DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 55-60, 63-68 and 71-74 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu ( US 2021/0029775 A1) in view of Wilson et al. (US 2011/0165861 A1, hereinafter “Wilson).
Regarding claims 55, 63 and 71, Zhu teaches a method (figs. 1-11), performed by a first node (e.g., Service Capability exposure function entity (SCEF) in figs. 5-11, ¶ [0069], ¶ [0298], and ¶ [0344]), for handling one or more data sessions, the first node operating in a communications system, the method comprising: receiving, a first indication originating from an external node operating outside the communications system, the first indication indicating a request to preclude one or more data sessions meeting one or more conditions indicated by the external node (figs. 1-5, ¶ [0120], 3GPP network can securely provide a service and a capability for a third-party service provider service capability server (SCS)/application server (AS). ¶ [0139], a server may be an SCS/AS. ¶ [0140], The server sends first time information to the service capability exposure function entity, where the first time information is used to indicate a group message delivery stop time. ¶ [0142], ¶ [0146], ¶ [0147], ¶ [0184], ¶ [0186], ¶ [0191]); and initiating the preclusion of the one or more data sessions by sending another indication to a second node operating in the communications system, the another indication indicating the received request (fig. 5, ¶ [0146], The service capability exposure function entity determines a bearer release time based on the first time information, and sends the bearer release time to the broadcast/multicast service center; or the service capability exposure function entity sends a session termination request to the broadcast/multicast service based on the first time information.¶ [0147], ¶ [0192]).
Zhu does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more conditions are indicated by an indication of a first device, the location of which determines a geographical area wherein the request applies.
Wilson teaches one or more conditions are indicated by an indication of a first device, the location of which determines a geographical area wherein the request applies (figs. 1-9, ¶ [0032], the controller sends device identification, and possibly a customized restriction request, to a remote node, for example a control node of a cell phone network operator. The cell phone network operator then uses its network resources to implement the requested restrictions. ¶ [0033], ¶ [0044], upon the request of a third party, the cellular network operators must have some degree of certainty that the request is coming from a valid source. For places such as prisons, courthouses, streets within school zones, other areas where cell phone usage can impact public safety, and even temporary locations with visiting dignitaries, operator compliance may become a legislated requirement. ¶ [0045], when controller 101 moves into a new area, it registers with all of the operators who are operating towers in the area. Network operators then have a database of the operational systems, such as controller 101, which are associated with towers in close proximity. Part of this process may include the exchange or distribution of encryption keys or other security tokens, so that the controller and the network control nodes may engage in a challenge-response process when setting up a channel to communicate restriction requests. ¶ [0046], a network operator may verify that a request from controller 101 include recent security information transmitted from a network tower operated by the network operator, along with security information identifying controller 101, prior to complying with any request. The network operator knows the location of each of its towers, if a first request associated with a first tower came in from a device purporting to be controller 101, and then another request associated with a second tower, that was far removed from the first tower, arrived immediately afterward, the network operator might suspect the presence of a hacker attempting to maliciously disable cellular devices and not comply with the request. However, since a legitimate controller might be mobile, such as within an airplane, boat, train or bus, some means is needed to ensure that a controller can be registered with the network operator to be within the vicinity of different towers at different times. For mobile versions of controller 101, controller 101 would need to register with networks automatically under circumstances similar to a cellular device tower hand-off, except controller 101 would register with multiple carriers and possibly multiple towers of the same carrier, simultaneously. ¶ [0049], ¶ [0050], ¶ [0062]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to indicate the one or more conditions by an indication of a first device, the location of which determines a geographical area wherein the request applies in the system of Zhu to further improve industrial applicability (¶ [0006], ¶ [0007], ¶ [0025], and ¶ [0044] of Wilson).
Regarding claim 56, 64 and 72, Zhu in view of Wilson teaches the method of claim 55, wherein the request to preclude indicates at least one of: terminating any ongoing data sessions of the one or more data sessions; and blocking any new data sessions of the one or more data sessions (Zhu: fig. 5, ¶ [0140], ¶ [0142], Optionally, the group message delivery stop time may be a moment, or may be a time period. In other words, the group message delivery stop time may be an absolute time, or a relative time. ¶ [0143]-¶ [0146], ¶ [0192]).
