DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Applicant's arguments and amendments filed on 02 June 2026 in which claims 1-25 are currently pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 3, it is unclear whether the claimed limitation “a split bearer threshold” in line 4 is to be the same as or different from the claimed limitation “the split bearer threshold” in lines 2-3.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teyeb et al. (PG Pub US 2024/0196458 A1) in view of Xu et al. (PG Pub US 2022/0007443 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 18, Teyeb discloses a method performed in a communication device for handling a resume procedure from a power saving mode of operation to a connected mode of operation, wherein the communication device is configured with multi-radio dual connectivity (MR-DC) with a first cell group and a second cell group in a wireless communication network (“A WTRU may be configured to resume with a given SCG activation level (e.g., SCG activation state). A WTRU configured for MR-DC with an MCG and an SCG, configured with an SCG that may be deactivated, and currently operating in the RRC INACTIVE state (e.g., second activity level)” [0143]) and a communication device (fig. 1A).
initiating a resume procedure when there is an uplink (UL) data available at the communication device while it is in the power saving mode of operation (“for UL triggered resume, data-characteristic condition(s) such as if the pending UL data is above a certain threshold” [0123], “If the WTRU initiates the resume procedure from an RRC INACTIVE state (e.g., the second activity level)” [0125]);
setting an UL data indication indicating whether the UL data is available for the first cell group or the second cell group (“The WTRU may indicate the selected SCG activation level (e.g., SCG state) to the network, e.g., in associated with the resume procedure” [0076], “The WTRU may indicate that it has determined to resume with a deactivated SCG by including an indicator in the RRC Resume Request message (e.g., a Boolean flag with a value of 0). The WTRU may indicate that it has determined to resume with an activated SCG by including an indicator in the RRC Resume Request message (e.g., a Boolean flag with a value of 1)” [0126]); and
transmitting the UL data indication to a network node (“The WTRU may indicate, e.g., to a base station, the selected SCG activation level. The WTRU may indicate, to the base station, at least one of: a cause for the selection of the SCG activation level; or a measurement associated with the selection of the SCG activation level” [0072]).
However, Teyeb does not explicitly disclose whether the UL data is available for the first cell group or the second cell group; the UL data comprises data for a split bearer; setting the UL data indication comprises: determining a total amount of the data for the split bearer; determining, based on the total amount of the data for the split bearer, whether a split bearer threshold condition is satisfied; if the split bearer threshold condition is satisfied, setting the UL data indication indicating that the UL data is available for the second cell group (SCG), otherwise setting the UL data indication indicating that the UL data is available for the first cell group (FCG).
Nevertheless, Xu discloses “the information may indicate one or more preferences (e.g., suggestions) of the UE related to bearer configuration (e.g., bearer type, offloading ratio (e.g., a split ratio) and/or threshold of a split bearer, etc.)” [0103], “the UE may transmit a report on the RSRP, e.g., of the MCG and/or SCG. Further, the UE may transmit one or more buffer status report (BSR), e.g., indicating the amount of UL data in a buffer of the UE for transmission to the BS” [0106], “for a split bearer configuration, UL transmissions up to a (e.g., configurable) threshold amount of data may be transmitted via only the primary RLC entity (e.g., via the MCG, although the SCG may also serve as the primary RLC entity, if desired). In some embodiments, for UL transmission equal to or greater than the threshold amount, transmission may occur via both primary RLC entity and secondary RLC entity .. The split bearer configuration may include both the threshold for initiating splitting (e.g., ul-DataSplitThresold) and the portion of data to be transmitted by each cell group after the threshold is reached. Such a threshold may be evaluated relative to the amount of data in the UE's UL buffer, e.g., for the split bearer. In other words, in some embodiments, if the amount of data in the buffer is below the threshold, the MCG may be used for transmission of all data in the buffer, but if the amount of data in the buffer reaches the threshold, the data may be split with a portion being transmitted on the MCG and a second portion being transmitted on the SCG” [0087].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine a total amount of the data for the split bearer; determining, based on the total amount of the data for the split bearer, whether a split bearer threshold condition is satisfied; if the split bearer threshold condition is satisfied, setting the UL data indication indicating that the UL data is available for the second cell group (SCG), otherwise setting the UL data indication indicating that the UL data is available for the first cell group (FCG) because “it may be desirable for a UE to negotiate bearer type and bearer type configuration (dl-DataSplitThresold) based on factors observed from UE side” [0092].
