DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to applicant’s request of Continued Examination (RCE) filed on 05/14/2026 on amendments/arguments filed on 04/23/2026. Claims 9, 11, 14, 18-19, 24 and 26 have been canceled. Claims 1-5, 12, 15, 20-22 and 25 have been amended. Currently, claims 1-8, 10, 12-13, 15-17, 20-23 and 25 are pending for consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to amended claims 1 and 25 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Response to Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 10, 12-13, 15-17, 20, 21, 23 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinarello et al. (US 20120071120 A1) in view of Rofougaran et al. (US 20140155007 A1).
Consider claim 1, Pinarello discloses a method for jointly adapting hardware configurations of a power amplifier (PA) and a digital to analog converter (DAC) in a radio transmitter (read as transmission circuit 200 in which control circuit 216 adjusts the power amplifier 206 (active area) and adjusts the DAC 212 (gain/operating point vis DAC voltage), which corresponding to jointly adapting hardware configurations of a PA and a DAC in the transmitter shown in figure 2, par [0030]-[0034]), the method comprising:
obtaining a transmit signal quality requirement for an upcoming radio transmission (read as control circuit 216 uses stored predetermined quality threshold value S.sub.TH tied to system specification, output power, and modulation type, which corresponds to obtaining the transmission quality target for the signal to be sent, figures 2 and 11, par [0033], [0027], and [0075]);
determining a maximum amount of distortion allowed to be contributed jointly by the PA and by the DAC while meeting the transmit signal quality requirement (read as control circuit 216 evaluates measured quality quality using distortion related measures such as AM/AM, AM/PM, and ACLR, then keeps transmission chain 204 within predetermined threshold value S.sub.TH (where S.sub.TH is set to avoid standard violations) while adjusting power amplifier 206 and DAC 212, which corresponds to setting the allowable impairment limit for the transmitter elements, figure 2, par [0032]-[0036] and [0075]); and
based on the determined maximum amount of distortion, determining configuration parameter comprises: i) a PA configuration parameter indicating a configuration for the PA; and ii) a DAC configuration parameter indicating a configuration for the DAC (read as activate area control for power amplifier 206 and voltage signal control for DAC 212 to adjust the DAC’s gain and operating point, which corresponds to transmitter hardware parameters for the power amplifier and the DAC, figure 2, par [0033]-[0034]); and
jointly adapting the hardware configuration of the PA and the hardware configuration of the DAC to generate an amount of distortion below the maximum amount of distortion while improving a secondary objective of the radio transmitter, wherein jointly adapting the hardware configuration of the PA and the hardware configuration of the DAC comprises: configuring the PA based on the PA configuration parameter; and configuring the DAC based on the DAC configuration parameter (read as control circuit 216 adjusting active area of power amplifier 206 and the voltage signal for DAC 212 based on measured signal quality and predetermined threshold value S.sub.TH, while reducing current consumption, figure 2, par [0033]-[0035], [0028] and [0076]-[0077]).
However, Pinarello discloses the claimed invention above with control circuit 216 adjusting PA and DAC operating points and incrementally adjusting operating points until measured signal quality is within the predetermined threshold (figure 2, par [0033]-[0035]) but does not specifically disclose based on the determined maximum amount of distortion, determining a set of candidate configurations comprising a first candidate configuration and a second candidate configuration, wherein each candidate configuration comprises the configuration parameter above; selecting a candidate configuration from the set of candidate configurations based on the secondary objective of the radio transmitter; configuring the PA based on the PA configuration parameter included in the selected candidate configuration; and configuring the DAC based on the DAC configuration parameter included in the selected candidate configuration.
Nonetheless, Rofougaran discloses configuration testing in which DSP 132 forms separate configurations from combinations of DACs 318, Pas 326 and programmable elements 202, determines EVM and power consumption for those configurations, choose the one satisfying the EVM threshold with the smallest power consumption and configures DAC block 118 and PA block 126 according to the selected configuration, figures 3-5, par [0020], [0034]-[0035], [0039]-[0042] and [045]-[0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Rofougaran into the teachings of Pinarello, to modified Pinarello’s PA and DAC operating control using Rofougaran’s configuration selection technique using candidate configuration testing, in order to choose low power transmitter settings under an EVM limit.
