DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 4/19/2026 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, Claims 8-9 and 13 have been amended.
Claims 8-18 are pending in this application.
Based on the amendments filed 4/19/2026, the previous 112b rejections have been cured. Therefore, the 112b rejections of claims 9-18 are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that cited prior art Ghanbarinejad and Kremm fails to teach or suggest all the limitations of claim 8. Particularly, in the cited reference Ghanbarinejad, it merely discloses timing and frequency adjustment for communication in an NTN. However, Ghanbarinejad does not disclose or suggest any time compression factor applied to a signal, nor any operation that modifying an upconversion signal to include such a factor. In addition, the cited reference Kremm only discloses adjusting the timing of signals by directly adding or subtracting delay to compensate for Doppler effects. However, Kremm does not teach modifying an upconversion signal to include a time compression factor. More specifically, such operations of Kremm correspond to shifting a signal in time rather than modifying a upconversion signal to include a time compression factor. In contrast, in the claimed invention, it is clear that applying the time compression factor to the upconversion signal includes modifying the upconversion signal to include the time compression factor. Accordingly, the timing compensation mechanism of the claimed invention is fundamentally different from that disclosed in the cited references. (Remarks Pg. 9-10)
Examiner respectfully disagrees. ¶0049-¶0050 of Kremm discusses the up-conversion of the outgoing signal. And ¶0053 of Kremm discloses that the outgoing signal is modified with timing adjustment by adjusting the timing or other signal parameter timing when the outgoing signal is generated at baseband. The timing adjustment disclosed of in Kremm is considered equivalent to a time compression factor as it is used to adjust timing for outgoing signals in order to compensate for signal distortion caused by propagation delays (see Kremm ¶0103). Therefore, the timing adjustment (time compression factor) being applied to the baseband signal is considered equivalent to applying a time compression factor to an upconversion signal, as the timing adjustment becomes a part of the outgoing signal. As for the argument that Kremm’s disclosure of shifting a signal in time is not the same as modifying a signal to include a time compression factor. Kremm discloses at ¶0053 that the outgoing signal has a timing adjustment applied to it. Since the timing adjustment of Kremm is being considered equivalent to a time compression factor, the application of this adjustment to the outgoing signal is considered a modification of the signal by changing the signal with timing parameters. Examiner would also like to point out that the claim does not recite how the modification is being done other than the broad language of “including the time compression factor”. As such, the reference Kremm discloses the inclusion of a timing adjustment and therefore time compression factor and reads on the claim language as currently recited.
Applicant’s further arguments with respect to claims 8-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claims 8-9 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: The amendments filed 4/19/2026 do not contain any of the necessary markings or indications showing portions of the claim language that have been altered. For portions of the claim that have been added, please add underlining to the new text. For portions of the claim that have been deleted, please add strikethroughs to the text intended to be removed. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghanbarinejad et al. (US 2023/0362857 A1), hereinafter “Ghanbarinejad”, in view of Kremm et al. (English translation of JP 2009201143 A), hereinafter “Kremm”.
Re. Claim 8, Ghanbarinejad teaches:
A method, (¶0352 Disclosed herein is a first method for timing and frequency adjustments in non-terrestrial networks, according to embodiments of the disclosure)
comprising: obtaining, by a processor of an apparatus, a carrier frequency of a non-terrestrial network (NTN); (¶0004-¶0005 Disclosed are procedures for timing and frequency adjustments in non-terrestrial networks [i.e. operating in NTN] an apparatus includes a processor that determines a first frequency from one of a first reference signal received from a mobile wireless communication network and a configuration message received from the mobile wireless communication network. & ¶0350 the first frequency comprises at least one of a carrier frequency, a carrier frequency without a Doppler pre-compensation [i.e. obtains first frequency, which is a carrier frequency])
Yet, Ghanbarinejad does not explicitly teach: generating, by the processor, an upconversion signal by upconverting a baseband signal according to the carrier frequency; obtaining, by the processor, a time compression factor of the NTN; and performing, by the processor, a timing compensation through applying the time compression factor to the upconversion signal.
However, in the analogous art, Kremm teaches such limitations:
generating, by the processor, an upconversion signal by upconverting a baseband signal according to the carrier frequency; (¶0047 precorrection element 232 is used to adjust the frequency of the digital output of digital power controller 228 to a baseband frequency. The baseband spectral information, including the frequency adjustment, is converted to the appropriate center frequency during up-conversion, which occurs in the transmit power amplifier 230.)
obtaining, by the processor, a time compression factor of the NTN; (¶0016 In addition to such frequency shifts, the Doppler effect also causes apparent time or timing shifts in the timing of the various codes used, including PN codes, symbols, and the like. These apparent time shifts are referred to as code Doppler. In particular, code Doppler is the effect of satellite motion introduced into the baseband signal. & ¶0072 The amount of frequency and/or timing correction imposed on the outgoing user terminal signal, forward link, is based on the known Doppler between the gateway and each satellite through which communication is established. The amount of shift required to account for satellite Doppler can be calculated [i.e. obtaining a time compression factor, interpreted as an amount of timing shift that needs corrected] by control processor 320 using known satellite orbital position data.)
