Detailed Action
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed March 2nd, 2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang (US 2019/0375676) in view of Oya (US 2017/0096574).
Regarding claim 1, Liang discloses a spectacle lens ([0153], “The glass substrate disclosed herein could be used for a variety of applications. These may include eyewear”) comprising: a substrate ([0153], “The glass substrate”); and a water-absorbent antifogging layer ([0017], “a coated glass substrate having antifog properties”, [0057], “hydrophilic polymer may allow for the absorption of water into the film thereby reducing or eliminating the fogging effect”),
wherein the water-absorbent antifogging layer is an outermost layer of the spectacle lens ([0246], “the coated glass article with a single layer is provided below”, as disclosed in claim 1 and [0246], there is only the single coating layer and thus the antifogging coating layer is the outermost layer), and
the water-absorbent antifogging layer contains a resin having a siloxane bonding unit ([0074], “such binder may be a silicon-containing resin. The silicon-containing resin may be a polysiloxane resin”),
wherein the water-absorbent antifogging layer ([0144], “the coating formulation may be polymerized to form the interpenetrating network”) is a cured film of a coating composition containing a constituent unit derived from a siloxane compound ([0144], “form the crosslinked polyol and polysiloxane”) and a constituent unit derived from acrylamide ([0144], “also be employed to polymerize any acrylamide compounds”).
Liang does not specifically disclose wherein a solid content concentration of the coating composition is 16.5 to 24.5 mass%.
However Oya, in the same field of endeavor because both teach an antifogging coating, teaches wherein a solid content concentration of the coating composition is 16.5 to 24.5 mass% (Table 1 and [0159], Examples A2-A4 each have a mass% of 23%, 18%, and 18% respectively, therefore lying within the 16.5 to 24.5%).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the spectacle lens of Liang with the wherein a solid content concentration of the coating composition is 16.5 to 24.5 mass% as taught by Oya, for the purpose of improving the anti-fog properties of the coating ([0012]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Liang teaches as is set forth in claim 1 rejection above and Liang further discloses wherein a film thickness of the water-absorbent antifogging layer is 6 µm or more ([0245], “The coating solution was provided to allow for a film thickness of 10-20 microns”, [0246], thickness of coating 484-136-2 is 16.1 µm).
Regarding claim 3, modified Liang teaches as is set forth in claim 1 rejection above and Liang further discloses wherein the water-absorbent antifogging layer is directly built up on the substrate ([0027], “cross-hatch adhesion provides an assessment of the adhesion of the coating to the substrate”, [0183], “Excellent mechanical and adhesive strength was achieved as there is no indication of any damage on the coated layer”, examiner interprets this to mean the antifogging coating is directly layered onto the substrate).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang (US 2019/0375676) in view of Oya (US 2017/0096574), further in view of Roche (EP 1875836 A2).
Regarding claim 4, modified Liang teaches as is set forth in claim 1 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the water-absorbent antifogging layer has water repellent performance.
However Roche, in the same field of endeavor because both teach an antifogging coating, teaches wherein the water-absorbent antifogging layer has water repellent performance ([0072], “combining a porous, hydrophobic surface with a hydrophilic base polymer, it is possible to obtain a composition possessing excellent anti-fog characteristics and surface hardness”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the spectacle lens of Liang in view of Oya with the wherein the water-absorbent antifogging layer has water repellent performance as taught by Roche, for the purpose of increasing surface hardness while maintaining antifogging characteristics ([0072]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW Y LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2872 16 March 2026