DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 6, 2023, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 11, 15, 47 and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KHOSHNEVISAN (US 20220094389 A1).
Regarding claim 1, KHOSHNEVISAN teaches a method performed by a wireless device, the method comprising: receiving configuration information to be utilized to communicate with a base station (Fig. 4, [0062] A UE 402 may receive, from a base station 404, a PUCCH resource IE 406 for a PUCCH resource. [0049] The PUCCH carries uplink control information (UCI).), the configuration information including information indicating whether frequency hopping, associated with transmission of control information via a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), is enabled or disabled ([0062] The PUCCH resource IE 406…indicating a PUCCH resource intra-slot frequency hopping configuration. [0064] the UE 402 may determine the mode to be mode 0 (no frequency hopping) if intraSlotFrequencyHopping is disabled and to be mode 1 (frequency hopping) if intraSlotFrequencyHopping is enabled.); and transmitting control information via the PUCCH based on whether the frequency hopping is enabled or disabled ([0062] Subsequently, the UE 402 may transmit a PUCCH 416 on the PUCCH resource based on the determined mode.)
Regarding claim 2, KHOSHNEVISAN teaches the method of claim 1, wherein an information element included in a system information block of the configuration information indicates whether frequency hopping is enabled or disabled (Fig. 4, [0062] A UE 402 may receive, from a base station 404, a PUCCH resource IE 406 for a PUCCH resource indicating a PUCCH resource intra-slot frequency hopping configuration. [0064] The PUCCH resource IE 406 (including the startingPRB, secondHopPRB, and intraSlotFrequencyHopping fields) is configured semi-statically through RRC signaling. [0050] The controller/processor 375 (of the base station in Fig. 3) provides RRC layer functionality associated with broadcasting of system information (e.g., MIB, SIBs). (Thus the information element is included in a system information block). [0064] the UE 402 may determine the mode to be mode 0 (no frequency hopping) if intraSlotFrequencyHopping is disabled and to be mode 1 (frequency hopping) if intraSlotFrequencyHopping is enabled.).
Regarding claim 4, KHOSHNEVISAN teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting the control information via the PUCCH by utilizing the frequency hopping when the frequency hopping is enabled; and transmitting the control information via the PUCCH without utilizing the frequency hopping when the frequency hopping is disabled ([0060] For a PUCCH transmission within a PUCCH resource in a given slot, the UE 402 may determine/switch between different modes of operations. [0063] In a mode 0 (first mode) 502, there is no frequency hopping and no beam hopping. The UE 402 may transmit the PUCCH for a first beam (beam 1) at the starting PRB within N symbols. In a mode 1 (second mode) 504, there is frequency hopping and no beam hopping. The UE 402 may transmit the PUCCH through a first beam (beam 1) at the starting PRB within [N/2] (floor of N/2) symbols and through the first beam (beam 1) at the second hop PRB within N−[N/2] symbols. See Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 11, KHOSHNEVISAN teaches a method performed by a base station, the method comprising: transmitting configuration information to be utilized by a wireless device to communicate with the base station (Fig. 4, [0062] A UE 402 may receive, from a base station 404, a PUCCH resource IE 406 for a PUCCH resource. [0049] The PUCCH carries uplink control information (UCI).), the configuration information including information indicating whether frequency hopping, associated with transmission of control information via a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), is enabled or disabled ([0062] The PUCCH resource IE 406…indicating a PUCCH resource intra-slot frequency hopping configuration. [0064] the UE 402 may determine the mode to be mode 0 (no frequency hopping) if intraSlotFrequencyHopping is disabled and to be mode 1 (frequency hopping) if intraSlotFrequencyHopping is enabled.); and receiving control information via the PUCCH based on whether the frequency hopping is enabled or disabled ([0062] Subsequently, the UE 402 may transmit a PUCCH 416 on the PUCCH resource based on the determined mode.)
