DETAILED ACTION
Priority
It is noted that the present application is a 371 National Phase Patent Application of PCT/IB2022/053022, for which the 371(c) filing date is 03/31/2022. Applicant claims the benefit of US Provisional Application No. 63/170,164, filed 04/02/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/08/2026 has been considered by examiner and made of record in the application file.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page, filed 04/28/2026, with respect to claims 1, and 14-15 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1, and 14-15 has been withdrawn. However, upon further review Claims 1, and 14-15 are rejected in further view of Tamura (US-20230276351-A1). The finality has been withdrawn, and as a result, this office action is non-final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5, 14-15, and 44 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 8, recites “receiving from subscription data management of the wireless device subscription data” is indefinite because broadest reasonable interpretation the “subscription data management” is received from the wireless device, however, the subscription data is received from the unified data management function (UDM) as disclosed in the specification. Examiner suggest to add the unified data management function (UDM) to address the indefiniteness. Examiner further suggest to add commas as shown “receiving, from subscription data management of the wireless device, subscription data…” and include the UDM.
Claim 5, lines 2-5, recite “transmitting a mobility registration update response to the wireless device indicating whether the one of the plurality of lists of network slices associated with the list identifier is registered for the wireless device” renders the claim indefinite because the claim is omitting essential steps, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps. See MPEP § 2172.01. As recited in applicant published specification paragraph 38, “The method may further include receiving a mobility registration update request to update a mobility registration for the wireless device. The mobility registration update request includes a list identifier associated with one of the plurality of lists of network slices that can be registered simultaneously that is requested to be registered for the wireless device. The method further includes transmitting a mobility registration update response to the wireless device indicating whether the one of the plurality of lists of network slices associated with the list identifier is registered for the wireless device.” Thus, having a response a core network transmits a response in claim 1, last limitation, and adding claim 5 of transmitting another response makes the relationship unclear. For examination purpose the previously claim 5 submitted on 01/27/2026 will be used.
Claim 44 recites the limitation "the mobility registration update response" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggest to change to “the response” as claim 14 line 15 recites “transmitting a response”.
Regarding Claim 14, which is similar in scope to claim 1, thus rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 15, which is similar in scope to claim 1, thus rejected under the same rationale.
Dependent claim(s) 2-3, 5-6, 8-9, 11, 13, 17, and 41-47 are all further rejected under 112(b) as they do not remedy the vague and indefiniteness in the parent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8-9, 11, 13-15, 17, 41-43, and 45-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SAWG2'140E (SA WG2 Meeting #140E S2-2005804) (IDS, 09/30/2023, 8 pages) in view of LUO (US-20220394608-A1) in further view of Tamura (US-20230276351-A1).
Regarding Claim 1, SAWG2'140E discloses a method of operating a core network function of a core network (Fig.6.X.3.1-1), comprising:
receiving a (Fig.6.X.3.1-1:1) from a wireless device (Fig.6.X.3.1-1, UE),
the mobility registration update request (i) identifying one or more network slices that are requested to be registered by the wireless device (page 4, paragraph 2 after "note", "UE shall first initiate a mobility or periodic registration procedure with the network with the Requested NSSAI to include S-NSSAI-D." and page 5 paragraph 1, Fig.6.X.3.1-1:1, "UE initiates initial Registration Request, and includes the support for the capability, "Support for simultaneous slice usage constraints"." and page 5, paragraph 8, "UE includes S-NSSAI-A, S-NSSAI-B, S-NSSAI-C in the Requested NSSAI list in Registration Request, as these three slices are allowed to be registered simultaneously as per the received slice compatibility information." (i.e., Examiner points to Fig.6.X.3.1-1:1 of UE sending a registration request. Page 4 is to show the registration procedure to include network slices and can be multiple as indicated by page 5, par.8. Examiner notes Fig.6.X.3.1-1:1 does not disclose "mobility registration" but that will be mapped by a different prior art.));
and (ii) comprising (page 5, paragraph 8, "UE includes S-NSSAI-A, S-NSSAI-B, S-NSSAI-C in the Requested NSSAI list in Registration Request, as these three slices are allowed to be registered simultaneously as per the received slice compatibility information." (i.e., the list identifier will be addressed by LUO.));
receiving from subscription data management of the wireless device subscription data comprising subscribed network slices for the wireless device (page 5 paragraph 2-3, Fig.6.X.3.1-1:2,3, "AMF receives the subscribed NSSAI list from UDM." (i.e., UDM is equivalent to "subscription data management"))
