DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Applicant’s arguments, and amendments filed on February 10, 2026, in which claims 1, 4-5, 8, 11-12, 15, 18-19, 22, 25-26, and 30-33 have been amended, claims 2-3, 14, 16-17, 28-29, and 34-36 have been canceled. Claims 1, 4-13, 18-27, and 30-33 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-9 and 22-23 recite the limitation "second information" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is no refence of a first information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 11-16, 18-28, and 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rohini et al. (US 2023/0354037) in view of DAO et al. (US 2020/0145878) further in view of Deng (US 2023/0354166).
Regarding claim 1, Rohini teaches a method of operating a direct discovery name management function, DDNMF, in a communication network, (As depicted in FIG. 3a and FIG. 3b, consider that Policy Control Function (PCF) is having the capability of Direct Discovery Name Management Function (DDNMF)), the method comprising: initiating transmission of a Npcf request message or Npcf EventExposure Subscribe request towards a policy control function, PCF, wherein the request is indicative that the DDNMF is to be subscribed to receive a notification of a change (i.e., the AMF can send a policy control update to the DDNMF or the PCF through service based interfaces (Nddnmf or Npcf). The AMF can send an N5gddnmf_UEpolicycontrol_update request message to the DDNMF or an Npcf_UEpolicycontrol_update request message over the service based interface [0034]-[0035], [0058]-[0060], [0081]-[0083]).
Rohini teaches request message to DDNMF or PCF through Npcf interface, but Rohini fails to disclose that the request is an Npcf_AMPolicyAuthorization_Subscribe request or an Npcf_EventExposure_Subscribe request.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. DAO teaches the AF could provide or modify the packet handling policy (PHP) parameters by sending the Npcf Policy Authorization Create/Update request message directly to the PCF or via NEF, which is based on local configuration ([0242]). In some embodiments the network function is a PCF and the AF sends the request message by one of the following request messages: Npcf_PolicyAuthorization_Create or Npcf policyAuthorizationn_Update. In some embodiments the network function is a PCF and the AF sends the request message via an NEF by one of the following request messages: Nnef_PacketHandling_Create or Nnef_PacketHandling_Update ([0359]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of DAO within the system of Rohini and Deng in order to provides a method for handling delayed packets in a mobile wireless network performed by a PCF.
Rohini in view of DAO does not specifically teach a proximity services discovery user equipment identifier, PDUID, for a user equipment, UE, from the PCF; and receiving the PDUID for the UE from the PCF.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Deng teaches send a proximity service policy provision request message to the PCF; and the proximity service policy provision request message is used for requesting to provide the UE with a parameter required for proximity service discovery; receive a proximity discovery parameter provided by the PCF for the UE; and the proximity discovery parameter includes the PDUID ([0077]-[0082], [0124], [0142]-[0143]). After receiving the proximity service policy provision request message, there is a need to assign a policy parameter and a PDUID to the UE according to the proximity service policy provision request message, and provide them as proximity discovery parameters to the UE… The PCF obtains the PDUID from the proximity service function. The PCF may obtain the PDUID in the following way: the PCF requests the proximity service function to assign the PDUID, and contains a UE identifier of the UE in the request message; and the PCF receives the PDUID assigned by the proximity service function to the UE ([0172]-[0179]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Deng within the system of Rohini and DAO in order to perform a process that allows the network to authorize and control which UEs can perform restricted ProSe direct discovery, preventing unauthorized access.
Regarding claim 4, Rohini in view of DAO further in view of Deng teaches all the limitations above. Deng further teaches the first information is an event identifier for the notification of the change in the PDUID for the UE (i.e., the proximity discovery capability information is used to indicate that the UE supports the proximity service discovery… providing the proximity discovery parameter to the UE, includes: [0014] assigning the PDUID for the UE, and providing the PDUID to the UE; [0015] or, obtaining the PDUID from a proximity service function, and providing the PDUID to the UE ([0011]-[0015], [0042]-[0045], [0158]).
Regarding claim 5, Rohini in view of DAO further in view of Deng teaches all the limitations above. Deng further teaches receiving at least one updated PDUID for the UE from the second network function ([0156]-[0159]).
Regarding claim 6, Rohini in view of DAO further in view of Deng teaches all the limitations above. Deng further teaches receiving the at least one updated PDUID for the UE in response to the at least one updated PDUID being generated for the UE ([0156]-[0159]).
Regarding claim 7, Rohini in view of DAO further in view of Deng teaches all the limitations above. Deng further teaches receiving the at least one updated PDUID for the UE with an indication that the notification of the change in the PDUID for the UE has been met ([0169]-[0176]).
