DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The previous rejection of Claim(s) 1-7, 9-18, and 20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 61-250175 A to Kobayashi et al. (hereinafter Kobayashi) and in further view of JP 2008-007758 A to Ishii et al. (hereinafter Ishii) is/are withdrawn in light of the Applicant’s amendments.
The previous rejection of Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-7, 9, 11-13, 15-18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,134,190 A to Kosaka (hereinafter Kosaka) and in further view of JP 2008-007758 A to Ishii et al. (hereinafter Ishii) is/are withdrawn in light of the Applicant’s amendments.
The previous rejection of Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-7, 9, 11-13, 15-18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,185,185 A to Nishizawa et al. (hereinafter Nashizawa) and in further view of JP 2008-007758 A to Ishii et al. (hereinafter Ishii) is/are withdrawn in light of the Applicant’s amendments.
The previous rejection of Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-7, 9, 11-13, 15-18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,773,536 A to Mizoguchi et al. (hereinafter Mizoguchi) and in further view of JP 2008-007758 A to Ishii et al. (hereinafter Ishii) is/are withdrawn in light of the Applicant’s amendments.
The previous rejection of Claim(s) 8, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi, Kosaka, Nishizawa, and/or Mizoguchi, and in further view of Ishii, as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of JP 2008-270268 A to Horii et al. (hereinafter Horii) is/are withdrawn in light of the Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-13, 21-24, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 61-250175 A to Kobayashi et al. (hereinafter Kobayashi), in further view of US 2019/0070631 A1 to Fujikawa et al. (hereinafter Fujikawa), and in further view of JP 2008-007758 A to Ishii et al. (hereinafter Ishii).
Regarding claim 1-7, 9-13, 21-24, Kobayashi teaches a polyphenylene sulfide resin (PPS) molding comprising a polyphenylene resin, a heat stabilizer, a lubricant, and an inorganic filler (page 1-2), wherein the inorganic filler is specifically calcium carbonate and a glass fiber (See Examples). Kobayashi further teaches the surface of the PPS molding is roughened by a chemical etchant of anhydrous aluminum chloride (i.e. strong Lewis acid), (page 2-3), and the treated surface is metalized with a plating film by either electroless plating or sputtering (page 2) such as immersion in an electroless copper plating solution and an electroplating copper solution (page 3-4) to form a copper-plated film with a 50 micron thickness (See examples, page 3-4), which meets the plating layer on both sides since it is achieved by an immersion plating solution. Kobayashi further teaches the calcium carbonate in the PPS gives improved adhesion and brilliance/luminosity of the plating (page 2-3, See Examples, Table 1). The calcium carbonate has an average particle size of 0.6-8.8 microns (See Table 1, page 3), which meets claim 3.
Kobayashi does not explicitly teach a thermoplastic elastomer (b1).
However, Fujikawa teaches a resin composition comprising a polyphenylene sulfide, and a thermoplastic elastomer (para 33-35) such as an ethylene-methacrylic copolymer (para 112), wherein the resin composition is used in a laminate as a substrate, with a primer resin layer, a metal layer, and a metal plating layer (See abstract), used in the field of electronic members (para 12), which is the same field of used of the Applicant’s invention of PPS molded articles. Fujikawa further teaches the c elastomer is used in an amount of 2-60 parts per 100 parts of mass of the polyphenylene sulfide (para 36), which overlaps and meets the claimed amount of thermoplastic resin (B). Fujikawa also teaches that the amount of elastomer improves flexibility, and impact resistance (para 33), and improves processability and adhesion between the substrate to the metal layer, (para 35-36).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to further include the thermoplastic elastomers of Fujikawa in the composition of Kobayashi because Fujikawa teaches the same field of used of the Applicant’s invention of PPS molded articles and Fujikawa also teaches that the amount of elastomer improves flexibility, and impact resistance (para 33), and improves processability and adhesion between the substrate to the metal layer, (para 35-36).
Kobayashi does not explicitly teach a polyolefin wax (D) and/or hydrolysable thermoplastic resin (b2).
