CTNF 18/285,039 CTNF 93463 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/29/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1, 3-5, 7-8 and 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kong et al. (2023/0403757), Kong hereinafter. Kong teaches all of the limitations of the specified claim with the following reasoning that follows . Re. claims 1 and 53, Kong teaches a method (Fig.2 & ¶0185-¶0188) of operating a radio access network, RAN, node (Fig.2, Base Station/Fig.8), and a radio access network, RAN (Fig.2, Base Station/Fig.8), node comprising: processing circuitry (Fig. 8, 810); and memory (Fig. 8 & ¶0336-¶0337/¶0343) coupled with the processing circuitry (Fig. 8, 810), wherein the memory includes instructions that when executed by the processing circuitry (Fig. 8 & ¶0343) causes the RAN node (Fig.2, Base Station/Fig.8) to perform operations comprising: receive, from a core network, CN, node, extended discontinuous reception, eDRX, assistance information describing a CN eDRX configuration for a user equipment, UE served by the RAN node (Fig. 2 & ¶0185 - S 21 : The core network device sends core network assistance information for RRC inactive ( core network assistance information for RRC inactive) to the base station , and the base station receives the core network assistance information for RRC inactive from the core network device . The core network assistance information for RRC inactive is an information element ( information element, IE ), and the IE is, for example, included in an initial context setup request ( initial context setup request ) message . Fig. 2 & ¶0186 - The core network assistance information for RRC inactive may include a UE specific DRX (UE specific DRX) cycle and include paging (paging) eDRX information . The paging eDRX information is an eDRX cycle used when the UE is in RRC idle state .); generate a RAN eDRX configuration for the UE based on the eDRX assistance information (Fig.2 & ¶0188 - The base station determines, with reference to the paging eDRX information in the core network assistance information for RRC inactive, an eDRX cycle configured for the UE to use in RRC inactive state . A time length of the eDRX cycle configured by the base station for the UE to use in RRC inactive state is less than or equal to a time length of the eDRX cycle corresponding to the paging eDRX information . After determining the eDRX cycle configured for the UE to use in RRC inactive state, the base station may send the eDRX cycle to the UE by using the RRC connection release message (See ¶0187 & S22 in Fig. 2), so that after entering RRC inactive state , the UE may monitor paging according to the eDRX cycle .); and configure the UE with the RAN eDRX configuration (Fig.2 & ¶0188 - The base station determines, with reference to the paging eDRX information in the core network assistance information for RRC inactive, an eDRX cycle configured for the UE to use in RRC inactive state . A time length of the eDRX cycle configured by the base station for the UE to use in RRC inactive state is less than or equal to a time length of the eDRX cycle corresponding to the paging eDRX information . After determining the eDRX cycle configured for the UE to use in RRC inactive state, the base station may send the eDRX cycle to the UE by using the RRC connection release message (See ¶0187 & S22 in Fig. 2), so that after entering RRC inactive state , the UE may monitor paging according to the eDRX cycle .). PNG media_image2.png 317 828 media_image2.png Greyscale Re. Claim 3, Kong teaches claim 1 . Kong further teaches wherein the eDRX assistance information comprises at least one of a DRX cycle length and a paging time window, PTW, associated with the CN eDRX configuration. (Fig. 2 & ¶0186 - The core network assistance information for RRC inactive may include a UE specific DRX (UE specific DRX) cycle and include paging (paging) eDRX information . The paging eDRX information is an eDRX cycle used when the UE is in RRC idle state ) . Re. Claim 4, Kong teaches claim 1 . Kong further teaches wherein the UE is in RRCInactive state when the eDRX assistance information is received . ( See step 22 in Fig. 2 along with ¶0187-¶0188 ). PNG media_image3.png 222 477 media_image3.png Greyscale Re. Claim 5, Kong teaches claim 1 . Kong further teaches wherein the eDRX assistance information is included in an Initial Context Setup Request message transmitted by the CN node to the RAN node . (Fig. 2 & ¶0185 - S 21 : The core network device sends core network assistance information for RRC inactive ( core network assistance information for RRC inactive) to the base station , and the base station receives the core network assistance information for RRC inactive from the core network device . The core network assistance information for RRC inactive is an information element ( information element, IE ), and the IE is, for example, included in an initial context setup request ( initial context setup request ) message .) Re. Claim 7, Kong teaches claim 1 . Kong further teaches wherein the CN node hosts an access and mobility management function, AMF. (Fig.2-Fig.3 & ¶0194 - the core network device described in the following embodiments is, for example, an AMF ). Re. Claim 8, Kong teaches claim 1 . Kong further teaches wherein the RAN node comprises a gNodeB. (Fig.2-Fig.3 & ¶0175 - The