Regarding claim 11, Rohini in view of DAO further in view of Deng. Deng further teaches receiving a discovery request from the UE, wherein the discovery request is a request for a restricted discovery code (i.e., receiving a discovery request message sent by a UE, and the discovery request message contains a UE identifier of the UE and a ProSe Restricted Code of the UE, and the ProSe Restricted Code is assigned by an application server according to a PDUID provided by a PCF for the UE; [0025] obtaining the PDUID of the UE; [0026] sending a discovery response message to the UE, and the discovery response message contains a proximity discovery identification code corresponding to the ProSe Restricted Code [0024]-[0035]); and/or the first network function not having a UE context for the UE ([0153], [0220]-[0221]).
Regarding claim 12, Rohini in view of DAO further in view of Deng teaches all the limitations above.in combination Rohini and Deng, DAO further teaches initiating transmission of the Npcf_PolicyAuthorization_Create with a subscription permanent identifier, SUPI, for the UE (i.e., In some embodiments the network function is a PCF and the AF sends the request message by one of the following request messages: Npcf_PolicyAuthorization_Create or Npcf policyAuthorizationn_Update. In some embodiments the network function is a PCF and the AF sends the request message via an NEF by one of the following request messages: Nnef_PacketHandling_Create or Nnef_PacketHandling_Update ([0359]).
Regarding claim 13, Rohini in view of DAO further in view of Deng teaches all the limitations above. Deng further teaches receiving the PDUID for the UE with an associated expiration timer (i.e., a ProSe Restricted Code that is assigned by an application server according to a PDUID provided by a PCF for the UE [0062]-[0064]).
Regarding claim 15, Rohini teaches a method of operating a PCF, in communication network, (As depicted in FIG. 3a and FIG. 3b, consider that Policy Control Function (PCF) is having the capability of Direct Discovery Name Management Function (DDNMF) [0032]-[0034]), the method comprising: subscribing a direct discovery name management function, DDNMF, to receive a notification of a change, from the PCF in response to receiving a an Npcf_Policycontrol_update request from the PCF, wherein the request is indicative that the DDNMF is to be subscribed to receive the notification (i.e., the AMF can send a policy control update to the DDNMF or the PCF through service based interfaces (Nddnmf or Npcf). The AMF can send an N5gddnmf_UEpolicycontrol_update request message to the PCF or an Npcf_UEpolicycontrol_update request message over the service based interface [0034]-[0035], [0058]-[0060], [0081]-[0083]).
Rohini teaches request message to DDNMF or PCF through Npcf interface, but Rohini fails to disclose that the request is an Npcf_AMPolicyAuthorization_Subscribe request or an Npcf_EventExposure_Subscribe request.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. DAO teaches the AF could provide or modify the packet handling policy (PHP) parameters by sending the Npcf Policy Authorization Create/Update request message directly to the PCF or via NEF, which is based on local configuration ([0242]). In some embodiments the network function is a PCF and the AF sends the request message by one of the following request messages: Npcf_PolicyAuthorization_Create or Npcf policyAuthorizationn_Update. In some embodiments the network function is a PCF and the AF sends the request message via an NEF by one of the following request messages: Nnef_PacketHandling_Create or Nnef_PacketHandling_Update ([0359]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of DAO within the system of Rohini and Deng in order to provides a method for handling delayed packets in a mobile wireless network performed by a PCF.
Rohini in view of DAO does not specifically teach a proximity services discovery user equipment identifier, PDUID, for a user equipment, UE, from the PCF; and initiating transmission of the PDUID for the UE towards the DDNMF.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Deng teaches send a proximity service policy provision request message to the PCF; and the proximity service policy provision request message is used for requesting to provide the UE with a parameter required for proximity service discovery; receive a proximity discovery parameter provided by the PCF for the UE; and the proximity discovery parameter includes the PDUID ([0077]-[0082], [0124], [0142]-[0143]). After receiving the proximity service policy provision request message, there is a need to assign a policy parameter and a PDUID to the UE according to the proximity service policy provision request message, and provide them as proximity discovery parameters to the UE… The PCF obtains the PDUID from the proximity service function. The PCF may obtain the PDUID in the following way: the PCF requests the proximity service function to assign the PDUID, and contains a UE identifier of the UE in the request message; and the PCF receives the PDUID assigned by the proximity service function to the UE ([0172]-[0179]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Deng within the system of Rohini and DAO in order to perform a process that allows the network to authorize and control which UEs can perform restricted ProSe direct discovery, preventing unauthorized access.