Regarding claims 57, 65 and 73, Zhu in view of Wilson teaches the method of claim 55, wherein the first indication indicates at least one of: a first identifier of the external node; one or more respective second identifiers of one or more devices holding an ongoing data sessions to be terminated and/or to hold new data sessions to be blocked; one or more second indications of the one or more conditions; a third indication of one or more applications the request applies to; a fourth indication of one or more flows the request applies to; and a fifth indication of a time period during which the request applies (Zhu: fig. 5, ¶ [0142], the group message delivery stop time may be a moment, or may be a time period).
Regarding claims 58 and 66, Zhu in view of Wilson teaches the method of claim 55, wherein the indication of the first device is a sixth indication, and wherein the one or more conditions are further indicated by at least one of: a third identifier of a location wherein the request applies; one or more respective seventh indications of the one or more data sessions; an eighth indication indicating whether or not the request applies only to devices roaming in a network managed by the communications system; a ninth indication of a provider to which the request applies, the provider being of at least a subset of the one or more devices; a tenth indication of one or more types of devices the request applies to; and an eleventh indication of one or more types of Radio Access Technology (RAT) the request applies to (Zhu: figs. 5, 6A-9, ¶ [0008], The session termination request is used to request the broadcast/multicast service center to terminate an ongoing session, so that the broadcast/multicast service center can release a bearer. ¶ [0020], ¶ [0176],¶ [0183] The group message delivery request message carries a group identifier and a group message delivery start time Start_time1, and may further carry a group message payload. ¶ [0184] Herein, different from the existing procedure, the SCS/AS further provides the SCEF with the group message delivery stop time Stop_time1 and an Inactive Time. ¶ [0187], ¶ [0192], ¶ [0193]. Wilson: ¶ [0044]-¶ [0046], ¶ [0050], ¶ [0062]).
Regarding claims 59 and 67, Zhu in view of Wilson teaches the method of claim 55, further comprising: determining whether the external node is authorized for the received request; and sending a first response to the external node, the first response indicating whether or not the request is authorized; wherein the sending of the another indication is based on the sent first response (Zhu: figs. 6A-7, ¶ [0178], determine whether the SCS/AS can authorize to prepare for delivering a group message. ¶ [0179], If the authorization succeeds, the SCEF interacts with the BM-SC, ¶ [0180], The SCEF returns a group message delivery preparation response message to the SCS/A, ¶ [0185]-¶ [0187], ¶ [0218], ¶ [0286]-¶ [0288]).
Regarding claims 60 and 68, Zhu in view of Wilson teaches the method of claim 55, the method further comprising sending the received request to a fourth node operating in the communications system, thereby requesting the fourth node to store the received request. (Zhu: fig. 3, ¶ [0125], ¶ [0195], the BM-SC stores received information, namely, the Start_time2 and the Stop_time2. The BM-SC sends the Stop_time2 to another downstream network element, and the BM-SC and the another downstream network element locally delete (or deactivate) the MBMS bearer at or after the Stop_time2. ¶ [0196], ¶ [0203], the group message sequentially passes through network elements such as the SCS/AS, the BM-SC, the RAN, and the UE)).
Regarding claim 74, Zhu teaches communications system (figs. 1-11), for handling one or more data sessions, the communications system comprising: a first node (e.g., Service Capability exposure function entity (SCEF) in figs. 5-11) configured to: receive a first indication configured to originate from an external node configured to operate outside the communications system, the first indication being configured to indicate a request to preclude one or more data sessions meeting one or more conditions configured to be indicated by the external node (figs. 1-5, ¶ [0139], a server may be an SCS/AS. ¶ [0140], The server sends first time information to the service capability exposure function entity, where the first time information is used to indicate a group message delivery stop time. ¶ [0142], ¶ [0184], ¶ [0186], ¶ [0191]); and initiate the preclusion of the one or more data sessions by sending another indication to a second node configured to operate in the communications system, the another indication being configured to indicate the request configured to be received (fig. 5, ¶ [0146], The service capability exposure function entity determines a bearer release time based on the first time information, and sends the bearer release time to the broadcast/multicast service center; or the service capability exposure function entity sends a session termination request to the broadcast/multicast service based on the first time information.¶ [0147], ¶ [0192]); the second node (BM-SC of figs. 1-10) configured to: obtain from another node configured to operate in the communications system, the another indication being configured to indicate the request to preclude the one or more data sessions meeting the one or more conditions, the request being configured to be according to a service of the communications system configured to be indicated; and determine the one or more data sessions meeting the one or more conditions, and thereby initiate the preclusion of the one or more data sessions (fig. 5-9, ¶ [0146], The service capability exposure function entity determines a bearer release time based on the first time information, and sends the bearer release time to the broadcast/multicast service center; or the service capability exposure function entity sends a session termination request to the broadcast/multicast service based on the first time information. ¶ [0147], ¶ [0192]).
