DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Based on the current set of claims (Claims, 28 January 2026), Claims 1-18 are pending.
Based on the current set of claims (Claims, 28 January 2026), Claims 1, 11, and 18 are amended and said amendments are narrowing and supported by the originally-filed Specification (Specification, 29 September 2023, ¶8).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 11, and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-7, 11-14, 16, 18, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shrivastava et al. (US 20190208570 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Shrivastava”).
Regarding Claim 1, Claim 1 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 18.
Regarding Claim 3, Shrivastava discloses the method of Claim 1.
Shrivastava further discloses [the method], further comprising:
responsive to determining the time offset, entering the low power state based on the amount of time (¶84 & ¶120 & Fig. 1 (106), Shrivastava discloses determining whether to enter a DRX sleep based upon the scheduling of the one or more occasions corresponding to the MCCH and SI change notifications and based on the common notification configuration message).
Regarding Claim 4, Shrivastava discloses the method of Claim 3.
Shrivastava further discloses [the method], further comprising:
responsive to entering the low power state, transitioning from the lower power state to an active state prior to the amount of time elapsing (¶84-85 & ¶108 & Fig. 1 (108), Shrivastava discloses determining, by the UE, to exit a DRX sleep, or enter a wakeup mode of a wakeup occasion, based upon the scheduling of the one or more occasions. Here, the UE exits the DRX sleep when the period of time corresponding to a wakeup occasion ends); and
receiving the control information via the MCCH (¶84-85 & ¶108 & Fig. 1 (108), Shrivastava discloses receiving, by the UE, MCCH and SI change notifications via the MCCH).
Regarding Claim 5, Shrivastava discloses the method of Claim 1.
Shrivastava further discloses wherein determining the time offset comprises determining the time offset based on the notification message (¶84 & ¶120 & Fig. 1 (106), Shrivastava discloses that the one or more occasions, in which the MCCH and SI change notification is received, indicate an amount of time from a reception timing of the common notification configuration message to a reception timing of the MCCH and SI change notification in the first occasion. Examiner correlates the determination of the one or more occasions to the determination of a time offset).
Regarding Claim 6, Shrivastava discloses the method of Claim 1.
Shrivastava further discloses [the method], further comprising:
receiving time offset configuration information from the network node (¶82 & ¶119 & Fig. 1 (102), Shrivastava discloses receiving, by a user equipment (UE) from a network, a common notification configuration message. Examiner correlates a common notification configuration message to a combination of "time offset configuration information" and "a notification message").
Regarding Claim 7, Shrivastava discloses the method of Claim 6.
Shrivastava further discloses wherein determining the time offset comprises
determining the time offset based on the time offset configuration information and the notification message (¶83 & ¶119 & Fig. 1 (104), Shrivastava discloses determining, by the UE, whether an evolved node B (eNB) will transmit control information in one or more occasions at future timings based on the common notification configuration message).
Regarding Claim 11, Claim 11 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 22.
Regarding Claim 12, Shrivastava discloses the method of Claim 11.
Shrivastava further discloses [the method], further comprising:
responsive to the amount of time having elapsed since transmitting the notification message, transmitting the control information via the MCCH (¶84-85 & ¶108 & Fig. 1 (108), Shrivastava discloses transmitting, by the BS, MCCH and SI change notifications via the MCCH in response to scheduling information indicating one or more wakeup occasions corresponding to MCCH indicated in the common notification configuration message).
Regarding Claim 13, Shrivastava discloses the method of Claim 11.
Shrivastava further discloses [the method], further comprising:
responsive to determining the time offset, generating the notification message based on the time offset (¶82 & ¶119 & Fig. 1 (102), Shrivastava discloses generating, by a user equipment (UE), a common notification configuration message for transmission of the common notification configuration message based on scheduling information indicating the timings for one or more wakeup occasions), the notification message indicating that the control information will be transmitted via the MCCH after the amount of time (¶84 & ¶120 & Fig. 1 (106), Shrivastava discloses that the one or more occasions, in which the MCCH and SI change notification is received, indicate an amount of time from a reception timing of the common notification configuration message to a reception timing of the MCCH and SI change notification in the first occasion. Examiner correlates the determination of the one or more occasions to the determination of a time offset).
Regarding Claim 14, Shrivastava discloses the method of Claim 11.
Shrivastava further discloses [the method], further comprising:
the notification message comprises a physical downlink control channel, PDCCH, based signal or a sequence-based signal (¶82 & ¶108 & Fig. 1 (108), Shrivastava discloses that the MCCH and SI change notifications comprise a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) signal).
Regarding Claim 16, Shrivastava discloses the method of Claim 11.
Shrivastava further discloses the time offset is a slot offset between the notification message and the control information (¶84 & ¶120 & Fig. 1 (106), Shrivastava discloses that the one or more occasions, in which the MCCH and SI change notification is received, indicate an amount of time from a reception timing of the common notification configuration message to a reception timing of the MCCH and SI change notification in the first occasion. Examiner correlates the determination of the one or more occasions to the determination of a time offset).