Regarding claim 15, KHOSHNEVISAN teaches a wireless device comprising: processing circuitry (Application Processor 906) configured to perform operations comprising: receiving configuration information to be utilized to communicate with a base station (Fig. 4, [0062] A UE 402 may receive, from a base station 404, a PUCCH resource IE 406 for a PUCCH resource. [0049] The PUCCH carries uplink control information (UCI).), the configuration information including information indicating whether frequency hopping, associated with transmission of control information via a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), is enabled or disabled ([0062] The PUCCH resource IE 406…indicating a PUCCH resource intra-slot frequency hopping configuration. [0064] the UE 402 may determine the mode to be mode 0 (no frequency hopping) if intraSlotFrequencyHopping is disabled and to be mode 1 (frequency hopping) if intraSlotFrequencyHopping is enabled.); and transmitting control information via the PUCCH based on whether the frequency hopping is enabled or disabled ([0062] Subsequently, the UE 402 may transmit a PUCCH 416 on the PUCCH resource based on the determined mode); and power supply circuitry configured to supply power to the wireless device ([0077] FIG. 9 is a diagram 900 illustrating an example of a hardware implementation for an apparatus 902. The apparatus 902 may be a UE…which includes… a power supply 918).
Regarding claim 47, KHOSHNEVISAN teaches the wireless device of claim 15, wherein an information element included in a system information block of the configuration information indicates whether frequency hopping is enabled or disabled (Fig. 4, [0062] A UE 402 may receive, from a base station 404, a PUCCH resource IE 406 for a PUCCH resource indicating a PUCCH resource intra-slot frequency hopping configuration. [0064] The PUCCH resource IE 406 (including the startingPRB, secondHopPRB, and intraSlotFrequencyHopping fields) is configured semi-statically through RRC signaling. [0050] The controller/processor 375 (of the base station in Fig. 3) provides RRC layer functionality associated with broadcasting of system information (e.g., MIB, SIBs). (Thus the information element is included in a system information block). [0064] the UE 402 may determine the mode to be mode 0 (no frequency hopping) if intraSlotFrequencyHopping is disabled and to be mode 1 (frequency hopping) if intraSlotFrequencyHopping is enabled.).
Regarding claim 49, KHOSHNEVISAN teaches the wireless device of claim 15, further comprising: transmitting the control information via the PUCCH by utilizing the frequency hopping when the frequency hopping is enabled; and transmitting the control information via the PUCCH without utilizing the frequency hopping when the frequency hopping is disabled ([0060] For a PUCCH transmission within a PUCCH resource in a given slot, the UE 402 may determine/switch between different modes of operations. [0063] In a mode 0 (first mode) 502, there is no frequency hopping and no beam hopping. The UE 402 may transmit the PUCCH for a first beam (beam 1) at the starting PRB within N symbols. In a mode 1 (second mode) 504, there is frequency hopping and no beam hopping. The UE 402 may transmit the PUCCH through a first beam (beam 1) at the starting PRB within [N/2] (floor of N/2) symbols and through the first beam (beam 1) at the second hop PRB within N−[N/2] symbols. See Fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KHOSHNEVISAN in view of Liu (US 20240187037 A1); hereinafter Liu1.
Regarding claim 3, KHOSHNEVISAN teaches the method of claim 1, but does not teach wherein receiving the configuration information, including the information indicating whether frequency hopping is enabled or disabled, includes receiving the configuration information dynamically.
Liu1 in the same field of endeavor of enabling/disabling frequency hopping for PUCCH transmissions teaches wherein receiving the configuration information, including the information indicating whether frequency hopping is enabled or disabled, includes receiving the configuration information dynamically (A DCI format which schedules the corresponding PDSCH may include a frequency hopping flag field. The frequency hopping flag field can be included in the frequency domain resource allocation field and can be used to indicate whether the determined frequency hopping is enabled or disabled for the PUCCH transmission.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the method of dynamically enabling/disabling frequency hopping of Liu with the teachings of KHOSHNEVISAN. The motivation to do so would have been to improve reception/transmission reliability and coverage and provide the communication flexibility and efficiency. (Liu1; [0004]).
Regarding claim 48 KHOSHNEVISAN teaches the wireless device of claim 15, wherein receiving the configuration information, including the information indicating whether frequency hopping is enabled or disabled, includes receiving the configuration information dynamically.