Regarding claim 18, Rohini in view of DAO further in view of Deng teaches all the limitations above. Deng further teaches the request comprises an event identifier for the notification of the change in the PDUID for the UE (i.e., the proximity discovery capability information is used to indicate that the UE supports the proximity service discovery… providing the proximity discovery parameter to the UE, includes: [0014] assigning the PDUID for the UE, and providing the PDUID to the UE; [0015] or, obtaining the PDUID from a proximity service function, and providing the PDUID to the UE ([0011]-[0015], [0042]-[0045], [0158]).
Regarding claim 19, Rohini in view of DAO further in view of Deng teaches all the limitations above. Deng further teaches initiating at least one updated PDUID for the UE towards the DDNMF ([0156]-[0159]).
Regarding claim 20, Rohini in view of DAO further in view of Deng teaches all the limitations above. Deng further teaches transmission of the at least one updated PDUID for the UE in response to the at least one updated PDUID being generated for the UE ([0156]-[0159]).
Regarding claim 21, Rohini in view of DAO further in view of Deng teaches all the limitations above. Deng further teaches initiating transmission of the at least one updated PDUID for the UE with an indication that the notification of the change in the PDUID for the UE has been met ([0169]-[0176]).
Regarding claim 25, Rohini in view of DAO further in view of Deng. Deng further teaches receiving a discovery request from the UE, wherein the discovery request is a request for a restricted discovery code (i.e., receiving a discovery request message sent by a UE, and the discovery request message contains a UE identifier of the UE and a ProSe Restricted Code of the UE, and the ProSe Restricted Code is assigned by an application server according to a PDUID provided by a PCF for the UE; [0025] obtaining the PDUID of the UE; [0026] sending a discovery response message to the UE, and the discovery response message contains a proximity discovery identification code corresponding to the ProSe Restricted Code [0024]-[0035]); and/or the first network function not having a UE context for the UE ([0153], [0220]-[0221]).
Regarding claim 26, Rohini in view of DAO further in view of Deng teaches all the limitations above.in combination Rohini and Deng, DAO further teaches initiating transmission of the Npcf_PolicyAuthorization_Create with a subscription permanent identifier, SUPI, for the UE (i.e., In some embodiments the network function is a PCF and the AF sends the request message by one of the following request messages: Npcf_PolicyAuthorization_Create or Npcf policyAuthorizationn_Update. In some embodiments the network function is a PCF and the AF sends the request message via an NEF by one of the following request messages: Nnef_PacketHandling_Create or Nnef_PacketHandling_Update ([0359]).
Regarding claim 27, Rohini in view of DAO further in view of Deng teaches all the limitations above. Deng further teaches receiving the PDUID for the UE with an associated expiration timer (i.e., a ProSe Restricted Code that is assigned by an application server according to a PDUID provided by a PCF for the UE [0062]-[0064]).
Regarding claim 30, Rohini teaches a direct discovery name management function, DDNMF, comprising a processing circuitry, (As depicted in FIG. 3a and FIG. 3b, consider that Policy Control Function (PCF) is having the capability of Direct Discovery Name Management Function (DDNMF)), configured to: initiate transmission of a Npcf request message or Npcf EventExposure Subscribe request towards a policy control function, PCF, wherein the request is indicative that the DDNMF is to be subscribed to receive a notification of a change (i.e., the AMF can send a policy control update to the DDNMF or the PCF through service based interfaces (Nddnmf or Npcf). The AMF can send an N5gddnmf_UEpolicycontrol_update request message to the DDNMF or an Npcf_UEpolicycontrol_update request message over the service based interface [0034]-[0035], [0058]-[0060], [0081]-[0083]).
Rohini teaches request message to DDNMF or PCF through Npcf interface, but Rohini fails to disclose that the request is an Npcf_AMPolicyAuthorization_Subscribe request or an Npcf_EventExposure_Subscribe request.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. DAO teaches the AF could provide or modify the packet handling policy (PHP) parameters by sending the Npcf Policy Authorization Create/Update request message directly to the PCF or via NEF, which is based on local configuration ([0242]). In some embodiments the network function is a PCF and the AF sends the request message by one of the following request messages: Npcf_PolicyAuthorization_Create or Npcf policyAuthorizationn_Update. In some embodiments the network function is a PCF and the AF sends the request message via an NEF by one of the following request messages: Nnef_PacketHandling_Create or Nnef_PacketHandling_Update ([0359]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of DAO within the system of Rohini and Deng in order to provides a method for handling delayed packets in a mobile wireless network performed by a PCF.