and performing, by the processor, a timing compensation through applying the time compression factor to the upconversion signal. (¶0049-¶0050 Alternatively, a pre-correction element 234 can be disposed in the transmit path at the output of the transmit power amplifier 230 to adjust the frequency of the outgoing signal. This can be accomplished using well-known techniques such as up-conversion or downconversion of the transmit waveform. & ¶0053 timing adjustment is generally achieved by having a control processor adjust code generation and timing or other signal parameter timing when the signal is generated at baseband and prior to output by power controller 328. & ¶0070-¶0072 precorrection elements 342, 344 may be used in the transmit path to adjust the timing of the outgoing signals using known precorrection circuits that may form part of such elements. This can be accomplished using well-known techniques to add or subtract delays in the transmit waveform. [i.e. adjusting the timing of the outgoing signals (performing timing compensation), which is adding and subtracting the delays of the timing shifts (applying the time compression factor)] Additionally, time precorrection elements similar to precorrection elements 342 and 344 and time precorrection elements (not shown) in addition to precorrection elements 342, 344 can be used as needed to contribute to performing timing changes. Time pre-modification can be used with or without frequency pre-correction to modify the relative timing of signals or PN codes. The amount of frequency and/or timing correction imposed on the outgoing user terminal signal, forward link, is based on the known Doppler between the gateway and each satellite through which communication is established. The amount of shift required to account for satellite Doppler can be calculated by control processor 320 using known satellite orbital position data. [i.e. timing correction (timing compensation) performed using amount of shit (time compression factor) on outgoing signal, which is generated at baseband prior to being output using up-conversion techniques as described above])
wherein applying the time compression factor to the upconversion signal includes modifying the upconversion signal to include the time compression factor. (¶0049-¶0050 Alternatively, a pre-correction element 234 can be disposed in the transmit path at the output of the transmit power amplifier 230 to adjust the frequency of the outgoing signal. This can be accomplished using well-known techniques such as up-conversion or downconversion of the transmit waveform. & ¶0053 timing adjustment is generally achieved by having a control processor adjust code generation and timing or other signal parameter timing when the signal is generated at baseband and prior to output by power controller 328 [i.e. outgoing signal is an upconverted signal, where the signal is modified according to the timing adjustment (time compression factor) when signal is generated at baseband before transmitting, therefore the time compression factor is applied before transmission])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ghanbarinejad’s invention of timing and frequency adjustments in non-terrestrial networks to include Kremm’s teaching of performing uplink timing pre-compensation according to a time compression factor, because it would enable the device to reduce frequency and timing uncertainty at the user terminal due to variations in propagation delay. (see Kremm ¶0028 & ¶0106)
Claims 9-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghanbarinejad combined with Kremm, in further view of Yao et al. (US 2023/0422195 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Yao”, and further in view of Yan et al. (US 2024/0064677 A1), hereinafter “Yan”, and further in view of Kratz et al. (US 2023/0254110 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Kratz”.
Re. Claim 9, Ghanbarinejad combined with Kremm teaches Claim 8.
Ghanbarinejad further teaches:
further comprising: obtaining, by the processor, a delay drift of the NTN; (¶0211 the NT-TRP broadcasts additional information, for example in one or multiple system information blocks (“SIBs”). the broadcast information may comprise additional information specific to NTN such as the following: ¶0222 Propagation delay of a service link, e.g., propagation delay from the satellite/UAV to a reference point (normally on the ground). [0223] i. Drift rate of the above propagation delay as a function of time. [0224] ii. Drift rate of the above propagation delay as a function of a Doppler shift. The Doppler shift may be associated with an SS/PBCH block and may be indicated by an index to the SS/PBCH block. [0225] Propagation delay of a feeder link, e.g., propagation delay from a gateway to the satellite/UAV. [0226] i. Drift rate of the above propagation delay as a function of time. [0227] ii. Drift rate of the above propagation delay as a function of a Doppler shift. The Doppler shift may be associated with an SS/PBCH block and may be indicated by an index to the SS/PBCH block. [0228] Propagation delay(s) of inter-satellite links (ISLs) in a multi-hop NTN. [0229] i. Drift rate of the above propagation delay as a function of time. [0230] ii. Drift rate of the above propagation delay as a function of a Doppler shift. & ¶0237 in one embodiment, the UE receives additional information, for example in one or multiple system information blocks (“SIBs”). the broadcast information may comprise additional information specific to NTN, as mentioned above for Step 2 810 [i.e. UE (apparatus) receives the NTN specific drift rate of propagation delays (NTN delay drift)])
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: wherein the delay drift is expressed as a ratio;
However, in the analogous art, Yao teaches:
wherein the delay drift is expressed as a ratio; (¶0019 Techniques described herein also enable the UE to update TA values based on a timing drift rate value, which may correspond to a rate of change in signal propagation delays based on factors, such as velocities and trajectories of the UE and/or satellite. & ¶0051 the UE-specific timing drift rate may be determined and/or represented as a bit value indicating a micro-second per second (y) and/or a scaling factor (S), such that UE 110 may determine the UE-specific timing drift rate (x) as: x=y*S [i.e. timing drift rate (delay drift) is represented as a scaling factor, which is considered a ratio expression])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ghanbarinejad and Kremm’s invention of timing and frequency adjustments in non-terrestrial networks to include Yao’s teaching of the delay drift being represented as a ratio, because it would allow the scaling of a timing drift rate used by the UE for uplink transmissions when the drift rate is used for modifying the current timing drift. (See Yao ¶0051)
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: and calculating, by the processor, the time compression factor as subtracting the delay drift from 1.
