Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 09/28/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
“a plurality of first charging positions” (claim 1) – The figures only depict a single “first charging position 111”.
“a plurality of second charging positions” (claim 1) – The figures only depict a single “second charging position 112”.
“a plurality of first charging modules” (claim 1) – The figures only depict a single “first charging module 21”.
“a plurality of second charging modules 22” – The figures only depict a single “second charging module 22”.
“a plurality of third charging positions” (claim 2) – The figures only depict a single “third charging position 113”.
“a plurality of third charging modules” (claim 2) – The figures only depict a single “third charging module 23”.
“a mobile phone” (claim 4)
“a watch” (claim 4)
“the inner wall of the accommodation space” (claim 8) – This “inner wall” is not labeled and thus unclear in the drawings. For examination purposes, it is interpreted that the walls of the “upper housing” and “lower housing” make up the “inner wall”.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they are incomplete. 37 CFR 1.83(a) and 37 CFR 183(c) read as follows:
(a) The drawing in a nonprovisional application must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. However, conventional features disclosed in the description and claims, where their detailed illustration is not essential for a proper understanding of the invention, should be illustrated in the drawing in the form of a graphical drawing symbol or a labeled representation (e.g., a labeled rectangular box). In addition, tables that are included in the specification and sequences that are included in sequence listings should not be duplicated in the drawings.
(c) Where the drawings in a nonprovisional application do not comply with the requirements of paragraphs (a) and (b) of this section, the examiner shall require such additional illustration within a time period of not less than two months from the date of the sending of a notice thereof. Such corrections are subject to the requirements of § 1.81(d).
Figure 5 is incomplete because it features unlabeled rectangular boxes. Although the boxes in the figures are numbered which allows a correlation to each box as one reads the specification, the numbers by themselves do not allow one to quickly ascertain the concept of the invention which is desirable during a later search of analogous art. The numbers should be complimented with words spelled out to facilitate future searches. For example, Fig. 5 needs to include text labels for reference characters “21”, “211”, “22”, “221”, “23”, “231”, and “6”, each of which is presently drawn as a rectangular box. The “211” box should be labeled as “earphone box wireless charging module” and so forth, or redrawn in different shapes. Fig. 5 also includes additional rectangular boxes that do not include any labels.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 1-2 introduce “electrical devices”. However, claim 1 later contradicts in lines 5-6, reciting “the electrical device”, which is singular and indefinite as to which of the “electrical devices is being referred to. Claim 1 again recites “the electrical device” in line 11 and line 12. The dependent claims 2 and 7 further recite the singular form “the electrical device”, which is also indefinite as to which of the “electrical devices” is being referred to. For examination purposes, the claims are interpreted such that “the electrical device” is referring to any one of the “electrical devices”. It is suggested that one way to resolve this indefiniteness is to introduce a first electrical device, a second electrical device, and a third electrical device.
Claims 1, 4, 6-7, and 11 are indefinite as to the plurality of the “first charging position(s)” and which “first charging position” is thereafter referred to. Claim 1, lines 3-4 introduce “a plurality of first charging positions”. However, claim 1 later contradicts in lines 11-12, reciting “the first charging position”, which is singular and indefinite as to which of the plurality is being referred to. The dependent claims 4, 6-7, and 11 further recite the singular form “the first charging position”, which is also indefinite as to which of the plurality is being referred to. For examination purposes, the claims are interpreted to require “a plurality of first charging positions” and that “the first charging position” may be any one of the plurality.
Depending on the applicant’s intent, there are multiple different ways to resolve:
If it is intended to claim a single first charging position, then claim 1, lines 3-10 should be revised to introduce “a first charging position” and thereafter only refer to “the first charging module” in the singular form.
If it is intended to claim a plurality of first charging positions (per claim 1, lines 3-4), then the subsequent references should be “the first charging positions”, “each of the first charging positions”, or “one of the first charging positions”. It is noted there are currently drawing objections for not depicting a plurality of first charging positions.
