DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 04/13/2026 have been entered. Claims 9, 12-14, and 19-20 have been canceled. Claims 1-8, 10-11, 15-18, and 21-30 are now pending in the application. Examiner notes that some of the amendments have not been properly indicated (i.e., strikethrough, underline, etc.), but because the omissions do not affect Examiner’s understanding of the claims, the claims have been entered as such.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to the drawings have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action dated 01/14/2026, hereinafter NFOA0114.
Applicant’s amendments to the specification have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in NFOA0114. However, one of Applicant’s amendments has introduced a new issue. See below for further discussion.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome some, but not all, of the objections previously set forth in NFOA0114. See below for further discussion.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection previously set forth in NFOA0114.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome some, but not all, of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections previously set forth in NFOA0114. See below for further discussion.
Examiner agrees that Applicant’s amendments to claims 11 and 18 have overcome the previously presented 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection. The amended claims have recited the natural processes integrated into a practical application (i.e., using the structure of the system/functional steps utilizing the natural processes).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Applicant’s amendments to [23] have introduced a new issue, namely, “a meta-stable ions/neutrals” does not match in number.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 11, and 30 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 has been amended to ameliorate a previous issue regarding the walls of the cavity, however, the amendments have not properly overcome the issue; The claim now requires “a cavity having walls” and “wherein the plasma is capable of heating walls of the cavity”, but it is not clear whether ‘walls’ are the same walls as previously recited, and the claim subsequently recites ‘to prevent formation of deposits on the walls of the cavity’; Examiner believes this is a mere clerical/typographical error (i.e., a ‘double fix’: initialized the term walls to overcome previous issue, then also removed the reference back to the initialized term to overcome the previous issue, while only one of such edits was required to overcome the issue), and is thus definite in context, and should read ‘wherein the plasma is capable of heating the walls of the cavity’;
Claim 3 recites “wherein the respective off-axis positions cause enhance mixing of…”, which does not make sense grammatically, and should read ‘wherein the respective off-axis positions cause enhanced mixing of…’;
Claim 11 recites “an ionization energy lower than energy of the meta-stable energy state of…”, wherein ‘energy’ lacks an article, and should read, e.g., ‘an ionization energy lower than an energy of the meta-stable energy state of…’;
Claim 11 recites “configured to transfer electrons to analytes to generate negative analyte ions…”, however, analytes are previously recited in claim 1, and no additional analytes are configured to be received via the inlet, and thus, Examiner believes this should read ‘configured to transfer electrons to the analytes to generate negative analyte ions…’;
Claim 11 ends in two periods, as the previous period was not removed by amendment, and an additional was added via amendment;
Claim 30 recites “the dopant or analytes”, however the claim previously recites “a dopant or an analyte”, and thus Examiner believes the limitation should read ‘the dopant or (the) analyte’.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-8, 10, 18, and 21-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 4-8, 10, 21-27 and 29-30, the same issue regarding dependencies is present as previously presented in NFOA0114, and are rejected similarly.
Claims 6, 21-27, 29-30 each makes some reference to various of the numbered pressure stages ‘of the MS’, however, the claims do not previously require any of the pressure stages to be elements of the MS, and rather are recited as elements of the system, and in claim 1, the cavity is required to be included in an interface between the ICP source and the MS, rather than an element of either. Similarly, claim 15 requires that the mixture flows out of the cavity through one or more downstream pressure stages towards a mass spectrometer for analysis, similarly indicating that the cavity and pressure stages for mixing are not elements of the MS. As such, each of these recitations is unclear and it is not possible to adequately determine the metes and bounds of the claim, rendering it indefinite. For purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as though ‘of the MS’ is omitted in each case except the final recitation in claim 23, which is not unclear, as it recites downstream pressure stages of the MS in generality, rather than particular pressure stages which are previously required to be between the ICP source and the MS, and which one of ordinary skill in the art would understand in context.