Consider claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, Pinarello, as modified by Rofougaran, discloses obtaining a relationship between hardware configuration and corresponding contributed distortion for the PA and for the DAC, wherein the hardware configurations are jointly adapted based on the obtained relationship between hardware configurations and corresponding contributed distortions (read as the control circuit 216 dynamically adjusts the operating point of one or more elements (i.e. power amplifier 206 and DAC 212) in the transmission chain 204 based upon the comparison of the measured signal quality of the output signal S.sub.OUT and the value of the predetermined threshold value S.sub.TH with corresponding distortion amount value, figure 2, par [0031]-[0036]).
Consider claim 3, as applied to claim 1 above, Pinarello, as modified by Rofougaran, discloses determining a distortion contribution by one or more non-configurable components in the radio transmitter, where the maximum amount of distortion is determined in dependence of the distortion contribution by the one or more non-configurable components and the transmit signal quality requirement (read as measures output signal quality (including distortion-based evaluation) at the transmitter output for a chain including multiple elements (e.g. modulation circuit 208, one or more filters 210, and a power amplifier 206… maybe also comprising wide range of additional elements”, and the “modulation circuit 208 and additional elements” within the transmission chain 204 would be read as the “non-configurable components” as Pinarello does not configure them for distortion adjustment) and then adjust configurable elements (filters, DAC and/or PA) until measured quality is less than or equal to S.sub.TH, the allowable impairment for meeting the transmit signal quality requirement (S.sub.TH) is determined in dependence on the aggregate chain impairment reflected in the measured output quality under the broadest reasonable interpretation, figure 2, par [0031] and [0033]-[0036]).
Consider claim 4, as applied to claim 1 above, Pinarello, as modified by Rofougaran, discloses where the secondary objective comprises any of an energy consumption of the radio transmitter, a data throughput of the radio transmission, an output power of the radio transmission, a spectral efficiency of the radio transmission, and an adjacent channel leakage ratio, ACLR, of the upcoming radio transmission (read as the control circuit 216 dynamically adjusts the operating point of one or more elements (i.e. power amplifier 206 and DAC 212) in the transmission chain 204 based upon the comparison of the measured signal quality of the output signal S.sub.OUT and the value of the predetermined threshold value S.sub.TH with corresponding distortion amount value, figure 2, par [0031]-[0036]; additionally, the adjacent channel leakage ratio (ACLR) can be measured and used as an indicator of the signal quality (e.g., a low ACLR indicates a high signal quality and a high ACLR indicates a low signal quality), par [0036]).
Consider claim 7, as applied to claim 1 above, Pinarello, as modified by Rofougaran, discloses wherein the hardware configuration of the PA comprises a bias and/or an input power (read as control circuit 304 may be further configured to control a bias circuit 306 configured to provide a bias voltage or a bias current to the power amplifier 302. The controllable bias circuit 306 provides for adaptive bias control in combination with adaptive active area control., figures 2 and 3, par [0038]).
Consider claim 10, as applied to claim 1 above, Pinarello, as modified by Rofougaran, discloses wherein the hardware configurations are jointly adapted while meeting a minimum requirement of a tertiary objective, and the tertiary objective comprises: an energy consumption of the radio transmitter, a data throughput of the upcoming radio transmission, an output power of the upcoming radio transmission, a spectral efficiency of the upcoming radio transmission, and/or an ACLR of the upcoming radio transmission (read as the control circuit 216 dynamically adjusts the operating point of one or more elements (i.e. power amplifier 206 and DAC 212) in the transmission chain 204 based upon the comparison of the measured signal quality of the output signal S.sub.OUT and the value of the predetermined threshold value S.sub.TH with corresponding distortion amount value, figure 2, par [0031]-[0036]; additionally, the adjacent channel leakage ratio (ACLR) can be measured and used as an indicator of the signal quality (e.g., a low ACLR indicates a high signal quality and a high ACLR indicates a low signal quality), par [0036]).
Consider claim 12, as applied to claim 1 above, Pinarello, as modified by Rofougaran, discloses wherein jointly adapting the hardware configuration of the PA comprises adapting of the hardware configuration of the PA based on a behavior model of the PA, wherein the behavioral model of the PA models distortion contribution by the PA in dependence of the hardware configuration (read as the control circuit 216 may also be coupled to other elements (e.g., filter 210, DAC 212, etc.) in the transmission chain 204 and using algorithm, to dynamically adjust the operating point of the other elements (PA 206 and/or DAC 212); the control circuit 216 dynamically adjusts the operating point of one or more elements in the transmission chain 204 based upon the comparison of the measured signal quality of the output signal S.sub.OUT and the value of the predetermined threshold value S.sub.TH, par [0023] and [0032]-[0033]).