and an identifier for the subscribed network slices that can be used simultaneously by the wireless device (page 3 under "Tags", paragraph 1, "Whether the network slices with same SST value" (i.e., "an identifier" is the Slice Service Type (SST). The message Fig.6.X.3.1-1:1 from the UE asks simultaneous slice to be registered so there for the UDM provides NSSAI list.));
generating information describing a plurality of lists of network slices that can be registered simultaneously by the wireless device ((page 3, 6.X.2, lines 3-4, "AMF provides the UE with "Slice compatibility" information for each of the S-NSSAI which are part of the UE’s Configured NSSAI list. "Slice compatibility" information consists of:", and page 3, 6.X.2, lines 5-6, "1. List of other S-NSSAIs in the Configured NSSAI list the current S-NSSAI is allowed to simultaneously register with;" and page 3, 6.X.2, lines 7-9, "2. List of other S-NSSAIs in the Configured NSSAI list the current S-NSSAI is allowed to have simultaneous PDU sessions with…" and page 3, 6.X.2, lines 10-13, "3. List of other S-NSSAIs in the Configured NSSAI list the current S-NSSAI is allowed to have simultaneous active user plane resources for the established PDU sessions with." and page 3, 6.X.2, lines 14-15, "#1 and #2 are mandatory, while #3 is optional." (i.e., There are 3 lists and the third list being optional.));
and transmitting a response to the wireless device (Fig.6.X.3.1-1:7), the response indicating whether the one or more network slices have been registered and including the information describing the plurality of lists of network slices (page 5 paragraph 7, Fig.6.X.3.1-1:7, "AMF sends Registration Accept to the UE. AMF includes the Configured NSSAI, and the slice compatibility information for each Configured S-NSSAI." (i.e., AMF sending the registration accept to the UE.)),
each of the lists indicating a set of network slices that can be registered simultaneously by the wireless device ((page 5 paragraph 8, Fig.6.X.3.1-1, "Based on the received slice compatibility information, UE shall take a decision on which network slices to request registration as part of Requested NSSAI list. " (i.e., NSSAI list consist of S-NSSAIs.)).
However, SAWG2'140E does not disclose mobility registration update request; (ii) comprising a list identifier associated with one of the plurality of lists of network slices.
LUO discloses (ii) comprising a list identifier associated with one of the plurality of lists of network slices (paragraph [0078], "The at least one first network slice may be understood as a network slice list (or a network slice set) supported by or corresponding to the first identifier…" and paragraph [0079], "The RRC message may include a slice list corresponding to the first identifier. Optionally, the RRC message may further include the first identifier. In other words, the RRC message may include a mapping relationship (or a correspondence) between the first identifier and the slice list…" (i.e., the slice list with an identifier. The slice list is understood as NSSAI and that is comprised of S-NSSAI. Examiner also points to par.96 Fig.3 for visual of slices.)).
SAWG2'140E and LUO are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field Affiliation to network, e.g. registration. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified SAWG2'140E to implement identifier for the list such as an identifier for NSSAI in order to have increase efficiency on communication between UDM, AMF, and the UE and help with UE to reduce power consumption (LUO, paragraph [0010], “to reduce a procedure in which the terminal device triggers an application for the information about the at least one first network slice corresponding to the first identifier, and help reduce the power consumption of the terminal device.”).
However, SAWG2’140E in view of LUO in further view of Tamura do not disclose mobility registration update request.
Tamura discloses mobility registration update request (paragraph [0072], “The UE 1 uses the initial registration to connect to the network (5GC) after power-on. The UE 1 uses the mobility registration update when it moves out of its current registration area (RA) or when it needs to update its capabilities or other parameters negotiated in the registration procedure.").
SAWG2’140E in view of LUO and Tamura are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field Affiliation to network, e.g. registration. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified SAWG2'140E to implement Tamura the message is a mobility registration update request as its obvious to try to obtain the list of slices to register would be done in either the register request as described in SAWG2’140E or when performing a mobility registration update request and the mobility update request reduce the amount of overhead as it does not require a full authentication process compare to registration request (Tamura, paragraph [0072], “The UE 1 uses the mobility registration update when it moves out of its current registration area (RA) or when it needs to update its capabilities or other parameters negotiated in the registration procedure.”).
Regarding Claim 2, SAWG2’140E in view of LUO in further view of Tamura in further view of Tamura discloses all the limitation of claim 1.
SAWG2'140E further discloses wherein the information describing the plurality of lists of network slices that can be registered simultaneously comprises the of each of the plurality of lists of network slices that can be registered simultaneously (page 5 paragraph 2-3, Fig.6.X.3.1-1:2,3, "AMF receives the subscribed NSSAI list from UDM." (i.e., As mapped in claim 1, there are a plurality of lists that can be provided to the AMF which would then be provided to the UE.)).