However, Ishii teaches a polyphenylene sulfide resin composition for molded articles in electronic parts (See abstract, para 1 and 46), which is the same field of used of the Applicant’s invention of PPS molded articles. Ishii teaches the polyphenylene sulfide resin composition further comprises an amorphous resin such as polyphenylene ether resin (para 8), a polycarbonate resin, and/or a polyamideimide resin (para 24), in an amount of 2-50 parts (para 8 and 26), which meets the hydrolysable thermoplastic resin (b2). The amount range of amorphous resin gives precision dimensional property, fluidity and chemical resistance. (para 26). Ishii also teaches the composition may further include olefin-based elastomers in order to improve impact resistance and cold resistance (para 33-34), a fibrous filler such as calcium carbonate to improve mechanical strength, and heat resistance (para 27-29), non-fibrous fillers such as calcium carbonate to give good precision dimensional property, fluidity and mechanical properties, (para 30-31), and further include polyethylene wax as a release and lubricating agent. (para 41).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to further include the polyethylene wax and amorphous resin of Ishii in the PPS composition of Kobayashi because Ishii teaches the same field of used of the Applicant’s invention of PPS molded articles and Ishii further teaches the polyethylene wax act as a release and lubricating agent, (para 41), and the amount range of amorphous resin gives precision dimensional property, fluidity and chemical resistance. (para 26).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-7, 9, 11-13, 21-26, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,134,190 A to Kosaka (hereinafter Kosaka), in further view of US 2019/0070631 A1 to Fujikawa et al. (hereinafter Fujikawa), and in further view of JP 2008-007758 A to Ishii et al. (hereinafter Ishii).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9, 11-13, 21-26, Kosaka teaches a polyarylene sulfide composition comprising polyphenylene sulfide resin (PPS) (Example 1), a fiber reinforcement (col 4, ln 42), fillers such as calcium carbonate (col 6, ln 3), and additives such as a lubricant, (col 6,l n 32-33) and various resins such as polyolefin modified with an unsaturated carboxylic acid (col 6, ln 35-42). The polyarylene sulfide composition is molded into flat plates (See Examples), and pre-treated with an etching solution, i.e. roughened, wherein the etching solution contains a mixed solution of chromic acid compound, sulfuric acid and phosphoric acid (col 7, ln 24-32), and plated with an electroless plating step and an electroplating step (col 7, ln 32-52), wherein the plating is either copper or nickel (col 7, ln 45-46), such as an electroless copper plating solution and electroplating copper solution (col 9, ln 7-18), which meets the plating layer on both sides since it is achieved by an immersion plating solution. The above is used in housings for shielding electromagnetic waves. (col 10, ln 20-21).
Kosaka does not explicitly teach a thermoplastic resin (B).
However, Fujikawa teaches a resin composition comprising a polyphenylene sulfide, and a thermoplastic elastomer (para 33-35) such as an ethylene-methacrylic copolymer (para 112), wherein the resin composition is used in a laminate as a substrate, with a primer resin layer, a metal layer, and a metal plating layer (See abstract), used in the field of electronic members (para 12), which is the same field of used of the Applicant’s invention of PPS molded articles. Fujikawa further teaches the c elastomer is used in an amount of 2-60 parts per 100 parts of mass of the polyphenylene sulfide (para 36), which overlaps and meets the claimed amount of thermoplastic resin (B). Fujikawa also teaches that the amount of elastomer improves flexibility, and impact resistance (para 33), and improves processability and adhesion between the substrate to the metal layer, (para 35-36).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to further include the thermoplastic elastomers of Fujikawa in the composition of Kosaka because Fujikawa teaches the same field of used of the Applicant’s invention of PPS molded articles and Fujikawa also teaches that the amount of elastomer improves flexibility, and impact resistance (para 33), and improves processability and adhesion between the substrate to the metal layer, (para 35-36).
Kosaka does not explicitly teach a polyolefin wax (D) and hydrolysable thermoplastic resin (b2).
However, Ishii teaches a polyphenylene sulfide resin composition for molded articles in electronic parts (See abstract, para 1 and 46), which is the same field of used of the Applicant’s invention of PPS molded articles. Ishii teaches the polyphenylene sulfide resin composition further comprises an amorphous resin such as polyphenylene ether resin (para 8), a polycarbonate resin, and/or a polyamideimide resin (para 24), in an amount of 2-50 parts (para 8 and 26), which meets the hydrolysable thermoplastic resin (b2). The amount range of amorphous resin gives precision dimensional property, fluidity and chemical resistance. (para 26). Ishii also teaches the composition may further include olefin-based elastomers in order to improve impact resistance and cold resistance (para 33-34), a fibrous filler such as calcium carbonate to improve mechanical strength, and heat resistance (para 27-29), non-fibrous fillers such as calcium carbonate to give good precision dimensional property, fluidity and mechanical properties, (para 30-31), and further include polyethylene wax as a release and lubricating agent. (para 41).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to further include the polyethylene wax and amorphous resin of Ishii in the PPS composition of Kosaka because Ishii teaches the same field of used of the Applicant’s invention of PPS molded articles and Ishii further teaches the polyethylene wax act as a release and lubricating agent, (para 41), and the amount range of amorphous resin gives precision dimensional property, fluidity and chemical resistance. (para 26).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-7, 9, 11-13, 21-24, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,185,185 A to Nishizawa et al. (hereinafter Nashizawa), in further view of US 2019/0070631 A1 to Fujikawa et al. (hereinafter Fujikawa), and in further view of JP 2008-007758 A to Ishii et al. (hereinafter Ishii).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9, 11-13, 21-24, Nishizawa teaches a process of pretreatment of a metal-plating a resin molded article molded from a resin composition containing polyphenylene sulfide resin (PPS), glass-reinforcing agent, and a thermoplastic resin such as polyamide or polyester (See abstract), which meets the claimed hydrolysable thermoplastic (b2) of claims 23-24, wherein the pretreatment entails a chemical etching with nitric acid (i.e. strong acid), (col 7, ln 25-30), or sulfuric acid (col 7, ln 37-42), to form a roughened surface (col 4, ln 59-63). Nishizawa further teaches the surface is metal-plated by copper plating by immersion in an electroless copper plating bath and an electrolytic copper plating bath to form a copper layer (col 6, ln 30-63), which meets the plating layer on both sides since it is achieved by an immersion plating solution. Nishizawa teaches the PPS composition further contains calcium carbonate (col 4, ln 43). Nishizawa further teaches the resin composition contains the other thermoplastic resin in an amount of 5-40 wt% based on the resin composition (col 4, ln 2-10), which overlaps and meets the claimed range of 15-70 parts per 100 parts of polyarylene sulfide resin (A). (i.e. 13-41.1 wt% per composition).
