DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/11/26 have been fully considered but they are moot due to the fact that all independent claims have been amended, to which new ground rejections have been made as shown below.
To speed up prosecution, Examiner would like to address some of Applicant’s arguments.
For independent claims, Applicant argued
a) “D1 simply never discusses any issues with Layer-2 U2N relays or a Layer-3 U2N relays, or allowing them to coexist.” (p19, last para);
b) “D1 simply never discusses differentiating between Layer-2 U2N relays and Layer-3 U2N relays or any rationale for doing so. Applicant's claimed arrangement are beneficial at least because they support coexistence of Layer-2 and Layer-3 relays, including QoS and service continuity aspects, in 5GS.” (p20, 1st para).
In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees:
a) D1 clearly discloses Layer-2 U2N relays or a Layer-3 U2N relays (such as FIG. 6.44.2-1 “… via a UE-to-Network relay based on the Layer-2 relay.” or “Section 6.46.1, FIG. 6.46.1-1, such as “Architecture model using 5G ProSe 5G UE-to-Network L3 Relay solution (Generic case)”); or p117, Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay …”;
b) First, the amended claim language for independent claims does not address differentiating between Layer-2 U2N relays and Layer-3 U2N relays or any rationale for doing so. Second, D1 clearly teaches Layer-2 U2N relays and Layer-3 U2N relays and differentiating between Layer-2 U2N relays and Layer-3 U2N relays is obvious in that they are functioning at different layers.
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant’s other arguments are based on the arguments to the independent claims, to which Examiner’s response are the same as stated above.
Claim Objections
Claims 52-55, 72-73 and 75 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 52 recites a new phase “can act”, wherein “can” is optional term. It is suggested that the positive language being used. For example, “can act” being replaced with –acts--.
Claims 53-55, 72-73 and 75 are rejected because each of them has the same problem.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 52-55, 57-73 and 75-76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by D1 (3GPP TR 23.752 V2.0.0 (2021-03), 183 pages)
For claim 52, D1 discloses a method for allowing Layer-2 and Layer-3 based User Equipment (p139, Section 6.44.2, FIG. 6.44.2-1, such as “QoS handling for layer-2 relay” and p143, Section 6.46.1, FIG. 6.46.1-1, such as “Architecture model using 5G ProSe 5G UE-to-Network L3 Relay solution (Generic case)”) to Network (U2N) relays to co-exist in a wireless communication network (p119, Section 6.35.2.3, 1st para “The following information is provisioned in the UE in support of the UE assuming the role of a 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay:”), comprising the following steps carried out at a wireless communication device (p105, FIG. 6.29.2.1-1, “Remote UE”):
during a registration procedure, sending, to the wireless communication network, a report on capability for U2N relay and/or UE-to-UE (U2U) relay of the wireless communication device (p119, and Section 6.35.2.3, 1st para “The following information is provisioned in the UE in support of the UE assuming the role of a 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay …“ and p120, Section 6.35.3, 1st para “5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay: - Indicates 5G ProSe capability as a UE-to-Network Relay in the Registration Request message”; also see p105-120, Sections 6.29-6.30, 6.33, and p119, Section 6.35.2.3, 1st para “The following information is provisioned in the UE in support of the UE assuming the role of a 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay:” and Section 6.36.1, p121 1st line “Support of UE-to-UE Relay”; and FIGs. 6.29.2.1-2, 6.30.2-1, 6.32.2.1-1, 6.32.2.2-1, 6.33.2-1; and p70, Section 6.16.2, 2nd para “For UE-to-Network Relay: - The UE indicates UE-to-Network Relay capability in the Registration Request message.”);