Claims 1, 4, 6, and 11 are indefinite as to the plurality of the “second charging position(s)” and which “second charging position” is thereafter referred to. Claim 1, line 4 introduces “a plurality of second charging positions”. However, claim 1 later contradicts in lines 12-13, reciting “the second charging position”, which is singular and indefinite as to which of the plurality is being referred to. The dependent claims 4, 6, and 11 further recite the singular form “the second charging position”, which is also indefinite as to which of the plurality is being referred to. For examination purposes, the claims are interpreted to require “a plurality of second charging positions” and that “the second charging position” may be any one of the plurality.
Claims 1, 4, and 11 are indefinite as to the plurality of the “first charging module(s)” and which “first charging module” is thereafter referred to. Claim 1, line 7 introduces “a plurality of first charging modules”. However, claim 1 later contradicts in line 11, reciting “the first charging module”, which is singular and indefinite as to which of the plurality is being referred to. The dependent claims 4 and 11 further recite the singular form “the first charging module”, which is also indefinite as to which of the plurality is being referred to. For examination purposes, the claims are interpreted to require “a plurality of first charging modules” and that “the first charging module” may be any one of the plurality.
Claims 1, 4, and 11 are indefinite as to the plurality of the “second charging module(s)” and which “second charging module” is thereafter referred to. Claim 1, lines 7-8 introduces “a plurality of second charging modules”. However, claim 1 later contradicts in line 12, reciting “the second charging module”, which is singular and indefinite as to which of the plurality is being referred to. The dependent claims 4 and 11 further recite the singular form “the second charging module”, which is also indefinite as to which of the plurality is being referred to. For examination purposes, the claims are interpreted to require “a plurality of second charging modules” and that “the second charging module” may be any one of the plurality.
Claims 2-5 and 11-12 are indefinite as to the plurality of the “third charging position(s)” and which “third charging position” is thereafter referred to. Claim 2, line 2 introduces “a plurality of third charging positions”. However, claim 2 later contradicts in line 6, reciting “the third charging position”, which is singular and indefinite as to which of the plurality is being referred to. The dependent claims 3-5 and 11-12 further recite the singular form “the third charging position”, which is also indefinite as to which of the plurality is being referred to. For examination purposes, the claims are interpreted to require “a plurality of third charging positions” and that “the third charging position” may be any one of the plurality.
Claims 2, 4, and 11 are indefinite as to the plurality of the “third charging module(s)” and which “third charging module” is thereafter referred to. Claim 2, line 4 introduces “a plurality of third charging modules”. However, claim 2 later contradicts in lines 5-6, reciting “the third charging module”, which is singular and indefinite as to which of the plurality is being referred to. The dependent claims 4 and 11 further recite the singular form “the third charging module”, which is also indefinite as to which of the plurality is being referred to. For examination purposes, the claims are interpreted to require “a plurality of third charging modules” and that “the third charging module” may be any one of the plurality.
Claim 3 introduces “a first charging position”, “a charging position”, and “a third charging position. This language is indefinite as to whether new features are being introduced in addition to those prior-introduced in claims 1-2. For examination purposes, it is interpreted that these are the same features as introduced prior.
Claim 8, line 8 recites “the end of the battery”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this term in the claim language.
Claim 8, lines 8-9 recite “the inner wall of the accommodation space”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this term in the claim language.
Claim 10, lines 2-3 recite “the fixing frames are used for inserting between …”. This language is indefinite as to which feature is being modified by “inserting”. For examination purposes, this language is interpreted as “the fixing frames are used for inserting the first circuit board between”.
Claim 10, lines 3-4 recite “from opposite sides”. This language is indefinite as to what it means for a feature to be inserted from opposite sides. Further this, language is indefinite as to which feature “opposite sides” is referring to. For examination purposes, the language “from opposite sides” is interpreted to mean that the “two fixing frames” are positioned on opposite sides of “the first circuit board”.
Claims 5, 9, and 12 are further rejected for their dependency on other rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ren (CN 216216001 U).
Regarding Claim 1, Ren discloses a mobile charging device (“wireless charger 100”; Figs. 1-10), which is used for charging electrical devices (¶ [n0033]: “electronic devices such as mobile phones, Bluetooth headsets, smartwatches, and smart bracelets”).
Ren further discloses the mobile charging device (100) is characterized by comprising a housing assembly (mechanical structure of “100”; Figs. 1-10) and a charging assembly (circuitry of “100”; Figs. 1, 6-10).