Wilson teaches one or more conditions are indicated by an indication of a first device, the location of which determines a geographical area wherein the request applies (figs. 1-9, ¶ [0032], the controller sends device identification, and possibly a customized restriction request, to a remote node, for example a control node of a cell phone network operator. The cell phone network operator then uses its network resources to implement the requested restrictions. ¶ [0033], ¶ [0044], upon the request of a third party, the cellular network operators must have some degree of certainty that the request is coming from a valid source. For places such as prisons, courthouses, streets within school zones, other areas where cell phone usage can impact public safety, and even temporary locations with visiting dignitaries, operator compliance may become a legislated requirement. ¶ [0045], when controller 101 moves into a new area, it registers with all of the operators who are operating towers in the area. Network operators then have a database of the operational systems, such as controller 101, which are associated with towers in close proximity. Part of this process may include the exchange or distribution of encryption keys or other security tokens, so that the controller and the network control nodes may engage in a challenge-response process when setting up a channel to communicate restriction requests. ¶ [0046], a network operator may verify that a request from controller 101 include recent security information transmitted from a network tower operated by the network operator, along with security information identifying controller 101, prior to complying with any request. Since the network operator knows the location of each of its towers, if a first request associated with a first tower came in from a device purporting to be controller 101, and then another request associated with a second tower, that was far removed from the first tower, arrived immediately afterward, the network operator might suspect the presence of a hacker attempting to maliciously disable cellular devices and not comply with the request. However, since a legitimate controller might be mobile, such as within an airplane, boat, train or bus, some means is needed to ensure that a controller can be registered with the network operator to be within the vicinity of different towers at different times. For mobile versions of controller 101, controller 101 would need to register with networks automatically under circumstances similar to a cellular device tower hand-off, except controller 101 would register with multiple carriers and possibly multiple towers of the same carrier, simultaneously. ¶ [0049], ¶ [0050], ¶ [0062]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to indicate the one or more conditions by an indication of a first device, the location of which determines a geographical area wherein the request applies in the system of Zhu to further improve industrial applicability (¶ [0006], ¶ [0007], ¶ [0025], and ¶ [0044] of Wilson).
7. Claims 55-60, 63-68 and 71-74 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu ( US 2021/0029775 A1) in view of Daly (US 2012/0009937 A1).
Regarding claims 55, 63 and 71, Zhu teaches a method (figs. 1-11), performed by a first node (e.g., Service Capability exposure function entity (SCEF) in figs. 5-11, ¶ [0069], ¶ [0298], and ¶ [0344]), for handling one or more data sessions, the first node operating in a communications system, the method comprising: receiving, a first indication originating from an external node operating outside the communications system, the first indication indicating a request to preclude one or more data sessions meeting one or more conditions indicated by the external node (figs. 1-5, ¶ [0120], 3GPP network can securely provide a service and a capability for a third-party service provider service capability server (SCS)/application server (AS). ¶ [0139], a server may be an SCS/AS. ¶ [0140], The server sends first time information to the service capability exposure function entity, where the first time information is used to indicate a group message delivery stop time. ¶ [0142], ¶ [0146], ¶ [0147], ¶ [0184], ¶ [0186], ¶ [0191]); and initiating the preclusion of the one or more data sessions by sending another indication to a second node operating in the communications system, the another indication indicating the received request (fig. 5, ¶ [0146], The service capability exposure function entity determines a bearer release time based on the first time information, and sends the bearer release time to the broadcast/multicast service center; or the service capability exposure function entity sends a session termination request to the broadcast/multicast service based on the first time information.¶ [0147], ¶ [0192]).
