DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3, 4, and 7-11 are pending. Claims 2, 5, and 6 have been canceled. Note that, Applicant’s amendment and arguments filed April 9, 2026, have been entered.
Claims 8-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 12, 2025.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Objections/Rejections Withdrawn
The following objections/rejections set forth in the Office action mailed 3/12/26 have been withdrawn:
The objection to claims 1, 3, 4, and 7 due to minor informalities has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hischier et al (US2014/0261555) in view of Arters et al (US 6,193,767).
With respect to independent, instant claim 1, Hischier et al teach a cleaning composition and process to remove carbon deposits from an intake manifold of an engine. The de-carbonizing composition is packaged in certain embodiments in an aerosol propellant. The inventive composition is also readily used as a liquid or an atomized mist that is readily introduced into the intake manifold through a tube tolerant of engine inlet operational temperatures and conditions. The invention introduces the composition by a novel process that precludes the need for engine disassembly. See para. 6. By introducing a cleaning composition into the intake manifold of a gasoline engine or a diesel engine during engine operation, the inventive composition so applied degasses and wets the metal engine parts with the de-carbonizing cleaning composition. With the carbon deposit freed from engine surfaces, such deposits and the cleaning composition are carried into a combustion chamber of the engine, where these materials chemically react under combustion conditions. See para. 9. An inventive composition particularly well suited for cleaning an intake manifold of an engine is also provided. The composition is a solvent mixture of aromatic hydrocarbons, lipophilic solvent, and a mutual solvent. C.sub.10-C.sub.28 fatty acid methyl esters represent a majority of the lipophilic solvent in certain inventive embodiments. Glycol ethers and esters represent the mutual solvent in certain inventive embodiments. The solvent mixture includes a quantity of ammonium soap and water present in amount of more than 5 weight percent of the composition. For the purposes of determining solvent weight percent, only the hydrophobic solvents phase components are considered. The hydrophobic solvent phase for weight percent computation is distinct from the surfactants and the aqueous phase. In some embodiments, water is present from 6 to 10 total weight percent, while in other embodiments from 10 to 25 total weight percent. See para. 19.
Hischier et al do not teach the use of a specific polyetheramine or a method for cleaning an air intake valve of a gasoline direct injection engine during operation using a polyetheramine-water solution as recited by independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims.
Arters et al teach a fuel additive composition comprising at least one amine, wherein said at least one amine contains at least one polyolefin group and at least one polyetheramine. These compositions are useful as fuel additives for reducing intake valve deposits. In addition, these compositions do not contribute to an increase in combustion chamber deposits in port fuel injected internal combustion engines. See Abstract. The polyetheramines having one primary amino group include those represented by the formula R2O(CH2CH(R)O)R¹NH₂ wherein R2 is a hydrocarbyl group having 1 to 50 carbon atoms, R independently is selected from the group consisting of hydrogen, hydrocarbyl groups of 1 to about 16 carbon atoms, and mixtures thereof; R¹ independently is selected from the group consisting of a hydrocarbylene group containing 2 to about 18 carbon atoms, etc. See column 8. Note that, the Examiner asserts that Arters et al teach polyetheramines which are the same as recited by the instant claims. The polyetheramine is present at a level of about 50 ppm to about 1000ppm based on the weight of the liquid fuel, preferably 75-750 ppm, especially preferred being 100-500 ppm. See column 13.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use a fuel additive mixture containing at least one amine containing at least one polyolefin group and at least one polyetheramine in the composition taught by Hischier et al in the specific amounts as recited by the instant claims, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Arters et al teach that the use of a fuel additive mixture containing at least one amine containing at least one polyolefin group and at least one polyetheramine in a similar composition reduces intake valve deposits and further, such properties would be desirable in the composition taught by Hischier et al. Note that, the Examiner asserts that the cleaning composition as taught by Hischier et al in view of Arters et al, which contains water and a polyetheramine, and is introduced into the intake manifold of a gasoline engine or a diesel engine during engine operation, would be introduced to the engine from a container or vessel, which would fall within the scope of a “water tank” as recited by the instant claims.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to clean an air intake valve of a gasoline direct injection engine during operation using a polyetheramine-water solution as recited by independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims, with a reasonable expectation of success and similar results with respect to other disclosed components, because the broad teachings of Hischier et al in view of Arters et al suggest cleaning an air intake valve of a gasoline direct injection engine during operation using a polyetheramine-water solution as recited by independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims.