Claim 18 appears to be claiming a process which would naturally occur given the proper initial conditions, and it is thus unclear how this further limits the claim, as it is not directed toward any particular method steps. In particular, ‘performing penning ionization’ is indefinite, because the process of penning ionization is passive and would naturally occur if the meta-stable neutrals and proper dopant are placed in such a cavity. As such, it is not possible to adequately determine the metes and bounds of the claim, rendering it indefinite. Additionally, for clarity of the record, Examiner notes that the claim requiring the dopant ‘having’ such an ionization energy does not appear to recite an explicit method step, however, because claim 15 requires injecting the dopant, the dopant having such a property would thus limit the previously recited injection step. This portion of the claim is clear. For purposes of examination, the above limitation is interpreted as ‘further comprising allowing penning ionization inside the cavity to quench the meta-stable neutrals, wherein the dopant has an ionization energy less than an energy of the meta-stable energy state of the meta-stable neutrals, which facilitates quenching the meta-stable neutrals via penning ionization inside the cavity.’. As indicated above, the previously presented 35 U.S.C. 101 issue has been overcome because, under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), and including the above interpretation, this claim now requires the limitation of the dopant injected, and such that the natural processes are phrased as functional consequences of the properties selected, rather than explicitly claiming the process (in view of the above interpretation).
Claim 28 recites the limitation “wherein the first cavity inlet and the cavity outlet are positioned to achieve an off-axis cavity configuration, and wherein a lower pressure is maintained downstream of the cavity outlet so as to cause a flow path of the plasma to bend from the first cavity inlet toward the cavity outlet, thereby blocking photons from entering the MS”, which is vague and indefinite because the claim does not provide a discernable boundary on what is required by the claim to achieve the desired functionality. In particular “wherein the first cavity inlet and the cavity outlet are positioned to achieve an off-axis cavity configuration” does not particularly limit the inlets positioning, as no particular axes are referred to or required in the claims, and thus ‘an off-axis cavity configuration’ in unclear, as such a cavity would be understood as having an infinite number of potential axes in three dimensions, and thus it is not clear what ‘off-axis’ would require, and furthermore, how the positioning of the inlets would affect the on- or off-axis configuration of the cavity as a whole. Additionally, because of such issues, it is unclear how the required arrangement would ‘cause a flow path of the plasma to bend from the first cavity inlet toward the cavity outlet, thereby blocking photons from entering the MS’, as no positional relationship of the inlets relative to one another is required in the claim, and how the bending of the flow path would achieve ‘blocking photons from entering the MS’. It is unclear whether the function requires some other specific positioning to achieve such bending and blocking of the respective particles, or whether providing such a pressure difference would be all that is required to bend and block the respective particles. As such, it is not possible to adequately determine the metes and bounds of the claim, rendering it indefinite. For purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as ‘wherein the first cavity inlet and the cavity outlet are positioned along a different axis from the cavity outlet, and wherein a lower pressure is maintained downstream of the cavity outlet so as to cause a flow path of the plasma to bend from the first cavity inlet toward the cavity outlet, thereby blocking photons from entering the MS.’.
Claim 29 recites “further comprising introducing the dopant at one or more of the pressure stages of the MS, wherein the injection of dopant in proximity to the meta-stable neutrals causes an interaction therebetween…”, however, the claim previously requires ‘injecting a dopant into the cavity’, and one of ordinary skill in the art would understand ‘introducing the dopant at one or more of the pressure stages’ as being functionally equivalent to ‘injecting’ and thus the subsequent recitation of ‘the injection of dopant’ is ambiguous. As such, it is not possible to adequately determine the metes and bounds of the claim, rendering it indefinite. For purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as ‘further comprising introducing the dopant at one or more of the pressure stages of the MS, whereby the dopant is injected in proximity to the meta-stable neutrals to cause an interaction therebetween…’.