Regarding claim 2, Teyeb, Xu discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Teyeb discloses the UL data indication indicates whether the resume is initiated due to the uplink data that is available only for the first cell group, or regardless of uplink data available to the first cell group, the uplink data is available for the second cell group (“requesting the SCG to be deactivated/activated (e.g., due to radio conditions, due to bearer type, data volume, battery level, overheating, etc.)” [0132], “the resume is due to arrival of UL data that belongs to an MCG bearer (e.g., MN terminated MCG bearer, SN terminated MCG bearer); or the resume is due to arrival of UL data that belongs to a split bearer with MCG as the primary path” [0122]).
Regarding claim 3, Teyeb, Xu discloses everything claimed as applied above. Further, Xu discloses determining, based on the total amount of the data for the split bearer, whether the split bearer threshold condition is satisfied comprises comparing the total amount of the data for the split bearer to a split bearer threshold (“if the amount of data in the buffer is below the threshold, the MCG may be used for transmission of all data in the buffer, but if the amount of data in the buffer reaches the threshold, the data may be split with a portion being transmitted on the MCG and a second portion being transmitted on the SCG” [0087]).
Regarding claim 4, Teyeb, Xu discloses everything claimed as applied above. Further, Xu discloses the split bearer threshold condition is satisfied if the total amount of the data for the split bearer exceeds the split bearer threshold (“if the amount of data in the buffer reaches the threshold, the data may be split with a portion being transmitted on the MCG and a second portion being transmitted on the SCG” [0087]).
Regarding claim 5, Teyeb, Xu discloses everything claimed as applied above. Further, Xu discloses setting the UL data indication further comprises checking whether a second cell group bearer has data prior to determining whether or not the split bearer threshold condition is satisfied, and the step of determining whether the split bearer threshold condition is satisfied is performed as a result of determining that the second cell group bearer does not have data (“if the amount of data in the buffer is below the threshold, the MCG may be used for transmission of all data in the buffer, but if the amount of data in the buffer reaches the threshold, the data may be split with a portion being transmitted on the MCG and a second portion being transmitted on the SCG” [0087]).
Regarding claim 6, Teyeb, Xu discloses everything claimed as applied above. Further, Xu discloses checking whether the second cell group bearer has data comprises: checking whether an amount of data for the second cell group bearer exceeds a second cell group bearer data threshold; and determining that the second cell group bearer does not have data as a result of determining that the amount of data for the second cell group bearer is less than the second cell group bearer data threshold (“if the amount of data in the buffer is below the threshold, the MCG may be used for transmission of all data in the buffer, but if the amount of data in the buffer reaches the threshold, the data may be split with a portion being transmitted on the MCG and a second portion being transmitted on the SCG” [0087]).
Regarding claim 9, Teyeb, Xu discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Teyeb discloses the UL data indication is included in a resume request message and/or multiplexed with a resume request message to be transmitted to the network node (“an indicator in the RRC Resume Request message” [0126]).
Regarding claim 10, Teyeb, Xu discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Teyeb discloses the UL data indication is transmitted or indicated as any one of the following: a) a resume cause comprised in a resume request message; b) a preamble associated to a preamble group and/or a specific time-frequency resource configured by the network node for the communication device to use for UL data indication; c) data mapped to a second cell group bearer to be transmitted by the second cell group; d) a selection of preamble(s) and/or specific time-frequency resource(s) configured by the network node for the communication device to use for different UL data indications; e) a resume complete message; f) an information element in a resume complete message; g) a selection of Physical Random Access Channel, PRACH, resources configured by the network node for the communication device to use for UL data indication (“an indicator in the RRC Resume Request message” [0126]).
Regarding claims 11, 25, Teyeb discloses a method performed in a communication device for handling a resume procedure from a power saving mode of operation to a connected mode of operation, wherein the communication device is configured with multi-radio dual connectivity (MR-DC) with a first cell group and a second cell group in a wireless communication network (“A WTRU may be configured to resume with a given SCG activation level (e.g., SCG activation state). A WTRU configured for MR-DC with an MCG and an SCG, configured with an SCG that may be deactivated, and currently operating in the RRC INACTIVE state (e.g., second activity level)” [0143]) and a network node (fig. 1A).
as a result of determining that the total amount of the data for the split bearer satisfies the split bearer threshold condition, initiating measurements for the second cell group (“for UL triggered resume, data-characteristic condition(s) such as if the pending UL data is above a certain threshold” [0123], “The WTRU (e.g., in addition to the indication) may include the cause for indicating (e.g., selecting and/or indicating the preference for) the deactivated or the activated SCG (e.g., measurement results, BSR, battery level, overheating level, etc.)” [0141], “the WTRU may include the measurement results towards the MN or/and SN” [0133]).