However, in the analogous art, Yan teaches such a limitation:
and calculating, by the processor, the time compression factor as subtracting the delay drift from a unitless value of 1 to compensate for signal distortion caused by the delay drift. (¶0005 The timing advance (TA) can be also referred to as timing offset (TO). In the following description, TA (timing advance) is used. & ¶0095 the estimated drift rate value may alternatively be an estimated propagation delay drift rate value & ¶0100 if the estimated TA drift rate is −5 μs/s and the reference value (e.g. initial reported TA value) is 100 ms, [i.e. a reference value used] the real-time TA is 100 ms+estimated TA drift rate*time (s). For example, after 10 μs (10 seconds), the real-time TA is 100 ms−5 μs/s*10 s=99.95 ms. [i.e. real-time TA (a time compression factor) is equal to 100ms − 5μs; the reference value (equivalent to unitless value of 1) is represented as 100ms for the example given, minus estimated propagation delay drift rate value of 5 μs (delay drift), this is functionally equivalent to using a reference value ‘1’ for normalizing a very small number by subtraction and using the result to compensate for propagation delay (distortion))])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ghanbarinejad, Kremm, and Yao’s invention of timing and frequency adjustments in non-terrestrial networks to include Yan’s teaching of calculating a time compression factor as a delay drift value subtracted by a reference value, because it would enable the apparatus to calculate a time compression factor using values known to the apparatus such as NTN delay drift and a reference value. (see Yan ¶0095)
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: wherein modifying the upconversion signal to include the time compression factor further includes modifying a continuous time variable of the upconversion signal based on the time compression factor.
However, in the analogous art, Kratz teaches:
wherein modifying the upconversion signal to include the time compression factor further includes modifying a continuous time variable of the upconversion signal based on the time compression factor. (¶0092 the system generates synchronization signals based on a continuous-valued and/or complex-valued baseband signal, as opposed to a binary code sequence. & ¶0096 in order for the nodes in the mesh network to receive the synchronization signal according to standard RF transceiver technology, the local node can generate a synchronization signal from the baseband signal described above by mixing the baseband signal (i.e., upconverting the baseband signal) [i.e. synchronization signal is an upconverted continuous-valued (continuous time variable) baseband signal (considered the upconversion signal)] with a local oscillator tone at the transmit carrier frequency. & ¶0122-¶0123 The method S 100 can also include calculating durations of subsequent synchronization slots based on a combination (e.g., an uncertainty propagated sum) of: the time bias uncertainty; the expected drift in the relative time bias between synchronization slots (calculated via the predictive drift model further described below); the propagation delay; the propagation delay uncertainty; the greater of the transmit chain delay of the first node or the transmit chain delay of the second node; the greater of the receive chain delay of the first node or the receive chain delay of the second node; the duration of the synchronization signal; and/or the expected change in the propagation delay due to relative movement between the pair of nodes. the synchronization slot is additionally lengthened by a time buffer to ensure that each node receives a complete synchronization signal within the synchronization slot. When the synchronization slot duration is set equal to the above sum, the synchronization slot duration is long enough to allow a synchronization signal generated at one node to be fully received at the second node in application for which greater than expected drift or error occurs in any of the aforementioned quantities. [i.e. synchronization signal (the upconverted signal) is modified according to a calculation of the expected change in the propagation delay due to relative movement between the nodes (delay drift)])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ghanbarinejad, Kremm, Yao, and Yan’s invention of timing and frequency adjustments in non-terrestrial networks to include Kratz’s teaching of modifying a continuous time variable of the upconversion signal based on the time compression factor, because it would enable the generation of synchronization signals based on a calculation of the change in propagation delay due to relative movement between the nodes. (see Kratz ¶0122-¶0123)
Re. Claim 10, Ghanbarinejad combined with Kremm, Yao, Yan, and Kratz teaches Claim 9.