Response to Arguments
With respect to the rejection of the instant claims under 35 USC 103 using Hischier et al (US2014/0261555) in view of Arters et al (US 6,193,767), Applicant states that there is no rational basis as to why one having skill in the art would assume, based on the teachings of Hischier et al, that substituting a different material (i.e., one containing a polyetheramine-water solution) would enable cleaning of the intake valve during normal engine operation as recited by the amended claims. The cited references address distinctly different processes, operating conditions, and components, and Applicant respectfully submits that there is no reasonable expectation of success in combining them. Additionally, Applicant reasserts that the process in Hischier et al do not occur during normal operation of the engine and in Hischier et al, hoses and engine covers need to be restored to normal operating placement after cleaning (i.e. the cleaning is done outside of normal operation of the engine.
In response, note that, Hischier et al clearly teach a that composition is readily used as a liquid or an atomized mist that is readily introduced into the intake manifold through a tube tolerant of engine inlet operational temperatures and conditions and that the process taught by Hischier et al introduces the composition by a novel process that precludes the need for engine disassembly (See para. 6 of Hischier et al). Additionally, Hischier et al clearly teach that In a particularly embodiment, a composition
is sprayed into the intake manifold while the engine is running and that a cleaning composition is introduced into the intake manifold of a gasoline engine or a diesel engine during engine operation (See paras. 9 and 10 of Hischier et al), wherein these teachings would clearly fall within the broad scope of “A method for cleaning an air intake valve of a gasoline direct injection (GDI) GDI engine during engine operation” as recited by the instant claims.
Additionally, the Examiner asserts that Arters et al is analogous prior art relative to Hischier et al and the claimed invention since it is drawn to the same field of endeavor, namely engine treatment/cleaning compositions and that one of ordinary skill in the art clearly would have looked to the teachings of Arters et al to cure the deficiencies of Hischier et al. Arters et al is a secondary reference relied upon for its teaching of a specific polyetheramine. While Applicant states that one of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to use the polyetheramine compound as taught by Arters et al in the composition taught by Hischier et al which contains water, the Examiner does not concur; the composition taught by Hishier et al is largely based on hydrocarbon and organic solvents and the polyetheramine compound as taught by Arters et al would be expected to be suitable and stable in these solvents. The Examiner asserts that one of ordinary skill in the art clearly would have been motivated to use a fuel additive mixture containing at least one amine containing at least one polyolefin group and at least one polyetheramine in the composition taught by Hischier et al in the specific amounts as recited by the instant claims, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Arters et al teach that the use of a fuel additive mixture containing at least one amine containing at least one polyolefin group and at least one polyetheramine in a similar composition in the specific amounts as recited by the instant claims reduces intake valve deposits and further, such properties would be desirable in the composition taught by Hischier et al. Obviousness does not require certainty of success; it requires only a reasonable expectation of success. PAR Pharm., Inc. v. TWE Pharm., Inc., 773 F.3d 1186, 1198 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (“The reasonable expectation of success requirement for obviousness does not necessitate an absolute certainty for success.”). Thus, the Examiner asserts that the teachings of Hischier et al in view of Arters et al are sufficient to render the claimed invention obvious under 35 USC 103.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Remaining references cited but not relied upon are considered to be cumulative to or less pertinent than those relied upon or discussed above.
Applicant is reminded that any evidence to be presented in accordance with 37 CFR 1.131 or 1.132 should be submitted before final rejection in order to be considered timely.
/GREGORY R DELCOTTO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/G.R.D/May 15, 2026