access network device is a device having a wireless transceiver function, and is configured to communicate with the terminal device. The a ccess network device i ncludes, but is not limited to, a base station (BTS, Node B, eNodeB/eNB, or gNodeB / gNB ) ) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2, 22-27 and 61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong, in view of VOGEDES et al. (2023/0199902), VOGEDES hereinafter . Re. Claim 2, Kong teaches claim 1 . Yet, Kong does not expressly teach transmitting a request for the eDRX assistance information to the CN node, wherein the eDRX assistance information is received in response to the request. However, in the analogous art, VOGEDES explicitly discloses transmitting a request for the eDRX assistance information to the CN node (Fig. 13 & ¶0148 - Step 313 of FIG. 13: The gNB 202 decides whether the eDRX parameter needs to be changed. If so, the gNB 202 sends a request to AMF 203 to assist UE 201 to update eDRX parameter. For example, after knowing the traffic A is terminated , the gNB 202 sends a request to AMF 203 to update the eDRX configuration . ), wherein the eDRX assistance information is received in response to the request . (Fig. 13 & ¶0145 - Step 310 b of FIG. 13 : The AMF 203 sends assistance information to gNB 207 about the PTW associated with the traffic A and traffic B .). PNG media_image4.png 417 558 media_image4.png Greyscale Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Kong’s invention of a system and a method for providing an extended discontinuous reception (extended discontinuous reception, eDRX) , extended DRX mechanism for a reduced capability UE (i.e., redcap UE) in a wireless communication system to include VOGEDES’s invention of assisting DRX enhancement for reduced capability NR (New Radio) devices in a 5G/NR (New Radio) wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in reducing possibility that a reduced capability NR device misses a paging message due to a termination of PTW (Paging Time Window), in turn, enables the reduced capability NR device to dynamically turn on and off eDRX mode of operation or change eDRX configuration based on its traffic profiles operating in the 5G/NR (New Radio) wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0004/Abstract, VOGEDES) Re. claims 22 and 61, Kong teaches a method (Fig.2 & ¶0185-¶0188) of operating a user equipment (Fig.2, UE / Fig. 9), UE, and a user equipment, UE, (Fig. 9) comprising: processing circuitry (Fig. 9, 920); and memory (Fig.9, memory ) coupled with the processing circuitry, wherein the memory includes instructions that when executed by the processing circuitry (Fig. 9, & ¶0343) causes the UE to perform operations comprising: receive a core network, CN, extended discontinuous reception, eDRX, configuration from a CN node (Fig. 2 & ¶0185 - S 21 : The core network device sends core network assistance information for RRC inactive ( core network assistance information for RRC inactive) to the base station. . Fig. 2 & ¶0186 - The core network assistance information for RRC inactive may include a UE specific DRX (UE specific DRX) cycle and include paging (paging) eDRX information . The paging eDRX information is an eDRX cycle used when the UE is in RRC idle state. Fig. 2 & ¶0187 - S 22 : The base station sends an RRC connection release message to the UE, and the UE receives the RRC connection release message from the base station . Fig. 2 & ¶0188 - After determining the eDRX cycle configured for the UE to use in RRC inactive state, the base station may send the eDRX cycle to the UE by using the RRC connection release message , so that after entering RRC inactive state , the UE may monitor pa ging according to the eDRX cycle . ); apply the CN eDRX configuration (Fig. 2 & ¶0188 - The base station determines, with reference to the paging eDRX information in the core network assistance information for RRC inactive, an eDRX cycle configured for the UE to use in RRC inactive state . A time length of the eDRX cycle configured by the base station for the UE to use in RRC inactive state is less than or equal to a time length of the eDRX cycle corresponding to the paging eDRX information. After determining the eDRX cycle configured for the UE to use in RRC inactive state , the base station may send the eDRX cycle to the UE by using the RRC connection release message, so that after entering RRC inactive state, the UE may monitor paging according to the eDRX cycle. ); and Yet, Kong does not expressly teach transmit, to a radio access network, RAN, node, eDRX assistance information describing the CN eDRX configuration. However, in the analogous art, VOGEDES explicitly discloses transmit, to a radio access network, RAN, node, eDRX assistance information describing the CN eDRX configuration . (Fig. 13 & ¶0147 - Step 312 of FIG. 13 : The UE 201 sends an AS message to the gNB 202 to request an eDRX configuration update including the traffic profile change information . For example, … using the UEAssistanceInformation message when performing a UE Assistance Information procedure.) PNG media_image5.png 369 558 media_image5.png Greyscale Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Kong’s invention of a system and a method for providing an extended discontinuous reception (extended discontinuous reception, eDRX) , extended DRX