Ghanbarinejad further teaches:
wherein the delay drift corresponds to a service link delay drift on a service link between a non-terrestrial (NT) network node and the apparatus (¶0049 The airborne or spaceborne communication entity that provides a service link to a UE is referred to as a non-terrestrial transmit-receive point (“NT-TRP”) & ¶0065 an airborne or spaceborne NT-TRP provides connectivity between a user equipment (“UE”) via a “service link” and a network through a gateway via a “feeder link.” The propagation delay in the service link is normally much larger than an access link in a terrestrial cellular system. & ¶0156 The reference TA may consider the TA change due to a propagation delay from the satellite to the ground & ¶0180 The UE, in one embodiment, may additionally compute a value of TA change over time, which may be referred to as a TA drift rate. & ¶0211 the NT-TRP broadcasts additional information, for example in one or multiple system information blocks (“SIBs”). the broadcast information may comprise additional information specific to NTN such as the following: ¶0222-¶0223 Propagation delay of a service link, e.g., propagation delay from the satellite/UAV to a reference point (normally on the ground). i. Drift rate of the above propagation delay as a function of time. [i.e. information about Drift rate/TA rate-of-change regarding propagation delay (equivalent to delay drift), of a service link between a satellite/UAV (NT network node) and a UE (apparatus)])
due to one of a movement of the apparatus, a movement of the NT network node, and a combination thereof. (¶0065 timing relationships and uplink timing for NTNs require enhancements to take into consideration long propagation delays and moving cells in NTNs. For example, an airborne or spaceborne NT-TRP provides connectivity between a user equipment (“UE”) via a “service link” and a network through a gateway via a “feeder link.” these all require enhancements in the specification for timing adjustments for the uplink, and further enhancements may allow the system to optimize timing adjustments by predicting the movement and the future ephemeris of the NT-TRP. [i.e. delay drift due to movement of the NT-TRP (NT network node)] & ¶0180 The UE, in one embodiment, may additionally compute a value of TA change over time, which may be referred to as a TA drift rate. The TA drift rate may be computed by different methods. If the UE obtains velocity information such its own velocity VUE as well as a velocity of the serving satellite VTRP, a velocity of the gateway VGW, a velocity of an intermediate satellite in a multi-hop system, and/or a like, in one embodiment, the UE may compute a TA drift rate associated with the relative velocity |VUE−VTRP|, |VUE−VGW|, and so on. [i.e. based on velocity (movement of UE (apparatus) and serving satellite VTRP (NT network node)])
Re. Claim 11, Ghanbarinejad combined with Kremm, Yao, Yan, and Kratz teaches Claim 10.
Ghanbarinejad further teaches:
further comprising: obtaining, by the processor, a plurality of positions of the apparatus via a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS); (¶0118 scenarios may be divided based on whether ephemeris (location and velocity information) of the NT-TRP is available and whether the UE is equipped with a global navigation satellite system (“GNSS”) receiver such as a global positioning system (“GPS”) receiver. & ¶0134 the UE may obtain its own location information GUE, for example through a GNSS. & ¶0295 when the UE can use a measurement gap to perform GNSS operations, it can obtain updated location/timing information and use it to compute a new TA value. [i.e. UE obtains position information on a continuous basis through updating, therefore the UE obtains a plurality of positions ])
calculating, by the processor, a velocity of the apparatus according to the positions; (¶0177 the UE may obtain its own location information GUE, for example through a GNSS. the notation GUE is used to denote any or at least one or all of a position, a velocity, a reference time, or any other information by which a location, a velocity, or a reference time associated with the UE may be obtained.)
obtaining, by the processor, a position of the NT network node; (¶0175 the NT-TRP broadcasts satellite ephemeris information GNW, for example in a system information block (“SIB”). The satellite ephemeris information GNW, in one embodiment, comprises the satellite's 3D position and velocity. [i.e. obtains position through broadcasted information])
obtaining, by the processor, a velocity of the NT network node; (¶0175 the NT-TRP broadcasts satellite ephemeris information GNW, for example in a system information block (“SIB”). The satellite ephemeris information GNW, in one embodiment, comprises the satellite's 3D position and velocity. [i.e. obtains velocity through broadcasted information])
and calculating, by the processor, the service link delay drift according to the positions of the apparatus, the velocity of the apparatus, the position of the NT network node and the velocity of the NT network node. (¶0175-¶0178 the NT-TRP broadcasts satellite ephemeris information GNW, for example in a system information block (“SIB”). The satellite ephemeris information GNW, in one embodiment, comprises the satellite's 3D position and velocity. the notation GNW is used to denote the configuration or parameter that may comprise any or at least one or all of a position, a velocity, a time stamp, or any other information by which an ephemeris and/or a time stamp associated with an NT-TRP, a gateway (“GW”), a feeder link, a service link, an inter-satellite link, and/or the like may be obtained. the UE may obtain its own location information GUE, for example through a GNSS. Similar to the above explanation on GNW, in one embodiment, the notation GUE is used to denote any or at least one or all of a position, a velocity, a reference time, or any other information by which a location, a velocity, or a reference time associated with the UE may be obtained. the UE computes a timing advance value TA1 based on GNW and GUE. [i.e. UE computes a TA value based on GNW and GUE which includes positions and velocities of NT-TRPs and UEs] & ¶0180 The UE, in one embodiment, may additionally compute a value of TA change over time, which may be referred to as a TA drift rate. [i.e. also computing/calculating a TA drift rate which is a value of TA change over time, therefore considered equivalent to a delay drift, which would inherently be calculated using the same GNW and GUE data used to calculate the TA in the previous step] The TA drift rate may be computed by different methods. If the UE obtains velocity information such its own velocity VUE as well as a velocity of the serving satellite VTRP, a velocity of the gateway VGW, a velocity of an intermediate satellite in a multi-hop system, and/or a like, in one embodiment, the UE may compute a TA drift rate associated with the relative velocity |VUE−VTRP|, |VUE−VGW|, and so on.)