Zhu does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more conditions are indicated by an indication of a first device, the location of which determines a geographical area wherein the request applies.
Daly teaches one or more conditions are indicated by an indication of a first device, the location of which determines a geographical area wherein the request applies (figs. 1-3, ¶ [0021], an authorized agency can establish a mechanism to indicate the permissibility of a service for a specific wireless communications device at/within a specific location. ¶ [0013], ¶ [0018], services are selectively restricted and/or selectively allowed on a wireless device based on lists indicating permissibility for specific services for specific devices at/within specific locations. ¶ [0016], ¶ [0023], For example, a region could be a fixed location, for example, a jail, police station, courthouse, military facility, government facility, or the like, or, a region could be a moving, dynamically defined, region such as a region associated with an emergency (e.g., terrorist alert, earthquake, tornado), a region associated with a moving vehicle, or the like. ¶ [0025], ¶ [0026], the HLR receives the cell ID from which the wireless communications device is attempting to access service. If this cell ID is in a "restricted" area, the HLR can perform a further check to determine if the specific wireless device is either on an approved list or a disapproved list. It is possible that a service for all wireless communications devices in a location is restricted).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to indicate the one or more conditions by an indication of a first device, the location of which determines a geographical area wherein the request applies in the system of Zhu to selectively restrict services at/within specific locations (¶ [0018] of Daly).
Regarding claim 56, 64 and 72, Zhu in view of Daly teaches the method of claim 55, wherein the request to preclude indicates at least one of: terminating any ongoing data sessions of the one or more data sessions; and blocking any new data sessions of the one or more data sessions (Zhu: fig. 5, ¶ [0140], ¶ [0142], Optionally, the group message delivery stop time may be a moment, or may be a time period. In other words, the group message delivery stop time may be an absolute time, or a relative time. ¶ [0143]-¶ [0146], ¶ [0192]).
Regarding claims 57, 65 and 73, Zhu in view of Daly teaches the method of claim 55, wherein the first indication indicates at least one of: a first identifier of the external node; one or more respective second identifiers of one or more devices holding an ongoing data sessions to be terminated and/or to hold new data sessions to be blocked; one or more second indications of the one or more conditions; a third indication of one or more applications the request applies to; a fourth indication of one or more flows the request applies to; and a fifth indication of a time period during which the request applies (Zhu: fig. 5, ¶ [0142], the group message delivery stop time may be a moment, or may be a time period).
Regarding claims 58 and 66, Zhu in view of Daly teaches the method of claim 55, wherein the indication of the first device is a sixth indication, and wherein the one or more conditions are further indicated by at least one of: a third identifier of a location wherein the request applies; one or more respective seventh indications of the one or more data sessions; an eighth indication indicating whether or not the request applies only to devices roaming in a network managed by the communications system; a ninth indication of a provider to which the request applies, the provider being of at least a subset of the one or more devices; a tenth indication of one or more types of devices the request applies to; and an eleventh indication of one or more types of Radio Access Technology (RAT) the request applies to (Zhu: figs. 5, 6A-9, ¶ [0008], The session termination request is used to request the broadcast/multicast service center to terminate an ongoing session, so that the broadcast/multicast service center can release a bearer. ¶ [0020], ¶ [0176],¶ [0183] The group message delivery request message carries a group identifier and a group message delivery start time Start_time1, and may further carry a group message payload. ¶ [0184] Herein, different from the existing procedure, the SCS/AS further provides the SCEF with the group message delivery stop time Stop_time1 and an Inactive Time. ¶ [0187], ¶ [0192], ¶ [0193]. Daly: ¶ [0018], ¶ [0021], ¶ [0023], ¶ [0025], ¶ [0026]).
Regarding claims 59 and 67, Zhu in view of Daly teaches the method of claim 55, further comprising: determining whether the external node is authorized for the received request; and sending a first response to the external node, the first response indicating whether or not the request is authorized; wherein the sending of the another indication is based on the sent first response (Zhu: figs. 6A-7, ¶ [0178], determine whether the SCS/AS can authorize to prepare for delivering a group message. ¶ [0179], If the authorization succeeds, the SCEF interacts with the BM-SC, ¶ [0180], The SCEF returns a group message delivery preparation response message to the SCS/A, ¶ [0185]-¶ [0187], ¶ [0218], ¶ [0286]-¶ [0288]).