LUO further discloses list identifiers (paragraph [0078], "The at least one first network slice may be understood as a network slice list (or a network slice set) supported by or corresponding to the first identifier…" and paragraph [0079], "The RRC message may include a slice list corresponding to the first identifier. Optionally, the RRC message may further include the first identifier. In other words, the RRC message may include a mapping relationship (or a correspondence) between the first identifier and the slice list…" (i.e., the slice list with an identifier.)).
The proposed combination as well as the motivations for combining the references presented in the rejection of the parent claim apply to this claim and are incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding Claim 3, SAWG2’140E in view of LUO in further view of Tamura discloses all the limitation of claim 1.
SAWG2'140E further discloses wherein the information describing the plurality of lists of network slices that can be registered simultaneously comprises the plurality of lists of network slices that can be registered simultaneously (page 3, 6.X.2, line 5, line 3-4, "AMF provides the UE with "Slice compatibility" information for each of the S-NSSAI which are part of the UE’s Configured NSSAI list. "Slice compatibility" information consists of:" and page 3, 6.X.2, line 5, "List of other S-NSSAIs " (i.e., 6.X.2 provides 3 lists and each of the list has S-NSSAIs that can be registered simultaneously.)).
Regarding Claim 5, SAWG2’140E in view of LUO in further view of Tamura discloses all the limitation of claim 1.
SAWG2'140E further discloses further comprising:
receiving a mobility registration update request to update a mobility registration for the wireless device, the mobility registration update request comprising [[a]](page 5 paragraph 8, Fig.6.X.3.1-1:8, "UE may either trigger an initial registration procedure, or a mobility/periodic registration update at this step." (i.e., Fig.6.X.3.1-1:8 showing UE mobility reg. request. For examination purpose examiner is keeping the “receiving a mobility registration update…” as the applicant specification paragraph 38 indicate these steps can be performed after the first initial steps in claim 1.)); and
transmitting a mobility registration update response to the wireless device indicating whether the one of the plurality of lists of network slices associated with the list identifier is registered for the wireless device (page 5 paragraph 8, Fig.6.X.3.1-1:8, "UE may either trigger an initial registration procedure, or a mobility/periodic registration update at this step." and page 5 paragraph 9, Fig.6.X.3.1-1:9, "AMF proceeds with the registration procedure as described in clause 4.2.2.2 in TS 23.502 [6]. AMF sends Registration Accept to the UE, and includes S-NSSAI-A, S-NSSAI-B, S-NSSAI-C in the list of Allowed NSSAI since they are compatible." (i.e., AMF responds back with allowed NSSAI.)).
LUO further discloses the list identifier (paragraph [0078], "The at least one first network slice may be understood as a network slice list (or a network slice set) supported by or corresponding to the first identifier…" and paragraph [0079], "The RRC message may include a slice list corresponding to the first identifier. Optionally, the RRC message may further include the first identifier. In other words, the RRC message may include a mapping relationship (or a correspondence) between the first identifier and the slice list…" (i.e., the slice list with an identifier. The slice list is understood as NSSAI and that is comprised of S-NSSAI. Examiner also points to par.96 Fig.3 for visual of slices.)).
The proposed combination as well as the motivations for combining the references presented in the rejection of the parent claim apply to this claim and are incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding Claim 6, SAWG2’140E in view of LUO in further view of Tamura discloses all the limitation of claim [[5]]1.
Tamura further discloses wherein the mobility registration update request further identifies a network slice that the wireless device requests to register (paragraph [0067], “The Configured NSSAI includes at least one S-NSSAI, each of which is applicable to at least one PLMN.” and paragraph [0073], Fig.2, " In step 201, the UE 1 sends a Registration Request message to the AMF 2 via the AN 5. The Registration Request message includes Requested NSSAI. More specifically, if the AN 5 is an NG-RAN, the UE 1 sends a Radio Resource Control (RRC) Setup Complete message containing the Registration Request message to an AN node (e.g., gNB) in the AN 5. The UE 1 further includes the NSSAI (i.e., Requested NSSAI) for network slice selection in that RRC Setup Complete message as one of the AN parameters." (i.e., UE sending a NSSAI to register to which include S-NSSAI.)),
wherein the identified network slice is included in the one of the plurality of lists of network slices (paragraph [0067], “The Configured NSSAI includes at least one S-NSSAI, each of which is applicable to at least one PLMN.” (i.e., S-NSSAI are found in NSSAI.)).
The proposed combination as well as the motivations for combining the references presented in the rejection of the parent claim apply to this claim and are incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding Claim 8, SAWG2’140E in view of LUO in further view of Tamura discloses all the limitation of claim 1.