Ren further discloses (see annotated Fig. 1, included infra) the housing assembly (assembled combo of “first housing 22” and each “second housing 41”; Figs. 1-10) has an outer surface (exposed surface of the assembled combo of “22” and each “41” in the folded-out position), and the outer surface is provided with a plurality of first charging positions (two of the “charging bases 40” in Figs. 1, 6-8, & 10) and a plurality of second charging positions (another two of the “40” in Figs. 1, 6-8, & 10).
Ren further discloses the first charging positions (40) and the second charging positions (40) are respectively used for limiting the electrical device (¶ [n0033]: “electronic devices are placed on the unfolded charging bases 40”).
Ren further discloses the charging assembly (circuitry of “100”; Figs. 1, 6-8, & 10) comprises a plurality of first charging modules (“wireless charging module 42”; Figs. 1, 6-8) and a plurality of second charging modules (42).
Ren further discloses each of the first charging modules (42) is one-to-one correspondingly arranged (¶ [n0032]: “Each charging base 40 is provided with a wireless charging module 42.”) in each of the first charging positions (40).
Ren further discloses each of the second charging modules (42) is one-to-one correspondingly arranged (¶ [n0032]: “Each charging base 40 is provided with a wireless charging module 42.”) in each of the second charging positions (40).
Ren further discloses the first charging module (42) is used for charging the electrical device (¶ [n0033]: “the wireless charging module 42 of the charging base 40 can charge the mobile phone”) in the first charging position (40).
Ren further discloses the second charging module (42) is used for charging the electrical device (¶ [n0033]: “the wireless charging module 42 of the three charging bases 40 can charge the three electronic devices simultaneously”) in the second charging position (40).
Regarding Claim 2, Ren discloses the mobile charging device according to claim 1.
Ren further discloses (see annotated Fig. 10, included infra) the outer surface (exposed surface of the assembled combo of “22” and each “41” in the folded-out position) is also provided with a plurality of third charging positions (another two of the “40” in Fig. 10).
Ren further discloses the third charging positions (40) are used for limiting the electrical device (¶ [n0033]: “electronic devices are placed on the unfolded charging bases 40”).
Ren further discloses the charging assembly (circuitry of “100”; Figs. 1, 6-10) also comprises a plurality of third charging modules (42), each of which is arranged in each of the third charging positions (40) one by one (¶ [n0032]: “Each charging base 40 is provided with a wireless charging module 42.”).
Ren further discloses the third charging module (42) is used for charging the electrical device (¶ [n0033]: “the wireless charging module 42 of the charging base 40 can charge the mobile phone”) in the third charging position (40).
Regarding Claim 3, Ren discloses the mobile charging device according to claim 2.
Ren further discloses the outer surface (exposed surface of the assembled combo of “22” and each “41” in the folded-out position) is provided with a first charging position (a first “40”; Figs. 1 & 6-10), a charging position (a second “40”; Figs. 1 & 6-10) and a third charging position (a third “40”; Figs. 1 & 6-10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (US 2021/0167630 A1) in view of Ren (CN 216216001 U).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhao discloses a mobile charging device (“multi-functional travel charger”; Figs. 1-20), which is used for charging electrical devices (Abstract: “mobile phone”, “earbud”, “watch”, “stylus”; ¶ [37]: “simultaneous charging of multiple electronic devices”).
Zhao further discloses the mobile charging device is characterized by comprising a housing assembly (“top shell 110”, “bottom shell 120”, and “connecting member 200”; Fig. 5) and a charging assembly (charging circuits and associated structure of Figs. 9-10 and 13-20).
Zhao further discloses the housing assembly (110, 120, 200) has an outer surface (surface exposed in Figs. 7-8), and the outer surface is provided with a first charging position (“earbud wireless charging area 302”; Figs. 7-8) and a second charging position (“first mobile phone wireless charging area 301”; Figs. 7-8).
Zhao further discloses the first charging position (302) and the second charging position (301) are respectively used for limiting the electrical device (“302” limits the position of an “earbud”; “301” limits the position of a “mobile phone”).