However, Teyeb does not explicitly disclose determining a total amount of data for a split bearer, determining that the total amount of data for the split bearer satisfies a split bearer threshold condition, as a result of determining that the total amount of the data for the split bearer satisfies the split bearer threshold condition.
Nevertheless, Xu discloses “for a split bearer configuration, UL transmissions up to a (e.g., configurable) threshold amount of data may be transmitted via only the primary RLC entity (e.g., via the MCG, although the SCG may also serve as the primary RLC entity, if desired). In some embodiments, for UL transmission equal to or greater than the threshold amount, transmission may occur via both primary RLC entity and secondary RLC entity .. The split bearer configuration may include both the threshold for initiating splitting (e.g., ul-DataSplitThresold) and the portion of data to be transmitted by each cell group after the threshold is reached. Such a threshold may be evaluated relative to the amount of data in the UE's UL buffer, e.g., for the split bearer. In other words, in some embodiments, if the amount of data in the buffer is below the threshold, the MCG may be used for transmission of all data in the buffer, but if the amount of data in the buffer reaches the threshold, the data may be split with a portion being transmitted on the MCG and a second portion being transmitted on the SCG” [0087].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine a total amount of data for a split bearer, determine that the total amount of data for the split bearer satisfies a split bearer threshold condition, as a result of determining that the total amount of the data for the split bearer satisfies the split bearer threshold condition because “it may be desirable for a UE to negotiate bearer type and bearer type configuration (dl-DataSplitThresold) based on factors observed from UE side” [0092].
Regarding claim 12, Teyeb, Xu discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Teyeb discloses transmitting an indication to the network node for indicating whether the communication device is in a coverage of the second cell group as part of or following the resume procedure from the power saving mode of operation to the connected mode of operation (“The WTRU may indicate, e.g., to a base station, the selected SCG activation level. The WTRU may indicate, to the base station, at least one of: a cause for the selection of the SCG activation level; or a measurement associated with the selection of the SCG activation level” [0072], “A WTRU may be configured to resume from an INACTIVE activity level (e.g., RRC Inactive/RRC INACTIVE state, which may be used as examples herein) to a CONNECTED activity level” [0073]).
Regarding claim 13, Teyeb, Xu discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Teyeb discloses determining whether the communication device is in the coverage of the second cell group based on whether any one or more measured values on Reference Signal Received Power, Reference Signal Received Quality, Signal to Interference plus Noise Ratio, for the second cell group is or are above one or more threshold value(s) (“The condition to resume may be SCG deactivated if: the signal level/quality (e.g., RSRP/RSRQ/RNSI) towards the SN is below a certain threshold; the signal level/quality (e.g., RSRP/RSRQ/RSNI) towards the MN is above a certain threshold; or the signal level/quality (e.g., RSRP/RSRQ/RSNI) towards the MN is stronger than the level/quality towards the SN by a certain threshold. A condition to resume with SCG activated may be if: the signal level/quality (e.g., RSRP/RSRQ/RNSI) towards the SN is above a certain threshold; the signal level/quality (e.g., RSRP/RSRQ/RSNI) towards the MN is below a certain threshold; the signal level/quality (e.g., RSRP/RSRQ/RSNI) towards the MN is lower than the level/quality towards the SN by a certain threshold” [0121]).
Regarding claim 14, Teyeb, Xu discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Teyeb discloses transmitting measurement results for the second cell group to the network node in or following the resume procedure from the power saving mode of operation to the connected mode of operation (“The WTRU may indicate, e.g., to a base station, the selected SCG activation level. The WTRU may indicate, to the base station, at least one of: a cause for the selection of the SCG activation level; or a measurement associated with the selection of the SCG activation level” [0072]).