Regarding claims 60 and 68, Zhu in view of Daly teaches the method of claim 55, the method further comprising sending the received request to a fourth node operating in the communications system, thereby requesting the fourth node to store the received request. (Zhu: fig. 3, ¶ [0125], ¶ [0195], the BM-SC stores received information, namely, the Start_time2 and the Stop_time2. The BM-SC sends the Stop_time2 to another downstream network element, and the BM-SC and the another downstream network element locally delete (or deactivate) the MBMS bearer at or after the Stop_time2. ¶ [0196], ¶ [0203], the group message sequentially passes through network elements such as the SCS/AS, the BM-SC, the RAN, and the UE)).
Regarding claim 74, Zhu teaches a communications system (figs. 1-11), for handling one or more data sessions, the communications system comprising: a first node (e.g., Service Capability exposure function entity (SCEF) in figs. 5-11) configured to: receive a first indication configured to originate from an external node configured to operate outside the communications system, the first indication being configured to indicate a request to preclude one or more data sessions meeting one or more conditions configured to be indicated by the external node (figs. 1-5, ¶ [0139], a server may be an SCS/AS. ¶ [0140], The server sends first time information to the service capability exposure function entity, where the first time information is used to indicate a group message delivery stop time. ¶ [0142], ¶ [0184], ¶ [0186], ¶ [0191]); and initiate the preclusion of the one or more data sessions by sending another indication to a second node configured to operate in the communications system, the another indication being configured to indicate the request configured to be received (fig. 5, ¶ [0146], The service capability exposure function entity determines a bearer release time based on the first time information, and sends the bearer release time to the broadcast/multicast service center; or the service capability exposure function entity sends a session termination request to the broadcast/multicast service based on the first time information.¶ [0147], ¶ [0192]); the second node (BM-SC of figs. 1-10) configured to: obtain from another node configured to operate in the communications system, the another indication being configured to indicate the request to preclude the one or more data sessions meeting the one or more conditions, the request being configured to be according to a service of the communications system configured to be indicated; and determine the one or more data sessions meeting the one or more conditions, and thereby initiate the preclusion of the one or more data sessions (fig. 5-9, ¶ [0146], The service capability exposure function entity determines a bearer release time based on the first time information, and sends the bearer release time to the broadcast/multicast service center; or the service capability exposure function entity sends a session termination request to the broadcast/multicast service based on the first time information. ¶ [0147], ¶ [0192]).
Zhu does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more conditions are indicated by an indication of a first device, the location of which determines a geographical area wherein the request applies.
Daly teaches one or more conditions are indicated by an indication of a first device, the location of which determines a geographical area wherein the request applies (figs. 1-3, ¶ [0021], an authorized agency can establish a mechanism to indicate the permissibility of a service for a specific wireless communications device at/within a specific location. ¶ [0013], ¶ [0018], services are selectively restricted and/or selectively allowed on a wireless device based on lists indicating permissibility for specific services for specific devices at/within specific locations. ¶ [0016], ¶ [0023], For example, a region could be a fixed location, for example, a jail, police station, courthouse, military facility, government facility, or the like, or, a region could be a moving, dynamically defined, region such as a region associated with an emergency (e.g., terrorist alert, earthquake, tornado), a region associated with a moving vehicle, or the like. ¶ [0025], ¶ [0026], the HLR receives the cell ID from which the wireless communications device is attempting to access service. If this cell ID is in a "restricted" area, the HLR can perform a further check to determine if the specific wireless device is either on an approved list or a disapproved list. It is possible that a service for all wireless communications devices in a location is restricted).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to indicate the one or more conditions by an indication of a first device, the location of which determines a geographical area wherein the request applies in the system of Zhu to selectively restrict services at/within specific locations (¶ [0018] of Daly).
8. Claims 61 and 69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Wilson as applied to claim 60 above, and further in view Kolekar et al. (US 2022/0132315 A1, hereinafter “Kolekar”).
Regarding claims 61 and 69, Zhu in view of Wilson teaches the method of claim 60.
Zhu does not explicitly teach wherein the fourth node is a Unified Data Repository, UDR.
However, Zhu teaches a Unified Data Management (UDM) node (fig. 3, ¶ [0125]-¶ [0126]) and the group message sequentially passes through network elements (figs. 3, 5-9).
