DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/4/26 is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 23, filed 3/3/26, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 9-11 of the applicant’s response, the applicant argues that Liou fails to disclose “a first subset of TCI field codepoints each associated with a respective downlink TCI state; a second subset of TCI field codepoints each associated with a respective uplink TCI state”.
Regarding the arguments above, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. As pointed out in the office action and applicant’s remarks.
Liou discloses in paragraph [0056] that:
In some embodiments, a UE may monitor and/or receive one or more beam indication(s). A beam indication may carry or indicate a TCI field. A beam
indication may be a (scheduling) DCl. In one embodiment, the UE may monitor
and/or receive one or more joint TCI. The UE may monitor and/or receive one or
more UL TCI. The UE may monitor and/or receive one or more DL TCI.
Paragraphs [0074] and [0075] then state that:
[0074] In one embodiment, the first MAC CE may be used/applied for indicating
that a multiple of joint TCI states among the one or more joint TCI state(s) map to
one or a multiple of TCI codepoints in a TCI field of a DCI.
[0075] In one embodiment, the first MAC CE may be used/applied for indicating
that a multiple of joint TCI states among the one or more joint TCI state(s) can be
used/applied for receiving DL transmission and/or transmitting UL transmission
(if further indicated).
For clarity, the examiner will try to use diagrams to illustrate the mapping of the Liou reference to the claim limitation. A single codepoint is a subset of the total codepoints. Liou teaches multiple TCI codepoints which is equivalent to the first, second, third subset of codepoints.
Liou
Multiple TCI codepoints [0074]
TCI codepoint 1—TCI codepoint 2--- TCI codepoint 3
Instant Application
First, Second, Third Subset of TCI codepoints
First (subset) TCI codepoint 1--- Second (subset) TCI codepoint 2 – Third (subset) TCI codepoint 3
Liou teaches multiple TCI states and each codepoint from above is associated with (maps to) one of the states below [0074].
Liou
Multiple joint TCI states (use of and/or in [0075]
UL Only Allowed (State 1) – DL Only Allowed (State 2) – (UL AND DL Allowed)
Instant Application
Respective downlink TCI state – respective uplink TCI state – respective downlink TCI state AND respective uplink TCI state
Therefore, as the claim language reads, Liou does teach the argued limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 23-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liou et al (Pub No: 2022/0217695).
As to claim 23, Liou teaches a method performed by a wireless device for handling downlink and uplink Transmission Configuration Indicator, TCI, states (Liou, [0006], a method for a UE configuring and using configured TCI states), the method comprising:
receiving a Downlink Control Information, DCI, comprising an indication that indicates a selected TCI field codepoint (Liou, [0056][0074], a UE receives DCI with indication of a TCI field) among:
a first subset of TCI field codepoints each associated with a respective downlink TCI state (Liou, [0074][0085], TCI field codepoints in the DCI that map to DL only TCI state);
a second subset of TCI field codepoints each associated with a respective uplink TCI state (Liou, [0074][0076], TCI field codepoints in the DCI that map to UL only TCI state); and
a third subset of TCI field codepoints each associated with a respective downlink TCI state and a respective uplink TCI state (Liou, [0075], TCI field codepoints in the DCI that map to joint UL/DL TCI state); and
performing one or more actions based on the selected TCI field codepoint (Liou, [0072-0075], using/applying the activated TCI codepoints for the TCI state for receiving on DL and transmitting on UL) , and
wherein the wireless device is configured by a Medium Access Control, MAC, Control Element, CE, and the MAC CE (Liou, [0072], the UE is configured by a MAC CE) is configured to:
associate each of the first subset of TCI field codepoints with the respective downlink TCI state (Liou, [0074][0085], TCI field codepoints in the DCI that map to DL only TCI state);
associate each of the second subset of TCI field codepoints with the respective uplink TCI state (Liou, [0074][0076], TCI field codepoints in the DCI that map to UL only TCI state); and
associate each of the third subset of TCI field codepoints with the respective downlink TCI state and the respective uplink TCI state (Liou, [0075], TCI field codepoints in the DCI that map to joint UL/DL TCI state), and
wherein for each TCI state activated via the MAC CE (Liou, [0073], the MAC CE activates TCI state), an associated field is included to indicate whether the activated TCI state applies to uplink only, downlink only, or both downlink and uplink (Liou, [0140-0143], the MAC CE has a field to indicate the activated TCI state [0074]) .