Rohini in view of DAO does not specifically teach a proximity services discovery user equipment identifier, PDUID, for a user equipment, UE, from the PCF; and receiving the PDUID for the UE from the PCF.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Deng teaches send a proximity service policy provision request message to the PCF; and the proximity service policy provision request message is used for requesting to provide the UE with a parameter required for proximity service discovery; receive a proximity discovery parameter provided by the PCF for the UE; and the proximity discovery parameter includes the PDUID ([0077]-[0082], [0124], [0142]-[0143]). After receiving the proximity service policy provision request message, there is a need to assign a policy parameter and a PDUID to the UE according to the proximity service policy provision request message, and provide them as proximity discovery parameters to the UE… The PCF obtains the PDUID from the proximity service function. The PCF may obtain the PDUID in the following way: the PCF requests the proximity service function to assign the PDUID, and contains a UE identifier of the UE in the request message; and the PCF receives the PDUID assigned by the proximity service function to the UE ([0172]-[0179]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Deng within the system of Rohini and DAO in order to perform a process that allows the network to authorize and control which UEs can perform restricted ProSe direct discovery, preventing unauthorized access.
Regarding claim 31, Rohini teaches a direct discovery name management function, DDNMF, comprises : processing at least one memory for storing instructions which, when executed by the processing circuitry (As depicted in FIG. 3a and FIG. 3b, consider that Policy Control Function (PCF) is having the capability of Direct Discovery Name Management Function (DDNMF)), configured to: initiate transmission of a Npcf request message or Npcf EventExposure Subscribe request towards a policy control function, PCF, wherein the request is indicative that the DDNMF is to be subscribed to receive a notification of a change (i.e., the AMF can send a policy control update to the DDNMF or the PCF through service based interfaces (Nddnmf or Npcf). The AMF can send an N5gddnmf_UEpolicycontrol_update request message to the DDNMF or an Npcf_UEpolicycontrol_update request message over the service based interface [0034]-[0035], [0058]-[0060], [0081]-[0083]).
Rohini teaches request message to DDNMF or PCF through Npcf interface, but Rohini fails to disclose that the request is an Npcf_AMPolicyAuthorization_Subscribe request or an Npcf_EventExposure_Subscribe request.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. DAO teaches the AF could provide or modify the packet handling policy (PHP) parameters by sending the Npcf Policy Authorization Create/Update request message directly to the PCF or via NEF, which is based on local configuration ([0242]). In some embodiments the network function is a PCF and the AF sends the request message by one of the following request messages: Npcf_PolicyAuthorization_Create or Npcf policyAuthorizationn_Update. In some embodiments the network function is a PCF and the AF sends the request message via an NEF by one of the following request messages: Nnef_PacketHandling_Create or Nnef_PacketHandling_Update ([0359]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of DAO within the system of Rohini and Deng in order to provides a method for handling delayed packets in a mobile wireless network performed by a PCF.
Regarding claim 32, Rohini teaches a PCF, comprising: processing circuitry configured, (As depicted in FIG. 3a and FIG. 3b, consider that Policy Control Function (PCF) is having the capability of Direct Discovery Name Management Function (DDNMF) [0032]-[0034]), to: subscribing a direct discovery name management function, DDNMF, to receive a notification of a change, from the PCF in response to receiving a an Npcf_Policycontrol_update request from the PCF, wherein the request is indicative that the DDNMF is to be subscribed to receive the notification (i.e., the AMF can send a policy control update to the DDNMF or the PCF through service based interfaces (Nddnmf or Npcf). The AMF can send an N5gddnmf_UEpolicycontrol_update request message to the PCF or an Npcf_UEpolicycontrol_update request message over the service based interface [0034]-[0035], [0058]-[0060], [0081]-[0083]).
Rohini teaches request message to DDNMF or PCF through Npcf interface, but Rohini fails to disclose that the request is an Npcf_AMPolicyAuthorization_Subscribe request or an Npcf_EventExposure_Subscribe request.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. DAO teaches the AF could provide or modify the packet handling policy (PHP) parameters by sending the Npcf Policy Authorization Create/Update request message directly to the PCF or via NEF, which is based on local configuration ([0242]). In some embodiments the network function is a PCF and the AF sends the request message by one of the following request messages: Npcf_PolicyAuthorization_Create or Npcf policyAuthorizationn_Update. In some embodiments the network function is a PCF and the AF sends the request message via an NEF by one of the following request messages: Nnef_PacketHandling_Create or Nnef_PacketHandling_Update ([0359]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of DAO within the system of Rohini and Deng in order to provides a method for handling delayed packets in a mobile wireless network performed by a PCF.