Liu1 in the same field of endeavor of enabling/disabling frequency hopping for PUCCH transmissions teaches wherein receiving the configuration information, including the information indicating whether frequency hopping is enabled or disabled, includes receiving the configuration information dynamically (A DCI format which schedules the corresponding PDSCH may include a frequency hopping flag field. The frequency hopping flag field can be included in the frequency domain resource allocation field and can be used to indicate whether the determined frequency hopping is enabled or disabled for the PUCCH transmission.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the method of dynamically enabling/disabling frequency hopping of Liu with the teachings of KHOSHNEVISAN. The motivation to do so would have been to improve reception/transmission reliability and coverage and provide the communication flexibility and efficiency. (Liu1; [0004]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 20200084768 A1); hereinafter Liu2 in view of Hou (US 20230254868 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Liu2 teaches a method performed by a wireless device, the method comprising:
receiving configuration information to be utilized to communicate with a base station ([0170] In this example, a base station 14, 20 can allocate a wideband allocation of resources to a UE 12 by specifying the RIV and/or other parameters, and the resource allocation component 40 can determine the wideband allocation based on receiving the RIV (e.g., in a configuration or other communication from the base station 14, 20)), the configuration information including information indicating a first size or a first location associated with a first initial bandwidth part (BWP) configured for the wireless device ([0170] For example, the UE 12 can be configured to use wideband RIV for flexible starting point RB.sub.START (first location) over uplink system bandwidth N.sub.RB.sup.UL, (first initial BWP) such that for FDD, RIV N.sub.RB.sup.UL(L.sub.CRBs−1)+RB.sub.START with the allocated size of L.sub.CRBs=1, 2, . . . , 6, and for TDD, RIV=N.sub.RB.sup.UL(L.sub.CRBs−2)+RB.sub.START with L.sub.CRBs=2, 32, . . . , 6) and a second size or a second location associated with a second initial BWP configured for another wireless device ([0171] Additionally, in this regard, the resource allocation component 40 can determine narrowband allocations (indicating a second size or a second location associated with a second initial BWP configured for another wireless device) based on a configured set of resources, which may be configured based on a wireless communication standard, specified by a base station 14, 20 in a configuration to the UE 12, etc. For example, the narrowband allocations can be indicated by one or more parameters configured for the UE 12 (e.g., as NB indices and RIVs within the dedicated narrowband) or otherwise discernable based on the wireless communication standard or specification. The NB indices can have corresponding frequency locations (second location) on a system bandwidth allocated to the wireless communication system (second initial BWP) used by the base stations 14, 20 and/or UE 12 (e.g., 5G NR, UMTS LTE, etc.)) and
transmitting, by selectively utilizing frequency hopping, uplink data based on the first size of the first initial BWP and the second size of the second initial BWP or based on the first location of the first initial BWP and the second location of the second initial BWP (Fig. 20, [0173] At block 2006, the method 2000 may include determining whether to apply the frequency hopping offset to the wideband allocation in communicating uplink data. For example, WB hopping component 52 can determine whether to apply the frequency hopping offset based on comparing one or more properties of the wideband allocation (first size or first location of the first initial BWP) to properties of the narrowband allocation (second size or second location of the second initial BWP), such as a location of resources of the wideband allocation in a frequency spectrum as compared to frequency locations of resources of the narrowband allocations. [0205] Where it is determined to apply the frequency hopping offset at block 2006, at block 2008 method 2000 includes applying the frequency hopping offset using one or more frequency hopping schemes. [0208] Moreover, this can include communicating the uplink data over the frequency resources with the frequency hopping offset applied in a given slot, subframe, or other collection of symbols over which the hopping is to occur. [0209] Where it is determined to not apply the frequency hopping offset at block 2006, at block 2012 method 2000 includes communicating the uplink data over resources related to the wideband allocation without applying the frequency hopping offset.).
Liu2 does not explicitly teach the uplink data is control information via a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH).
Hou in the same field of endeavor of PUCCH transmissions for reduced capability devices teaches the uplink data is control information via a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) ([0020] the terminal device sends uplink control information on the PUCCH resource indicated by the second indication information.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include implementation 1 where the First PUCCH Resource Set is the Same as the Second PUCCH Resource Set, to the teachings of Liu2. The motivation to do so would have been so that the two types of terminal devices can reuse the same PUCCH resource set, to reduce PUCCH resource overheads in a network or a cell and improve resource utilization in the network or the cell (Hou; [0156]).
Regarding claim 6, Liu2 and Hou teach the method of claim 5 but Liu2 does not teach wherein the wireless device transmits the control information via the PUCCH by utilizing the frequency hopping when the first size and the second size are substantially the same.