Consider claim 13, as applied to claim 1 above, Pinarello, as modified by Rofougaran, discloses wherein jointly adapting the hardware configuration of the DAC comprises adapting of the hardware configuration of the DAC based on a behavior model of the DAC, the behavioral model of the DAC models distortion contribution by the DAC in dependence of the hardware configuration, and any of the behavioral models is further dependent on a signal characteristic of the upcoming radio transmission (read as the control circuit 216 may also be coupled to other elements (e.g., filter 210, DAC 212, etc.) in the transmission chain 204 and using algorithm, to dynamically adjust the operating point of the other elements (PA 206 and/or DAC 212); the control circuit 216 dynamically adjusts the operating point of one or more elements in the transmission chain 204 based upon the comparison of the measured signal quality of the output signal S.sub.OUT and the value of the predetermined threshold value S.sub.TH, par [0023] and [0032]-[0033]).
Consider claim 15, as applied to claim 1 above, Pinarello, as modified by Rofougaran, discloses wherein the adapting of the hardware configuration of the PA is based on tabulated data of the PA, wherein the tabulated data of the PA comprises distortion contribution by the PA for different hardware configurations (read as the adapts the PA hardware configuration by selecting different active-cell combination using a stored/structured control word delivered to selection 504 (yielding different PA configurations with different behaviors), and evaluates output quality using PA-introduced distortion (AM/AM, AM/PM), which constitutes “tabulated”/stored configuration data comprising PA distortion/quality contribution across different PA hardware configuration under the broadest reasonable interpretation, figure 2, par [0031]-[0036]).
Consider claim 16, as applied to claim 1 above, Pinarello, as modified by Rofougaran, discloses wherein the adapting of the hardware configuration of the DAC is based on tabulated data of the DAC, wherein the tabulated data of the DAC comprises distortion contribution by the DAC for different hardware configurations (read as the quality of the output signal may be measured indirectly, by evaluating the AM/AM and AM/PM distortion introduced by the power amplifier (which is the output circuit of transmission chain 204 having power amplifier 206 and DAC 212) to meet the value of predetermined threshold value S.sub.TH which having an corresponding distortion amount value as a max limit, and the inputs of power amplifier 206 are based on the outputs of controllable DAC 212 within the transmission chain 204, figure 2, par [0031]-[0036]).
Consider claim 17, as applied to claim 15 above, Pinarello, as modified by Rofougaran, discloses wherein any of the tabulated data is further dependent on a signal characteristic of the upcoming radio transmission, any of the tabulated data is dynamically updated based on a feedback signal from the radio transmitter, or any of the tabulated data is dynamically updated based on a feedback signal from a remote radio transceiver arranged to communicate with the radio transmitter (read as the control circuit 216 dynamically adjusts the operating point of one or more elements (i.e. power amplifier 206 and DAC 212) in the transmission chain 204 based upon the comparison of the measured signal quality of the output signal S.sub.OUT (i.e. feedback) and the value of the predetermined threshold value S.sub.TH with corresponding distortion amount value, figure 2, par [0031]-[0036]).
Consider claim 20, as applied to claim 1 above, Pinarello, as modified by Rofougaran, discloses wherein the method further comprises adapting the hardware configuration of the PA based on a feedback signal from the radio transmitter, wherein the feedback signal comprises a current transmit signal quality (read as the control circuit 216 dynamically adjusts the operating point of one or more elements (i.e. power amplifier 206 and DAC 212) in the transmission chain 204 based upon the comparison of the measured signal quality of the output signal S.sub.OUT (i.e. feedback) and the value of the predetermined threshold value S.sub.TH with corresponding distortion amount value, figure 2, par [0031]-[0036]).
