DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group 1, claims 1-7, in the reply filed on 06/05/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou (US 2015/0210497).
With regards to claim 1, Zhou teaches a roller for advancing sheet material or web material (abstract) comprising a cylindrical section (16) and a tapered section (20) extending from one end portion of the cylindrical section (Fig. 1, Fig. 2). As seen in Figure 2 the tapered section has a shape in which an outer diameter gradually decreases towards the distal end portion away from the cylindrical section.
With regards to the limitation in claim 1 that the roller is “an electrode running roller configured to move an electrode sheet in which a current collector is coated with an electrode active material” in the preamble, this limitation is interpreted as reciting an intended use of the roller device. As discussed in MPEP 2115 the material or article worked upon does not limit apparatus claims and as discussed in MPEP 2111.02 preamble statements of intended use are interpreted in whether they recite structure or mere statements of purpose. No particular structure is apparent in the statement of intended use in the claim.
With regards to claim 3, Zhou teaches a truncated conic taper in which the taper is cylindrical towards a blunt ended cone (Fig. 1, Fig. 2).
With regards to claim 5, the claim recites the material worked upon by the roller in the discussing the electrode and the manner in which the device is used discussing the relationship between the non-coating portion position with respect to the taper. As discussed in MPEP 2114 the manner of operating a device does not distinguish an apparatus over the prior art, and as discussed in MPEP 2115 the material or article worked upon does not limit an apparatus claim. While the claim uses the language “configured to” to describe the intended use there is no apparent structure of the roller itself necessary to be configured to perform the intended use or work upon the intended material.
With regards to claims 6 and 7, the claim recites the manner in which the device is used with respect to a workpiece. As discussed in MPEP 2114 the manner of operating a device does not distinguish an apparatus over the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (US 2015/0210497) as applied to claim 1 above.
With regards to claim 2, Zhou teaches a roller having a cylindrical portion and a tapered portion at a distal end as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Zhou is silent with respect to the relative length of the cylindrical portion to the tapered portion. Barring a showing of unexpected results it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to vary the ratio of the length of the cylindrical section to the tapered section including 4:1 to 1:1 as mere changes in relative size and shape present a case of prima facie obviousness in the absence of unexpected results as discussed in MPEP 2144.04.IV.A and 2144.04.IV.B. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to change the relative dimensions depending on desired web width and amount of spreading needed (¶ 0030-0032).
With regards to claim 4, Zhou is silent with respect to the incline angle; however, Zhou teaches that the taper is adjustable from an incline to a decline (Fig. 2-6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to utilize an angle of 0.2-0.5 through routine optimization of the workable range taught by Zhou with an adjustable taper (¶ 0030-0032).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Brunner et al. (US 4667863) teaches a tapered roller (Fig. 1).
Hasegawa et al. (US 2008/0230588) teaches a roller with a taper at only one end of the cylinder (Fig. 3).
Page (US 3225717) teaches a bullet shaped roller (Fig. 10, 118)
/GALEN H HAUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1743