receiving, from the wireless communication network, authorization information specifying which role(s) the wireless communication device is authorized to act as in U2N relay and/or U2U relay, the role(s) comprising a Layer-2 U2N relay or a Layer-3 U2N relay (p139 the para under the FIG. 6.44.2-1 “… via a UE-to-Network relay based on the Layer-2 relay.” and p143, Section 6.46.1, FIG. 6.46.1-1, such as “Architecture model using 5G ProSe 5G UE-to-Network L3 Relay solution (Generic case)”) to Network (U2N) relays to co-exist in a wireless communication network (p119, Section 6.35.2.3, 1st para “The following information is provisioned in the UE in support of the UE assuming the role of a 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay:” and p117, Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay: - when the Remote UE is in coverage, the Remote UE can be provisioned with authorization policy …” and p150, Section 6.48.1, 2nd para “Relay UE serving cell information, i.e. Cell ID, PLMN ID, TAI, can be useful for the Remote UE for L3 UE-to-network relay …”); and
acting as the role(s) as specified by the authorization information when performing discovery and/or a communication (p119, Section 6.35.2.3, “… 2) 5G ProSe Relay Discovery policy/parameters for 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay: - Includes the parameters that enable the UE to perform 5G ProSe Relay Discovery as a UE-to-Network Relay when provisioned from the PCF in the ME or configured in the UICC …”), at least one of the following items being indicated by the report or specified by the authorization information (p120, Section 6.35.3, 1st para “5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay: - Indicates 5G ProSe capability as a UE-to-Network Relay in the Registration Request message;”):
whether the wireless communication device can act as a remote UE for Layer-2 U2N relay (p114, FIG. 6.33.2-1 in view of p117, Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay: - when the Remote UE is in coverage, the Remote UE can be provisioned with authorization policy …”);
whether the wireless communication device can act as a relay UE for Layer-2 U2N relay (p114, FIG. 6.33.2-1 in view of p117, Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay: - when the Remote UE is in coverage, the Remote UE can be provisioned with authorization policy and parameters…”; note that FIG. 6.33.2-1 shows a relay UE: UE-R);
whether the wireless communication device can act as a remote UE for Layer-3 U2N relay (p114, FIG. 6.33.2-1 in view of p117, Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay: - when the Remote UE is in coverage, the Remote UE can be provisioned with authorization policy …” and p150, Section 6.48.1, 2nd para “Relay UE serving cell information, i.e. Cell ID, PLMN ID, TAI, can be useful for the Remote UE for L3 UE-to-network relay …”);
whether the wireless communication device is can act as a relay UE for Layer-3 U2N relay (p114, FIG. 6.33.2-1 in view of p117, Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay: - when the Remote UE is in coverage, the Remote UE can be provisioned with authorization policy …”; and p150, Section 6.48.1, 2nd para “Relay UE serving cell information, i.e. Cell ID, PLMN ID, TAI, can be useful for the Remote UE for L3 UE-to-network relay …”);
wherein the authorization information is generated based on subscription data associated with the wireless communication device or the capability, whichever is available (p116, FIGs. 6.34.2.2-1 and p114, FIGs. 6.33.2-1 and the associated text, such as p119, Section 6.35.2.1 “For PCF based Service Authorization and Provisioning to 5G ProSe Remote UE/UE-to-Network Relay … When the UE is roaming, the change of subscription resulting in updates of the service authorization parameters are transferred to the UE by H-PCF via V-PCF” and p70, Section 6.16.2, 2nd para “For UE-to-Network Relay: - The UE indicates UE-to-Network Relay capability in the Registration Request message.”).
Independent claim 54 is rejected because it is a UE that performs the method of claim 52 and has the same subject matter.
