DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2-3-2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits: “It is not clear that all of the subject matter in Liao that the Office Action cites is found in Liao's provisional application. For example, with respect to the "determining whether a tracking reference signal" step of claim 34, the Office Action cites Liao's element 730, which is found in Liao's Figure 7, and paragraph 0046, which describes that figure. Liao's Figure 7 and accompanying description are not found in Liao' s provisional application.”; the examiner’s position is that support for Liao’s step 730, can be found starting page 3, for example. Discloses SIB indicating availability information with a single signal or two-stage signaling; thereby, the determination is going to be base on the received information.
Regarding the argument: “Liao refers to an "indication active window," but uses this term to refer to a window in which TRS is present and valid, not a window in which availability information is present. (See Liao's Figure 4, 0009, 0016, 0032, 0039, 0040.) So, Liao's UE receives system information, and uses it to determine whether an indication active window is present, and then measures the TRS in the indication active window.”. As indicated in the previous paragraph, Liao discloses indicating availability information with one or two-stage signaling, in two-stage signaling, SIBx is a window in which availability information is present; thereby, reading in the argued limitation.
The rest of the arguments they fall for the same reasons as shown above. The rejection on record stands.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 34-44, 46-56 and 58-59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liao 20220303089.
As to claim 34, Liao discloses a method, performed by a user equipment (UE) [110], for receiving tracking reference signals (TRS) transmitted by a network node [121] in a wireless network [120], the method comprising (see fig. 1):
receiving, from the network node, system information including a configuration for tracking reference signals, the configuration specifying a plurality of occasions at which the network node may transmit tracking reference signals, wherein the system information further specifies at least a first window in which availability information for a tracking reference signal according to the configuration will be signaled; receiving availability information during the at least a first window [720] (see par. 0041-0044, 0046); and
determining whether a tracking reference signal is available, based on the received availability information [730] (see par.0046).
As to claim 35, Liao discloses the method of claim 34, wherein the method further comprises receiving the tracking reference signal in response to determining that the tracking reference signal is available [740] (see fig. 4-6; par. 0046).
As to claim 36, Liao discloses the method of claim 34, wherein the availability information received during the first window indicates availability of a tracking reference signal during a second window, differing from the first window [info valid until updated or changed] (see par. 0040-0042, 0046).
As to claim 37, Liao discloses the method of claim 34, wherein the availability information received during the first window indicates availability of a tracking reference signal for each of a plurality of windows or occasions [info valid until updated or changed] (see par. 0040-0042, 0046).
As to claim 38, Liao discloses the method of claim 34, wherein the availability information is received via a field in downlink control information (DCI) or via a paging early indicator (PEI) (see fig. 4-6; par. 0008).
As to claim 39, Liao discloses the method of claim 34, wherein the first window defines a validity time for the availability information, the validity time representing a time for which the availability information is applicable (see fig. 4-6; par. 0009, 0032).
As to claim 40, Liao discloses the method of claim 39, wherein the availability information received during the first window includes a parameter indicating the validity time for the availability information, the validity time representing a time for which the availability information is applicable (see fig. 4-6; par. 0009, 0032).
As to claim 41, Liao discloses the method of claim 39, wherein the validity time is referenced to a time at which the availability information is received (see fig. 4-6; par. 0009, 0032).
As to claim 42, Liao discloses the method of claim 41, wherein the validity time is referenced to the start or end of the first window (see fig. 4-6; par. 0009, 0032, 0039).
As to claim 43, Liao discloses the method of claim 39, wherein the validity time is based on a configured length of time (see fig. 4-6; par. 0009, 0032, 0039).
As to claim 44, Liao discloses the method of claim 43, wherein the configured length is indicated by the configuration for tracking reference signals (see fig. 4-6; par. 0009, 0032, 0039).
As to claim 46, Liao discloses the method of claim 39, where the validity time is a default value (see fig. 4-6; par. 0009, 0032, 0039).
Regarding claims 47-56, they are the corresponding network node’s method claims of UE’s method claims 34, 36-44. Therefore, claims 47-56 are rejected for the same reasons as shown above.
Regarding claims, 58-59 they are the corresponding user equipment claims and network node claims of method claims 34 and 47. Therefore, claims 58-59 are rejected for the same reasons as shown above and fig 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 45 and 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao in view of Ingale 20190223094.
As to claims 45 and 57, Liao discloses the method wherein the validity time is defined as default paging cycle (see fig. 4-6; par. 0009, 0032, 0039). Liao fails to disclose an integer multiple of a paging cycle. In an analogous art, Ingale discloses an integer multiple of a paging cycle (see par. 0256). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to use an integer multiple of a paging cycle for the simple purpose of an easy alignment of the cycle.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MARCOS L. TORRES
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/MARCOS L TORRES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647