DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 5/22/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the “magnetic field gradient attenuation module” is a special technical feature because Ravenhall does not disclose such a module. This is not found persuasive. As currently claimed, the “magnetic field gradient attenuation module” only requires a single coil that generates a magnetic field in a region where laser light reflected by the mirror interacts. Ravenhall demonstrates such a coil. As such, claim 1 does not currently include a special technical feature.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 5, 8-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a magnetic field generation apparatus…” in claim 1. The disclosure describes such an apparatus as a coil or a permanent magnet of tubular chape.
“a magnetic field gradient attenuation module…” in claim 1. The disclosure describes such an apparatus as
a coil having a shape similar to an anti-Helmholtz coil, and in which the current flows in a direction opposite to an anti-Helmholtz coil;
a permanent magnet of tubular chape polarized in a direction opposite to that of the permanent magnet of the tubular shape; or
a soft magnet with high permeability, that locally attenuates a magnetic field gradient therein by absorbing a magnetic flux therein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2019/0148028 A1 [Ravenhall].
Regarding Claim 1:
Ravenhall discloses a slow atomic beam generation (Fig. 1) apparatus comprising:
a high-temperature tank comprising an atomic source (Fig. 1 (7), paras 90, 92),
an optical window provided at one end and which passes laser light (Fig. 1 (13), para 84), and
a mirror provided at the other end (Fig. 1 (15)), which has an opening at an apex thereof (Fig. 1 (23)), and which reflects laser light incident through the optical window toward the one end at portions other than the opening (as shown in Fig. 1);
a heater that heats the high-temperature tank, to generate an atomic gas in the high-temperature tank from the atomic source (para 90);
a magnetic field generation apparatus that generates a magnetic field in a region where the laser light reflected by the mirror intersects (see anti-Helmholtz coil in annotated Fig. 1 below); and
a magnetic field gradient attenuation module which locally attenuates a magnetic field gradient generated by the magnetic field generator apparatus at the opening (see coil having a shape similar to an anti-Helmholtz coil in annotated Fig. 1 below),
wherein an atomic beam is formed from an atomic gas using a magneto-optical trap realized by the laser light and the magnetic field, and is emitted to an outside through the opening (Fig. 1 (27)).
Regarding Claim 2:
Ravenhall discloses the slow atomic beam generation apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the magnetic field generation apparatus is an anti-Helmholtz coil which forms the magnetic field gradient (see annotated Fig. 1 above), and
the magnetic field gradient attenuation module is a coil having a shape similar to the anti-Helmholtz coil (see annotated Fig. 1 above), and in which a current flows in a direction opposite to that of the anti-Helmholtz coil (para 41).
Regarding Claim 7:
Ravenhall discloses the slow atomic beam generation apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the atomic source is ytterbium. Para 92.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ravenhall in view of US 2018/0321641 A1 [Boyd].
Regarding Claim 6:
Ravenhall teaches the slow atomic beam generation apparatus according to claim 1, but fails to teach that the atomic source is strontium.
Boyd describes another atom source (Fig. 1 (118)) for providing atoms for trapping, cooling, atomic clocks, etc. Abstract, Fig. 1, et al. Boyd specifies that the atomic source provides alkaline earth atoms such as strontium. Para 31. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to use the strontium source of Boyd in Ravenhall since this would allow Ravenhall to produce a strontium beam (27) for use in downstream atomic clocks or other devices.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
WYATT STOFFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881