For claim 57, D1 discloses a method for allowing Laver-2 and Layer-3 based User Equipment to Network (U2N) relays to co-exist in a wireless communication network (p119, Section 6.35.2.3, 1st para “The following information is provisioned in the UE in support of the UE assuming the role of a 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay” and p117, Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay …”), comprising the following steps carried out at a first network node (p105, FIG. 6.29.2.1-1, “NG-RAN”):
obtaining, from a second network node, subscription data associated with a wireless communication device, the subscription data configured to indicate which role(s) the wireless communication device is allowed to act as in U2N relay and/or U2U relay (p118, Section 6.35.2.2, 2nd para “… - The AMF determines whether the UE is authorized to be a 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay or 5G ProSe Layer 2 Remote UE based on UE's 5G ProSe capability and the subscription data related to relay service authorization from the UDM. The AMF sends the Relay Authorization information to NG-RAN.”; note that UDM is a second network node) the role(s) comprising a Layer-2 U2N relay or a Layer-3 U2N relay (p139 the para under the FIG. 6.44.2-1 “… via a UE-to-Network relay based on the Layer-2 relay.” and p143, Section 6.46.1, FIG. 6.46.1-1, such as “Architecture model using 5G ProSe 5G UE-to-Network L3 Relay solution (Generic case)”) to Network (U2N) relays to co-exist in a wireless communication network (p119, Section 6.35.2.3, 1st para “The following information is provisioned in the UE in support of the UE assuming the role of a 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay:” and p117, Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay: - when the Remote UE is in coverage, the Remote UE can be provisioned with authorization policy …” and p150, Section 6.48.1, 2nd para “Relay UE serving cell information, i.e. Cell ID, PLMN ID, TAI, can be useful for the Remote UE for L3 UE-to-network relay …”); and
authorizing the wireless communication device to act as the role(s) as indicated by the subscription data (suggested by p119, Section 6.35.2.3, 1st para “The following information is provisioned in the UE in support of the UE assuming the role of a 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay: 1) Authorisation policy for acting as a 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay …“ and p120, 6.35.3, 3rd para with subtitle “AMF:”, 1st bullet “Determine whether UE is authorized to be a 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay or Remote UE”; also p132, step 4 “… the SMF retrieves the subscription data of UE-to-Network Relay from the UDM, the subscription data includes the allowed list of Remote UE identification including optional Remote UE authorization information via the UE-to-Network Relay and their associated profiles for Remote UE(s). …” and p114, procedure under FIG. 6.33.2-1, particularly steps 5 and 9),
the subscription data indicating at least one of the following items (p105, step 5 “… The CN NF may check the authorization based on subscription data of the Relay UE, such as list of Remote UEs allowed to use this Relay UE's service …”):
whether the wireless communication device is authorized to act as a remote UE for Layer-2 U2N relay (p114, FIG. 6.33.2-1 in view of Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay: - when the Remote UE is in coverage, the Remote UE can be provisioned with authorization policy …”; and p39, Section 6.7.2.1 “… the protocol architecture supporting a L2 UE-to-Network Relay UE is provided. …”);
whether the wireless communication device is authorized to act as a relay UE for Layer-2 U2N relay (p114, FIG. 6.33.2-1 in view of p117, Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay: - when the Remote UE is in coverage, the Remote UE can be provisioned with authorization policy …”; and p39, Section 6.7.2.1 “… the protocol architecture supporting a L2 UE-to-Network Relay UE is provided. …”);
whether the wireless communication device is authorized to act as a remote UE for Layer-3 U2N relay (p114, FIG. 6.33.2-1 in view of p117, Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay: - when the Remote UE is in coverage, the Remote UE can be provisioned with authorization policy …” and p150, Section 6.48.1, 2nd para “Relay UE serving cell information, i.e. Cell ID, PLMN ID, TAI, can be useful for the Remote UE for L3 UE-to-network relay …”);
whether the wireless communication device is authorized to act as a relay UE for Layer-3 U2N relay (p114, FIG. 6.33.2-1 in view of p117, Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay: - when the Remote UE is in coverage, the Remote UE can be provisioned with authorization policy …” and p150, Section 6.48.1, 2nd para “Relay UE serving cell information, i.e. Cell ID, PLMN ID, TAI, can be useful for the Remote UE for L3 UE-to-network relay …”).