Claims that depend on the above rejected claims are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 15-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sakata (USPN US 6265717 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Sakata teaches an inductively coupled plasma mass spectrometer (ICP-MS) system (See Fig. 1; Col. 4, line 26 – Col. 5, line 25), comprising:
- an inductively coupled plasma (ICP) source having at least one inlet to receive a background gas and analytes (See Fig. 1, item 130, receiving Ar and sample; Col. 2, line 35 – Col. 3 line 67; Col. 4, line 26 – Col. 5, line 25), wherein the inductively coupled plasma (ICP) source is configured to at least partially ionize the background gas and generate a plasma, the plasma comprising positive and negative ions, meta-stable ions, meta-stable neutrals, molecules of the background gas, and free electrons (Col. 4, lines 31-46; Examiner notes that the plasma excited Ar and sample ions would naturally include each of these elements);
- a mass spectrometer (MS) (See Fig. 1, items 160, 170, 180; Col. 4, line 64 – Col. 5, line 25);
- an interface between the ICP source and the MS, comprising a cavity having walls (See Figs. 1-5; Col. 4, lines 46-63), the cavity including:
a first cavity inlet fluidically coupled to the ICP source to receive the plasma and the background gas (See Figs. 1-5, via sampling cone 151 and sampling orifice 152; Col. 4, lines 46-63);
a second cavity inlet configured to receive a dopant and analytes (See Figs. 1-5, and in particular, Fig. 3, item 210; Col. 5, line 49 – Col. 6, line 7; Examiner notes that the inlet is capable of receiving dopant and analytes);
a cavity outlet fluidically coupled to the MS (See Figs. 1-5, via skimmer cone 155 and skimmer orifice 156; Col. 5, line 49 – Col. 6, line 7);
wherein the cavity is configured to mix and react the dopant, the plasma, and the analytes to form a mixture (See Figs. 1-5, item 150; Col. 5, line 49 – Col. 6, line 7; Examiner notes that the cavity is capable of mixing such elements);
wherein the plasma is capable of heating walls of the cavity to prevent formation of deposits on the walls of the cavity (Examiner notes that an ordinarily skilled artisan would understand the disclosed ICP of Sakata are being capable of heating the walls of the cavity, inherently, as such ICPs regularly achieve temperatures of several thousand K), and
whereby no electrostatic or magnetic fields are applied inside the cavity (See Figs. 1-5, item 150; Col. 5, line 49 – Col. 6, line 7;).
Regarding claim 2, Sakata teaches the system of claim 1.
Sakata further teaches wherein the cavity defines a first pressure stage of the system that is maintained at a pressure lower than atmosphere (Col. 2, line 47 – Col. 3, line 67).
Regarding claim 15, Sakata teaches a method for quenching meta-stable neutrals and generating negative ions for an inductively coupled plasma mass spectrometer (ICP-MS), comprising:
a. injecting a background gas and analytes into an ICP torch to form a plasma comprising positive and negative ions, meta-stable ions, meta-stable neutrals, molecules of the background gas, and free electrons (Col. 4, lines 31-46; Examiner notes that the plasma excited Ar and sample ions would naturally include each of these elements);
b. sampling the plasma into a cavity sustained at a pressure lower than atmosphere through a first cavity inlet (See Figs. 1-5, and in particular, Fig. 3, via 151, 152; Col. 2, line 47 – Col. 3, line 67; Col. 4, lines 46-63);
c. injecting a dopant into the cavity through a second cavity inlet (See Figs. 1-5, and in particular, Fig. 3, via 210; Col. 2, line 47 – Col. 3, line 67; Col. 4, lines 46-63);
d. mixing the plasma and the dopant inside the cavity to quench the meta-stable neutrals and form a mixture (See Figs. 1-5, and in particular, Fig. 3, via 210; Col. 2, line 47 – Col. 3, line 67; Col. 4, lines 46-63; Examiner notes that such placing the disclosed gases through the second inlet with the plasma mixture will naturally quench the Ar meta-stable neutrals), and
e. allowing the mixture to flow out of the cavity by the momentum of the background gas under the influence of a pressure differential between the cavity and one or more downstream pressure stages (See Fig. 1, having multiple pressure stages; Col. 2, line 47 – Col. 3, line 67; Examiner notes that the disclosed pressure stage arrangement will cause the mixture to flow out of cavity 150 via the pressure differential), whereby the mixture flows out of the cavity via a cavity outlet (See Fig. 1-5, and in particular Fig. 3, via 155, 156), and is subsequently allowed to flow through the one or more downstream pressure stages towards a mass spectrometer for analysis (See Fig. 1, items 160, 170, 180; Col. 4, line 64 – Col. 5, line 25).
