DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-18 in the reply filed on November 17, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 34 and 40 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/17/2025.
Priority
Claims 1-18 are deemed to have an effective filing date of April 16, 2021.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “194” has been used to designate both a wireless interface on the sound processor 104 and a wireless interface on a device 192.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 290 (Fig. 2).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: ear hook 215 and volume switch 340.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84 (l) because "every line, number and letter must be durable, clean, black, sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well defined". Figs. 2-4 have hand-written reference numerals that are too light and/or disconnected. In addition, the Examiner notes that the hand-written “1” is not well-defined.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 2, line 3 – page 3, line 2, the recitation of claim numbers 34 and 40 in the specification should be avoided as the patent will be printed without those claim numbers. Currently, claims 34 and 40 are withdrawn from examination as they are drawn to a non-elected invention.
Page 9, line 7, “implant coil 133” should be --implant coil 132-- for consistency with the specification and the drawings; and
Line 10, “implant coil 136” should be --implant coil 132-- for consistency with the specification and the drawings
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “measurement unit” and “analyzing unit” in claim 1.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. “measurement unit for measuring coil coupling strength value…inductively coupled” in claim 1 and all its dependent claims: For this limitation, specification discloses where it is located (headpiece or sound processor) and what it measures in the Abstract and paragraph [0047] of the PGPub does not discuss the corresponding structure, but discloses prior art that use such measurement units in paragraphs [0005]-[0009].
“analyzing unit configured to control…the external attachment magnetic device.” in claim 1 and all its dependent claims: For this limitation, paragraph [0066] of the PGPub seems to disclose corresponding structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 11 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0352349 to Fung et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Fung”).
Regarding claim 1, Fung discloses a hearing prosthesis system (e.g., Abstract: an auditory prosthesis) comprising a hearing implant implantable within a patient and including an implant transceiver coil and an implant attachment magnet device (e.g., paragraphs [0020]-[0022]: audio prostheses rely on a magnetic coupling between an external (wearable) component and an internal component where the internal and external components both include a magnet and radiofrequency coils that provide an induction link and paragraph [0030]); an external component including an external transceiver coil and an external attachment magnet device (e.g., paragraphs [0020]-[0022]: audio prostheses rely on a magnetic coupling between an external (wearable) component and an internal component where the internal and external components both include a magnet and radiofrequency coils that provide an induction link and paragraph [0030]), wherein the external component comprises or is connected to a measurement unit for measuring coil coupling strength values indicative of a received coil telemetry coupling strength (“MTEL-RSSI”) when the external transceiver coil and the implant transceiver coil are inductively coupled (e.g., Abstract: a wearable component of an implantable medical device is adapted to work with a sensor that detects the strength of the magnetic field emanating from a magnet situated in the implanted portion of the device; and paragraphs [0055]: sensor 419 measures the field strength of the internal magnet 415 as felt at the recipient’s skin; and [0057]: where the sensor is part of a clinical tool or is integrated into an external portion of the implantable device); and an analyzing unit configured to control the measurement unit, to receive coil coupling strength values measured by the measurement unit and to analyze the received coil coupling strength values (e.g., paragraphs [0057]: computer 441 is the analyzing unit where clinical programming tool 431 receives and processes magnetic field strength readings from the sensor, and the clinical programming tool communicates with a computer 441 that provides electrical signals to the magnetizing coil to adjust the strength of the external magnet; and [0058]: computing device 441 controls the fitting process of the implant) so as to output at least one of an estimation of a present transcutaneous distance between the implant transceiver coil and the external transceiver coil (e.g., paragraph [0080]: the magnetic field strength of the internal portion is measured by the sensor (and hence the thickness of the skin flap can be estimated) – i.e., an estimation of a present transcutaneous distance between the implant and the external coil can be output), an estimation of a present transcutaneous magnetic coupling strength between the implant attachment magnet device and the external attachment magnet device (e.g., paragraph [0080]: after the external RF coil is coupled to the internal RF coil, the magnetic field strength at external RF coil due to internal magnet is measured and can be output), and a target value of the transcutaneous magnetic coupling strength for adjusting the transcutaneous magnetic coupling strength between the implant attachment magnet device and the external attachment magnet device (e.g., paragraphs [0009], [0058]-[0059]: computing device 441 receives the magnetic field strength felt by the external portion that is attributable to the internal magnet and calculates a desired magnetic field strength, or a range of magnetic field strengths for the external magnet and communicates instructions to adjust the strength of the external magnet).
With respect to claim 2, Fung discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the analyzing unit is configured to cause the measurement unit to measure a series of coil coupling strength values while the external component moves from a magnetically decoupled starting position above the patient's skin towards the hearing implant into a magnetically attached end position on the skin by magnetic coupling forces between the implant attachment magnet device and the external attachment magnet device (e.g., paragraph [0080]: before coupling, a magnetic strength value is measured and after coupling, another magnetic strength value is measured).