Rohini in view of DAO does not specifically teach a proximity services discovery user equipment identifier, PDUID, for a user equipment, UE, from the PCF; and initiating transmission of the PDUID for the UE towards the DDNMF.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Deng teaches send a proximity service policy provision request message to the PCF; and the proximity service policy provision request message is used for requesting to provide the UE with a parameter required for proximity service discovery; receive a proximity discovery parameter provided by the PCF for the UE; and the proximity discovery parameter includes the PDUID ([0077]-[0082], [0124], [0142]-[0143]). After receiving the proximity service policy provision request message, there is a need to assign a policy parameter and a PDUID to the UE according to the proximity service policy provision request message, and provide them as proximity discovery parameters to the UE… The PCF obtains the PDUID from the proximity service function. The PCF may obtain the PDUID in the following way: the PCF requests the proximity service function to assign the PDUID, and contains a UE identifier of the UE in the request message; and the PCF receives the PDUID assigned by the proximity service function to the UE ([0172]-[0179]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Deng within the system of Rohini and DAO in order to perform a process that allows the network to authorize and control which UEs can perform restricted ProSe direct discovery, preventing unauthorized access.
Regarding claim 33, Rohini teaches a PCF,comprises: processing at least one memory for storing instructions which, when executed by the processing circuitry (As depicted in FIG. 3a and FIG. 3b, consider that Policy Control Function (PCF) is having the capability of Direct Discovery Name Management Function (DDNMF) [0032]-[0034]), to: subscribing a direct discovery name management function, DDNMF, to receive a notification of a change, from the PCF in response to receiving a an Npcf_Policycontrol_update request from the PCF, wherein the request is indicative that the DDNMF is to be subscribed to receive the notification (i.e., the AMF can send a policy control update to the DDNMF or the PCF through service based interfaces (Nddnmf or Npcf). The AMF can send an N5gddnmf_UEpolicycontrol_update request message to the PCF or an Npcf_UEpolicycontrol_update request message over the service based interface [0034]-[0035], [0058]-[0060], [0081]-[0083]).
Rohini teaches request message to DDNMF or PCF through Npcf interface, but Rohini fails to disclose that the request is an Npcf_AMPolicyAuthorization_Subscribe request or an Npcf_EventExposure_Subscribe request.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. DAO teaches the AF could provide or modify the packet handling policy (PHP) parameters by sending the Npcf Policy Authorization Create/Update request message directly to the PCF or via NEF, which is based on local configuration ([0242]). In some embodiments the network function is a PCF and the AF sends the request message by one of the following request messages: Npcf_PolicyAuthorization_Create or Npcf policyAuthorizationn_Update. In some embodiments the network function is a PCF and the AF sends the request message via an NEF by one of the following request messages: Nnef_PacketHandling_Create or Nnef_PacketHandling_Update ([0359]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of DAO within the system of Rohini and Deng in order to provides a method for handling delayed packets in a mobile wireless network performed by a PCF.
Rohini in view of DAO does not specifically teach a proximity services discovery user equipment identifier, PDUID, for a user equipment, UE, from the PCF; and initiating transmission of the PDUID for the UE towards the DDNMF.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Deng teaches send a proximity service policy provision request message to the PCF; and the proximity service policy provision request message is used for requesting to provide the UE with a parameter required for proximity service discovery; receive a proximity discovery parameter provided by the PCF for the UE; and the proximity discovery parameter includes the PDUID ([0077]-[0082], [0124], [0142]-[0143]). After receiving the proximity service policy provision request message, there is a need to assign a policy parameter and a PDUID to the UE according to the proximity service policy provision request message, and provide them as proximity discovery parameters to the UE… The PCF obtains the PDUID from the proximity service function. The PCF may obtain the PDUID in the following way: the PCF requests the proximity service function to assign the PDUID, and contains a UE identifier of the UE in the request message; and the PCF receives the PDUID assigned by the proximity service function to the UE ([0172]-[0179]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Deng within the system of Rohini and DAO in order to perform a process that allows the network to authorize and control which UEs can perform restricted ProSe direct discovery, preventing unauthorized access.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 and 22-24 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 4-13, 15, 18-27, and 30-33 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEAN A GELIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643