Re. Claim 12, Ghanbarinejad combined with Kremm, Yao, Yan, and Kratz teaches Claim 10.
Ghanbarinejad further teaches:
wherein the service link delay drift is signalled by a terrestrial network node using one of an open loop, (¶0287 a communication entity such as a gNB, a gateway (“GW”) [i.e. a terrestrial network node], an NT-TRP, or a UE may transmit a message comprising a value for a parameter such as a timing advance (TA), a common TA, a reference TA, a full TA, a differential TA, a TA drift rate, and so on. [i.e. TA drift rate (delay drift) is transmitted by a gateway (terrestrial network node), which is an open loop operation e.g. based on input signals only] & ¶0315 at least a portion of the mobile wireless communication network comprises a non-terrestrial network that provides a wireless connection between the UE and a gateway of a terrestrial network. ¶0366 In the foregoing, several acronyms and mathematical notations are used. A brief explanation of some is provided below: ¶0379-¶0380 iii. GW—gateway (normally on the ground) [0380] iv. TRP—NT-TRP (or ground TRP for the sake of generality) [i.e. both gateways and NT-TRPs can be ground-based (terrestrial) network nodes that provide TA drift rate (delay drift) through open loop signaling])
Re. Claim 13, Ghanbarinejad combined with Kremm, Yao, Yan, and Kratz teaches Claim 10.
Ghanbarinejad further teaches:
wherein the service link delay drift is calculated as a pre-compensation frequency value divided by the carrier frequency. (¶0136 in one embodiment, may additionally compute a value of TA change over time, which may be referred to as a TA drift rate. [i.e. delay drift] & ¶0242-¶0245 FIG. 9 is directed to embodiments for obtaining TA drift rate from Doppler shift. [i.e. obtaining the TA drift rate (delay drift)] In one embodiment, the NT-TRP 902 may be onboard a LEO satellite 904 traveling at a speed V 906, e.g., more than 7 km/s. Depending on the component V′ 908 of V projected on the line-of-sight between the NT-TRP 902 and a UE 910 [i.e. in reference to a delay drift between NT-TRP and UE (service link)] & According to the following calculations, the UE 910 may use the values of Doppler shift in order to update timing advance values. Let f.sub.D denote the instantaneous frequency of a signal with frequency f.sub.c shifted due to a relative speed V′. A change ΔTA of timing advance (“TA”) over a time period Δt can be obtained as follows. [i.e. the change in TA which is otherwise called TA drift (delay drift) is calculated using the equations shown below]
In the above equations, l is the instantaneous distance between the NT-TRP 902 and the UE 910, T.sub.p is the instantaneous propagation delay, and c is the speed of light. It can be seen that a change of TA can be calculated if the (target) frequency f.sub.c (e.g., carrier frequency) is known & In practice, a combination of TA commands, explicit indications of a TA drift, and the above calculations based on Doppler shift may be used to update TA by the UE. & ¶0248 An alternative to the above method is to associate a Doppler pre-compensation value with a reference signal as follows. Consider the scenario where a Doppler pre-compensation of f.sub.p is applied to a reference signal for a target frequency of f.sub.c at a UE 910. Then, when a UE 910 performs a Doppler measurement on the reference signal, it obtains a Doppler-shifted version of the Doppler pre-compensated frequency f′.sub.D=f.sub.D−f.sub.p, where f.sub.D is the received frequency if no pre-compensation were applied. Note that f′.sub.D is supposed to be close to f.sub.c, but depending on the beam-width of the satellite signal on the ground, resolution of f.sub.p, and so on, the two values may be different. In this method, the value of f.sub.p may be broadcast or communicated to the UE 910. Once the UE 910 receives this value, it may calculate f.sub.D=f′.sub.D+f.sub.p, and provided that the UE 910 knows f.sub.c, it may use the above equations to update the value of TA. [i.e. f’.sub.D, which is a pre-compensation frequency value, will be used in the above equation in place of f.sub.D for calculation of the delay drift, the equation being f’.sub.D (pre-compensated frequency value) divided by f.sub.c (carrier frequency)])
Re. Claim 14, Ghanbarinejad combined with Kremm, Yao, Yan, and Kratz teaches Claim 9.
