Response to Amendment
The amendment filed August 25, 2026 has been entered. The amendment to the claims overcomes the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) previously set forth in the non-final rejection mailed March 27, 2026. Claims 14-23 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0158712 (Ekkels et al.) in view of US 2024/0034912 (Glass et al.).
Regarding claim 14, Ekkels discloses a method for manufacturing a thinned wafer separated from a carrier, the method comprising the steps of providing a temporary adhesive sheet (12) (see Figure 1f, paragraph 0029);
Providing a thinned wafer (1) supported on a carrier (10) (see Figure 1e, paragraph 0028);
Bonding the temporary adhesive sheet (12) to the thinned wafer (1) (see Figure 1g, paragraph 0029),
Peeling the carrier (10) from the thinned wafer (1) in a state where the thinned wafer (1) is bonded to the temporary adhesive sheet (12) (see Figure 1h, paragraph 0030); and
Peeling (removing) the temporary adhesive sheet (12) from the thinned wafer (1) from which the carrier (10) has been peeled (see Figures 1l-1m, paragraph 0030).
Ekkels does not disclose that the temporary adhesive sheet comprises a plurality of structures; however, in the analogous field of thinned wafer handling, Glass discloses a dry adhesive sheet (see claim 1), comprising a plurality of structures (stems 103), the structures being cylindrical (see paragraph 0010, Figure 3) with 140 microns in height (see paragraph 0011), which is within the claimed range of 50 to 500 microns in height, and 130 microns in diameter (see paragraph 0011), which is within the claimed range of 10 microns to 1 mm in diameter, wherein the sheet has a configuration in which the plurality of structures are arranged with a same interval (see Figure 1). Glass teaches that using the dry adhesive sheet during semiconductor manufacturing provides little to no adhesion with the surface of wafers, allowing for easy removal that is accurate and repeatable (see paragraphs 0006 and 0012). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the dry adhesive sheet of Glass as the temporary adhesive sheet for the Ekkels manufacturing method, in order to allow for adhesion that is easily removable, accurate and repeatable as taught by Glass.
Regarding claim 15, Ekkels also discloses an embodiment where the thickness of the thinned wafer is between 10 and 100 micrometers (see paragraph 0017), which is within the claimed range of 300 microns or less.
Regarding claim 16, Ekkels also discloses an embodiment where the thickness of the thinned wafer is between 10 and 100 micrometers (see paragraph 0017), which is within the claimed range of 100 microns or less.
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Ekkels also discloses that the thinned wafer is a silicon wafer or a compound semiconductor wafer (see paragraphs 0006-0007).
Regarding claim 19, Ekkels also discloses that the method for manufacturing a thinned wafer further comprises a step of washing (cleaning) the thinned wafer from which the carrier has been peeled (see paragraph 0030).
Regarding claim 20, Ekkels in view of Glass also discloses that the sheet is molded with a thermosetting resin (see Glass paragraph 0023).
Regarding claim 21, Ekkels in view of Glass also discloses that the sheet may comprise a thermosetting elastomer (see Glass paragraph 0023-0031).
Regarding claim 22, Ekkels in view of Glass also discloses that the thermosetting elastomer may be a silicone-based thermosetting elastomer, or a urethane-based thermosetting elastomer (see Glass paragraphs 0023-0031).
Regarding claim 23, Ekkels also discloses that the sheet (12) is laminated to a base body (carrier substrate 11) (see Figures 1f-1g, paragraph 0029).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WENDY L BOSS/Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/ALICIA J WEYDEMEYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781