Hou in the same field of endeavor of PUCCH transmissions for reduced capability devices teaches wherein the wireless device transmits the control information via the PUCCH by utilizing the frequency hopping when the first size and the second size are substantially the same ([0138] The First PUCCH Resource Set is the Same as the Second PUCCH Resource Set. [0139] In this implementation, locations of the first PUCCH resource set and the second PUCCH resource set overlap in frequency domain and time domain (i.e. first size and second size are substantially the same). [0145] Further, the terminal device may determine, from the first PUCCH resource set in the following manners, a PRB location of a PUCCH resource for transmitting the PUCCH. [0146] If └r.sub.PUCCH/8┘=0,
a PRB in which a PUCCH resource for a first frequency hopping transmission is located is RB.sub.BWP.sup.offset+└r.sub.PUCCH/N.sub.CS┘; and
a PRB in which a PUCCH resource for a second frequency hopping transmission is located is N.sub.BWP.sup.size−1−RB.sub.BWP.sup.offset−└r.sub.PUCCH/N.sub.CS┘. (Meaning, frequency hopping is performed.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include implementation 1 where the First PUCCH Resource Set is the Same as the Second PUCCH Resource Set, to the teachings of Liu2. The motivation to do so would have been so that the two types of terminal devices can reuse the same PUCCH resource set, to reduce PUCCH resource overheads in a network or a cell and improve resource utilization in the network or the cell (Hou; [0156]).
Regarding claim 9 Liu2 and Hou teach the method of claim 5, and Liu2 teaches wherein whether the frequency hopping is enabled or disabled is based on a presence of another wireless device in a cell associated with the base station ([0207] In another example, applying the frequency hopping offset can include determining whether to consider compatibility with legacy UEs (a presence of another wireless device in a cell), which can be enabled by higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling from a base station). In this example, where WB hopping component 52 determines to consider compatibility with legacy UEs, WB hopping component 52 can apply hopping according to one of the schemes above. Where WB hopping component 52 determines to not consider compatibility with legacy UEs, WB hopping component 52 can apply hopping as ƒ.sub.NB,hop.sup.PUSCH=6(ƒ.sub.NB,hop.sup.PUSCH mod N.sub.NB).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 20200084768 A1); hereinafter Liu2 in view of Hou (US 20230254868 A1); further in view of KHOSHNEVISAN (US 20220094389 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Liu2 in view of Hou teaches the method of claim 9, but does not teach wherein an information element included in a system information block of the configuration information indicates whether the frequency hopping is enabled or disabled.
KHOSHNEVISAN in the same field of endeavor of frequency hopping for PUCCH transmissions teaches wherein an information element included in a system information block of the configuration information indicates whether the frequency hopping is enabled or disabled (Fig. 4, [0062] A UE 402 may receive, from a base station 404, a PUCCH resource IE 406 for a PUCCH resource indicating a PUCCH resource intra-slot frequency hopping configuration. [0064] The PUCCH resource IE 406 (including the startingPRB, secondHopPRB, and intraSlotFrequencyHopping fields) is configured semi-statically through RRC signaling. [0050] The controller/processor 375 (of the base station in Fig. 3) provides RRC layer functionality associated with broadcasting of system information (e.g., MIB, SIBs). (Thus, the information element is included in a system information block). [0064] the UE 402 may determine the mode to be mode 0 (no frequency hopping) if intraSlotFrequencyHopping is disabled and to be mode 1 (frequency hopping) if intraSlotFrequencyHopping is enabled.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the information element indicating whether the frequency hopping is enabled or disabled to the configuration information of Liu2 and Hou. The motivation to do so would have been to facilitate in determining a mode associated with frequency hopping and beam hopping. (KHOSHNEVISAN; [0007]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 20200084768 A1); hereinafter Liu2 in view of Hou (US 20230254868 A1); further in view of Liu (US 20240187037 A1); hereinafter Liu1.
Regarding claim 13 Liu2 in view of Hou teaches the method of claim 9, but does not teach wherein transmitting the configuration information, including the information indicating whether the frequency hopping is enabled or disabled, includes transmitting the configuration information dynamically.
Liu1 in the same field of endeavor of enabling/disabling frequency hopping for PUCCH transmissions teaches wherein receiving the configuration information, including the information indicating whether frequency hopping is enabled or disabled, includes receiving the configuration information dynamically (A DCI format which schedules the corresponding PDSCH may include a frequency hopping flag field. The frequency hopping flag field can be included in the frequency domain resource allocation field and can be used to indicate whether the determined frequency hopping is enabled or disabled for the PUCCH transmission.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the method of dynamically enabling/disabling frequency hopping of Liu1 with the configuration information of Liu2 and Hou. The motivation to do so would have been to improve reception/transmission reliability and coverage and provide the communication flexibility and efficiency. (Liu1; [0004]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu2 and Hou in view of Lin (US 20240196395 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Liu2 and Hou teach the method of claim 5 but do not teach wherein the wireless device transmits the control information via the PUCCH without utilizing the frequency hopping when the first size and the second size are different.