Regarding claim 16, Sakata teaches the method of claim 15.
Sakata further teaches wherein the background gas comprises helium (He), nitrogen (N2), argon (Ar), oxygen (02), hydrogen (H2), air, water vapor, or a combination thereof (Col. 5, lines 25-48; See also examples).
Regarding claim 18, Sakata teaches the method of claim 15.
Sakata further teaches further comprising performing penning ionization inside the cavity to quench the meta-stable neutrals, wherein the dopant has an ionization energy less than an energy of the meta-stable neutrals, which facilitates quenching the meta-stable neutrals via penning ionization inside the cavity (See Figs. 1-5; Col. 4, lines 46-63; Examiner notes that the gases disclosed have a lower ionization energy than meta-stable Ar neutrals, and thus would naturally quench the meta-stable neutrals upon interaction, via penning ionization; See: Sharma, cited below, for Ar excitation values).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 11, 17, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakata (USPN US 6265717 B1).
Regarding claim 3, Sakata teaches the system of claim 1.
Sakata further teaches wherein analytes inside the cavity and prevent photons from entering the MS (See Figs. 1-5; Col. 4, lines 46-63; Examiner notes that such an off-axis position of 210 causes such mixing, and is explicitly disclosed as helping to prevent undesired elements from entering the analysis stage).
Sakata does not explicitly teach wherein the first and the second cavity inlets are each in a respective off-axis position with respect to the cavity outlet.
However, because Sakata discloses such a structure with such a functionality applied for a similar purpose, it is Examiner’s opinion that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sakata to include both inlets being off axis from the outlet, rather than only the second inlet.
Doing so represents applying a technique disclosed in Sakata in the same manner for a disclosed elements of Sakata in a manner that would achieve predictable results, namely, increased ion collisions and decreased spectral interferences.
Regarding claim 11, Sakata teaches the system of claim 1.
Sakata further teaches wherein the dopant has an ionization energy lower than energy of the meta-stable energy state of the meta-stable neutrals, such that the system is configured to passively quench the meta-stable neutrals via interaction with the dopant (See Figs. 1-5; Col. 4, lines 46-63; Examiner notes that the gases disclosed have a lower ionization energy than meta-stable Ar neutrals, and thus would naturally quench the meta-stable neutrals upon interaction; See: Sharma, cited below, for Ar excitation values),
whereby dopant and free electrons within the system are configured to interact to form negatively charged dopant via electron attachment, and the negatively charged dopant are further configured to transfer electrons to analytes to generate negative analyte ions within one or more pressure stages of the system[Examiner notes that these processes would naturally occur given a such a naturally charged dopant, which would naturally occur from interaction with such Ar meta-stable neutrals in such a plasma mixture).
However, Sakata discloses the gas being introduced such that increased ion collisions occur, and such that undesired spectral interferences are ‘quenched’. Furthermore, an ordinarily skilled artisan in this context would have an advanced degree in a physical science/engineering, or equivalent experience, and thus would have a relatively high level of ordinary skill and knowledge.
Accordingly, such a skilled artisan would readily recognize that combining a substance with a lower ionization energy with the meta-stable neutrals would naturally cause the substance to become ionized, and that the increased ion interactions would naturally cause ionization of sample particles/molecules in the vicinity according to natural processes.
Regarding claim 17, Sakata teaches the method of claim 15.