Ghanbarinejad further teaches:
wherein the delay drift corresponds to a feeder link delay drift on a feeder link between a non-terrestrial (NT) network node and a terrestrial network node (¶0117 TA signaling is generated by the gNB connected to the gateway and should consider the propagation delay of the feeder link. & ¶0176 the notation GNW is used to denote the configuration or parameter that may comprise any or at least one or all of a position, a velocity, a time stamp, or any other information by which an ephemeris and/or a time stamp associated with an NT-TRP, a gateway (“GW”), a feeder link, a service link, an inter-satellite link, and/or the like may be obtained. & ¶0049 The airborne or spaceborne communication entity that provides a service link to a UE is referred to as a non-terrestrial transmit-receive point (“NT-TRP”) & ¶0065 an airborne or spaceborne NT-TRP provides connectivity between a user equipment (“UE”) via a “service link” and a network through a gateway via a “feeder link.”. & ¶0180 The UE, in one embodiment, may additionally compute a value of TA change over time, which may be referred to as a TA drift rate. & ¶0211 the NT-TRP broadcasts additional information, for example in one or multiple system information blocks (“SIBs”). The broadcast information may comprise information according to a legacy terrestrial network such as information of random-access channel (“RACH”) configuration e.g., RACH preambles, RACH occasions, and/or the like. Furthermore, the broadcast information may comprise additional information specific to NTN such as the following: ¶0225-¶0226 Propagation delay of a feeder link, e.g., propagation delay from a gateway to the satellite/UAV. ¶0226 i. Drift rate of the above propagation delay as a function of time. [i.e. information about Drift rate/TA rate-of-change regarding propagation delay (equivalent to delay drift), broadcasting the information about the feeder link between the satellite/NT-TRP (NT network node) and the gateway])
due to a movement of the NT network node. (¶0065 timing relationships and uplink timing for NTNs require enhancements to take into consideration long propagation delays and moving cells in NTNs. For example, an airborne or spaceborne NT-TRP provides connectivity between a user equipment (“UE”) via a “service link” and a network through a gateway via a “feeder link.” these all require enhancements in the specification for timing adjustments for the uplink, and further enhancements may allow the system to optimize timing adjustments by predicting the movement and the future ephemeris of the NT-TRP. [i.e. delay drift due to movement/velocity of the NT-TRP (NT network node)] & ¶0136 The UE, in one embodiment, may additionally compute a value of TA change over time, which may be referred to as a TA drift rate. The TA drift rate, in one embodiment, may be computed by different methods. If the UE obtains the velocity of the satellite, VTRP, and/or its own velocity, VUE, in one embodiment, the UE may compute a TA drift rate associated with the relative velocity, |VUE−VTRP|. [i.e. delay drift is computed based on and due to the movement/velocity of the network node, and also movement of the UE (apparatus)])
Re. Claim 15, Ghanbarinejad combined with Kremm, Yao, Yan, and Kratz teaches Claim 14.
Ghanbarinejad further teaches:
further comprising: obtaining, by the processor, a position of the NT network node; (¶0175 the NT-TRP broadcasts satellite ephemeris information GNW, for example in a system information block (“SIB”). The satellite ephemeris information GNW, in one embodiment, comprises the satellite's 3D position and velocity. [i.e. obtains position through broadcasted information])
obtaining, by the processor, a velocity of the NT network node; (¶0175 the NT-TRP broadcasts satellite ephemeris information GNW, for example in a system information block (“SIB”). The satellite ephemeris information GNW, in one embodiment, comprises the satellite's 3D position and velocity. [i.e. obtains velocity through broadcasted information])
obtaining, by the processor, a position of the terrestrial network node; (¶0175 GNW may contain additional information associated with the feeder link. For example, the additional information may comprise information for the gateway location or a propagation delay between the gateway and the satellite. Note that, in one embodiment, the gNB on the ground may obtain satellite ephemeris or feeder link propagation delay through a separate satellite radio interface (“SRI”) that may not be based on NR.)
and calculating, by the processor, the feeder link delay drift according to the position of the NT network node, the velocity of the NT network node and the position of the terrestrial network node. (¶0117 TA signaling is generated by the gNB connected to the gateway and should consider the propagation delay of the feeder link. & ¶0175-¶0178 the NT-TRP broadcasts satellite ephemeris information GNW, for example in a system information block (“SIB”). The satellite ephemeris information GNW, in one embodiment, comprises the satellite's 3D position and velocity. the notation GNW is used to denote the configuration or parameter that may comprise any or at least one or all of a position, a velocity, a time stamp, or any other information by which an ephemeris and/or a time stamp associated with an NT-TRP, a gateway (“GW”), a feeder link, a service link, an inter-satellite link, and/or the like may be obtained. the UE may obtain its own location information GUE, for example through a GNSS. Similar to the above explanation on GNW, in one embodiment, the notation GUE is used to denote any or at least one or all of a position, a velocity, a reference time, or any other information by which a location, a velocity, or a reference time associated with the UE may be obtained. the UE computes a timing advance value TA1 based on GNW and GUE. [i.e. UE computes a TA value based on GNW and GUE which includes positions and velocities of NT-TRPs and UEs] & ¶0180 The UE, in one embodiment, may additionally compute a value of TA change over time, which may be referred to as a TA drift rate. [i.e. also computing/calculating a TA drift rate which is a value of TA change over time, therefore considered equivalent to a delay drift, which would inherently be calculated using the same GNW and GUE data used to calculate the TA in the previous step] & ¶0211 broadcast information may comprise additional information specific to NTN such as the following: ¶0225-¶0226 Propagation delay of a feeder link, e.g., propagation delay from a gateway to the satellite/UAV. i. Drift rate of the above propagation delay as a function of time. [i.e. drift rate of feeder link propagation delay (feeder link delay drift) based on GNW and GUE])
Re. Claim 16, Ghanbarinejad combined with Kremm, Yao, Yan, and Kratz teaches Claim 14.
