DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uzoh (‘307) in view of Matsuura et al. (U.S. 2019/0378728).
As to claim 18, Uzoh discloses a wiring substrate as shown in
figures 1-2 comprising:
a first substrate (110, para-0055+) being a rigid substrate;
a second substrate (120); and
a plurality of bumps (130) interposed between the first and second substrates
(110, 120) and bonding the first substrate (110) and the second substrate (120), the
bumps (130) comprising no solder in intermediate portions,
wherein the bumps (130) are composed of a metal (para-0009+) OR alloy having
a melting point of 600°C OR more and have a height of 0.6 µm OR more.
Uzoh does not specifically disclose the first substrate comprising a rigid carrier, a release layer on the rigid carrier, and a metal layer on the release layer.
Matsuura a multilayer circuit board (26, 38, see figure 2g) as shown in figures 1-2 comprising a first substrate (26) comprising a rigid carrier (12), a release layer (14) on the rigid carrier, and a metal layer (16) on the release layer.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have a teaching of Matsuura employed in the wiring substrate of Uzoh in order to minimize the stress, improve the reliable connection structure for the multilayer lamination.
As to claim 19, Uzoh as modified by Matsuura teaches the first substrate (26) further comprises a redistribution layer (18, 20) on the rigid carrier, and wherein the redistribution layer and the second substrate (38) are bonded by the plurality of bumps
(34).
As to claim 20, Uzoh as modified by Matsuura discloses the rigid carrier (110) is composed of (1) glass, (2) a substrate comprising silicon, or (3) alumina, para-0057, 0059.
As to claim 21, Uzoh as modified by Matsuura discloses the bumps (130) are regularly arranged at a pitch (center-to-center distance) of 1 µm or more and 40 µm or less, para-0217.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 18-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
/TUAN T DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847