Lin, in the same field of endeavor of determining to perform frequency hopping for a PUCCH transmission, teaches wherein the wireless device transmits the control information via the PUCCH without utilizing the frequency hopping when the first size and the second size are different ([0232] In one embodiment… the interleaved mapping is frequency hopping for uplink transmission). [0231] In one embodiment, the transmission is a PUCCH transmission. [0170] Interleaved mapping may be disabled and/or prohibited under situations in which one or more issues (e.g., one or more of the aforementioned issues) occur. For example, interleaved mapping may be disabled and/or prohibited (for use in allocating resources for a UE and/or for use in in one or more transmissions by the UE and/or a base station, for example) when (and/or if) a bandwidth of a set of PRBs that can be processed by the UE (first size) is smaller than a bandwidth of a bandwidth part (second size). [0228] In one embodiment, the base station does not enable (and/or is not configured and/or allowed to enable) the interleaved mapping for the transmission based on a maximum bandwidth of the UE being smaller than a bandwidth of the bandwidth part.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lin with the teachings of Liu2 and Hou. The motivation to do so would have been to include a study of required changes to NR using existing DL/UL NR waveform to support operation between 52.6 GHz and 71 GHz. (Lin; [0165]).
Regarding claim 8, Liu2 and Hou teach the method of claim 5, but do not teach wherein the wireless device transmits the control information via the PUCCH without utilizing the frequency hopping when the first initial BWP is located within the second initial BWP.
Lin in the same field of endeavor of determining to perform frequency hopping for a PUCCH transmission, teaches wherein the wireless device transmits the control information via the PUCCH without utilizing the frequency hopping when the first initial BWP is located within the second initial BWP (([0232] In one embodiment… the interleaved mapping is frequency hopping for uplink transmission). [0231] In one embodiment, the transmission is a PUCCH transmission. [0170] Alternatively and/or additionally, interleaved mapping may be disabled and/or prohibited (for use in allocating resources for a UE and/or for use in in one or more transmissions by the UE and/or the base station, for example) when (and/or if) the UE receives an indication of a subset of frequency resources within the bandwidth part used for resource allocation. [0227] For example, the base station does not enable (and/or is not configured and/or allowed to enable) the interleaved mapping for the transmission if the subset of frequency resources is within the bandwidth part.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lin with the teachings of Liu2 and Hou. The motivation to do so would have been to include a study of required changes to NR using existing DL/UL NR waveform to support operation between 52.6 GHz and 71 GHz. (Lin; [0165]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu2 and Hou in view of Koorapaty (US 20190132861 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Liu2 and Hou teach the method of claim 5 but do not teach further comprising: providing user data; and forwarding the user data to a host computer via a transmission to the base station.
Koorapaty in the same field of endeavor of PUCCH resource allocation teaches providing user data; and forwarding the user data to a host computer via a transmission to the base station ([0204] The method of any of the previous embodiments, further comprising: providing user data; and forwarding the user data to a host computer via the transmission to the base station.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the host computer and OTT connection 550 of Koorapaty with the UE and base station of Liu and Hou. The motivation to do so would have been to include a measurement procedure for the purpose of monitoring data rate, latency and other factors that would include the performance of transmission between the UE and the base station of Liu2 and Hou. (Koorapaty; [0165]).
Regarding claim 14, Liu2 and Hou teach the method of claim 11 but do not teach further comprising: obtaining user data; and forwarding the user data to a host computer or a wireless device.
Koorapaty in the same field of endeavor of PUCCH resource allocation teaches obtaining user data; and forwarding the user data to a host computer or a wireless device ([0218] The method of any of the previous embodiments, further comprising: obtaining user data; and forwarding the user data to a host computer or a wireless device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the host computer and OTT connection 550 of Koorapaty with the UE and base station of Liu and Hou. The motivation to do so would have been to include a measurement procedure for the purpose of monitoring data rate, latency and other factors that would include the performance of transmission between the UE and the base station of Liu2 and Hou. (Koorapaty; [0165]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. FAKOORIAN (US 20160338088 A1) discloses a method that includes identifying one or more uplink narrowband regions within a wider system bandwidth, based on downlink resources, and communicating using at least one of the identified narrowbands.
/NANCY SIXTO/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/GARY MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2465