DETAILED ACTION
All the references cited in the International Search Report have been considered. None is anticipatory or meet the amended claims.
Claim Rejections - Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claim(s) 5-12 is (are) rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of US 12139585.
‘585 (claims 1-16) meets instant claims 5-12 in an anticipatory manner, because it discloses the claimed method of producing the claimed silicone particles:
The laundry list case may apply to meet the claimed redox initiator.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 5-12 is(are) rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hagiwara et al. (US 12139585).
Disclosure of Hagiwara is adequately set forth in ¶1 and is incorporated herein by reference.
In light of this, one of ordinary skill would at once envisage selecting the aforementioned redox/radical generator to anticipate claims 5-12, because a genus may be so small that, when considered in light of the totality of the circumstances, it would anticipate the claimed species or subgenus. For example, it has been held that a prior art genus containing only 20 compounds and a limited number of variations in the generic chemical formula inherently anticipated a claimed species within the genus because “one skilled in [the] art would... envisage each member ” of the genus. In re Petering, 301 F.2d 676, 681, 133 USPQ 275, 280 (CCPA 1962).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-12 is (are) rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Stark et al. (US 2009014238) in view of Ueyama et al. (US 20090234089) and further in view of Nakano et al. (JP 3623548, machine translation provided).
As to claims 5-12, Stack (abs., claims, examples, Tables) discloses an aqueous suspension or emulsion polymerization method of producing a pre-polymeric silicone particle (1) for cosmetic formulations (48), such as lotion, using 0.05-5 wt% (26-27) of redox initiator (or functionally equivalent oil-soluble initiator), such as t-butyl hydroperoxide/reducing agents, polymerized at 20-100 °C (overlapping with the range of instant claim 1. It has been found that where claimed ranges overlap ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists - see MPEP 2144.05.), wherein the particle comprises a silicone macromer (17-22), such as a,w-di(3-methacryloxyproyl) polydimethylsiloxane and functionally equivalent a-di(3-methacryloxyproyl) polydimethylsiloxane. The silicone (18-22) macromer:
embraces the claimed organnpolysilxoane A of instant claims 5-6 regarding the structure and repeating units. In Ex.b (46) , two a-di(3-methacryloxyproyl) polydimethylsiloxane are copolymerized at 1:1 weight ratio, or both 100 parts, via an oil-soluble initiator.
Particularly to claims 9-12, stack (Ex.3) discloses further polymerizing the pre-polymeric silicone particle of Ex. b with other monomers via aqueous suspension or emulsion and obtaining silicone-comprising particles having volume average size of 0.521 mm.
In light of this, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have replaced one of the a-di(3-methacryloxyproyl) polydimethylsiloxane with an a,w-di(3-methacryloxyproyl) polydimethylsiloxane embraced in the formula in [0018] and replace the oil-soluble initiator with redox initiator because of their equivalent functionality as primary silicone macromers and initiators. These conditions appear to equally apply to both productions using similar raw materials. This adaptation would have obviously yielded instantly the claimed redox initiator and organnpolysilxoane A.
Furthermore, Nakano (26) discloses cosmetics such as lotion is preferably a hydrophilic cosmetic.
Stark is silent on the claimed organnpolysilxoane B having polyoxyethylene pendant groups.
Solving the same problem of improving hydrophilicity, Ueyama (abs., claims, examples, Tables) discloses a silicone macromer having polyoxyethylene pendant groups that meets the claimed organnpolysilxoane B of instant claims 5 and 7-8:
and has high hydrophilicity and oxygen permeability (8, 13, 104, Table 1-2), and can be polymerized via radical polymerization owning to the terminal methacrylate groups, as obviously recognized by to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore, as to claims 5-12, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the process disclosed by Stack and further replaced one of a-di(3-methacryloxyproyl) polydimethylsiloxane with the aforementioned silicone macromer having polyoxyethylene pendant groups in view of Ueyama, because the resultant process would yield silicone-comprising particles with improved high hydrophilicity and oxygen permeability and having the claimed particle size and monomer components. Furthermore, silicone-comprising particles would be expected to have oxyalkylene group on the particle surface because of the hydrophilicity of Ueyama’s silicone macromer owing to the polyoxyethylene pendant groups and Stack’s aqueous suspension or emulsion polymerization environment through hydrogen bonding, as obviously recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Randy Gulakowski can be reached on 571.572.1302. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SHANE FANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766