Zhao further discloses the charging assembly (charging circuits and associated structure of Figs. 9-10 & 13-20) comprises a first charging module (combo of “earbud wireless charging transmitting coil 321” and “earbud wireless charging transmitting magnetic sheet 322” of Fig. 9; “earbud wireless charging transmitting module” of Figs. 13-14 & 16-19; ¶ [72]) and a second charging module (combo of “first mobile phone wireless charging transmitting coil 311” and “first mobile phone wireless charging transmitting magnetic sheet 312” of Fig. 10; “mobile phone wireless charging transmitting module” of Figs. 14-19; ¶ [72]).
Zhao further discloses the first charging module (321, 322) is one-to-one correspondingly arranged in the first charging position (302).
Zhao further discloses the second charging modules (311, 312) is one-to-one correspondingly arranged in the second charging position (301).
Zhao further discloses the first charging module (321, 322) is used for charging the electrical device (“earbud”) in the first charging position (302).
Zhao further discloses the second charging module (311, 312) is used for charging the electrical device (“mobile phone”) in the second charging position (301).
Though Zhao discloses the outer surface is provided with a first charging position and a second charging position, Zhao does not disclose “the outer surface is provided with a plurality of first charging positions and a plurality of second charging positions”.
Though Zhao discloses the charging assembly comprises a first charging module and a second charging module, Zhao further does not disclose “the charging assembly comprises a plurality of first charging modules and a plurality of second charging modules”.
Ren teaches (see annotated Fig. 1, included supra) a plurality of first charging positions (two of the “charging bases 40” in Figs. 1, 6-8, & 10) and a plurality of second charging positions (another two of the “40” in Figs. 1, 6-8, & 10).
Ren further teaches the first charging positions (40) and the second charging positions (40) are respectively used for limiting the electrical device (¶ [n0033]: “electronic devices are placed on the unfolded charging bases 40”).
Ren further teaches the charging assembly (circuitry of “100”; Figs. 1, 6-8, & 10) comprises a plurality of first charging modules (“wireless charging module 42”; Figs. 1, 6-8) and a plurality of second charging modules (42).
Ren further teaches each of the first charging modules (42) is one-to-one correspondingly arranged (¶ [n0032]: “Each charging base 40 is provided with a wireless charging module 42.”) in each of the first charging positions (40).
Ren further teaches each of the second charging modules (42) is one-to-one correspondingly arranged (¶ [n0032]: “Each charging base 40 is provided with a wireless charging module 42.”) in each of the second charging positions (40).
Ren further teaches the first charging module (42) is used for charging the electrical device (¶ [n0033]: “the wireless charging module 42 of the charging base 40 can charge the mobile phone”) in the first charging position (40).
Ren further teaches the second charging module (42) is used for charging the electrical device (¶ [n0033]: “the wireless charging module 42 of the three charging bases 40 can charge the three electronic devices simultaneously”) in the second charging position (40).
Ren further teaches the plurality of first/second charging positions to enable the charging of more electrical devices simultaneously, thus improving convenience for the users (¶ [n0002, n0003, n0005, n0034, n0042, n0050, n0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the mobile charging device disclosed by Zhao to incorporate additional first charging positions and additional second charging positions, along with associated first/second charging modules, as taught by Ren, to improve user convenience by enabling the simultaneous charging of more electrical devices.
Regarding Claim 2, the combo of Zhao & Ren teaches the mobile charging device according to claim 1.
Zhao further discloses the outer surface (surface exposed in Figs. 7-8) is also provided with third charging position (“watch wireless charging area 303”; Figs. 7-8).
Zhao further discloses the third charging position (303) is used for limiting the electrical device (“303” limits the position of a “watch”).
Zhao further discloses the charging assembly (charging circuits and associated structure of Figs. 9-10 & 13-20) also comprises a third charging module (“watch wireless charging component 330” of Figs. 9 & 11-12; “watch wireless charging transmitting module” of Figs. 13 & 15-19), which is arranged in the third charging position (303) one by one.
Zhao further discloses the third charging module (330) is used for charging the electrical device (“watch”) in the third charging position (303).
Though Zhao discloses the outer surface is provided with a third charging position, Zhao does not disclose “the outer surface is also provided with a plurality of third charging positions” and “the charging assembly also comprises a plurality of third charging modules, each of which is arranged in each of the third charging positions one by one”.