Regarding claim 15, Teyeb, Xu discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Teyeb discloses the indication of whether the communication device is in a coverage of the second cell group and/or the measurement results for the second cell group is/are transmitted to the network node together with an UL data indication (“The WTRU may indicate, e.g., to a base station, the selected SCG activation level. The WTRU may indicate, to the base station, at least one of: a cause for the selection of the SCG activation level; or a measurement associated with the selection of the SCG activation level” [0072], “The WTRU may (e.g., additionally) include the cause for requesting (e.g., selecting) the SCG activation level (e.g., the SCG activation state) to be deactivated/activated (e.g., due to radio conditions, due to bearer type, data volume, battery level, overheating, etc.)” [0128]).
Regarding claim 16, Teyeb, Xu discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Teyeb discloses the indication of whether the communication device is in a coverage of the second cell group and/or the measurement results for the second cell group is/are transmitted within or multiplexed with a resume request message as one or more separate field(s) or using specific resume cause values (“The WTRU may indicate that it has determined to resume with a deactivated SCG by including an indicator in the RRC Resume Request message (e.g., a Boolean flag with a value of 0). The WTRU may indicate that it has determined to resume with an activated SCG by including an indicator in the RRC Resume Request message (e.g., a Boolean flag with a value of 1)” [0126]).
Regarding claim 17, Teyeb, Xu discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Teyeb discloses the indication of whether the communication device is in a coverage of the second cell group and/or the measurement results for the second cell group is/are transmitted within a resume complete message or in an assistance information message that is sent as part of, or after the resume procedure (“The WTRU may indicate that it has determined to resume with a deactivated SCG by including an indicator in the RRC Resume Complete message (e.g., a Boolean flag with a value of 0). The WTRU may indicate that it has determined to resume with an activated SCG by including an indicator in the RRC Resume Complete message (e.g., a Boolean flag with a value of 1)” [0130]).
Regarding claims 19, 24, Teyeb discloses a method performed in a network node for handling a resume procedure for a communication device from a power saving mode of operation to a connected mode of operation in a wireless communication network, wherein the communication device is configured with multi-radio dual connectivity (MR-DC), with a first cell group and a second cell group (“A WTRU may be configured to resume with a given SCG activation level (e.g., SCG activation state). A WTRU configured for MR-DC with an MCG and an SCG, configured with an SCG that may be deactivated, and currently operating in the RRC INACTIVE state (e.g., second activity level)” [0143]) and a network node (fig. 1A).
the network node receiving an indication from the communication device during a resume procedure initiated by the communication device (“The WTRU may indicate, e.g., to a base station, the selected SCG activation level. The WTRU may indicate, to the base station, at least one of: a cause for the selection of the SCG activation level; or a measurement associated with the selection of the SCG activation level” [0072], “If the WTRU initiates the resume procedure from an RRC INACTIVE state (e.g., the second activity level)” [0125]),
the network node determining a second cell group (SCG) configuration for the communication device based on the indication received from the communication device, wherein i) the indication from the communication device indicates whether the UL data is available for the first cell group or the second cell group, or ii) the indication from the communication device indicates whether the communication device is in a coverage of the second cell group (“The configuration information may indicate one or more conditions associated with determining (e.g., selecting) which SCG activation level (e.g., the SCG activation state) to resume in. The WTRU may receive an indication from the network indicating which SCG activation level (e.g., the SCG activation state), for example activated or deactivated, should be used if the WTRU resumes” [0117], “the resume is due to arrival of UL data that belongs to an MCG bearer (e.g., MN terminated MCG bearer, SN terminated MCG bearer); or the resume is due to arrival of UL data that belongs to a split bearer with MCG as the primary path” [0122], “the signal level/quality (e.g., RSRP/RSRQ/RNSI) towards the SN is below a certain threshold; the signal level/quality (e.g., RSRP/RSRQ/RSNI) towards the MN is above a certain threshold; or the signal level/quality (e.g., RSRP/RSRQ/RSNI) towards the MN is stronger than the level/quality towards the SN by a certain threshold” [0121]); and
the network node configuring the communication device according to the determined second cell group configuration (‘If the WTRU resumes (e.g., may be transitioned to the RRC CONNECTED state/first activity level), the network may configure the WTRU to resume with or without the SCG, e.g., in the RRCResume message” [0093], “A WTRU may be configured to receive configuration information (e.g., explicit configuration information) from the network to resume the SCG in a given SCG activation level” [0117]).
However, Teyeb does not explicitly disclose whether the UL data is available for the first cell group bearer or the second cell group bearer.