As to claim 3, Fung discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the analyzing unit is configured to cause the measurement unit to repeatedly measure a series of coil coupling strength values while the external component moves from a magnetically decoupled starting position above the skin towards the hearing implant into a magnetically attached end position on the skin by magnetic coupling forces between the implant attachment magnet device and the external attachment magnet device, so as to obtain a plurality of series of coil coupling strength values (e.g., paragraphs [0057] and [0080]-[0081]: when the measurement unit is part of the external implantable medical system, a measurement is made while the external component moves from a magnetically decoupled starting position above the skin towards hearing implant where another measurement occurs when external and internal components are coupled).
With respect to claim 11, Fung discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the analyzing unit is configured to provide for an estimation of a transcutaneous magnetic coupling strength between the implant attachment magnet device and the external attachment magnet device by analyzing the measured series of coil coupling strength values, or the measured plurality of series of coil coupling strength values, respectively (e.g., paragraph [0080]; analyzes the measured series of coil coupling strength values).
As to claim 13, Fung discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the analyzing unit is configured to provide for an estimation of a present transcutaneous magnetic coupling strength between the implant attachment magnet device and the external attachment magnet device by using the estimation of the present transcutaneous distance between the implant transceiver coil and the external transceiver coil (e.g., paragraph [0081]: the in-built magnetic field sensor reading is proportional to the separation of the two magnets (distance) and thus, is an indicator of skin-flap thickness).
With respect to claim 14, Fung discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the external component comprises a unit for adjusting a magnetic coupling strength contribution of the external attachment magnet device (e.g., paragraphs [0009]: clinical programming system adjusts the field strength of the external magnet in order to achieve the recommended magnetic strength; [0049]: in some external devices, micro adjustments of the magnet position can be made via a screw to alter the distance between magnets).
As to claim 15, Fung discloses the system of claim 14, wherein the unit for adjusting the magnetic coupling strength contribution of the external attachment magnet device is configured to activate or deactivate one more electropermanent magnets or to move the external attachment magnet device within the external component so as to adjust the transcutaneous distance between the external attachment magnet device and the implant attachment magnet device (e.g., paragraph [0049]).
With respect to claim 16, Fung discloses the system of claim 14, wherein the unit for adjusting the magnetic coupling strength contribution of the external attachment magnet device (clinical programming tool) is configured to be controlled by the target value provided by the analyzing unit (computing device), so as to optimize the magnetic coupling strength between the external attachment magnet device and the implant attachment magnet device when the external component is attached to the patient's skin (e.g., paragraphs [0009], [0059], and [0032]: as described herein, it is possible to optimize the magnetic field strength of the external magnet to achieve better placement).
As to claim 17, Fung discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the analyzing unit is implemented in a device which is separate from the external component and which configured to be communicatively coupled to the external component (e.g., paragraph [0055]-[0057]: analyzing unit is the computing device 441, which communicates with the external component via clinical programming tool 431 and sensor 419 that is separate from the external component but communicates with the external component).
With respect to claim 18, Fung discloses the system of claim 17, wherein the analyzing unit is implemented in at least one of a fitting device, a mobile phone, a tablet computer, or a computing cloud (e.g., Abstract: determination of magnetic strength can now be an automated step in the process of fitting an auditory prosthesis).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fung as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of US Patent No. 7,450,994 to Mishra et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Mishra”).
Fung discloses the system of claim 3, but does not expressly disclose that the analyzing unit is configured to conduct a statistical analysis over the measured series of coil coupling strength values or over the measured plurality of series of coil coupling strength values, respectively. However, Mishra, in a related art: estimated flap thickness for cochlear implant, teaches that statistical methods (such as a median [or an averaging procedure]) may be used to calculate a value to estimate the flap thickness or distance from the internal component to the external component of the cochlear implant system (e.g., column 8, lines 30-42 of Mishra). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefits of conducting a statistical analysis of the measured series of coil coupling strengths in view of the teachings of Mishra. Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the system of Fung so that its analyzing unit conducts an averaging statistical procedure when analyzing the received coil coupling strengths in view of the teachings of Mishra that such was a well-known engineering protocol in the cochlear implant art, and because the combination would have yielded a predictable result.
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fung as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0100395 to Ibrahim and Mishra.