Consider claim 21, as applied to claim 1 above, Pinarello, as modified by Rofougaran, discloses wherein the method further comprises adapting the hardware configuration of the DAC based on a feedback signal from the ratio transmitter, wherein the feedback signal comprises a current transmit signal quality (read as the control circuit 216 dynamically adjusts the operating point of one or more elements (i.e. power amplifier 206 and DAC 212) in the transmission chain 204 based upon the comparison of the measured signal quality of the output signal S.sub.OUT (i.e. feedback) and the value of the predetermined threshold value S.sub.TH with corresponding distortion amount value, figure 2, par [0031]-[0036]).
Consider claim 23, as applied to claim 1 above, Pinarello, as modified by Rofougaran, discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a computer program comprising program code means for performing the method of claim 1 (read as memory 218, figure 2, par [0032]).
Consider claim 25, Pinarello discloses a control unit for jointly adapting hardware configurations of a power amplifier (PA) and a digital to analog converter (DAC) in a radio transmitter (read as control circuit 216 is configured to measure parameters of the signal S.sub.OUT output from the power amplifier 206 and to evaluate a measured signal quality for controlling the DCA 212 and power amplifier 206, figure 2, par [0031]-[0036]), the control unit comprising:
processing circuitry; a network interface coupled to the processing circuitry (read as baseband processor 202 and controller circuit 216, and antenna 214, figure 2, par [0031]-[0036]); and
a memory coupled to the processing circuitry, wherein the memory comprises machine readable computer program instructions that, when executed by the processing circuitry (read as memory 218, figure 2, par [0032]), causes the network node to perform a method comprising:
obtaining a transmit signal quality requirement for an upcoming radio transmission (read as control circuit 216 uses stored predetermined quality threshold value S.sub.TH tied to system specification, output power, and modulation type, which corresponds to obtaining the transmission quality target for the signal to be sent, figures 2 and 11, par [0033], [0027], and [0075]);
determining a maximum amount of distortion allowed to be contributed jointly by the PA and by the DAC while meeting the transmit signal quality requirement (read as control circuit 216 evaluates measured quality quality using distortion related measures such as AM/AM, AM/PM, and ACLR, then keeps transmission chain 204 within predetermined threshold value S.sub.TH (where S.sub.TH is set to avoid standard violations) while adjusting power amplifier 206 and DAC 212, which corresponds to setting the allowable impairment limit for the transmitter elements, figure 2, par [0032]-[0036] and [0075]); and
based on the determined maximum amount of distortion, determining configuration parameter comprises: i) a PA configuration parameter indicating a configuration for the PA; and ii) a DAC configuration parameter indicating a configuration for the DAC (read as activate area control for power amplifier 206 and voltage signal control for DAC 212 to adjust the DAC’s gain and operating point, which corresponds to transmitter hardware parameters for the power amplifier and the DAC, figure 2, par [0033]-[0034]); and
jointly adapting the hardware configuration of the PA and the hardware configuration of the DAC to generate an amount of distortion below the maximum amount of distortion while improving a secondary objective of the radio transmitter, wherein jointly adapting the hardware configuration of the PA and the hardware configuration of the DAC comprises: configuring the PA based on the PA configuration parameter; and configuring the DAC based on the DAC configuration parameter (read as control circuit 216 adjusting active area of power amplifier 206 and the voltage signal for DAC 212 based on measured signal quality and predetermined threshold value S.sub.TH, while reducing current consumption, figure 2, par [0033]-[0035], [0028] and [0076]-[0077]).
However, Pinarello discloses the claimed invention above with control circuit 216 adjusting PA and DAC operating points and incrementally adjusting operating points until measured signal quality is within the predetermined threshold (figure 2, par [0033]-[0035]) but does not specifically disclose based on the determined maximum amount of distortion, determining a set of candidate configurations comprising a first candidate configuration and a second candidate configuration, wherein each candidate configuration comprises the configuration parameter above; selecting a candidate configuration from the set of candidate configurations based on the secondary objective of the radio transmitter; configuring the PA based on the PA configuration parameter included in the selected candidate configuration; and configuring the DAC based on the DAC configuration parameter included in the selected candidate configuration.
Nonetheless, Rofougaran discloses configuration testing in which DSP 132 forms separate configurations from combinations of DACs 318, Pas 326 and programmable elements 202, determines EVM and power consumption for those configurations, choose the one satisfying the EVM threshold with the smallest power consumption and configures DAC block 118 and PA block 126 according to the selected configuration, figures 3-5, par [0020], [0034]-[0035], [0039]-[0042] and [045]-[0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Rofougaran into the teachings of Pinarello, to modified Pinarello’s PA and DAC operating control using Rofougaran’s configuration selection technique using candidate configuration testing, in order to choose low power transmitter settings under an EVM limit.
