Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 12/18/2025 has been entered and considered by Examiner. Claims 22 - 40 are presented for examination. Claims 33-38 are withdrawn.
Specification
The title of the invention is objected for not being descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant elected without traverse to prosecute claims associated with Specie 4 related to Fig. 4A is acknowledge by the Primary Examiner. Accordingly, all claims pertain to the elected Specie will be prosecuted. The restriction is made Final.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 22-27, 29-32, 39, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US Pub. 20200366794 A1).
For claim 22, Lee discloses a method performed by a first entity for handling user notifications in a communications network (fig. 7-8, an expiration alarm notification to a UE triggered by an application function), the method comprising:
receiving an indication that a second entity supports a user notification type (the UE requests expiration notification, i.e. user notification type, to the SMF, i.e. second entity, through the AMF, i.e. first entity, "In the method of configuration and notification of the expiration notification by utilizing an NAS layer, the user (UE 110) transmits a threshold for the expiration notification at the time of generation of the corresponding session, thereby requesting the expiration notification from the SMF 130 (operation 801), and the SMF 130 notifies of the UE 110 through a session modification in the case where expiration occurs (operation 813). An example of the method for configuration of usage exhaustion and notification of expected usage exhaustion through the NAS layer is illustrated in FIG. 8 . In operation 801 to operation 803, the UE may configure the expiration notification to the SMF 130, through the AFM 120, by using a POU session modification request including a threshold and a reference ID. In operations 804a to 804b, the SMF 130 may configure an event triggering condition in the UPF 160. In operation 811, the UPF 160 triggers an event, for example, if the usage reaches a threshold, and reports the event to the SMF 130 in operation 812. In operations 813 to 814, the SMF 130 may notify the UE 110 of the usage exhaustion including the reference ID.") [0084];
determining that a user notification of the user notification type shall be transmitted to a user equipment associated with a subscriber of the communications network, the user notification comprising a user identity of the subscriber and a notification content (the notification that needs to be transmitted, the notification contains the usage exhaustion information, i.e. notification content, the UE ID and the reference ID, i.e. user identity , "In operations 804a to 804b, the SMF 130 may configure an event triggering condition in the UPF 160. In operation 811, the UPF 160 triggers an event, for example, if the usage reaches a threshold, and reports the event to the SMF 130 in operation 812.") [0083-84];
selecting the second entity for delivering the user notification of the user notification type to the user equipment (step 813-814, the SMF/AMF is selected for notifying the UE regarding a usage exhaustion with ID) [0084];
transmitting to the second entity the user notification including the user identity and the notification content (step 813,814, the SMF send the command to notify the user to the AMF, i.e. second entity. Also see par.80-82 and fig. 7, another way of notification of usage exhaustion method through an SMF, i.e. first entity, and an AF, i.e. first entity.) [0083-84].
For claim 39, Lee discloses an apparatus for handling user notifications in a communications network (fig. 7-8, an expiration alarm notification to a UE triggered by an application function), the apparatus comprising a processor and a memory [0175], the memory containing instructions executable by the processor such that the apparatus is operable to
receive an indication that a second entity supports a user notification type (the UE requests expiration notification, i.e. user notification type, to the SMF, i.e. second entity, through the AMF, i.e. first entity, "In the method of configuration and notification of the expiration notification by utilizing an NAS layer, the user (UE 110) transmits a threshold for the expiration notification at the time of generation of the corresponding session, thereby requesting the expiration notification from the SMF 130 (operation 801), and the SMF 130 notifies of the UE 110 through a session modification in the case where expiration occurs (operation 813). An example of the method for configuration of usage exhaustion and notification of expected usage exhaustion through the NAS layer is illustrated in FIG. 8 . In operation 801 to operation 803, the UE may configure the expiration notification to the SMF 130, through the AFM 120, by using a POU session modification request including a threshold and a reference ID. In operations 804a to 804b, the SMF 130 may configure an event triggering condition in the UPF 160. In operation 811, the UPF 160 triggers an event, for example, if the usage reaches a threshold, and reports the event to the SMF 130 in operation 812. In operations 813 to 814, the SMF 130 may notify the UE 110 of the usage exhaustion including the reference ID.") [0084];
determine that a user notification of the user notification type shall be transmitted to a user equipment associated with a subscriber of the communications network, the user notification comprising a user identity of the subscriber and a notification content (the notification that needs to be transmitted, the notification contains the usage exhaustion information, i.e. notification content, the UE ID and the reference ID, i.e. user identity , "In operations 804a to 804b, the SMF 130 may configure an event triggering condition in the UPF 160. In operation 811, the UPF 160 triggers an event, for example, if the usage reaches a threshold, and reports the event to the SMF 130 in operation 812.") [0083-84];
select the second entity for delivering the user notification of the user notification type to the user (step 813-814, the SMF/AMF is selected for notifying the UE regarding a usage exhaustion with ID) [0084].