Independent claim 64 is rejected because it is a network node that performs the method of claim 57 and has the same subject matter.
For claim 60, D1 discloses a method for allowing Laver-2 and Layer-3 based User Equipment to Network (U2N) relays to co-exist in a wireless communication network (p119, Section 6.35.2.3, 1st para “The following information is provisioned in the UE in support of the UE assuming the role of a 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay” and p117, Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay …”), comprising the following steps carried out at a first network node (p105, FIG. 6.29.2.1-1, “NG-RAN”):
obtaining subscription data associated with a wireless communication device from a second network node and capability for U2N relay and/or U2U relay of the wireless communication device (the para above p119, Section 6.35.2.3, “The handover procedure for UE is performed as defined in TS 23.502 [8] with the following additions: - The source NG-RAN sends the Relay Authorization information to target NG-RAN.”; note that the target NG-RAN is interpreted as second network node, which functions the same way as the first network node);
based on the subscription data and the capability, generating (820) authorization information specifying which role(s) the wireless communication device is authorized to act as in U2N relay and/or U2U relay (p119, FIGs. 6.34.2.2-1 and 6.33.2-1 and the associated text, such as Section p117, 6.35.2.1, 1st para “For PCF based Service Authorization and Provisioning to 5G ProSe Remote UE/UE-to-Network Relay …” and p118, Section 6.35.2.1 “… When the UE is roaming, the change of subscription resulting in updates of the service authorization parameters are transferred to the UE by H-PCF via V-PCF”) the role(s) comprising a Layer-2 U2N relay or a Layer-3 U2N relay (p139 the para under the FIG. 6.44.2-1 “… via a UE-to-Network relay based on the Layer-2 relay.” and p143, Section 6.46.1, FIG. 6.46.1-1, such as “Architecture model using 5G ProSe 5G UE-to-Network L3 Relay solution (Generic case)”) to Network (U2N) relays to co-exist in a wireless communication network (p119, Section 6.35.2.3, 1st para “The following information is provisioned in the UE in support of the UE assuming the role of a 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay:” and p117, Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay: - when the Remote UE is in coverage, the Remote UE can be provisioned with authorization policy …”); and
sending the authorization information to a third network node (p107, FIG. 6.30.2-1, step 5, indicating authorization information is sent to PCF for authorization checking; or p118, Section 6.35.2.1, 4th para from the bottom, “When the UE is roaming, the change of subscription resulting in updates of the service authorization parameters are transferred to the UE by H-PCF via V-PCF.”; also see p105-115, Sections 6.29-6.30, 6.33, and FIGs. 6.29.2.1-2, 6.30.2-1, 6.32.2.1-1, 6.32.2.2-1, 6.33.2-1),
wherein the authorization information specifies at least one of the following items (p113, 3rd para “… 5G network authorizes UE-to-UE relay once provisioned by the ProSe application server. …”):
whether the wireless communication device is authorized to act as a remote UE for Layer-2 U2N relay (p114, FIG. 6.33.2-1 in view of Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay: - when the Remote UE is in coverage, the Remote UE can be provisioned with authorization policy with authorization policy and parameters …” and p39, Section 6.7.2.1 “… the protocol architecture supporting a L2 UE-to-Network Relay UE is provided. …”);
whether the wireless communication device is authorized to act as a relay UE for Layer-2 U2N relay (p114, FIG. 6.33.2-1 in view of p117, Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay: - when the Remote UE is in coverage, the Remote UE can be provisioned with authorization policy with authorization policy and parameters …” and p39, Section 6.7.2.1 “… the protocol architecture supporting a L2 UE-to-Network Relay UE is provided. …”);
whether the wireless communication device is authorized to act as a remote UE for Layer-3 U2N relay (p114, FIG. 6.33.2-1 in view of p117, Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay: - when the Remote UE is in coverage, the Remote UE can be provisioned with authorization policy with authorization policy and parameters …” and p150, Section 6.48.1, 2nd para “Relay UE serving cell information, i.e. Cell ID, PLMN ID, TAI, can be useful for the Remote UE for L3 UE-to-network relay …”); and
whether the wireless communication device is authorized to act as a relay UE for Layer-3 U2N relay (p114, FIG. 6.33.2-1 in view of p117, Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay: - when the Remote UE is in coverage, the Remote UE can be provisioned with authorization policy with authorization policy and parameters …” and p150, Section 6.48.1, 2nd para “Relay UE serving cell information, i.e. Cell ID, PLMN ID, TAI, can be useful for the Remote UE for L3 UE-to-network relay …”).
