DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-13, 18-20 in the reply filed on 5/11/26 is acknowledged. Claims 14-17 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 C.F.R. 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 3/27/24 have been considered.
Oath/Declaration
Oath/Declaration filed on 10/6/23 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CAI (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0202885).
Referring to figures 3-17, CAI teaches a display panel (10), comprising: a substrate (see paragraph# 4) comprising a first display area (11) and a second display area (12) at least partially surrounding the first display area (11), the first display area (12) being configured for image display and light transmission, the second display area being configured for image display (see figures 5-17); and a light-emitting functional layer (11) on a side of the substrate, comprising an organic electroluminescent layer (see paragraph# 3); wherein each of the first display area (11) and the second display area (12) comprises a plurality of sub-pixels emitting light of different colors, and light-emitting functional layer of respective sub-pixels of the plurality of sub-pixels in the first display area emit light of a same color (see paragraphs# 53-55, 59-60, figures 3-17).
Regarding to claim 2, the plurality of sub-pixels in the first display area comprise at least a first sub-pixel and a second sub-pixel, a color of light emitted from the first sub-pixel being different from a color of light emitted from the second sub- pixel; and the organic electroluminescent layer of the first sub-pixel and the organic electroluminescent layer of the second sub-pixel are formed by a first light-emitting material, wherein a light-emitting color of the first light-emitting material is the same as the color of the light emitted from the first sub-pixel, a light-emitting efficiency of the first light-emitting material is greater than a light-emitting efficiency of a second light-emitting material, and a light-emitting color of the second light-emitting material is the same as the color of the light emitted from the second sub-pixel (see paragraphs# 53-55, 59-60, figures 3-17).
Regarding to claim 3, the plurality of sub-pixels in the first display area comprise an R sub-pixel emitting red light, a G sub-pixel emitting green light, and a B sub-pixel emitting blue light; and the organic electroluminescent layers of the respective sub-pixels of the plurality of sub-pixels in the first display area emit green light (see paragraphs# 53-55, 59-60, figures 3-17).
Regarding to claim 18, a display device, comprising a display panel, wherein the display panel comprises: a substrate comprising a first display area (11) and a second display (12) area at least partially surrounding the first display area, the first display area being configured for image display and light transmission, the second display area being configured for image display display (see figures 5-17); and a light-emitting functional layer (11b) on a side of the substrate, comprising an organic electroluminescent layer; wherein each of the first display area and the second display area comprises a plurality of sub-pixels emitting light of different colors, and organic electroluminescent layers of respective sub-pixels of the plurality of sub-pixels in the first display area emit light of a same color (see paragraphs# 53-55, 59-60, figures 3-17).
Regarding to claim 19, the plurality of sub- pixels in the first display area comprise at least a first sub-pixel and a second sub-pixel, a color of light emitted from the first sub-pixel being different from a color of light emitted from the second sub-pixel; and the organic electroluminescent layer of the first sub-pixel and the organic electroluminescent layer of the second sub-pixel are formed by a first light-emitting material, wherein a light-emitting color of the first light-emitting material is the same as the color of the light emitted from the first sub-pixel, a light-emitting efficiency of the first light-emitting material is greater than a light-emitting efficiency of a second light-emitting material, and a light-emitting color of the second light-emitting material is the same as the color of the light emitted from the second sub-pixel (see paragraphs# 53-55, 59-60, figures 3-17).
Regarding to claim 20, the plurality of sub-pixels in the first display area comprise an R sub-pixel emitting red light, a G sub-pixel emitting green light, and a B sub-pixel emitting blue light; and the organic electroluminescent layers of the respective sub-pixels of the plurality of sub- pixels in the first display area emit green light (see paragraphs# 53-55, 59-60, figures 3-17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CAI (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0202885) as applied to claims 1-3 above, in view of ZHANG et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0225949) and further in view of Cho et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0208863).
Referring to figures 1-17, CAI teaches a display panel (10), comprising: a substrate (see paragraph# 4) comprising a first display area (11) and a second display area (12) at least partially surrounding the first display area (11), the first display area (12) being configured for image display and light transmission, the second display area being configured for image display (see figures 5-17); and a light-emitting functional layer (11) on a side of the substrate, comprising an organic electroluminescent layer (see paragraph# 3); wherein each of the first display area (11) and the second display area (12) comprises a plurality of sub-pixels emitting light of different colors, and light-emitting functional layer of respective sub-pixels of the plurality of sub-pixels in the first display area emit light of a same color (see paragraphs# 53-55, 59-60, figures 3-17).
However, the reference does not clearly teach the specific thickness of the light emitting functional layer and adjustment layer (in claims 4-6), the pixel resolution and the specific ratio of the resolution(in claim 7-8).
The specific thickness of the light emitting functional layer and adjustment layer, the specific ratio of the resolution is obvious because it is a matter of determining optimum process condition by routine experimentation with a limited number of species. ln re Jones, 162 USPQ 224 (CCPA 1955)(the selection of optimum ranges within prior art general conditions is obvious) and In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)(discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in a known process is obvious). In such a situation, applicant must show that the particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to prior art range. See M.P.E.P 2144.05 III. In particular, Zhang et al. suggest that the specific length of the microcavity, the peak wavelength can be optimized (see paragraphs# 49, 53).