Ren further teaches (see annotated Fig. 10, included supra) the outer surface (exposed surface of the assembled combo of “22” and each “41” in the folded-out position) is also provided with a plurality of third charging positions (another two of the “40” in Fig. 10).
Ren further teaches the third charging positions (40) are used for limiting the electrical device (¶ [n0033]: “electronic devices are placed on the unfolded charging bases 40”).
Ren further teaches the charging assembly (circuitry of “100”; Figs. 1, 6-10) also comprises a plurality of third charging modules (42), each of which is arranged in each of the third charging positions (40) one by one (¶ [n0032]: “Each charging base 40 is provided with a wireless charging module 42.”).
Ren further teaches the third charging module (42) is used for charging the electrical device (¶ [n0033]: “the wireless charging module 42 of the charging base 40 can charge the mobile phone”) in the third charging position (40).
Ren further teaches the plurality of third charging positions to enable the charging of more electrical devices simultaneously, thus improving convenience for the users (¶ [n0002, n0003, n0005, n0034, n0042, n0050, n0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the mobile charging device disclosed by the combo of Zhao & Ren to incorporate additional third charging positions, along with associated third charging modules, as further taught by Ren, to improve user convenience by enabling the simultaneous charging of more electrical devices.
Regarding Claim 3, the combo of Zhao & Ren teaches the mobile charging device according to claim 2.
Zhao further discloses the outer surface (surface exposed in Figs. 7-8) is provided with a first charging position (302), a charging position (301) and a third charging position (303).
Claims 4-5 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (US 2021/0167630 A1) in view of Ren (CN 216216001 U) and An (CN 112886657 A).
Regarding Claims 4 and 11, the combo of Zhao & Ren teaches the mobile charging device according to claim 2 and the mobile charging device according to claim 3.
Zhao further discloses the first charging position (302) is provided with an earphone box storage tank (combo of “top shell earbud case chamber 1103” and “bottom shell earbud case chamber 1203”; Figs. 7-8) for accommodating an earphone box (¶ [76]: “The earbud case is accommodated in a space cooperatively formed by the top shell earbud case chamber 1103 and the bottom shell earbud case chamber 1203.”).
Zhao further discloses the third charging position (303) is provided with a watch charging element (“watch wireless charging component 330”; Figs. 9 & 11-12) for supporting a watch.
Zhao further discloses the first charging module (321, 322) comprises an earphone box wireless charging module (combo of “earbud wireless charging transmitting coil 321” and “earbud wireless charging transmitting magnetic sheet 322” of Fig. 9; “earbud wireless charging transmitting module” of Figs. 13-14 & 16-19; ¶ [72]) arranged in the first charging position (302).
Zhao further discloses the second charging module (311, 312) comprises a mobile phone wireless charging module (combo of “first mobile phone wireless charging transmitting coil 311” and “first mobile phone wireless charging transmitting magnetic sheet 312” of Fig. 10; “mobile phone wireless charging transmitting module” of Figs. 14-19; ¶ [72]) arranged in the second charging position (301).
Zhao further discloses the third charging module (330) comprises a watch wireless charging module (“watch wireless charging transmitting module 333”; Fig. 12) arranged in the watch charging element (330).
Though Zhao discloses the second charging position (301), Zhao does not disclose “the second charging position is provided with a boss for supporting a mobile phone”.
An teaches the second charging position (“base 11”; Figs. 5, 7-8) is provided with a boss (“boss 1211”; Fig. 8) for supporting a mobile phone (“charging device 20”; Figs. 5, 7-8; )
An further teaches the second charging module comprises a mobile phone wireless charging module (“first coil module 113”; Fig. 8) arranged in the second charging position (11).
An further teaches the boss to enable a more stable mounting of the mobile phone arranged in the second charging position (¶ [n0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the second charging position disclosed by the combo of Zhao & Ren to incorporate a boss, as taught by An, to enable a more stable mounting of the mobile phone arranged in the second charging position.
Regarding Claims 5 and 12, the combo of Zhao, Ren, & An teaches the mobile charging device according to claim 4 and the mobile charging device according to claim 11.
Zhao further discloses the third charging position (303) is provided with a receding groove (combo of “bottom shell watch wireless charging chamber 1203” and “concaved recess 1205”; Fig. 8).