Ghanbarinejad further teaches:
further comprising: obtaining, by the processor, a feeder link delay; (¶0211 broadcast information may comprise additional information specific to NTN such as the following: ¶0225-¶0226 Propagation delay of a feeder link, e.g., propagation delay from a gateway to the satellite/UAV. i. Drift rate of the above propagation delay as a function of time. [i.e. propagation delay of feeder link (feeder link delay) obtained through broadcast information])
obtaining, by the processor, a timing advance (TA); (¶0287 an NT-TRP may broadcast a value of common TA or location (and possibly velocity) information associated with the NT-TRP and/or the gateway (“GW”) in order for UEs to obtain a common value of TA or a full value of TA)
obtaining, by the processor, a round trip time (RTT); (¶0099 Regarding maintenance for UL timing advance and frequency synchronization, with consideration on the larger cell coverage, long round trip time (“RTT”), and high Doppler, in one embodiment, enhancements are considered to ensure the performance for timing and frequency synchronization for UL transmission. & ¶0135 if GNW and GUE comprise, respectively, the NT-TRP ephemeris/position, PTRP, e.g., 3D coordinates and the UE position. PUE, e.g., 3D coordinates, TA1 can be computed by calculating the propagation delay associated with the distance between the NT-TRP and the UE, |PUE−PTRP|. Alternatively, in one embodiment, if GNW and GUE comprise, respectively, a time, a time stamp, or reference time associated with the TRP, TTRP, and UE time or reference time, TUE, associated with a reception time of a signal transmitted at TTRP, TA1 can be computed by calculating the time difference |TUE−TTRP|. [i.e. describes obtaining by calculation, a time associated with distance between NT-TRP and UE (equivalent to a round trip timing) of a signal in order to use for the adjusted TA1 value])
and calculating, by the processor, the feeder link delay drift according to the feeder link delay, the TA, and the RTT. (¶0287-¶0288 the NT-TRP may employ one of the methods proposed in this disclosure convey a TA drift rate to the UEs. Then, further signaling from NT-TRP/gNB and/or local computation at the UE may provide a differential TA value [i.e. calculating the final feeder link delay drift] that can be added to the common TA value (also referred to as the reference TA value). the full or common TA may include the feeder link delay. Alternatively, a feeder link delay and/or a feeder link delay drift rate should be broadcast to the UE.)
Re. Claim 17, Ghanbarinejad combined with Kremm, Yao, Yan, and Kratz teaches Claim 9.
Ghanbarinejad further teaches:
wherein the delay drift corresponds to a service link delay drift on a service link between a non-terrestrial (NT) network node and the apparatus (see Table 1 below & ¶0049 The airborne or spaceborne communication entity that provides a service link to a UE is referred to as a non-terrestrial transmit-receive point (“NT-TRP”). & ¶0176 the notation GNW is used to denote the configuration or parameter that may comprise any or at least one or all of a position, a velocity, a time stamp, or any other information by which an ephemeris and/or a time stamp associated with an NT-TRP, a gateway (“GW”), a feeder link, a service link, an inter-satellite link, and/or the like may be obtained. & ¶0211 the NT-TRP broadcasts additional information, for example in one or multiple system information blocks (“SIBs”). the broadcast information may comprise additional information specific to NTN such as the following: ¶0222-¶0223 Propagation delay of a service link, e.g., propagation delay from the satellite/UAV to a reference point (normally on the ground). i. Drift rate of the above propagation delay as a function of time. [i.e. drift rate of service link propagation delay (delay drift), service link is between NT-TRP (NT network node) and a UE (apparatus)])
and a feeder link delay drift on a feeder link between the NT network node and a terrestrial network node (see Table 1 below & ¶0065 an airborne or spaceborne NT-TRP provides connectivity between a user equipment (“UE”) via a “service link” and a network through a gateway via a “feeder link.” & & ¶0211 the NT-TRP broadcasts additional information, for example in one or multiple system information blocks (“SIBs”). the broadcast information may comprise additional information specific to NTN such as the following: ¶0225-¶0226 Propagation delay of a feeder link, e.g., propagation delay from a gateway to the satellite/UAV. i. Drift rate of the above propagation delay as a function of time.)