Sakata further teaches wherein the dopant has an ionization energy lower than an energy of the meta-stable energy state of the meta-stable neutrals, which comprise Ar meta-stable neutrals (See Figs. 1-5; Col. 4, lines 46-63; Examiner notes that the gases disclosed have a lower ionization energy than meta-stable Ar neutrals, and thus would naturally quench the meta-stable neutrals upon interaction; See: Sharma, cited below, for Ar excitation values), and wherein the dopant comprises Butenal, Butene, Butyne, Allene, Acetone, Propene, Ammonia, Pentyne, Hexane, Methylene, Ethylene, Hexane, Formic acid, or a combination thereof; and wherein mixing the dopant and the Ar meta-stable neutrals quenches the Ar meta-stable neutrals and forms ionized dopant (Examiner notes that mixing such a dopant and Ar meta-stable neutrals naturally quenches the Ar meta-stable neutrals and forms ionized dopant).
Sakata does not explicitly teach wherein the dopant comprises Butenal, Butene, Butyne, Allene, Acetone, Propene, Ammonia, Pentyne, Hexane, Methylene, Ethylene, Hexane, Formic acid, or a combination thereof, however, each of these substances are ubiquitous substances with well-known properties, and in particular, having an ionization energies lower than an energy of the meta-stable energy state of the meta-stable neutrals.
Accordingly, because Sakata discloses such a dopant having such a required property to achieve the necessary functionality, it is Examiner’s opinion that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sakata to include wherein the dopant comprises Butenal, Butene, Butyne, Allene, Acetone, Propene, Ammonia, Pentyne, Hexane, Methylene, Ethylene, Hexane, Formic acid, or a combination thereof, as opposed to the disclosed gases.
Doing so represents substituting one element for another in order to achieve predictable results, and represents merely choosing between a group of well-known potential alternatives, which could be done via routine experimentation, as an ordinarily skilled artisan could readily determine the necessary ionization energy necessary, could readily identify a finite number of known suitable alternatives (i.e., common often relatively inexpensive gases having the required ionization properties, which would be known (e.g., see Sharma), and could test the performance such gases via routine experimentation. Such an ordinarily skilled artisan would be readily apprised of each of these substances, could readily determine the ionization energies therefrom, and could readily replace the disclosed gases with such an alternative with a reasonable expectation of success, and achieving predictable results, namely, similar removal of spectral interferences.
Regarding claim 28, as best understood in view of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Sakata teaches the method of claim 15.
Sakata further teaches wherein the [second] cavity inlet and the cavity outlet are positioned to achieve an off-axis cavity configuration, and wherein a lower pressure is maintained downstream of the cavity outlet so as to cause a flow path of the plasma to bend from the [second] cavity inlet toward the cavity outlet, thereby blocking photons from entering the MS (See Figs. 1-5; Col. 2, line 47 – Col. 3, line 67; Col. 4, lines 46-63; Examiner notes that such an off-axis position of 210 causes such mixing, and is explicitly disclosed as helping to prevent undesired elements from entering the analysis stage; Examiner further notes that the flow path would naturally bend due to the pressure difference).
Sakata does not explicitly teach wherein the first cavity inlet and the cavity outlet are positioned to achieve an off-axis cavity configuration, and wherein a lower pressure is maintained downstream of the cavity outlet so as to cause a flow path of the plasma to bend from the first cavity inlet toward the cavity outlet, thereby blocking photons from entering the MS.
However, because Sakata discloses such a structure with such a functionality applied for a similar purpose, it is Examiner’s opinion that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sakata to include the first inlets being off axis from the outlet, rather than only the second inlet.
Doing so represents applying a technique disclosed in Sakata in the same manner for a disclosed elements of Sakata in a manner that would achieve predictable results, namely, increased ion collisions and decreased spectral interferences.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
O’Connor (O’Connor, Gavin, and E. Hywel Evans. "Fundamental Aspects of Inductively Coupled Plasma–Mass Spectrometry (ICP-MS)." Inductively coupled plasma spectrometry and its applications (2007): 134.)
Sharma (Lalita Sharma et al 2007 J. Phys.: Conf. Ser. 80 012019).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER J GASSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2881
/DAVID E SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 2881