With respect to claim 6, Fung discloses the system of claim 3, but does not expressly teach that the analyzing unit is configured to fit a model function or a parametric model to the measured series of coil coupling strength values or to an averaged series of coil coupling strength values, so as to determine a slope and/or an amplitude of the model function or parametric model. However, Ibrahim, in a related art: method and apparatus for measurement of transmitter/receiver separation, teaches that a best-fit algorithm or model may be derived from the measured voltage/distance values for use in converting magnetic field strengths to estimated transceiver separation where the magnetic field is proportional to reactive power and stimulation parameters have an effect on the peak amplitude of the magnetic field (e.g., paragraphs [0088], [0093], [0128] of Ibrahim), and Mishra teaches that using coupling strength voltage vs distance graph with a slope and amplitude to determine an estimated separation distance using magnetic coupling voltage values, or vice versa (e.g., column 8, lines 30-42 and Fig. 5 of Mishra). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefits of the analyzing unit fitting a model function to the measured series of coil coupling strengths in view of the teachings of Ibrahim, and the benefits of such an analyzing unit where a slope and/or amplitude of the model function is determined in view of the teachings of Mishra. Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the system of Fung so that its analyzing unit is configured to fit a model function so as to determine a slope and/or amplitude of the model function in view of the teachings of Ibrahim and Mishra that such were well-known engineering protocols in the cochlear implant art, and because the combination would have yielded a predictable result.
As to claim 7, Fung in view of Ibrahim and Mishra teaches the system of claim 6, wherein the analyzing unit is configured to provide an estimation of the present transcutaneous distance between the implant transceiver coil and the external transceiver coil by using a predetermined relationship between the coil coupling strength values and the distance between the implant transceiver coil and the external transceiver coil (e.g., Fung paragraphs [0080]: as above; [0025]: a predetermined relationship exists between coil coupling and the distance between the implant coil and the external coil) .
With respect to claim 8, Fung in view of Ibrahim and Mishra teaches the system of claim 7, wherein the analyzing unit is configured to provide an estimation of the present transcutaneous distance between the implant transceiver coil and the external transceiver coil from the amplitude determined from the fitting of the model function or parametric model (e.g., paragraph [0101] of Ibrahim; and column 8, lines 30-42 of Mishra: voltage is plotted with the horizontal lines of the graph and point of intersection of these lines with the calibration line is the estimated flap thickness where the amplitude determined from the fitting determines the distance). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the amplitudes of the measured and reference signals have a relationship with the separation between transmitter coil and receiver coil in view of the teachings of Ibrahim and Mishra. Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the system of Fung in view of Ibrahim and Mishra so that the analyzing unit is configured to provide an estimation of transcutaneous distance between internal and external coils from the amplitude determined from the fitting of the model function in view of the teachings of Ibrahim and Mishra that such were well-known engineering protocol for determining estimation of distance in the cochlear implant art, and because the combination would have yielded a predictable result.
As to claim 9, Fung in view of Ibrahim and Mishra teaches the system of claim 7, wherein the analyzing unit is configured to provide an estimation of the present transcutaneous distance between the implant transceiver coil and the external transceiver coil from an average of those coil coupling strength values of the measured series which are capable of being constant within a given range (e.g., column 8, lines 30-42 of Mishra).
With respect to claim 10, Fung in view of Ibrahim and Mishra teaches the system of claim 7, wherein the analyzing unit is configured to estimate a thickness of the skin located between the hearing implant and the external component from the estimation of the present transcutaneous distance between the implant transceiver coil and the external transceiver coil (e.g., paragraphs [0080]-[0081] of Fung).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fung as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Mishra.
With respect to claim 12, Fung discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the analyzing unit is configured to provide for an estimation of a transcutaneous magnetic coupling strength between the implant attachment magnet device and the external attachment magnet device, but does not expressly disclose that the estimation is achieved by analyzing at least one of (i) a slope of the coil coupling strength values in the measured series of coil coupling strength values or in the measured plurality of series of coil coupling strength values, (ii) a variance of the coil coupling strength values in the measured series of coil coupling strength values or in the measured plurality of series of coil coupling strength values, and (iii) an amplitude of the coil coupling strength values in the measured series of coil coupling strength values or in the measured plurality of series of coil coupling strength values. However, Mishra teaches that using a coupling strength voltage vs distance graph with a slope and amplitude to determine an estimated separation distance using magnetic coupling voltage values, or vice versa (e.g., column 8, lines 30-42 and Fig. 5 of Mishra). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefits of the analyzing unit where a slope and/or amplitude of the coil coupling strength graph determines an estimated coupling strength in view of the teachings of Mishra. Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the system of Fung so that its analyzing unit is configured to analyze a slope and/or amplitude of the magnetic coupling graph to determine a coupling strength estimation in view of the teachings of Mishra that such were well-known engineering protocols in the cochlear implant art, and because the combination would have yielded a predictable result.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0215328 to Young et al. is directed to system and methods for facilitating optimal alignment of cochlear implant system components where the cochlear implant and sound processor generate a Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) (e.g., abstract and paragraph [0016]).
US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0377832 to Fung et al. is directed to methods, systems, and devices for determining a characteristic of a magnetic field generated by a magnet in an implantable unit of an IMD and the measured magnet characteristic of the magnet at the sound processor and which anticipates at least claim 1.
/CATHERINE M VOORHEES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792