Independent claim 67 is rejected because it is a network node that performs the method of claim 60 and has the same subject matter.
For claim 71, D1 discloses a method for allowing Laver-2 and Layer-3 based User Equipment to Network (U2N) relays to co-exist in a wireless communication network (p119, Section 6.35.2.3, 1st para “The following information is provisioned in the UE in support of the UE assuming the role of a 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay” and p117, Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay …”), comprising the following steps carried out at a first network node (p105, FIG. 6.29.2.1-1, “NG-RAN”):
receiving, from a second network node, a report on capability for U2N relay and/or UE-to-UE (U2U) relay of a wireless communication device, and authorization information specifying which role(s) the wireless communication device is authorized to act as in U2N relay and/or U2U relay (p118, Section 6.35.2.2, 2nd para “… - The AMF determines whether the UE is authorized to be a 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay or 5G ProSe Layer 2 Remote UE based on UE's 5G ProSe capability and the subscription data related to relay service authorization from the UDM. The AMF sends the Relay Authorization information to NG-RAN.”; note that UDM is a second network node) the role(s) comprising a Layer-2 U2N relay or a Layer-3 U2N relay (p139 the para under the FIG. 6.44.2-1 “… via a UE-to-Network relay based on the Layer-2 relay.” and p143, Section 6.46.1, FIG. 6.46.1-1, such as “Architecture model using 5G ProSe 5G UE-to-Network L3 Relay solution (Generic case)”) to Network (U2N) relays to co-exist in a wireless communication network (p119, Section 6.35.2.3, 1st para “The following information is provisioned in the UE in support of the UE assuming the role of a 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay:” and p117, Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay: - when the Remote UE is in coverage, the Remote UE can be provisioned with authorization policy …”); and
determining policies and parameters at least based on the capability and the authorization information, wherein the authorization information is generated at least based on subscription data associated with the wireless communication device (suggested p120, 6.35.3, 3rd para with subtitle “AMF:”, 1st bullet “Determine whether UE is authorized to be a 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay or Remote UE”; and p70, Section 6.16.2, 2nd para “For UE-to-Network Relay: - The UE indicates UE-to-Network Relay capability in the Registration Request message.” and p139 the para under the FIG. 6.44.2-1 “… via a UE-to-Network relay based on the Layer-2 relay.”).
As to claim 53 and 55, D1 discloses claims 52 and 54, D1 further discloses: wherein at least one of the following additional items is indicated by the report or specified by the authorization information:
whether the wireless communication device is can act as a remote UE for Layer-2 U2U relay (p113, Section 6.33.2, 1st para, “Figure. 6.33.2-1 shows the peer discovery and unicast link establishment over PC5 reference point via a UE-to-UE Relay” and p120, Section 6.35.3, 3rd para with subtitle “AMF:”, 1st bullet “Determine whether UE is authorized to be a 5G ProSe UE-to-Network Relay or Remote UE”);
whether the wireless communication device is can act as a relay UE for Layer-2 U2U relay (p139 the para under the FIG. 6.44.2-1 “… via a UE-to-Network relay based on the Layer-2 relay.”);
whether the wireless communication device is can act as a remote UE for Layer-3 U2U relay (p114, FIG. 6.33.2-1 in view of Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay: - when the Remote UE is in coverage, the Remote UE can be provisioned with authorization policy with authorization policy and parameters by 5GC …”); and
whether the wireless communication device is can act as a relay UE for Layer-3 U2U relay (p107, Section 6.31. 1 1st para This is a solution for Key Issue #4, UE-to-UE Relay. This solution is applicable for both Layer 2 UE-to-UE Relay and Layer 3 UE-to-UE Relay.”).