Nevertheless, Xu discloses “the information may indicate one or more preferences (e.g., suggestions) of the UE related to bearer configuration (e.g., bearer type, offloading ratio (e.g., a split ratio) and/or threshold of a split bearer, etc.)” [0103], “the UE may transmit a report on the RSRP, e.g., of the MCG and/or SCG. Further, the UE may transmit one or more buffer status report (BSR), e.g., indicating the amount of UL data in a buffer of the UE for transmission to the BS” [0106].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to disclose whether the UL data is available for the first cell group bearer or the second cell group bearer because “it may be desirable for a UE to negotiate bearer type and bearer type configuration (dl-DataSplitThresold) based on factors observed from UE side” [0092].
Regarding claim 20, Teyeb, Xu discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Teyeb discloses configuring the communication device is performed by transmitting the determined second cell group configuration in a resume message or in a separate reconfiguration message to the communication device (“the network may configure the WTRU to resume with or without the SCG, e.g., in the RRCResume message” [0093]).
Regarding claim 21, Teyeb, Xu discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Teyeb discloses determining a second cell group configuration for the communication device based on the received UL data indication comprises one or more of the following actions: a) determining whether a suspended second cell group is to be resumed, and if it is determined that the suspended second cell group is to be resumed, setting a mode of operation to the second cell group with deactivated or activated; b) determining whether a second cell group is to be released in case the communication device is attempting to resume is configured with a second cell group; c) determining whether a second cell group is to be added in case the communication device is attempting to resume is not configured with a second cell group, and, if it is determined that a second cell group is to be added, setting a mode of operation to the second cell group with deactivated or activated (“The configuration information may indicate one or more conditions associated with determining (e.g., selecting) which SCG activation level (e.g., the SCG activation state) to resume in. The WTRU may receive an indication from the network indicating which SCG activation level (e.g., the SCG activation state), for example activated or deactivated, should be used if the WTRU resumes. The SCG activation level (e.g., the SCG activation state) may include an activated SCG (e.g., the SCG in an activated state) or a deactivated SCG (e.g., the SCG in a deactivated state)” [0117]).
Regarding claim 22, Teyeb, Xu discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Teyeb discloses configuring, by system information or a dedicated signaling, any one or a combination of the following: a) a preamble or a group of preamble(s), b) one or a set of specific time-frequency resource(s), c) a data volume threshold, d) a set of Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) resources, for the communication device to use for different UL data indications (“The WTRU may receive configuration information (e.g., using RRC Release, RRC Reconfiguration message) with a one or more preambles to use for RA when resuming” [0119]).
Regarding claim 23, Teyeb, Xu discloses everything claimed as applied above. receiving an uplink (UL) data indication or a second cell group coverage indication comprises any one of: a) receiving an UL data indication or second cell group coverage indication in a resume request message sent by the communication device, wherein the UL data indication is a parameter comprised in the resume request message; b) receiving an UL data indication as a resume cause, wherein a new resume cause is set to indicate that the resume procedure has been triggered due to a certain amount of data mapped to a second cell group bearer or split bearer being above a data volume threshold, or a new resume cause is set to indicate that the communication device has an amount of UL data in buffer above a data volume threshold regardless of that being associated to second cell group bearers, or when the UL data is for a second cell group bearer, an existing resume cause is set to a value “mo-data” or to another existing resume cause; c) receiving an UL data indication in an assistance information message or in an assistance information message multiplexed with a resume request message, or in a resume complete message, or in an information element in a resume complete message; e) receiving an UL data indication in a preamble or a group of preamble(s), or in one or a set of specific time-frequency resource(s) or Physical Random Access Channel, PRACH, resource(s), wherein the preambles, the specific time-frequency resource(s) or PRACH resources are configured to indicate different UL data indications (“The WTRU may indicate that it has determined to resume with a deactivated SCG by including an indicator in the RRC Resume Request message (e.g., a Boolean flag with a value of 0). The WTRU may indicate that it has determined to resume with an activated SCG by including an indicator in the RRC Resume Request message (e.g., a Boolean flag with a value of 1)” [0126]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Previous minor informality objection to claim 19 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
Previous 35 USC 112(b) rejection to claims 18, 24, 25 are withdrawn in view of Applicant's amendment.
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHRISTINE DUONG FUQUA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2462
/CHRISTINE T DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462 08/11/2026