Kolekar teaches a UDM handles subscription-related information to support the network entities' handling of communication sessions, and stores subscription data of UE. The UDM can include two parts, an application Front End (FE) and a UDR. The UDR stores subscription data and policy data for the UDM and the PCF, and/or structured data for exposure and application data for the NEF (¶ [0109]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to send the received request/information to a UDR to store/update subscription and/or policy data in the system of Zhu in view of Wilson to utilize conventional techniques in the art.
9. Claims 61 and 69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Daly as applied to claim 60 above, and further in view Kolekar et al. (US 2022/0132315 A1, hereinafter “Kolekar”).
Regarding claims 61 and 69, Zhu in view of Daly teaches the method of claim 60.
Zhu does not explicitly teach wherein the fourth node is a Unified Data Repository, UDR.
However, Zhu teaches a Unified Data Management (UDM) node (fig. 3, ¶ [0125]-¶ [0126]) and the group message sequentially passes through network elements (figs. 3, 5-9).
Kolekar teaches a UDM handles subscription-related information to support the network entities' handling of communication sessions, and stores subscription data of UE. The UDM can include two parts, an application Front End (FE) and a UDR. The UDR stores subscription data and policy data for the UDM and the PCF, and/or structured data for exposure and application data for the NEF (¶ [0109]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to send the received request/information to a UDR to store/update subscription and/or policy data in the system of Zhu in view of Daly to utilize conventional techniques in the art.
10. Claims 62 and 70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Wilson as applied to claim 55 above, and further in view of Li et al. (US 2022/0263879 A1, hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding claims 62 and 70, Zhu in view of Wilson teaches the method of claim 55, wherein the first node is a Network Exposure Function (NEF), the external node is an service capability server (SCS)/application server (AS), and the second node is broadcast/multicast service center (BM-SC) (Zhu: figs 1-3, 5-9, ¶ [0121], ¶ [0124]-¶ [0129], ¶ [0203]).
Zhu does not explicitly teach the external node is an Application Function (AF), and the second node, is a Policy Charging Function (PCF).
However, Zhu teaches it should be noted that names of the network elements (such as the SCEF, the SCS/AS, and the BM-SC) included in FIG. 2 are merely names, and the names do not constitute a limitation on the functions of the network elements. In a 4G or 5G network and another future network, the foregoing network elements may alternatively have other names (figs. 3, 5-9, ¶ [0124]-¶ [0129]).
Further, it is well known in the art that the SCS/AS is similar to AF (figs. 1, 2, 4, 11, 12 ¶ [0136]) and 5G network includes a PCF (figs. 2, 4, 11, 12, ¶ [0132]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to utilize AF as an external node and PCF as the second node in the system of Zhu in view of Wilson to improve industrial applicability.
11. Claims 62 and 70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Daly as applied to claim 55 above, and further in view of Li et al. (US 2022/0263879 A1, hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding claims 62 and 70, Zhu in view of Daly teaches the method of claim 55, wherein the first node is a Network Exposure Function (NEF), the external node is an service capability server (SCS)/application server (AS), and the second node is broadcast/multicast service center (BM-SC) (Zhu: figs 1-3, 5-9, ¶ [0121], ¶ [0124]-¶ [0129], ¶ [0203]).
Zhu does not explicitly teach the external node is an Application Function (AF), and the second node, is a Policy Charging Function (PCF).
However, Zhu teaches it should be noted that names of the network elements (such as the SCEF, the SCS/AS, and the BM-SC) included in FIG. 2 are merely names, and the names do not constitute a limitation on the functions of the network elements. In a 4G or 5G network and another future network, the foregoing network elements may alternatively have other names (figs. 3, 5-9, ¶ [0124]-¶ [0129]).
Further, it is well known in the art that the SCS/AS is similar to AF (figs. 1, 2, 4, 11, 12 ¶ [0136]) and 5G network includes a PCF (figs. 2, 4, 11, 12, ¶ [0132]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to utilize AF as an external node and PCF as the second node in the system of Zhu in view of Daly to improve industrial applicability.
Response to Arguments
12. Applicant's arguments filed on June 30, 2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
/MANDISH K RANDHAWA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477