Regarding Claim 18, Shrivastava discloses a communication device in a communications network that includes a network node, the communication device comprising:
processing circuitry (¶123-124 & Fig. 4, Shrivastava discloses user equipment (UE) comprising a controller); and
memory coupled to the processing circuitry and having instructions stored therein that are executable by the processing circuitry to cause the communication device to perform operations (¶123-124 & ¶126 & Fig. 4, Shrivastava discloses the UE further comprising a memory device storing program codes for execution by controller to cause the UE to perform operations) comprising to:
receive a notification message from the network node (¶82 & ¶119 & Fig. 1 (102), Shrivastava discloses receiving, by a user equipment (UE) from a network, a common notification configuration message. Examiner correlates a common notification configuration message to "a notification message");
determine whether the network node will transmit control information (¶83 & ¶119 & Fig. 1 (104), Shrivastava discloses determining, by the UE, whether an evolved node B (eNB) will transmit control information in one or more occasions at future timings) that is associated with the communication device (¶83 & ¶119 & Fig. 1 (104), Shrivastava discloses that the control information, such as Multicast Control Channel (MCCH) or system information (SI) change notification, is associated with the UE. Examiner correlates the UE to "the communication device") via a multicast control channel, MCCH, based on the notification message (¶83 & ¶119 Fig. 1 (104), Shrivastava discloses that the MCCH or SI) change notification is transmitted via a Multicast Control Channel (MCCH) based on scheduling information in the common notification configuration message. Examiner correlates a Multicast Control Channel to "a multicast control channel, MCCH");
responsive to determining that the network node will transmit the control information, determine a time offset indicating an amount of time that will be between the notification message and the control information (¶84 & ¶120 & Fig. 1 (106), Shrivastava discloses determining, by the UE, future timings corresponding to one or more occasions in which the MCCH and SI change notification is received where the first occasion is located an amount of time from a reception timing of the common notification configuration message to a reception timing of the MCCH and SI change notification in the first occasion. Examiner correlates the determination of the one or more occasions to the determination of a time offset); and
responsive to determining the time offset, determine whether to enter a lower power state based on the time offset (¶84 & ¶120 & Fig. 1 (106), Shrivastava discloses determining whether to enter a DRX sleep based upon the scheduling of the one or more occasions corresponding to the MCCH and SI change notifications and based on the common notification configuration message),
wherein the notification indicates that the control information will be transmitted via the MCCH after the time offset indicating the amount of time (¶124, Shrivastava discloses that the common notification configuration message indicates that the SI change notification and/or MCCH change notifications will be transmitted via the MCCH after the MCCH and the SI change notification period. Here, the MCCH and the SI change notification period are a minimum amount of time between each occasion when the MCCH/SI change notifications are transmitted. Here, the SI change notification period is a duration of time that is elapsed prior to the transmission of the SI change notification. Examiner correlates the SI change notification period to “the time offset indicating the amount of time”).
Regarding Claim 22, Shrivastava discloses a network node in a communications network, the network node comprising:
processing circuitry (¶125 & Fig. 5, Shrivastava discloses an evolved node B (eNB), or base station (BS), comprising a controller); and
memory coupled to the processing circuitry and having instructions stored therein that are executable by the processing circuitry to cause the network node to perform operations (¶125 & ¶126 & Fig. 5, Shrivastava discloses the BS further comprising a memory device storing program codes for execution by controller to cause the UE to perform operations) comprising to:
determine a time offset indicating an amount of time (¶84 & ¶120 & Fig. 1 (106), Shrivastava discloses determining, by the base station (BS), future timings, or a transmission schedule, corresponding to one or more wakeup occasions) that will be between a notification message transmitted to the communication device and control information transmitted via a multicast control channel, MCCH (¶84 & ¶120 & Fig. 1 (106), Shrivastava discloses that the one or more occasions, in which the MCCH and SI change notification is received, indicate an amount of time from a reception timing of the common notification configuration message to a reception timing of the MCCH and SI change notification in the first occasion. Examiner correlates the determination of the one or more occasions to the determination of a time offset); and
transmit the notification message to the communication device (¶82 & ¶119 & Fig. 1 (102), Shrivastava discloses transmitting, by a base station (BS) to user equipment (UE) from a network, a common notification configuration message. Examiner correlates a common notification configuration message to "a notification message") indicating that the control information will be transmitted via the MCCH (¶83 & ¶119 & Fig. 1 (104), Shrivastava discloses determining, by the UE, whether an evolved node B (eNB) will transmit control information in one or more occasions at future timings),
wherein the notification indicates that the control information will be transmitted via the MCCH after the time offset indicating the amount of time (¶124, Shrivastava discloses that the common notification configuration message indicates that the SI change notification and/or MCCH change notifications will be transmitted via the MCCH after the MCCH and the SI change notification period. Here, the SI change notification period is a duration of time that is elapsed prior to the transmission of the SI change notification. Examiner correlates the SI change notification period to “the time offset indicating the amount of time”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrivastava in view of Wang et al. (US 20220322291 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Wang”).
