DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Oh et al (US 2020/0379607).
With respect to Claim 6, Oh et al discloses a multilayer body for an image display device (Figures 6-7) comprising a wiring substrate (Figure 6, 200 and 285) including a substrate having transparency (Figure 6, 285, paragraph 109) and a mesh wiring layer (Figure 6, 300) disposed on the substrate (Figure 6, 285) ; and a dielectric layer (Figure 6, 290) stacked on the wiring substrate (Figure 6, 200 and 285), wherein the dielectric layer has a thickness of 50 micron or more and 500 micron or less (Table 2 on page 6, where dielectric layer thicknesses of 50, 100, 200, 300, 400 and 500 microns are disclosed). See Figures 6-7 and corresponding text, especially paragraphs 52-70 and 108-119.
With respect to Claim 9, Oh et al discloses “a self-luminous display device stacked on a dielectric layer side of the multilayer body for an image display device”. See Figure 7, 400 and corresponding text, especially paragraphs 113-114.
With respect to Claim 10, Oh et al discloses “wherein a touch sensor is disposed between the self-luminous display device and the dielectric layer of the multilayer body for an image display device”. See Figure 7, 200 and corresponding text, especially paragraph 71.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al (US 2020/0379607).
With respect to Claim 1, Oh et al discloses a multilayer body for an image display device (Figures 6-7) comprising a wiring substrate (Figure 6, 200 and 285) including a substrate having transparency (Figure 6, 285, paragraph 109) and a mesh wiring layer (Figure 6, 300) disposed on the substrate (Figure 6, 285) ; and a dielectric layer (Figure 6, 290, which can include a multi-layered structure of two-or more layers, paragraph 52) stacked on the wiring substrate (Figure 6, 200 and 285). Moreover, Oh et al discloses the dielectric layer (290) may have a thickness of 200 microns, and can be formed of multiple layers. See paragraphs 52 and 54. See Figures 6-7 and corresponding text, especially paragraphs 52-70 and 108-119.
However, Oh et al does not explicitly disclose “wherein the dielectric layer and the substrate have a total thickness of 50 micron or more and 500 micron or less”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention to arrive at the claimed dimension, as where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See Allen et al v. Coe, 57 USPQ 136. In the present case, the determination of the thickness of the layers would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art depending on the function of the individual layers which is desired (i.e. greater thickness for more insulation). Moreover, the use of a stack of multiple dielectric layers would result in thicknesses of 100 microns or less for the individual layers. Furthermore, the Examiner notes that changes in size are prima facie obvious. See In re Rose, 220 F 2d 459 (CCPA 1955).
With respect to Claim 2, and the limitation “wherein the dielectric layer has a dielectric constant of 3.5 or less”, Oh et al discloses overlapping ranges. See paragraph 53 (1.5 to 12 dielectric constant). Overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious. See In re Wertheim, 541 F2d 257 (1976).
With respect to Claim 4, Oh et al discloses “a self-luminous display device stacked on a dielectric layer side of the multilayer body for an image display device”. See Figure 7, 400 and corresponding text, especially paragraphs 113-114.
With respect to Claim 5, Oh et al discloses “wherein a touch sensor is disposed between the self-luminous display device and the dielectric layer of the multilayer body for an image display device”. See Figure 7, 200 and corresponding text, especially paragraph 71.
With respect to Claim 7, Claim 7 is rejected for the reasons as discussed above with respect to Claim 6.
With respect to the limitation “wherein the dielectric layer has a dielectric constant of 3.5 or less”, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to arrive at the claimed limitation, as Oh et al discloses overlapping ranges. See paragraph 53 (1.5 to 12 dielectric constant). Overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious. See In re Wertheim, 541 F2d 257 (1976).
Claims 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et (US 2020/0379607) as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Choi (US 2018/0039361).
Oh et al is relied upon as discussed with respect to Claims 1 and 6.
However, Oh et al do not disclose wherein the dielectric layer includes a polarizing plate as required by the Claims at hand.
Choi also pertains to a laminate in a similar display device, and discloses the use of a polarizing plate in a dielectric, and its benefit in filtering light. See paragraphs 22 and 41-48.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to use a polarizing plate in the device of Oh et al, for its known benefit of filtering light as disclosed by Choi. The use of a known component, polarizing plate, for its known benefit, filtering light would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With respect to Claim 3, the combined references make obvious wherein the dielectric layer includes a polarizing plate. See paragraphs 22 and 41-48 of Choi.
With respect to Claim 8, the combined references make obvious wherein the dielectric layer includes a polarizing plate. See paragraphs 22 and 41-48 of Choi.
Conclusion
AGG
February 6, 2025
/ALEXANDER G GHYKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812