due to a movement of the NT network node or both of the movement of the NT network node and a movement of the apparatus. (¶0065 timing relationships and uplink timing for NTNs require enhancements to take into consideration long propagation delays and moving cells in NTNs. For example, an airborne or spaceborne NT-TRP provides connectivity between a user equipment (“UE”) via a “service link” and a network through a gateway via a “feeder link.” these all require enhancements in the specification for timing adjustments for the uplink, and further enhancements may allow the system to optimize timing adjustments by predicting the movement and the future ephemeris of the NT-TRP. [i.e. delay drift due to movement/velocity of the NT-TRP (NT network node)] & ¶0136 The UE, in one embodiment, may additionally compute a value of TA change over time, which may be referred to as a TA drift rate. The TA drift rate, in one embodiment, may be computed by different methods. If the UE obtains the velocity of the satellite, VTRP, and/or its own velocity, VUE, in one embodiment, the UE may compute a TA drift rate associated with the relative velocity, |VUE−VTRP|. [i.e. delay drift is computed based on and due to the movement/velocity of the network node, and also movement of the UE (apparatus)])
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghanbarinejad combined with Kremm, Yao, Yan, Kratz, and further in view of Worters et al. (US 11,985,611 B1), hereinafter “Worters”.
Re. Claim 18, Ghanbarinejad combined with Kremm, Yao, Yan, and Kratz teaches claim 9.
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: further comprising: performing, by the processor, the timing compensation through adjusting a sampling rate according to at least one of the time compression factor and the delay drift.
However, in the analogous art, Worters teaches such a limitation:
further comprising: performing, by the processor, the timing compensation through adjusting a sampling rate according to at least one of the time compression factor and the delay drift. (Col. 9 Ln. 17-24 in some examples, to increase synchronization accuracy and avoid such synchronization problems, the user terminals and/or the receiving satellite can calculate transmission delays that account for the different propagation delays caused by the respective distances between the user terminals (UT1 through UT4) and the receiving satellite (e.g., SAT 102A) as well as the effects of motion (e.g., Doppler shift) caused by the relative motion of the receiving satellite. & Col. 9 Lines 42-45 In some cases, Doppler shift and/or time misalignments of OFDMA uplink transmissions can cause compression or expansion of their associated UT allocations. [i.e. timing compensation is for correcting compression of uplink time misalignments between UT (user terminals) and satellites (NT network nodes)] & Col. 9 Ln. 50-57 a resampler, such as resampler 662 shown in FIG. 6B, can apply a correction factor to the OFDMA uplink transmissions [i.e. the correction factor is a time compression factor due to time misalignment from timing compression on the UL caused by propagation delays] to correct timing errors and frequency shifts in the OFDMA uplink transmissions and avoid or reduce SFO, ISI, and ICI. In some examples, a resampler at the transmitter side and/or the receiver side can calculate and apply a correction factor(s) & Col. 14 Ln. 55-63 In some cases, the UT and/or the SAT can compensate for frequency offsets produced by the relative motion Doppler and differences in the reference clocks (e.g., OX reference clocks) on either side of the link (e.g., at the UT and/or at the SAT). The relative motion Doppler and differences in the reference clocks can cause carrier frequency offset (CFO) caused by a shift in the local oscillator (LO) frequency, and sampling frequency offset (SFO) caused by a shift in the sample rate of sent (Tx) versus received (Rx) transmissions. & Col. 20 Ln. 29-33 In some examples, the sampler 662 can perform re-sampling for uplink radio frames received by the SAT to correct clock and/or frequency shift errors. For example, the sampler 662 can perform a sample rate conversion to compensate for SFO and/or other timing corrections [i.e. sampler performs sample rate conversion (adjustment) to correct for errors such as timing misalignment (time compression factor) caused by SFO] & Col. 10 Ln. 64-67 -- Col. 11 Ln. 1-4 the target delay calculated can also account for other delays such as processing delays at the UTs 112A-D, periodic self-calibration requirements of the UT and/or certain errors such as, for example, position errors, velocity calculation errors, relativistic effects, time or clock errors, additional propagation delay factors, error drift (e.g., timing error drift, delay error drift, etc.), frequency offsets, and/or any other potential errors.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ghanbarinejad, Kremm, Yao, Yan, and Kratz’s invention of Timing and frequency adjustments in non-terrestrial networks to include Worters teaching of performing timing compensation by adjusting a sampling rate according to a delay drift, because it would allow the apparatus to use the calculations of transmission delays to determine uplink transmission timing of signals between UE’s and satellites are accurately synchronized in time and frequency. (see Worters Col. 9 Ln. 25-30)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Luo et al. (US 2022/0006677 A1); teaches at ¶0202 baseband signal expressed by time-continuous signal & ¶0308 output signal is upconverted. Therefore, the reference reads on limitations of claim 9.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.A.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417