DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 9-11, & 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Mangtani DE10196942 using PE2E search for translation.
Per claim 1 Mangtani teaches a circuit assembly (see fig.4B) comprising: an insulated metal substrate (IMS) (15, see fig.4B; [0049]); a switching device (20 and/or 21; [0050], “power semiconductor chips/plates have transistors which are switching devices”) located on the IMS (see fig.4B); and a printed circuit board (PCB) (13) directly attached and electrically connected to the IMS ([0002], [0004]-[0005], “Next a PCB is attached to the base shell, and contraction wire connections are made between the silicon semiconductor plate and the substrate to the PCB”, [0048], [0050], [0054], “it is understandable that the wire contact surface of the IMS 15 and the PCB 13 are located at different heights”, [0058], “The semiconductor plate, the substrate (IMS), and the PCB are then connected to each other in a suitable manner by wire contacts, and the subassembly is electrically tested”, Examiner asserts that from the above paragraphs the IMS is disclosed to have upper copper layer, which can be patterned to form conductive mounting pads to which power semiconductor wafers, such as… the semiconductor plates 20 and 21, can be attached and connected to each other, the IMS and PCB are disclosed to be electrically conductive via the wire contacts, the last paragraph asserts that the subassembly of the semiconductor plate, IMS and PCB are all connected and electrically tested, thus teaching an electrical connection between the IMS, PCB and the semiconductor plate”) such that opposing surfaces of the IMS and the PCB directly contact with no gap therebetween (see fig.4B) and including a cutout that receives the switching device (see fig.4B; [0020]-[0022]).
Per claim 3 Mangtani teaches the circuit assembly according to claim 1, wherein the PCB routes power and signals to the switching device ([0050]).
Per claim 6 Mangtani teaches the circuit assembly according to claim 1, further comprising a heatsink (30) attached to the IMS (15, see fig.4B).
Per claim 9 Mangtani teaches the circuit assembly according to claim 1, wherein the PCB (13) is surface mounted to the IMS (15, see fig.4B) to electrically connect the PCB to the IMS ([0050], [0053], see fig.4B).
Per claim 10 Mangtani teaches the circuit assembly according to claim 1, wherein the PCB (13) is surface mounted to the IMS (15, see fig.4B) such that power is routed among the PCB, the IMS, and the switching device ([0004]-[0005], [0050], [0053]).
Per claim 11 Mangtani teaches the circuit assembly according to claim 1, wherein the PCB is surface mounted to the IMS such that a gate signal from the PCB is applied to the switching device through the IMS ([0002]-[0004], & [0050], see fig.4B).
Per claim 15 Mangtani teaches the circuit assembly according to claim 6, wherein the PCB is surface mounted to the IMS to electrically connect the PCB to the IMS ([0050], [0053], see fig.4B).
Per claim 16 Mangtani teaches the circuit assembly according to claim 6, wherein the PCB is surface mounted to the IMS such that power is routed among the PCB, the IMS, and the switching device ([0004]-[0005], [0050], [0053]).
Per claim 17 Mangtani teaches the circuit assembly according to claim 6, wherein the PCB is surface mounted to the IMS such that a gate signal from the PCB is applied to the switching device through the IMS ([0050], [0053], see fig.4B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mangtani DE10196942 using PE2E search for translation in view of BYUN US2022/0264738.
Per claim 5 Mangtani teaches the circuit assembly according to claim 1,
Mangtani does not explicitly teach wherein the PCB further includes negative-temperature-coefficient temperature sensing circuitry.
BYUN however teaches wherein a PCB further includes negative-temperature-coefficient temperature sensing circuit (Abstract).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a negative-temperature-coefficient temperature sensing circuitry as taught by BYUN in the circuit assembly of Mangtani, because it enables high sensitivity to temperature changes, it is compact size and it has a fast response time, thus ensuring proper heat detection and cooling of the circuit assembly.
Per claim 12 Mangtani in view of BYUN teaches the circuit assembly according to claim 5, wherein the PCB (13) is surface mounted to the IMS (15, see fig.4B) to electrically connect the PCB to the IMS ([0050], [0053], see fig.4B).
Per claim 13 Mangtani in view of BYUN teaches the circuit assembly according to claim 5, wherein the PCB is surface mounted to the IMS such that power is routed among the PCB, the IMS, and the switching device ([0004]-[0005], [0050], [0053]).
Per claim 14 Mangtani in view of BYUN teaches the circuit assembly according to claim 5, wherein the PCB is surface mounted to the IMS such that a gate signal from the PCB is applied to the switching device through the IMS ([0050], [0053], see fig.4B).
Claim(s) 8, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mangtani DE10196942 using PE2E search for translation in view of LEVY et al. US2017/0163257.
Per claim 8 Mangtani teaches the circuit assembly according to claim 1,
Mangtani does not explicitly teach wherein the switching device is a gallium nitride switching device.
LEVY et al. however discloses wherein a switching device is a gallium nitride switching device ([0004]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use gallium nitride as a switching device because of the superior electrical properties and faster switching speeds properties of gallium nitride.
Per claim 18 Mangtani in view of LEVY et al. teaches the circuit assembly according to claim 8, wherein the PCB is surface mounted to the IMS to electrically connect the PCB to the IMS ([0050], [0053], see fig.4B).
Per claim 19 Mangtani in view of LEVY et al. teaches the circuit assembly according to claim 8, wherein the PCB is surface mounted to the IMS such that power is routed among the PCB, the IMS, and the switching device ([0004]-[0005], [0050], [0053]).
Per claim 20 Mangtani in view of LEVY et al. teaches the circuit assembly according to claim 8, wherein the PCB is surface mounted to the IMS such that a gate signal from the PCB is applied to the switching device through the IMS ([0050], [0053], see fig.4B).
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed 07/16/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts on page 1-2 of the remarks that the printed circuit board (PCB) directly attached and electrically connected to the IMS is not taught by the rejection dated 04/20/26.
Examiner disagree and asserts that Mangtani DE10196942 discloses in ([0002], [0004]-[0005], “Next a PCB is attached to the base shell, and contraction wire connections are made between the silicon semiconductor plate and the substrate to the PCB”, [0048], [0050], [0054], “it is understandable that the wire contact surface of the IMS 15 and the PCB 13 are located at different heights”, [0058], “The semiconductor plate, the substrate (IMS), and the PCB are then connected to each other in a suitable manner by wire contacts, and the subassembly is electrically tested”, Examiner asserts that from the above paragraphs the IMS is disclosed to have upper copper layer, which can be patterned to form conductive mounting pads to which power semiconductor wafers, such as… the semiconductor plates 20 and 21, can be attached and connected to each other, the IMS and PCB are disclosed to be electrically conductive via the wire contacts, the last paragraph asserts that the subassembly of the semiconductor plate, IMS and PCB are all connected and electrically tested, thus teaching an electrical connection between the IMS, PCB and the semiconductor plate”).
Email Communication
4. Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502, 502.05.
Conclusion
5. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL A MATEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835