DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mantymaki (US 4,818,289).
Claims 1-3 and 5: Mantymaki teaches a non-crystalline composition used to form fibers (Abst.) comprising: a modified copper slag raw material (2:9-3:2) wherein the slag has been modified to achieve an iron oxide content of 22-35% by weight (2:42-3:2) by adding 15-35% silica and 8-15% alumina to the slag which already includes 25-40% silica, 0-15% alumina and 0-10% calcium oxide (2:42-3:2). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP § 2144.05(I). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected a composition with 26-35% by weight iron oxide and 50-75% silica, alumina and calcium oxide with the predictable expectation of success.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mantymaki in light of Pavlov et al. (US 5,763,341).
Claim 4: Mantymaki fails to teach including ash or basalt in the slag mixture. Pavlov teaches a process of forming fibers from slag and explains that coal ash is added to the slag in order to control the carbon content in the slag (Abst.). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have added coal ash to the composition of Mantymaki depending on the desired carbon content in the fibers.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mantymaki in light of Tanaka et al. (US 2013/0324643).
Claim 6: Mantymaki teaches forming mineral fibers from the mixture, but fails to teach that the fibers are used to reinforce concrete. Tanaka teaches that mineral fibers can be used to reinforce concrete (Abst.). Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is prima facie obvious. MPEP § 2143. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have utilized the fibers of Mantymaki to have reinforced concrete with the predictable expectation of success depending on the desired end use of the fibers.
Conclusion
/ROBERT A VETERE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712