Claim 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinarello et al. (US 20120071120 A1) in view of Rofougaran et al. (US 20140155007 A1), and in further view of KIM (US 20160212640 A1).
Consider claim 5, as applied to claim 1 above, Pinarello, as modified by Rofougaran, discloses the claimed invention above and obtaining a transmit signal quality requirement comprising an adjacent channel leakage ratio (ACLR) (par [0036]) but does not specifically disclose quality requirement comprising an error vector magnitude (EVM) requirement.
Nonetheless, Kim discloses the quality index may be related to at least one signal quality characteristic among spectrum, power, peak level in time domain, adjacent channel leakage ratio (ACLR), error vector magnitude (EVM), occupied bandwidth (OBW), spectrum emission mask (SEM), noise figure (NF), complementary cumulative distribution function (CCDF), signal to noise ratio (SNR), and spurious characteristic, par [0010].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of KIM into the teachings of Pinarello, which modified by Rofougaran, to design the system to use EVM as the signal quality instead of ACLR as it is just a matter of design choice.
Claim 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinarello et al. (US 20120071120 A1) in view of Rofougaran et al. (US 20140155007 A1), and in further view of Friedrich et al. (US 20120219088 A1).
Consider claim 6, as applied to claim 1 above, Pinarello, as modified by Rofougaran, discloses the claimed invention above and different modulation types (par [0026]-[0027]) but does not specifically disclose wherein the transmit signal quality requirement is determined in dependence of a modulation format of the upcoming radio transmission.
However, Friedrich discloses transmit signal quality in dependence on the type of modulation, par [0016], [0079] and [0081].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Friedrich into the teachings of Pinarello, which modified by Rofougaran, to design the system to have the transmit signal quality requirement determined in dependence of a modulation format as the right modulation format is critical for optimizing signal quality.
Claim 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinarello et al. (US 20120071120 A1) in view of Rofougaran et al. (US 20140155007 A1), and in further view of LOZHKIN (US 20130049877A1).
Consider claim 8, as applied to claim 1 above, Pinarello, as modified by Rofougaran, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein the hardware configuration of the DAC comprises a resolution and/or a sampling rate, and the resolution of the DAC comprises any of number of quantization bits, least significant bit configuration, and most significant bit configuration.
Nonetheless, LOZHKIN discloses DAC having number of quantization level (bit resolution), par [0056]-[0058].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of LOZHKIN into the teachings of Pinarello, which modified by Rofougaran, to design the DAC to have number of quantization level (bit resolution) in order to generate a desired number of discrete output levels.
Claim 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinarello et al. (US 20120071120 A1) in view of Rofougaran et al. (US 20140155007 A1), and in further view of Matsumoto (US 20130082775 A1).
Consider claim 22, as applied to claim 1 above, Pinarello, as modified by Rofougaran, discloses comprising jointly adapting a hardware configuration of circuit elements comprised in the radio transmitter to generate an amount of distortion below the maximum amount of distortion, while improving the secondary objective of the radio transmitter (read as the control circuit 216 dynamically adjusts the operating point of one or more elements (i.e. power amplifier 206 and DAC 212) in the transmission chain 204 based upon the comparison of the measured signal quality of the output signal S.sub.OUT and the value of the predetermined threshold value S.sub.TH with corresponding distortion amount value, figure 2, par [0031]-[0036]; also see par [0026] and [0019] for improving signal quality and other improvements) but does not specifically disclose an oscillator comprised in the radio transmitter to generate distortion.
Nonetheless, Matsumoto comprising oscillator 208 within the transmitting RF unit 200 configured to assist in sampling distortion at any point of the spectrum in order to assist the detector module 232 to detect distortion that may be reduced or eliminated and for assisting signal quality control, par [0035], [0072]-[0073] and [0080].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Matsumoto into the teachings of Pinarello, which modified by Rofougaran, to design the system to include an oscillator within the transmission chain to assist in distortion reduction and signal quality control/improvement.
Conclusion
/Junpeng Chen/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645