As to claim 24, Liou teaches wherein: receiving the DCI comprising the indication comprises receiving the indication that indicates the selected TCI field codepoint in the first subset of TCI field codepoints (Liou, [0056][0074], a UE receives DCI with indication of a TCI field. That is a codepoint associated with a TCI state) ; and performing the one or more actions comprises updating a downlink receive spatial filter based on the respective downlink TCI state associated with the selected TCI field codepoint (Liou, [0045][0067], the spatial filter for transmission/reception is activated/derived based on the TCI codepoint state).
As to claim 25, Liou teaches wherein the downlink receive spatial filter is updated to a downlink receive spatial filter used to receive a downlink source reference signal in a respective downlink TCI state associated with the selected TCI field codepoint (Liou, [0045][0067], the spatial filter for transmission/reception is activated/derived based on the TCI codepoint state).
As to claim 26, Liou teaches wherein: receiving the DCI comprising the indication comprises receiving the indication that indicates the selected TCI field codepoint in the second subset of TCI field codepoints (Liou, [0056][0074], a UE receives DCI with indication of a TCI field. That is a codepoint associated with a TCI state (UL only)); and performing the one or more actions comprises updating an uplink transmit spatial filter based on the respective uplink TCI state associated with the selected TCI field codepoint (Liou, [0045][0067], the spatial filter for transmission/reception is activated/derived based on the TCI codepoint state).
As to claim 27, Liou teaches wherein the uplink transmit spatial filter is updated to one of: an uplink transmit spatial filter used to transmit an uplink source reference signal in the respective uplink TCI state associated with the selected TCI field codepoint (Liou, [0045][0067], the spatial filter for transmission/reception is activated/derived based on the TCI codepoint state (in one case UL only TCI state/transmit spatial filter)).
As to claim 28, Liou teaches wherein: receiving the indication comprises receiving the indication that indicates the selected TCI field codepoint in the third subset of TCI field codepoints (Liou, [0056][0074], a UE receives DCI with indication of a TCI field. That is a codepoint associated with a TCI state (joint UL/DL)); and performing the one or more actions comprises performing a separate-TCI scheme to thereby update a downlink receive spatial filter and an uplink transmit spatial filter based on the respective downlink TCI state and the respective uplink TCI state associated with the selected TCI field codepoint, respectively (Liou, [0045][0067], the spatial filter for transmission/reception is activated/derived based on the TCI codepoint state)..
As to claim 29, Liou teaches wherein: the downlink receive spatial filter is updated to a downlink receive spatial filter used to receive a downlink source reference signal in a respective downlink TCI state associated with the selected TCI field codepoint (Liou, [0045][0067], the spatial filter for transmission/reception is activated/derived based on the TCI codepoint state); and the uplink transmit spatial filter is updated to one of: an uplink transmit spatial filter used to transmit an uplink source reference signal in the respective uplink TCI state associated with the selected TCI field codepoint(Liou, [0045][0067], the spatial filter for transmission/reception is activated/derived based on the TCI codepoint state (in one case UL only TCI state/transmit spatial filter))
As to claim 30, Liou teaches a wireless device comprising: processing circuitry configured to cause the wireless device (Liou, [0006], a UE configuring and using configured TCI states) to:
receive a Downlink Control Information, DCI, comprising an indication that indicates a selected TCI field codepoint among (Liou, [0056][0074], a UE receives DCI with indication of a TCI field):
a first subset of TCI field codepoints each associated with a respective downlink TCI state (Liou, [0074][0085], TCI field codepoints in the DCI that map to DL only TCI state);
a second subset of TCI field codepoints each associated with a respective uplink TCI state (Liou, [0074][0076], TCI field codepoints in the DCI that map to UL only TCI state); and
a third subset of TCI field codepoints each associated with a respective downlink TCI state and a respective uplink TCI state (Liou, [0075], TCI field codepoints in the DCI that map to joint UL/DL TCI state); and
perform one or more actions based on the selected TCI field codepoint (Liou, [0072-0075], using/applying the activated TCI codepoints for the TCI state for receiving on DL and transmitting on UL); and
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the wireless device to be configured by a Medium Access Control, MAC, Control Element, CE, and the MAC CE (Liou, [0072], the UE is configured by a MAC CE) is configured to:
associate each of the first subset of TCI field codepoints with the respective downlink TCI state (Liou, [0074][0085], TCI field codepoints in the DCI that map to DL only TCI state);
associate each of the second subset of TCI field codepoints with the respective uplink TCI state (Liou, [0074][0076], TCI field codepoints in the DCI that map to UL only TCI state); and
associate each of the third subset of TCI field codepoints with the respective downlink TCI state and the respective uplink TCI state (Liou, [0075], TCI field codepoints in the DCI that map to joint UL/DL TCI state); and
wherein for each TCI state activated via the MAC CE (Liou, [0073], the MAC CE activates TCI state), an associated field is included to indicate whether the activated TCI state applies to uplink only, downlink only, or both downlink and uplink (Liou, [0140-0143], the MAC CE has a field to indicate the activated TCI state [0074]).