Zhao further discloses the watch charging element (330) is movably connected (via “watch wireless charging rotary shaft 334”; Figs. 11-12) with the housing assembly (110, 120, 200).
Zhao further discloses the receding groove (1203, 1205) is used for accommodating (¶ [79]: “330 is received in the watch wireless charging chamber”) the watch charging element (330).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (US 2021/0167630 A1) in view of Ren (CN 216216001 U) and Karanikos et al. (US 2022/0094202 A1; hereinafter “Kara”).
Regarding Claim 6, the combo of Zhao & Ren teaches the mobile charging device according to claim 1.
Zhao does not disclose “the mobile charging device further comprises a cover plate arranged on the housing assembly, and the cover plate is provided with a position avoidance hole; wherein, the cover plate is used for detachable cover on the outer surface, so that the cover plate shields or exposes the first charging position; the position avoidance hole is used for exposing the second charging position on the cover plate”.
Kara teaches the mobile charging device (“wireless charger 100”; Figs. 1-4) further comprises a cover plate (combo of “top layer 510” and “spacer 520”; Fig. 3) arranged on the housing assembly (mechanical structure of Fig. 3).
Kara further teaches the cover plate (510, 520) is provided with a position avoidance hole (hole in “510” through which “112” is revealed).
Kara further teaches the cover plate (510, 520) is used for detachable cover on the outer surface (combo of “first top enclosure 530” and “second top enclosure 532”; Fig. 3), so that the cover plate (510, 520) exposes (“142” is left exposed by the cover plate because the “top layer 510” includes a cutout around the perimeter of “142”; Fig. 3; see note 6-1, included infra, regarding claim language interpretation) the first charging position (“top surface 142” of “charging puck 140”; Figs. 1-3; ¶ [88]: “140 for charging a second electronic device”).
NOTE 6-1: The claim language “the cover plate shields or exposes the first charging position” is written with optionality such that the cover plate may do only one of “shields the first charging position” or “exposes the first charging position”. Because Kara teaches that the cover plate exposes the first charging position, so it is not required that the cover plate also shields the first charging position.
Kara further teaches the position avoidance hole (hole in “510” through which “112” is revealed) is used for exposing the second charging position (“contacting surface 112” of “first leaf 110”; Fig. 3; ¶ [88]: “110 can be configured to charge a phone”) on the cover plate (510, 520).
Kara further teaches this cover plate structure is made of leather (¶ [126]), thus protecting the outer surface and improving appeal to the touch (¶ [99]), without negatively affecting the function of the charging functions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the mobile charging device disclosed by the combo of Zhao & Ren to incorporate a cover plate with an avoidance hole, as taught by Kara, to protect the outer surface and improve appeal to the touch, without negatively affecting the function of the charging functions.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (US 2021/0167630 A1) in view of Ren (CN 216216001 U), Karanikos et al. (US 2022/0094202 A1; hereinafter “Kara”), and Lu (US 2020/0006966 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, the combo of Zhao, Ren, & Kara teaches the mobile charging device according to claim 6.
Zhao does not disclose “the mobile charging device further comprises a cover magnetic attraction part and a plurality of soft rubber pads; the cover magnetic attraction part is arranged on the housing assembly or the cover plate, the cover magnetic attraction part is used for detachable adsorbing and fixing the cover plate, the soft rubber pads are arranged on the outer surface or the cover plate, and at least part of the soft rubber pads are used for respectively contacting with the cover plate and the electrical device in the first charging position”.
Lu teaches the mobile charging device (title: “magnetic attracting type vehicle-mounted wireless charging device”; Figs. 1-4) further comprises a cover magnetic attraction part (“magnetic steel sheets 212” as part of cover plate “2” placed on outer surface “101”; Figs. 1-3) and a plurality of soft rubber pads (four outer corners of “soft rubber sheet 211”, as part of “soft rubber magnetic attracting sheet 21”, is a soft rubber pad for the respective magnetic interface between “212” and “12”; Figs. 1, 3).
Lu further teaches the cover magnetic attraction part (212) is arranged on the housing assembly (“housing 10”, including “upper cover 101” and “lower cover 102”; Fig. 3; “212”, as part of “2”, is arranged between “101” and the electronic device to be charged) or the cover plate (“magnetic attracting device 2”, including “211” and “212”; Fig. 3).