Nishizawa does not explicitly teach a thermoplastic elastomer (b1) of claims 23-24.
However, Fujikawa teaches a resin composition comprising a polyphenylene sulfide, and a thermoplastic elastomer (para 33-35) such as an ethylene-methacrylic copolymer (para 112), wherein the resin composition is used in a laminate as a substrate, with a primer resin layer, a metal layer, and a metal plating layer (See abstract), used in the field of electronic members (para 12), which is the same field of used of the Applicant’s invention of PPS molded articles. Fujikawa further teaches the c elastomer is used in an amount of 2-60 parts per 100 parts of mass of the polyphenylene sulfide (para 36), which overlaps and meets the claimed amount of thermoplastic resin (B). Fujikawa also teaches that the amount of elastomer improves flexibility, and impact resistance (para 33), and improves processability and adhesion between the substrate to the metal layer, (para 35-36).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to further include the thermoplastic elastomers of Fujikawa in the composition of Nishizawa because Fujikawa teaches the same field of used of the Applicant’s invention of PPS molded articles and Fujikawa also teaches that the amount of elastomer improves flexibility, and impact resistance (para 33), and improves processability and adhesion between the substrate to the metal layer, (para 35-36).
Nishizawa does not explicitly teach a polyolefin wax (D).
However, Ishii teaches a polyphenylene sulfide resin composition for molded articles in electronic parts (See abstract, para 1 and 46), which is the same field of used of the Applicant’s invention of PPS molded articles. Ishii teaches the polyphenylene sulfide resin composition may further include olefin-based elastomers in order to improve impact resistance and cold resistance (para 33-34), a fibrous filler such as calcium carbonate to improve mechanical strength, and heat resistance (para 27-29), non-fibrous fillers such as calcium carbonate to give good precision dimensional property, fluidity and mechanical properties, (para 30-31), and further include polyethylene wax as a release and lubricating agent. (para 41).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to further include the thermoplastic olefin-based elastomers and polyethylene wax of Ishii in the PPS composition of Nishizawa because Ishii teaches the same field of used of the Applicant’s invention of PPS molded articles and Ishii further teaches the olefin-based elastomers improve impact resistance and cold resistance (para 33-34), and polyethylene wax act as a release and lubricating agent. (para 41).
Claim(s) 8, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi, Kosaka, and/or Nishizawa, in further view of Fujikawa, and in further view of Ishii, as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of JP 2008-270268 A to Horii et al. (hereinafter Horii).
Regarding claim 8, as cited above and incorporated herein, the combination of Kobayashi, Kosaka, and/or Nishizawa, in further view of Fujikawa, and in further view of Ishii, teaches claims 1 and 2.
Kobayashi, Kosaka, and/or Nishizawa, do not explicitly teach a permalloy plating layer.
However, Horii teaches a shielding for an electromagnetic wave comprising a metal film comprising a metal conductive layer formed on the surface of an organic film (para 5 and 19), which is the same field of used of the Applicant’s invention of PPS molded articles. Horii further teaches the organic film is a polyphenylene sulfide (PPS) (para 27 and Example 2) and the conductive material is copper (para 29) or permalloy formed by sputtering upon the organic film (para 3). Horii further teaches the permalloy is a conductive material that easily absorbs electromagnetic waves. (para 30).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to use the permalloy of Horii as the plating layer in Kobayashi, Kosaka, and/or Nishizawa, because Horii teaches the same field of use of the Applicant’s invention of PPS molded articles in electromagnetic shields and Horii further teaches the permalloy is a conductive material that easily absorbs electromagnetic waves. (para 30).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-13, 21-26, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
On page 8-9, the Applicant argues the unexpected properties of excellent adhesion as shown in Tables 1-2. Although the evidence of unexpected excellent adhesion is persuasive, the evidence does not commensurate in scope to the claims. The claims recite that the thermoplastic resin (B) is chosen from a list of any type of thermoplastic elastomer (b1) and any type of hydrolyzable thermoplastic (b2). However, the examples in Tables 1-2, all contain at least one olefin elastomer as (b1), and a polyamide or polycarbonate as (b2), wherein the range of good properties appears to be about 12-37 parts per 100 parts of polyarylene sulfide resin. Thus, for the above reasons, the Applicant has not met their burden in establishing unexpected results. See MPEP 716.02 (a-e).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HA S NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766