As to claim 58 and 61, D1 discloses claims 57 and 60, D1 further discloses: wherein the subscription data further indicates at least one of the following items also (p132, step 4 “… the SMF retrieves the subscription data of UE-to-Network Relay from the UDM, the subscription data includes the allowed list of Remote UE identification including optional Remote UE authorization information via the UE-to-Network Relay and their associated profiles for Remote UE(s). …”):
whether the wireless communication device is authorized to act as a remote UE for Layer-2 U2U relay (p117, Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay: - when the Remote UE is in coverage, the Remote UE can be provisioned with authorization policy with authorization policy and parameters by 5GC …” and p107, Section 6.31. 1 1st para This is a solution for Key Issue #4, UE-to-UE Relay. This solution is applicable for both Layer 2 UE-to-UE Relay and Layer 3 UE-to-UE Relay.”);
whether the wireless communication device is authorized to act as a relay UE for Layer-2 U2U relay (p114, FIG. 6.33.2-1 in view of p117, Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay: - when the Remote UE is in coverage, the Remote UE can be provisioned with authorization policy …” and p107, Section 6.31. 1 1st para This is a solution for Key Issue #4, UE-to-UE Relay. This solution is applicable for both Layer 2 UE-to-UE Relay and Layer 3 UE-to-UE Relay.”);
whether the wireless communication device is authorized to act as a remote UE for Layer-3 U2U relay (p114, FIG. 6.33.2-1 in view of p117, Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay: - when the Remote UE is in coverage, the Remote UE can be provisioned with authorization policy …” and p107, Section 6.31. 1 1st para This is a solution for Key Issue #4, UE-to-UE Relay. This solution is applicable for both Layer 2 UE-to-UE Relay and Layer 3 UE-to-UE Relay.”); and
whether the wireless communication device is authorized to act as a relay UE for Layer-3 U2U relay (p114, FIG. 6.33.2-1 in view of p117, Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay: - when the Remote UE is in coverage, the Remote UE can be provisioned with authorization policy …” and p107, Section 6.31. 1 1st para This is a solution for Key Issue #4, UE-to-UE Relay. This solution is applicable for both Layer 2 UE-to-UE Relay and Layer 3 UE-to-UE Relay.”).
As to claims 59 and 66, D1 discloses claims 57 and 64, D1 further discloses: wherein the first network node is an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) node, and the second network node is a Unified Data Management (UDM) node (p38, 1st para, “… Relay UE's AMF gets Remote UE's SUPI from Remote UE's AUSF. Then Relay UE's AMF retrieves Remote UE's subscribed UE-AMBR from Remote UE's UDM using Remote UE's SUPI” in view of Figure 6.27.2-1: Secondary authentication procedure for a Remote UE).
As to claims 62 and 69, D1 discloses claims 60 and 67, D1 further discloses: sending the authorization information to a Radio Access network (RAN) (p37, Figure 6.6.2-1, authorization information is sent to NG-RAN in step 0a or 0b).
As to claims 63 and 70, D1 discloses claims 60 and 67, D1 further discloses: wherein the first network node is an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) node, the second network node is a Unified Data Management (UDM) node, and the third network node is a Policy Control Function (PCF) node (p77, Figure6.18.2.2-1 shows AMF, UDM/DDNMF, and PCF).