Lu further teaches the cover magnetic attraction part (212) is used for detachable adsorbing and fixing (cover plate “2” can detachably attract and mount to the outer surface “101” of “wireless charger 1”) the cover plate (2).
Lu further teaches the soft rubber pads (four outer corners of “soft rubber sheet 211”) are arranged on the outer surface (“upper cover 101” of “wireless charger 1”; Figs. 1-3; Fig. 3 shows “211” is arranged against “101”) or the cover plate (“magnetic attracting device 2”, including “211” and “212”; Fig. 3 shows “211” is part of “2”).
Lu further teaches at least part of the soft rubber pads (four outer corners of “soft rubber sheet 211”) are used for respectively contacting with the cover plate (“magnetic attracting device 2”, including “211” and “212”; Fig. 3 shows “211” is part of “2”).and the electrical device (Figs. 1-3 show a mobile phone that contacts “211” when charging from “1”) in the first charging position (“wireless charger 1”; Figs. 1-3).
Lu further teaches the cover magnetic attraction part and the soft rubber pads to firmly fix the electrical device to the first charging position (¶ [3]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the mobile charging device disclosed by the combo of Zhao, Ren, & Kara to incorporate a cover magnetic attraction part and soft rubber pads, as taught by Lu, to more securely fix the electrical device when charging in the first charging position, thus improving user convenience by reducing the risk of detachment during charging.
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (US 2021/0167630 A1) in view of Ren (CN 216216001 U) and Liao (WO 2022/155850 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, the combo of Zhao & Ren teaches the mobile charging device according to claim 1.
Zhao further discloses (see annotated Figs. 9-10 & 16, included infra) the mobile charging device (“multi-functional travel charger”; Figs. 1-20) further comprises an electronic control assembly (combo of “311-314”, “321”, “322”, “341”, “342”, “400”, & “500”; mechanical structure drawn in Figs. 9-10; electrical schematic drawn in Fig. 16) and a battery (“cell/battery 600”; Fig. 10).
Zhao further discloses the electronic control assembly (311-314, 321, 322, 341, 342, 400, 500) comprises a first circuit board (“main control module 400”, which includes “410”, “420”, & “430”; “400” is drawn as a circuit board in Fig. 9) and a second circuit board (combo of either “311” & “312” or “313” & “314”; Fig. 10; each pair makes up a “wireless charging transmitting module” of Fig. 16; per ¶ [29, 86-88], the “wireless charging transmitting module” may be mounted on a “wireless charging transmitting PCB”) connected with each other (see annotated Fig. 16 electrical schematic drawing).
Zhao further discloses (see annotated Fig. 13 electrical schematic drawing) the battery (600) is connected with the electronic control assembly (311-314, 321, 322, 341, 342, 400, 500).
Zhao further discloses the housing assembly (110, 120, 200) comprises an upper housing (combo of “top shell lower cover 1102” and “bottom shell lower cover 1202”; Fig. 10) and a lower housing (combo of “top shell upper cover 1101” and “bottom shell upper cover 1201”; Figs. 9-10) connected with each other (¶ [66]: “connected in a snap-fit manner, connected through a screw, or connected through laser welding”).
Zhao further discloses the upper housing (1102, 1202) and the lower housing (1101, 1201) together define an accommodation space (¶ [90]: “charger body”; space between “1101” and “1102”, within which “311”, “312”, “313”, “314”, and “600” are arranged; Fig. 10).
Zhao further discloses the battery (600) is arranged in the accommodation space (¶ [90]: “600 is disposed in the charger body”).
Zhao further discloses the end of the battery (600) and the inner wall of the accommodation space (space enclosed by “1101” & “1102”) together define an installation position (labeled in annotated Fig. 10).
Zhao further discloses the second circuit board (311, 312 or 313, 314; embodied as a “wireless charging transmitting PCB”) is arranged between the battery (600) and the inner wall of the accommodation space (space enclosed by “1101” & “1102”).
Zhao does not disclose “the first circuit board is arranged in the installation position”. Instead, Zhao teaches a different position in the mobile charging device in which the first circuit board (400) is installed (see Fig. 9).