SAWG2'140E further discloses wherein the information describing a plurality of lists of network slices that can be registered simultaneously by the wireless device identifies one or more additional configured network selection assistance information, NSSAI, that are configured for the wireless device (page 3, 6.X.2 High Level Desciption, line 5-6, "List of other S-NSSAIs in the Configured NSSAI list the current S-NSSAI is allowed to simultaneously register with;" (i.e., 6.X.2 shows the three list #1, #2, and #3. By providing list #1 with #2 and #3 it shows one or more of NSSAI that is configured for the UE.)),
wherein each of the one or more additional configured NSSAI indicates a set of network slices that are allowed to be used simultaneously with the requested network slice (page 3, 6.X.2, line 5-6, "List of other S-NSSAIs in the Configured NSSAI list the current S-NSSAI is allowed to simultaneously register with;" (i.e., NSSAI is composed of S-NSSAI.)).
Regarding Claim 11, SAWG2’140E in view of LUO in further view of Tamura discloses all the limitation of claim 1.
SAWG2'140E further discloses wherein the response (page 5 paragraph 7, Fig.6.X.3.1-1:7, "AMF sends Registration Accept to the UE…" (i.e., AMF responds to the initial request of Fig.6.X.3.1-1:1.)),
Tamura further discloses wherein the response comprises a mobility registration update response (paragraph [0072], “The UE 1 uses the initial registration to connect to the network (5GC) after power-on. The UE 1 uses the mobility registration update when it moves out of its current registration area (RA) or when it needs to update its capabilities or other parameters negotiated in the registration procedure." And paragraph [0074], “In step 202, in response to the Registration Request message, the AMF 2 sends a Registration Accept message to the UE 1 via the AN 5.” (i.e., AMF responds to the mobility request. Although does not explicitly state a mobility registration update response since Tamura discloses UE sending “mobility registration update” then the response is a mobility registration update response.)).
Regarding Claim 13, SAWG2’140E in view of LUO in further view of Tamura discloses all the limitation of claim 1.
SAWG2'140E further discloses wherein the core network function comprises an access and mobility management function, AMF (page 5 paragraph 2-3, Fig.6.X.3.1-1:2,3, "AMF receives the subscribed NSSAI list from UDM." (i.e., Fig.6.X.3.1-1 shows an AMF.)).
Regarding Claim 14, which is similar in scope to claim 1, thus rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 15, which is similar in scope to claim 1, thus rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 17, which is similar in scope to claim 1, thus rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 41, which is similar in scope to claim 2, thus rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 42, which is similar in scope to claim 3, thus rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 43, which is similar in scope to claim 8, thus rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 45, which is similar in scope to claim 13, thus rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 46, which is similar in scope to claim 5, thus rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 47, which is similar in scope to claim 11, thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 9 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SAWG2'140E (SA WG2 Meeting #140E S2-2005804) (IDS, 09/30/2023, 8 pages) in view of LUO (US-20220394608-A1) in view of Tamura (US-20230276351-A1) in further view of SO (US-20200107250-A1).
Regarding Claim 9, SAWG2’140E in view of LUO in further view of Tamura discloses all the limitation of claim 8.
However, SAWG2’140E in view of LUO in further view of Tamura do not disclose wherein the response further comprises information identifying additional configured network slices for a serving network and a home network of the wireless device.
SO discloses wherein the response further comprises information identifying additional configured network slices for a serving network and a home network of the wireless device (paragraph [0044], "during the UE Registration with the serving PLMN…the serving VPLMN will then map the Subscribed S-NSSAI(s) configured by the HPLMN to the applicable S-NSSAI(s) configured by the serving VPLMN." and paragraph [0046], “the set of provisioned/configured S-NSSAI configured by the HPLMN… the corresponding mapping S-NSSAI(s) configured by the VPLMN” (i.e., Provide UE with S-NSSAI(s) that is configured by HPLMN.)).
SAWG2’140E in view of LUO in further view of Tamura and SO are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field Affiliation to network, e.g. registration. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified SAWG2'140E to implement the method of SO in order to provide consistent roaming with slices that similar to slices in HPLMN (SO, paragraph [0055], "in case of roaming, the UE's serving PLMN is the VPLMN, and hence, the UE, VPLMN and HPLMN are all required to support Coexistent Slicing Group in order to enable this feature.").
Regarding Claim 44, which is similar in scope to claim 9, thus rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
ERKIN S. ABDULLAEV
Examiner
Art Unit 2648
/ERKIN ABDULLAEV/Examiner, Art Unit 2648
/WESLEY L KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2648