DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III, claims 15-21 in the reply filed on October 13, 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 22-24 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 18 and 19 recite the feed comprises the microbial-derived material at 0.0001-1 part and 0.001-0.1 part respectively. It is unclear as to what the term part refers to. For example, it is unclear as to if the term means by weight of the total parts, or is relative to some other additive in the feed, such as base feed, or abscisic acid such that the total parts do not equal 100. For the purpose of prior art comparison, the term will be considered by parts of the total food and equivalent to the percentage by total weight.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Note: “Livestock” is defined in the instant specification paragraph 3 as animals that are acclimatized and bred for human use of their products (milk, meat, eggs, hair, skin, fur, labor, etc.) and are bred in human captivity.
Claims 15, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Che et al (CN 105661028A machine translation), as evidenced by Romero et al (“A sweet orange mutant impaired in carotenoid biosynthesis and reduced ABA levels results in altered molecular responses along peel ripening” Scientific Reports 2019 pages 1-16).
Regarding claim 15, Che et al (Che) teaches of a food supplement for animal feed comprising: bacillus licheniformis powder which is a microbial derived material, and orange peel (abstract and paragraphs 9 and 24) which contains abscisic acid as evidenced by Romero et al which shows the peel of citrus fruits contains abscisic acid (page 1 last paragraph and page 2 first paragraph).
Regarding the feed as for livestock as recited in claim 15, it is noted that the claimed limitation is intended use and only requires the ability of the product to be used in the claimed manner. Additionally, the claimed limitation is recited in the preamble, and the claim does not appear to depend on the limitation for completeness. Regardless, as Che teaches that the food is for animals, including pigs (abstract and paragraphs 2, 9, and 24), which were known livestock, the feed of Che encompasses a feed for livestock as instantly claimed.
Regarding the microbial derived material as 0.0001-1 part as recited in claim 18, or 0.001-0.1 part as recited in claim 19, as discussed above the claimed limitations are unclear. Regardless, Che teaches that the feed additive contains about 17% bacillus licheniformis powder, i.e. microbial derived material at 4 out of 23.5 parts (paragraph 24), wherein the feed is taught to contain about 0.18-0.24% of the additive (paragraph 17). Thus, the feed would comprise about 0.03 parts microbial derived material (0.18% additive in feed with about 17% microbial derived material) to about 0.04 parts microbial derived material (0.24% additive in feed with about 17% microbial derived material) which encompasses the claimed ranges.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al (CN 102524534A machine translation) in view of Herrero et al (EP 2616058).
Min et al (Min) teaches a microbial feed additive, i.e. microbial derived material, for pigs with several benefits including increasing weight gain, improving feed conversion, improving immunity, and providing disease resistance (abstract, paragraphs 74-76, and claims 1, 4, and 5). Min teaches that the microbial additive is included in the feed for the pig, i.e. livestock, at 0.01% (paragraph 64), which is considered to encompass or at least make obvious a feed for livestock with the ranges of microbial derived material recited in claims 18 and 19.
Min is silent to abscisic acid and/or salt thereof in the feed as recited in claim 15, preferably from 0.01-100ppm as recited in claim 16, or from 0.1-10ppm as recited in claim 17, wherein the ratio of abscisic acid and/or salt thereof to microbial derived material is about 1: 0.01-1,000,000 as recited in claim 20, or about 1:1-10,000 as recited in claim 21.
Herrero et al (Herrero) teaches feed for livestock, including pigs, which includes an effective amount of abscisic acid for weight gain (paragraphs 4, 6-8, 15, 18, and 21). Herrero teaches an effective amount of abscisic acid in the feed composition is about 1-2000g/MT (about 1-2000ppm), preferably 5-500g/MT (5-500ppm), with 1 and 5ppm exemplified (paragraphs 26, 31, and claims 5 and 6).
Regarding abscisic acid and/or salt thereof in the feed as recited in claim 15, preferably from 0.01-100ppm as recited in claim 16, or from 0.1-10ppm as recited in claim 17, wherein the ratio of abscisic acid and/or salt thereof to microbial derived material is about 1: 0.01-1,000,000 as recited in claim 20, or about 1:1-10,000 as recited in claim 21, it would have been obvious for the feed of Min to include about 1-2000ppm, preferably 5-500ppm abscisic acid for weight gain as taught by Herrero. As Min teaches the feed comprises 0.01% microbial derived material, this would result in a ratio of abscisic acid to microbial derived material of about 1: 0.05 (0.01:0.2) to 1: 100 (0.01:0.0001).
Regarding the claimed ranges, the prior art discloses overlapping ranges. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portions of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art references, particularly in view of the fact that; "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages" In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003). Also In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549,533 (CCPA 1974) and MPEP 2144.05.
Double Patenting
Claims 15-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 15-17 of copending Application No. 18277407 (‘407) or claims 13-15 of copending Application No. 18277365 (‘365) or claim 2 of copending Application No. 18267519 (‘519) as amended November 13, 2025 or claims 15-17 of copending Application No. 18277408 (‘408) or claim 6 of copending Application No. 18037993 (‘993), each respectively in view of Min et al (CN 102524534A machine translation).
Each of the copending applications claims a feed for livestock comprising abscisic acid from 0.01-100ppm and/or 0.1-10ppm (‘407 claims 16 and 17; ‘365 claims 14 and 15; ‘519 claim 2; ‘408 claims 16 and 17; ‘993 claim 6), which encompasses the claimed ranges recited in instant claims 16-17.
Each of the copending applications is silent to the livestock feed as comprising microbial derived material as recited in claim 15, wherein the microbial material is from 0.0001-1 part as recited in claim 18 or 0.001-0.1 part as recited in claim 19, and the ratio of abscisic acid and/or salt thereof to microbial derived material is about 1: 0.01-1,000,000 as recited in claim 20 or about 1:1-10,000 as recited in claim 21.
Min et al (Min) teaches a microbial feed additive, i.e. microbial derived material, for pigs with several benefits including increasing weight gain, improving feed conversion, improving immunity, and providing disease resistance (abstract, paragraphs 74-76, and claims 1, 4, and 5). Min teaches that the microbial additive is included in the feed at 0.01% (paragraph 64), which is considered to encompass or at least make obvious the ranges recited in claims 18 and 19.
It would have been obvious for the livestock feed claimed by each of the copending applications to contain 0.01% microbial derived material in order to provide for the benefits taught by Min, including increasing weight gain, improving feed conversion, improving immunity, and providing disease resistance. Thus, the product of each respective application would contain a ratio of abscisic acid and/or salt thereof to microbial derived material of 1:1 (0.01:0.01) to 1:10,000 (0.000001:0.01) or 1: 10 (0.001: 0.01) to 1:1,000 (0.00001:0.01) respectively.
These are provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejections.
Conclusion
KELLY BEKKER
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1792
/KELLY J BEKKER/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1792