For claims 23 and 40, Lee discloses the indication is received from the second entity or from a user data repository (Fig. 7-8) [0083-84].
For claim 24, Lee discloses receiving from a third entity a notify message including the user identity and the notification content, wherein the transmission of the user notification is determined based on the received notify message (Fig. 7-8, UPF sending message to SMF.) [0082-84].
For claim 25, Lee discloses the user notification and/or notify message further include the IP address of the user equipment of the user (IP address allocated to the UE and transmitted to the network) [0041, 0061, 0079-81].
For claim 26, Lee discloses the notification content comprises a URL to access a service related to the user notification, particularly wherein the service is a web service (URL, return address, the URL is a text, or the reference ID contained in the notification) [0079, 0083].
For claim 27, Lee discloses the notification content comprises a notification text (URL, return address, the URL is a text, or the reference ID contained in the notification) [0079, 0083].
For claim 29, Lee discloses receiving from the second entity a user identity [0082-84]; and
transmitting to the third entity a request for quota exhaustion notifications including the user identity (NEF/PCF or SMF first entity, AF second entity and UPF, third entity) [0082-84, 0090-91].
For claim 30, Lee discloses the user notification type is a quota exhaustion notification [0082-84, 0090-91].
For claim 31, Lee discloses the first entity is a Network Exposure Function, NEF, a Service Capability Exposure Function, SCEF, a Policy and Charging Rules Function, PCRF, a Policy Control Function, PCF, a Charging Function, CHF, or an Online Charging System, OCS (Figs. 6-8);
wherein the second entity is an application server, particularly a push notification server, a Service Capability Server, SCS, or a Mobile Network Operator Application Function, MNO AF (Figs. 6-8).
For claim 32, Lee discloses the first entity is a Network Exposure Function, NEF, a Service Capability Exposure Function, SCEF (Figs. 6-8);
wherein the second entity is an application server, particularly a push notification server, a Service Capability Server, SCS, or a Mobile Network Operator Application Function, MNO AF (Figs. 6-8);
wherein the third entity is a Charging Function, CHF, an Online Charging System, OCS, a Policy and Charging Rules Function, PCRF, or a Policy Control Function, PCF (Figs. 6-8); and
wherein the fourth entity is an Access and Mobility Management Function, AMF, or a Mobility Management Entity, MME (Figs. 6-8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US Pub. 20200366794 A1) in view of Qiao et al. (US Pub. 20210122261 A1).
For claim 28, Lee discloses receiving from the second entity an identifier [0070, 0088, 0083-84];
transmitting to a fourth entity a subscription request for user equipment register events including the identifier [0070, 0088, 0083-84];
receiving from the fourth entity, in response to a register event of the user equipment, wherein the targeted system of the user equipment corresponds to the identifier, a notification of the user equipment register event including the user identity, an IP address of the user equipment and the identifier [0070, 0088, 0083-84];
transmitting to the second entity a registration request for the user equipment, including the user identity and the IP address [0041, 0061]; and
transmitting to the third entity a request for quota exhaustion notifications including the user identity [0082-84, 0090-91].
Lee doesn’t explicitly teach the targeted system identifier is an operating system identifier.
However, Qiao the targeted system identifier is an operating system identifier [0332, 0393].
Since, all are analogous arts addressing network ids used by a mobile network; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Lee with Qiao to ensure various identifiers can be used to properly track and identify different network functions, thus, improving network data processing abilities.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20240422854-A1; US-20170118617-A1; US-20200204685-A1
Inquiries
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Armouche, Hadi can be reached on 571-270-3618. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/PAKEE FANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409