mechanism for a reduced capability UE (i.e., redcap UE) in a wireless communication system to include VOGEDES’s invention of assisting DRX enhancement for reduced capability NR (New Radio) devices in a 5G/NR (New Radio) wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in reducing possibility that a reduced capability NR device misses a paging message due to a termination of PTW (Paging Time Window), in turn, enables the reduced capability NR device to dynamically turn on and off eDRX mode of operation or change eDRX configuration based on its traffic profiles operating in the 5G/NR (New Radio) wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0004/Abstract, VOGEDES) Re. Claim 23, Kong and VOGEDES teach claim 22 . Yet, Kong does not expressly teach receiving a request for the eDRX assistance information from the RAN node, wherein the eDRX assistance information is transmitted in response to the request. However, in the analogous art, VOGEDES explicitly discloses receiving a request for the eDRX assistance information from the RAN node, wherein the eDRX assistance information is transmitted in response to the request . (Fig. 13 & ¶0152 - Step 317 of FIG. 13 : The gNB 202 sends an AS message to the UE 201 to configure the new eDRX parameter . For example, using RRCReconfiguration message .) PNG media_image6.png 369 558 media_image6.png Greyscale Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Kong’s invention of a system and a method for providing an extended discontinuous reception (extended discontinuous reception, eDRX) , extended DRX mechanism for a reduced capability UE (i.e., redcap UE) in a wireless communication system to include VOGEDES’s invention of assisting DRX enhancement for reduced capability NR (New Radio) devices in a 5G/NR (New Radio) wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in reducing possibility that a reduced capability NR device misses a paging message due to a termination of PTW (Paging Time Window), in turn, enables the reduced capability NR device to dynamically turn on and off eDRX mode of operation or change eDRX configuration based on its traffic profiles operating in the 5G/NR (New Radio) wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0004/Abstract, VOGEDES) Re. Claim 24, Kong and VOGEDES teach claim 22 . Kong further teaches wherein the eDRX assistance information comprises at least one of a DRX cycle length and a paging time window, PTW, associated with the CN eDRX configuration. (Fig. 2 & ¶0186 - The core network assistance information for RRC inactive may include a UE specific DRX (UE specific DRX) cycle and include paging (paging) eDRX information . The paging eDRX information is an eDRX cycle used when the UE is in RRC idle state ) . Re. Claim 25, Kong and VOGEDES teach claim 23 . Kong further teaches wherein the UE is in RRC_Inactive state when the eDRX assistance information is transmitted . ( See step 22 in Fig. 2 along with ¶0187-¶0188 ). PNG media_image3.png 222 477 media_image3.png Greyscale Re. Claim 26, Kong and VOGEDES teach claim 22 . Kong further teaches receiving a RAN eDRX configuration from the RAN node, wherein the RAN eDRX configuration was generated based on the CN eDRX configuration (Fig. 2 & ¶0185 - S 21 : The core network device sends core network assistance information for RRC inactive ( core network assistance information for RRC inactive) to the base station. . Fig. 2 & ¶0186 - The core network assistance information for RRC inactive may include a UE specific DRX (UE specific DRX) cycle and include paging (paging) eDRX information . The paging eDRX information is an eDRX cycle used when the UE is in RRC idle state. Fig. 2 & ¶0187 - S 22 : The base station sends an RRC connection release message to the UE, and the UE receives the RRC connection release message from the base station . Fig. 2 & ¶0188 - After determining the eDRX cycle configured for the UE to use in RRC inactive state, the base station may send the eDRX cycle to the UE by using the RRC connection release message , so that after entering RRC inactive state , the UE may monitor pa ging according to the eDRX cycle ); and applying the RAN eDRX configuration (Fig. 2 & ¶0188 - The base station determines, with reference to the paging eDRX information in the core network assistance information for RRC inactive, an eDRX cycle configured for the UE to use in RRC inactive state . A time length of the eDRX cycle configured by the base station for the UE to use in RRC inactive state is less than or equal to a time length of the eDRX cycle corresponding to the paging eDRX information. After determining the eDRX cycle configured for the UE to use in RRC inactive state , the base station may send the eDRX cycle to the UE by using the RRC connection release message, so that after entering RRC inactive state, the UE may monitor paging according to the eDRX cycle ). Re. Claim 27, Kong and VOGEDES teach claim 22 . Yet, Kong does not expressly teach wherein the CN eDRX configuration is transmitted to the RAN node in a radio resource control, RRC, message. However, in the analogous art, VOGEDES explicitly discloses wherein the CN eDRX configuration is transmitted to the RAN node in a radio resource control, RRC, message. (Fig. 16 & ¶0170 - Step 342 : of FIG. 16 The AMF 203 sends an RRC Assistance information message to the gNB 202 , which includes