Liao teaches (see annotated Fig. 4, included infra) the housing assembly comprises an upper housing (“upper shell 111”; Figs. 3-4) and a lower housing (“lower shell 112”; Figs. 3-4) connected with each other.
Liao further teaches the upper housing (111) and the lower housing (112) together define an accommodation space (labelled in annotated Fig. 4)
Liao further teaches the battery (“charging power supply 123”; Figs. 3-4; ¶ [47]: “123 can be a storage battery”) is arranged in the accommodation space (see annotated Fig. 4).
Liao further teaches the end of the battery (123) and the inner wall of the accommodation space together define an installation position (labeled in annotated Fig. 4).
Liao further teaches the first circuit board (“control circuit board 121”; Figs. 3-4) is arranged in the installation position (see annotated Fig. 4).
Liao further teaches this location of the first circuit board (121) enables the external interfaces (40, 1103) to be on an end of the housing, thus enabling more flexibility and convenience in the available resting positions of the mobile charging device, such as with a stand (20) that leaves the external interfaces pointed upward (Fig. 5), which is convenient for the user by enabling more than one method of using the mobile charging device (¶ [0002]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the first circuit board disclosed by the combo of Zhao & Ren to be arranged in the installation position, as taught by Liao, to improve convenience by enabling more available resting positions of the mobile charging device by moving the external interfaces to an end of the housing. Further, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding Claim 10, the combo of Zhao, Ren, & Liao teaches the mobile charging device according to claim 8.
Zhao does not disclose “two fixing frames are provided on the first circuit board and the fixing frames are used for inserting between the battery and the inner wall of the accommodation space from opposite sides”.
Liao further teaches two fixing frames (Fig. 4 shows two mounting holes located on “121”; see note 10-1, included infra) are provided on the first circuit board (121) and the fixing frames are used for inserting between the battery (123) and the inner wall of the accommodation space (space within housing “11”) from opposite sides (mounting holes pass through both sides of a circuit board; further, Fig. 4 depicts each of the two mounting holes located on opposite sides of the upper side of “121”).
NOTE 10-1: The instant application’s disclosure appears to be using “fixing frames” to refer to mounting holes on the first circuit board. The applicant’s Fig. 4 appears to point indicate a hole in “first circuit board 61” as being a “fixing frame 611”.
It is widely known in the art that fixing frames, also known as mounting holes, are used to securely mount circuit boards in a housing, improving robustness against environmental stresses such as vibration and mechanical shocks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the first circuit board disclosed by the combo of Zhao, Ren, & Liao to incorporate two fixing frames, as further taught by Liao, to securely mount the first circuit board, thus improving reliability of the mobile charging device.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (US 2021/0167630 A1) in view of Ren (CN 216216001 U), Liao (WO 2022/155850 A1), and Hosotani et al. (US 2022/0231348 A1; hereinafter “Hoso”).
Regarding Claim 9, the combo of Zhao, Ren, & Liao teaches the mobile charging device of claim 8.
Zhao does not disclose “the housing assembly further comprises an upper cushioning member disposed between the battery and the upper housing, and a lower cushioning member disposed between the battery and the lower housing”.
Hoso teaches the housing assembly (21, 22, 500, 510) further comprises an upper cushioning member (“substrate fixing member 500”; Fig. 3; ¶ [70]: “500 also has a function for holding a peripheral part of the upper surface of the secondary battery 1 in such a manner that the impact is absorbed”) disposed between the battery (“secondary battery 1”; Fig. 3) and the upper housing (“first outer casing member 21”; Figs. 1, 3).
Hoso further teaches a lower cushioning member (“secondary battery cushion member 510”; Fig. 3; ¶ [69-70]; ¶ [69]: “secondary battery 1 is held at the second outer casing member 22 with the secondary battery cushion member 510 interposed therebetween”) disposed between the battery (1) and the lower housing (“22”; Figs. 1, 3).
Hoso further teaches the upper/lower cushioning members to reduce the impacts received by the battery due to acceleration or vibrations (¶ [69]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the housing assembly disclosed by the combo of Zhao, Ren, & Liao to incorporate upper/lower cushioning members, as taught by Hoso, to improve reliability of the mobile charging device by reducing the impacts received by the battery due to acceleration or vibrations.
Conclusion
/DANIEL P MCFARLAND/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859