Claim Status
Claims 1-8 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Felder (US 2018/0208718 A1).
Felder discloses a composition of nano crystalline metal oxides (A) or hydroxides and polyorganosiloxanes (B), and a process to disperse or crystallize these particles [p. 0012]. Felder exemplifies an asymmetric substituted polyorganosiloxane (B) [example 1]:
n-C4H9-Si(Me)2-O-[(Me)2SiO]8-Si(Me)2-C2H4-Si(OMe)3
Felder discloses the polyorganosiloxane (B) has a monomodal chain distribution of Mw/Mn<1.1 [p. 0253]. The polysiloxane (B) has a number average and weight average molecular weight of approximately 931 Da, which is less than 7000 Da, and therefore anticipates the claimed range of instant claims 2 and 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Matsumoto (US 2011/0248211 A1).
Matsumoto exemplifies compositions comprising component (B-1) and (B-2) [example 1, table 2].
In example 1 of Matsumoto, (B-1) is present at 8 parts by mass relative to 100 parts by mass of the heat conductive filler (C-2) [table 1, table 2, p. 0070-0073]. Example 1 of Matsumoto further comprises component (A-1), a PDMS capped with trimethoxysilyl groups at both terminals [p. 0064]. In example 1, (A-1) is present at 0.9 parts by mass relative to 100 parts by mass of the heat conductive filler (C-2) [table 2]. According to the provided formula, component (B-1) has a molecular weight 2434 Da. Component (B-1) is presented as a small molecule with a specific number of repeat units; therefore the Mn and Mw are the same, and the molecular weight distribution is 1.
Alternatively, when presented as a small molecule, a specific number of repeat units suggests little to no variation of Mn to M-w, which obviously embraces a molecular weight distribution of 1. In light of this, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as filed to prepare the composition of Matsumoto with a component (B-1) having a molecular weight distribution of 1.2 or less as Matsumoto teaches the organopolysiloxanes having a discreet structure are suitable for use in the composition.
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kato (US 2013/0137613 A1).
Kato exemplifies a composition comprising component (C) represented by the following formula [application example 1]:
.
In the composition exemplified by Kato, component (C) is present at 2.4 parts by weight with respect to 100 parts of heat conductive filler; and additional organopolysiloxane components are present at 7.75 parts by weight with respect to 100 parts of heat conductive filler [application example 1]. According to the provided formula, component (C) has a molecular weight of 7702 Da. Component (C) is presented as a small molecule with a specific number of repeat units; therefore the Mn and Mw are the same, and the molecular weight distribution is 1. Alternatively, when presented as a small molecule, a specific number of repeat units suggests little to no variation of Mn to M-w, which obviously embraces a molecular weight distribution of 1. In light of this, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as filed to prepare the composition of Kato with a component (C) having a molecular weight distribution of 1.2 or less as Kato teaches the organopolysiloxanes having a discreet structure are suitable for use in the composition.
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato (US 2013/0137613 A1).
Kato teaches component (C) can be represented by the following compound [p. 0029]:
The general teaching of Kato is that m of component (C) is more preferably 10 to 200 [p. 0028]. Therefore, the general teachings of Kato obviously embrace embodiments wherein component (C) has a number-average molecular weight of 2,000-7,000 Da. In light of this, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to prepare the composition of Kato with component (C), wherein component (C) has a number-average molecular weight of 2,000-7,000 Da, as Kato teaches embodiments of component (C) in this molecular weight range are suitable for preparing the composition. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Conclusion
/HOLLEY GRACE HESTER/Examiner, Art Unit 1766
/RANDY P GULAKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1766