the new eDRX parameter(s) associated with the UE 201 .) PNG media_image7.png 294 560 media_image7.png Greyscale Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Kong’s invention of a system and a method for providing an extended discontinuous reception (extended discontinuous reception, eDRX) , extended DRX mechanism for a reduced capability UE (i.e., redcap UE) in a wireless communication system to include VOGEDES’s invention of assisting DRX enhancement for reduced capability NR (New Radio) devices in a 5G/NR (New Radio) wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in reducing possibility that a reduced capability NR device misses a paging message due to a termination of PTW (Paging Time Window), in turn, enables the reduced capability NR device to dynamically turn on and off eDRX mode of operation or change eDRX configuration based on its traffic profiles operating in the 5G/NR (New Radio) wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0004/Abstract, VOGEDES) 07-21-aia AIA Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong, in view of Ryu et al. (2021/0352619), Ryu hereinafter . Re. Claim 6, Kong teaches claim 1 . Yet, Kong does not expressly teach wherein the eDRX assistance information is included in an RRC Inactive Transition Report transmitted by the CN node to the RAN node. However, in the analogous art, Ryu explicitly discloses wherein the eDRX assistance information is included in an RRC Inactive Transition Report transmitted by the CN node to the RAN node . (Fig. 12-Fig.16 & ¶0154 - The AMF 155, based on network configuration, may provide assistance information to the NG RAN 105, to assist the NG RAN's 105 decision whether the UE 100 may be sent to RRC inactive state . When a UE 100 is CM-CONNECTED 610 with RRC inactive state , the UE 100 may resume the RRC connection due to uplink data pending, mobile initiated signaling procedure, as a response to RAN 105 paging, to notify the network that it has left the RAN 105 notification area, and/or the like. Fig.15-Fig. 16 & ¶0287 - For the RRC state transition from RRC-CONNECTED to RRC-INACTIVE , the NG-RAN node may send an RRC release message to the UE to request suspension of an RRC connection. In an example, the RRC release message may include suspend information that indicates to the UE that the RRC release message is for suspending instead of releasing the RRC connection. The suspend information may comprise a radio network temporary identity (RNTI) value , a radio access network (RAN) paging cycle, RAN notification area information, and/or the like. The UE may transition from RRC-CONNECTED to RRC-INACTIVE in response to the RRC release message from the NG-RAN node. The RRC state maintained at both the UE and the NG-RAN node may be updated to reflect that the current RRC state of the UE is RRC-INACTIVE . Fig. 16 & ¶0290 - The AMF may send a UE state transition notification request message (e.g. UE state transition notification request message , RRC state notification message) to a NG-RAN node , requesting to report the RRC state transition information as illustrated in FIG. 16. The UE state transition notification request message may comprise AMF UE NGAP ID, RAN UE NGAP ID, an RRC Inactive Transition Report Request information element (IE) and/or the like. …. The RRC Inactive Transition Report Request IE may indicate a condition of RRC state transition reporting and may comprise a subsequent state transition report …..Also, during RRC_INACTVE, paging information (e.g., Paging Cycle ) is known at RAN level and eDRX assistance information i ncludes at least one of a DRX cycle length and a paging time window (PTW) , UE may be in RRC_Inactive state when the eDRX assistance information is transmitted as per instant application at least in ¶0038-¶0039; Examiner interprets that paging information for a UE in the inactive state as disclosed in ¶0287/¶0290, refers to eDRX assistance information under BRI <broadest reasonable interpretation>) PNG media_image8.png 425 525 media_image8.png Greyscale Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Kong’s invention of a system and a method for providing an extended discontinuous reception (extended discontinuous reception, eDRX) , extended DRX mechanism for a reduced capability UE (i.e., redcap UE) in a wireless communication system to include Ryu’s invention of Paging mechanism in a 5G/NR (New Radio) wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in increasing paging resource efficiency of RAN (Radio access Network) paging and core network paging by providing a paging cause value in a paging message to a UE (User Equipment) based on, for example, a need of the UE operating in the 5G/NR (New Radio) wireless communication system. (¶0318, Ryu) 07-21-aia AIA Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong, in view of VOGEDES, further in view of Sogabe et al. (2024/0015843), Sogabe hereinafter . Re. Claim 28, Kong and VOGEDES teach claim 27 . Yet, Kong and VOGEDES do not expressly teach wherein the RRC message comprises an RRCSetupComplete message or an RRCReconfigurationComplete message. However, in the analogous art, Sogabe explicitly discloses wherein the RRC message comprises an RRCSetupComplete message or an RRCReconfigurationComplete message . (Fig. 5-11 & ¶0069 - the eDRX parameters by including the eDRX parameters in the RRC Reconfiguration