As to claim 31, Liou teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the wireless device to: receive the indication that indicates the selected TCI field codepoint in the first subset of TCI field codepoints when receiving the DCI comprising the indication (Liou, [0056][0074], a UE receives DCI with indication of a TCI field. That is a codepoint associated with a TCI state; and update a downlink receive spatial filter based on the respective downlink TCI state associated with the selected TCI field codepoint when performing the one or more actions (Liou, [0045][0067], the spatial filter for transmission/reception is activated/derived based on the TCI codepoint state).
As to claim 32, Liou teaches wherein the downlink receive spatial filter is updated to a downlink receive spatial filter used to receive a downlink source reference signal in a respective downlink TCI state associated with the selected TCI field codepoint (Liou, [0045][0067], the spatial filter for transmission/reception is activated/derived based on the TCI codepoint state).
As to claim 33, Liou teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the wireless device to: receive the indication that indicates the selected TCI field codepoint in the second subset of TCI field codepoints when receiving the DCI comprising the indication (Liou, [0056][0074], a UE receives DCI with indication of a TCI field. That is a codepoint associated with a TCI state (UL only)); and update an uplink transmit spatial filter based on the respective uplink TCI state associated with the selected TCI field codepoint when performing the one or more actions (Liou, [0045][0067], the spatial filter for transmission/reception is activated/derived based on the TCI codepoint state).
As to claim 34, Liou teaches wherein the uplink transmit spatial filter is updated to one of: an uplink transmit spatial filter used to transmit an uplink source reference signal in the respective uplink TCI state associated with the selected TCI field codepoint (Liou, [0045][0067], the spatial filter for transmission/reception is activated/derived based on the TCI codepoint state (in one case UL only TCI state/transmit spatial filter))
As to claim 35, Liou teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the wireless device to: receive the indication that indicates the selected TCI field codepoint in the third subset of TCI field codepoints when receiving the indication (Liou, [0056][0074], a UE receives DCI with indication of a TCI field. That is a codepoint associated with a TCI state (joint UL/DL)); and perform a separate-TCI scheme to thereby update a downlink receive spatial filter and an uplink transmit spatial filter based on the respective downlink TCI state and the respective uplink TCI state associated with the selected TCI field codepoint, respectively, when performing the one or more actions (Liou, [0045][0067], the spatial filter for transmission/reception is activated/derived based on the TCI codepoint state).
As to claim 36, Liou teaches wherein: the downlink receive spatial filter is updated to a downlink receive spatial filter used to receive a downlink source reference signal in a respective downlink TCI state associated with the selected TCI field codepoint (Liou, [0045][0067], the spatial filter for transmission/reception is activated/derived based on the TCI codepoint state); and the uplink transmit spatial filter is updated to one of: an uplink transmit spatial filter used to transmit an uplink source reference signal in the respective uplink TCI state associated with the selected TCI field codepoint (Liou, [0045][0067], the spatial filter for transmission/reception is activated/derived based on the TCI codepoint state (in one case UL only TCI state/transmit spatial filter))
As to claim 37, Liou teaches a method performed by a base station for handling downlink and uplink Transmission Configuration Indicator, TCI, states, the method (Liou, Fig 1 [0200] a method at a base station node for implementing the method of [0006], configuring and using configured TCI states)comprising:
transmitting a Downlink Control Information, DCI, comprising an indication that indicates a selected TCI field codepoint (Liou, [0056][0074], sending downlink to a UE receives DCI with indication of a TCI field)among:
a first subset of TCI field codepoints each associated with a respective downlink TCI state (Liou, [0074][0085], TCI field codepoints in the DCI that map to DL only TCI state);
a second subset of TCI field codepoints each associated with a respective uplink TCI state (Liou, [0074][0076], TCI field codepoints in the DCI that map to UL only TCI state); and
a third subset of TCI field codepoints each associated with a respective downlink TCI state and a respective uplink TCI state (Liou, [0075], TCI field codepoints in the DCI that map to joint UL/DL TCI state), and
wherein the base station configures a wireless device via a Medium Access Control, MAC, Control Element, CE (Liou, [0072], the UE is configured by a MAC CE), and the MAC CE is configured to:
associate each of the first subset of TCI field codepoints with the respective downlink TCI state (Liou, [0074][0085], TCI field codepoints in the DCI that map to DL only TCI state);
associate each of the second subset of TCI field codepoints with the respective uplink TCI state (Liou, [0074][0076], TCI field codepoints in the DCI that map to UL only TCI state); and
associate each of the third subset of TCI field codepoints with the respective downlink TCI state and the respective uplink TCI state (Liou, [0075], TCI field codepoints in the DCI that map to joint UL/DL TCI state); and
wherein for each TCI state activated via the MAC CE (Liou, [0073], the MAC CE activates TCI state), an associated field is included to indicate whether the activated TCI state applies to uplink only, downlink only, or both downlink and uplink (Liou, [0140-0143], the MAC CE has a field to indicate the activated TCI state [0074]).