Regarding Claim 2, Shrivastava discloses the method of Claim 1.
However, Shrivastava does not disclose [the method] further comprising: transitioning from the low power state to an active state prior to receiving the notification message.
Wang, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches [the method] further comprising:
transitioning from the low power state to an active state prior to receiving the notification message (¶456, Wang discloses transitioning from an idle mode to an active/connected mode prior to receiving a multicast/broadcast multimedia service (MBMS) notification message).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shrivastava by transitioning from the low power state to an active state prior to receiving the notification message as taught by Wang because MBMS data transmission is improved by reducing MBMS data transmission delay (Wang, ¶442).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrivastava in view of Shimoda et al. (US 20220046564 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Shimoda”).
Regarding Claim 8, Shrivastava discloses the method of Claim 6.
However, Shrivastava does not disclose receiving the time offset configuration information comprises receiving a preconfigured time offset, and wherein determining the time offset comprises determining the time offset to be the preconfigured time offset.
Shimoda, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches receiving the time offset configuration information comprises
receiving a preconfigured time offset (¶413-414, Shimoda discloses receiving a notification comprising an offset), and
wherein determining the time offset comprises determining the time offset to be the preconfigured time offset (¶413-414, Shimoda discloses that the offset may be a predefined offset).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shrivastava by requiring the time offset configuration information comprises receiving a preconfigured time offset, and wherein determining the time offset comprises determining the time offset to be the preconfigured time offset as taught by Shimoda because at least one of the uplink communication, the downlink communication, and the sidelink communication is improved by reducing variations in jitter (Shimoda, ¶83-85).
Claims 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrivastava in view of Wei et al. (US 20230209485 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Wei”).
Regarding Claim 9, Shrivastava discloses the method of Claim 6.
However, Shrivastava does not disclose wherein receiving the time offset configuration information comprises receiving a system information block, SIB, from the network node including the time offset configuration information.
Wei, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein receiving the time offset configuration information comprises receiving a system information block, SIB, from the network node including the time offset configuration information (¶44 & Fig. 2, Wei discloses receiving a system information block (SIB) from a base station where the SIB includes information indicating a timing at which each On-Duration occurs and a timing at which the scheduling period occurs).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shrivastava by receiving the time offset configuration information comprises receiving a system information block, SIB, from the network node including the time offset configuration information as taught by Wei because enabling synchronization signal block (SSB) selection improves power savings at the UE and efficient communications (Wei, ¶120).
Regarding Claim 15, Shrivastava discloses the method of Claim 11.
However, Shrivastava does not disclose [the method] further comprising: transmitting a system information block, SIB, to the communication device including time offset configuration information that indicates how to determine the time offset.
Wei, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches [the method] further comprising:
transmitting a system information block, SIB, to the communication device including time offset configuration information that indicates how to determine the time offset (¶44 & Fig. 2, Wei discloses receiving a system information block (SIB) from a base station where the SIB includes information indicating a timing at which each On-Duration occurs and a timing at which the scheduling period occurs).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shrivastava by transmitting a system information block, SIB, to the communication device including time offset configuration information that indicates how to determine the time offset as taught by Wei because enabling synchronization signal block (SSB) selection improves power savings at the UE and efficient communications (Wei, ¶120).
Claims 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrivastava in view of Yavuz et al. (US 20200008130 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Yavuz”).
Regarding Claim 10, Shrivastava discloses the method of Claim 1.
However, Shrivastava does not disclose wherein the communications network is a 5th generation, 5G, network, and wherein the network node is a radio access network, RAN, node.
Yavuz, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the communications network is a 5th generation, 5G, network (¶6, Yavuz discloses a wireless communication network is a fifth generation (5G) network), and
wherein the network node is a radio access network, RAN, node (¶2, Yavuz discloses each service area or cell area being served by a radio network node such as a radio access node e.g., a Wi-Fi access point or a radio base station (RBS)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shrivastava by requiring that the communications network is a 5th generation, 5G, network, and the network node is a radio access network, RAN, node as taught by Wei because enabling synchronization signal block (SSB) selection improves power savings at the UE and efficient communications (Wei, ¶120).
Regarding Claim 17, Shrivastava discloses the method of Claim 11.
However, Shrivastava does not disclose wherein the communications network is a 5th generation, 5G, network, and wherein the network node is a radio access network, RAN, node.
Yavuz, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the communications network is a 5th generation, 5G, network (¶6, Yavuz discloses a wireless communication network is a fifth generation (5G) network), and
wherein the network node is a radio access network, RAN, node (¶2, Yavuz discloses each service area or cell area being served by a radio network node such as a radio access node e.g., a Wi-Fi access point or a radio base station (RBS)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shrivastava by requiring that the communications network is a 5th generation, 5G, network, and the network node is a radio access network, RAN, node as taught by Wei because enabling synchronization signal block (SSB) selection improves power savings at the UE and efficient communications (Wei, ¶120).
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC NOWLIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2474