Cho et al. teaches a pixel resolution of the first display area is the same as a pixel resolution of the second display area (see paragraph# 83, meeting claim 7), The specific ratio of the resolution is obvious because it is a matter of determining optimum process condition by routine experimentation with a limited number of species. ln re Jones, 162 USPQ 224 (CCPA 1955)(the selection of optimum ranges within prior art general conditions is obvious) and In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)(discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in a known process is obvious). In such a situation, applicant must show that the particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to prior art range. See M.P.E.P 2144.05 III. In particular, Cho et al. suggest that the specific resolution ratio can be optimized (see paragraphs# 117, 159, 164).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the requisite art at the time of the invention was filed would form the specific thickness for the layer in CAI as taught by CHO et al. because it is known in the art to maintain image quality while providing the light-transmitting/component area.
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CAI (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0202885) as applied to claims 1-3 above, in view of ZHANG et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0225949).
Referring to figures 1-17, CAI teaches a display panel (10), comprising: a substrate (see paragraph# 4) comprising a first display area (11) and a second display area (12) at least partially surrounding the first display area (11), the first display area (12) being configured for image display and light transmission, the second display area being configured for image display (see figures 5-17); and a light-emitting functional layer (11) on a side of the substrate, comprising an organic electroluminescent layer (see paragraph# 3); wherein each of the first display area (11) and the second display area (12) comprises a plurality of sub-pixels emitting light of different colors, and light-emitting functional layer of respective sub-pixels of the plurality of sub-pixels in the first display area emit light of a same color (see paragraphs# 53-55, 59-60, figures 3-17).
However, the reference does not clearly teach a first organic layer between the organic electroluminescent layer and the substrate; a light-emitting adjustment layer between the organic electroluminescent layer and the first organic layer; and a second organic layer on a side of the organic electroluminescent layer away from the substrate, covering the organic electroluminescent layer (in claim 9).
Zhang et al. teaches the light-emitting functional layer (6) further comprises: a first organic layer (61/62) between the organic electroluminescent layer (63/64/65) and the substrate (1); a light-emitting adjustment layer between the organic electroluminescent layer and the first organic layer (see paragraph# 53); and a second organic layer on a side of the organic electroluminescent layer away from the substrate, covering the organic electroluminescent layer; (see figure 2, paragraphs# 53) and wherein the display panel further comprises: a first electrode layer (5) between the substrate and the first organic layer(6); and a second electrode layer (7) on a side of the second organic layer away from the substrate, covering the second organic layer (see figures 1-2); wherein the stacked first electrode layer, the first organic layer, the light-emitting adjustment layer, the organic electroluminescent layer, the second organic layer, and the second electrode layer form a microcavity of the sub-pixel, with a length of the microcavity of the R sub-pixel, a length of the microcavity of the G sub-pixel, and a length of the microcavity of the B sub-pixel decreasing in sequence in the first display area (see figure 1-3, paragraphs# 47-49, meeting claim 9), the length of the microcavity of the R sub-pixel in the first display area, is greater than a length of a microcavity of a R sub-pixel in the second display area; the length of the microcavity of the G sub-pixel in the first display area, is equal to a length of a microcavity of a B sub-pixel in the second display area; and the length of the microcavity of the B sub-pixel in the first display area, is greater than a length of a microcavity of the B sub-pixel in the second display area (see figure 1-3, paragraphs# 47-49, meeting claim 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the requisite art at the time of the invention was filed would to form microcavity between the reflective layer and electrode as taught by Zhang in CAI because it is known in the sart to improve the optical performance of the display device.
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CAI (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0202885) in view of ZHANG et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0225949) and further in view of KIM et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0204355).
Referring to figures 1-17, CAI teaches a display panel (10), comprising: a substrate (see paragraph# 4) comprising a first display area (11) and a second display area (12) at least partially surrounding the first display area (11), the first display area (12) being configured for image display and light transmission, the second display area being configured for image display (see figures 5-17); and a light-emitting functional layer (11) on a side of the substrate, comprising an organic electroluminescent layer (see paragraph# 3); wherein each of the first display area (11) and the second display area (12) comprises a plurality of sub-pixels emitting light of different colors, and light-emitting functional layer of respective sub-pixels of the plurality of sub-pixels in the first display area emit light of a same color (see paragraphs# 53-55, 59-60, figures 3-17).
However, the reference does not clearly teach the specific length of the microcavity (in claim 11), the peak wavelength (in claim 12) and a value of a Y color coordinate CIE ( in claim 13)
Regarding to claim 13, in the first display area, a value of a Y coordinate in a Commission Internationale de leclairage (CIE) color model of the B sub-pixel is less than or equal to 0.075 (see paragraph# 79).
In re claims 10-13, the specific length of the microcavity, the peak wavelength and a value of a Y color coordinate CIE is obvious because it is a matter of determining optimum process condition by routine experimentation with a limited number of species. ln re Jones, 162 USPQ 224 (CCPA 1955)(the selection of optimum ranges within prior art general conditions is obvious) and In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)(discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in a known process is obvious). In such a situation, applicant must show that the particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to prior art range. See M.P.E.P 2144.05 III. In particular, Zhang et al. suggest that the specific length of the microcavity, the peak wavelength can be optimized (see paragraphs# 49, 53).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the requisite art at the time of the invention was filed would form the specific length of the microcavity, the peak wavelength and a value of a Y color coordinate CIE in CAI because it is known in the art that choosing an optimum ranges for microcavity/wavelength is known in the display device.
Conclusion
/THANH T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893