As to claim 38, Liou teaches wherein transmitting the DCI comprising the indication comprises: transmitting the indication that indicates the selected TCI field codepoint in the first subset of TCI field codepoints, transmitting the indication that indicates the selected TCI field codepoint in the second subset of TCI field codepoints, and/or transmitting the indication that indicates the selected TCI field codepoint in the third subset of TCI field codepoints (Liou, [0045][0067], the spatial filter for transmission/reception is activated/derived based on the TCI codepoint state).
As to claim 39, Liou teaches a base station comprising: processing circuitry configured to cause the base station (Liou, Fig 1 [0200] a base station node for implementing the method of [0006], configuring and using configured TCI states) to:
transmit a Downlink Control Information, DCI, comprising an indication that indicates a selected TCI field codepoint (Liou, [0056][0074], sending downlink to a UE receives DCI with indication of a TCI field) among:
a first subset of TCI field codepoints each associated with a respective downlink TCI state (Liou, [0074][0085], TCI field codepoints in the DCI that map to DL only TCI state);
a second subset of TCI field codepoints each associated with a respective uplink TCI state (Liou, [0074][0076], TCI field codepoints in the DCI that map to UL only TCI state); and
a third subset of TCI field codepoints each associated with a respective downlink TCI state and a respective uplink TCI state (Liou, [0075], TCI field codepoints in the DCI that map to joint UL/DL TCI state); and
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the base station to configure a wireless device via a Medium Access Control, MAC, Control Element, CE (Liou, [0072], the UE is configured by a MAC CE), and the MAC CE is configured to:
associate each of the first subset of TCI field codepoints with the respective downlink TCI state (Liou, [0074][0085], TCI field codepoints in the DCI that map to DL only TCI state);
associate each of the second subset of TCI field codepoints with the respective uplink TCI state (Liou, [0074][0076], TCI field codepoints in the DCI that map to UL only TCI state); and
associate each of the third subset of TCI field codepoints with the respective downlink TCI state and the respective uplink TCI state (Liou, [0075], TCI field codepoints in the DCI that map to joint UL/DL TCI state); and
wherein for each TCI state activated via the MAC CE (Liou, [0073], the MAC CE activates TCI state), an associated field is included to indicate whether the activated TCI state applies to uplink only, downlink only, or both downlink and uplink (Liou, [0140-0143], the MAC CE has a field to indicate the activated TCI state [0074]).
As to claim 40, Liou teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to cause the base station to: transmit the indication that indicates the selected TCI field codepoint in the first subset of TCI field codepoints when transmitting the DCI comprising the indication, transmit the indication that indicates the selected TCI field codepoint in the second subset of TCI field codepoints when transmitting the DCI comprising the indication, and/or transmit the indication that indicates the selected TCI field codepoint in the third subset of TCI field codepoints when transmitting the DCI comprising the indication (Liou, [0045][0067], the spatial filter for transmission/reception is activated/derived based on the TCI codepoint state).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhou et al (Pub No: 2023/0291533) Fig 11
Yu et al (Pub No: 2024/0089943) Fig 3 [0051]-[0100]
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AFSHAWN M TOWFIGHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469