Complete message . Fig. 5-11 & ¶0070 - the eDRX parameters for the i nactive state in the RRC Setup Complete message ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Kong’s invention of a system and a method for providing an extended discontinuous reception (extended discontinuous reception, eDRX) , extended DRX mechanism for a reduced capability UE (i.e., redcap UE) in a wireless communication system and VOGEDES’s invention of assisting DRX enhancement for reduced capability NR (New Radio) devices in a 5G/NR (New Radio) wireless communication system to include Sogabe’s invention of a system and a method for receiving/transmitting Radio Resource Control (RRC) message and a Non Access Stratum (NAS) message in a 5G/NR (New Radio) wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in reducing power consumption by limiting a period capable of receiving a radio signal when eDRX (extended Discontinuous Reception) is used by power limited IoT devices in performing radio access operating in the 5G/NR (New Radio) wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0007, Sogabe) 07-21-aia AIA Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong, in view of VOGEDES, further in view of Shikari et al. (2021/0051583), Shikari hereinafter . Re. Claim 29, Kong and VOGEDES teach claim 27 . Yet, Kong and VOGEDES do not expressly teach wherein the RRC message further comprises an indication of a desired eDRX cycle length to be included in the RAN eDRX configuration. However, in the analogous art, Shikari explicitly discloses wherein the RRC message further comprises an indication of a desired eDRX cycle length to be included in the RAN eDRX configuration . (Fig. 1-19 & ¶0125 - a dedicated RRC /NAS Signaling indicating temporary suspension of eDRX; Fig. 1-19 & ¶0126 - The base station may use a similar mechanism (as abov e) to resume eDRX quickly . Fig. 1-19 & ¶0162 - After receiving the message (the message also, refers to RRC as per¶0125-¶0126) , the modified DRX may be modified again, e.g., reverting back to the previous configuration or using another configuration, as desired . For example, the iDRX may be changed back to eDRX or the eDRX cycle length may be modified to a longer value than the shortened value used for receiving the message (the message also, refers to RRC as per¶0125-¶0126 )) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Kong’s invention of a system and a method for providing an extended discontinuous reception (extended discontinuous reception, eDRX) , extended DRX mechanism for a reduced capability UE (i.e., redcap UE) in a wireless communication system and VOGEDES’s invention of assisting DRX enhancement for reduced capability NR (New Radio) devices in a 5G/NR (New Radio) wireless communication system to include Shikari’s invention of a system and a method for notification support in extended discontinuous reception mode in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in reducing power consumption for user devices as deigned for a plurality of services operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0008, Shikari) Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. 3GPP TSG RAN WG2 #111-e; R2-2007346; Source: Huawei, HiSilicon; Title : Discussion on eDRX for RRC_INACTIVE and RRC_IDLE; Online, 17 – 28 August 2020. See §2-§3. 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 #113e; R2-2100986 ; Source: Ericsson; Title : Extended DRX for RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE for NR RedCap UE; Electronic meeting, January 25th – February 5th, 2021. See §1-§6. 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #113 electronic; R2-2100344 ; Source: Xiaomi Communications; Title: Discussion on e-DRX for Redcap Devices; Online, January 25th – February 5th 2021. See §1-§3 . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MOHAMMED SHAMSUL CHOWDHURY whose telephone number is (571)272-0485. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday 9 AM- 6 PM EST (Friday Var.). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Hassan Phillips can be reached on 571-272-3940. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/285,039 Page 2 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/285,039 Page 4 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/285,039 Page 5 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/285,039 Page 6 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/285,039 Page 7 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/285,039 Page 9 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/285,039 Page 10 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/285,039 Page 11 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/285,039 Page 12 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/285,039 Page 13 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/285,039 Page 14 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/285,039 Page 15 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/285,039 Page 16 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/285,039 Page 18 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/285,039 Page 19 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/285,039 Page 22 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/285,039 Page 23 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/285,039 Page 24 Art Unit: 2467