium oxide is 2.3 x1024 (e/cm3)] ; and a film thickness (Fig.3- teaching thicknesses from greater than 2 um to 50 um) of the proton beam shielding layer is 5 x 1020 (cm-2) or more (mathematically this calculates for most of the insulating materials with thicknesses greater than 4 um which is taught- Fig.3).
12. The method for manufacturing a photoelectric conversion element according to claim 11, further comprising a step of forming a heat emission layer on the proton beam shielding layer (Fig.2D (215b) and [page 12, lines: 15-25]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/13/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments focus on Fig.1 of Greco; which shows a resin layer between the upper surface of the solar cell and the shielding layer-Applicant’s arguments do not address Fig.2 of Greco which show the shielding layer 215a in direct contact with the electrode layer. Therefore the claim amendment does not overcome Greco.
Applicant then proceeds to argue that Greco does not teach the product of the electron density and thickness amounts to 5 x 1020 (cm-2) or more. This is simply incorrect. The electron densities of the Greco’s shielding materials (electron density is a property of the materials themselves) are listed clearly in the Examiner’s rejection made above. These are constants. The electron density constants when multiplied by the range of numerical thicknesses taught by Greco; calculate out to greater than 5 x 1020 (cm-2) for all materials explained above for thicknesses greater than 4 um as explained above in the Examiner’s rejection. Greco teaches the film can have a thickness of 2 to 50 um (Fig.3). The art teaches this range but it may be understood as a line segment with each point being it’s own value. The values of 2-50 um multiplied by the electron density of the materials taught in the shielding layer (aluminum oxide is 1.18 x1024 (e/cm3); tantalum oxide is 2 x1024 (e/cm3); titanium oxide is 1.216 x1024 (e/cm3); cerium oxide is 2.3 x1024 (e/cm3) as an approximation- any thickness greater than 4 um of the materials listed above all anticipate the Applicant’s claim because each one of those thicknesses would multiply out to be 5 x 1020 (cm-2) or more. To properly anticipate Applicant’s claim language- Greco need only teach one thickness for one material! Instead, Greco teaches it for each material for every thickness between 4-50 um- these all would calculate out to 5 x 1020 (cm-2) or more. This is not a matter of implicitness- it is a matter of multiplication. The claim language requires a mathematical calculation (product=multiplication) which needs to be solved to a value greater than 5 x 1020 (cm-2). The calculation itself does not need to be disclosed by Greco in order to properly anticipate the claims as the arguments purport; it requires only the Examiner to multiply the two values together to produce the necessary result= 5 x 1020 (cm-2) or more. The Examiner also notes that Greco teaches that the proton shielding layer materials may be effective relative to the proton energy itself- that the higher the potential proton energy; the thicker the shielding layer needs to be to effectively block the protons. The Applicant’s claim is fully anticipated by Greco.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Greco et al (CN 115004381; US 20230039806; US 12396270) and Horiguchi et al (WO 2022260140; CN 117461147; EP 4354516; US 20240274730) teach similar structures/ methods.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA M MENZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813
5/14/26