As to claims 65 and 68, D1 discloses claims 64 and 67, D1 further discloses: wherein the subscription data (p132, step 4 “… the SMF retrieves the subscription data of UE-to-Network Relay from the UDM, the subscription data includes the allowed list of Remote UE identification including optional Remote UE authorization information via the UE-to-Network Relay and their associated profiles for Remote UE(s). …”) further indicates at least one of the following items:
whether the wireless communication device is authorized to act as a remote UE for Layer-2 U2U relay (p114, FIG. 6.33.2-1 in view of Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay: - when the Remote UE is in coverage, the Remote UE can be provisioned with authorization policy …”; and p107, Section 6.31. 1 1st para This is a solution for Key Issue #4, UE-to-UE Relay. This solution is applicable for both Layer 2 UE-to-UE Relay and Layer 3 UE-to-UE Relay.”);
whether the wireless communication device is authorized to act as a relay UE for Layer-2 U2U relay (p114, FIG. 6.33.2-1 in view of Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay: - when the Remote UE is in coverage, the Remote UE can be provisioned with authorization policy …”; and p107, Section 6.31. 1 1st para This is a solution for Key Issue #4, UE-to-UE Relay. This solution is applicable for both Layer 2 UE-to-UE Relay and Layer 3 UE-to-UE Relay.”;
whether the wireless communication device is authorized to act as a remote UE for Layer-3 U2U relay (p114, FIG. 6.33.2-1 in view of p117, Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay: - when the Remote UE is in coverage, the Remote UE can be provisioned with authorization policy …”; and p107, Section 6.31. 1 1st para This is a solution for Key Issue #4, UE-to-UE Relay. This solution is applicable for both Layer 2 UE-to-UE Relay and Layer 3 UE-to-UE Relay.”; and
whether the wireless communication device is authorized to act as a relay UE for Layer-3 U2U relay (p114, FIG. 6.33.2-1 in view of p117, Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay: - when the Remote UE is in coverage, the Remote UE can be provisioned with authorization policy …”; and p107, Section 6.31. 1 1st para This is a solution for Key Issue #4, UE-to-UE Relay. This solution is applicable for both Layer 2 UE-to-UE Relay and Layer 3 UE-to-UE Relay.”).
As to claim 72, D1 discloses claim 71, D1 further discloses: wherein the report indicates at least one of the following items (p114, FIG. 6.33.2-1, step 0 “Registration with UE Relay Capability”, suggesting a report):
whether the wireless communication device is can act as a remote UE for Layer-2 U2N relay (p114, FIG. 6.33.2-1 in view of p117, Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay: - when the Remote UE is in coverage, the Remote UE can be provisioned with authorization policy …”; and p39, Section 6.7.2.1 “… the protocol architecture supporting a L2 UE-to-Network Relay UE is provided. …”);
whether the wireless communication device is can act as a relay UE for Layer-2 U2N relay (p114, FIG. 6.33.2-1 in view of p117, Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay: - when the Remote UE is in coverage, the Remote UE can be provisioned with authorization policy …”; and p39, Section 6.7.2.1 “… the protocol architecture supporting a L2 UE-to-Network Relay UE is provided. …”);
whether the wireless communication device is can act as a remote UE for Layer-3 U2N relay (p114, FIG. 6.33.2-1 in view of p117, Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay: - when the Remote UE is in coverage, the Remote UE can be provisioned with authorization policy …”; and p150, Section 6.48.1, 2nd para “Relay UE serving cell information, i.e. Cell ID, PLMN ID, TAI, can be useful for the Remote UE for L3 UE-to-network relay …”);
whether the wireless communication device is can act as a relay UE for Layer-3 U2N relay (p114, FIG. 6.33.2-1 in view of p117, Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay: - when the Remote UE is in coverage, the Remote UE can be provisioned with authorization policy …”; and p150, Section 6.48.1, 2nd para “Relay UE serving cell information, i.e. Cell ID, PLMN ID, TAI, can be useful for the Remote UE for L3 UE-to-network relay …”);
whether the wireless communication device is can act as a remote UE for Layer-2 U2U relay (p114, FIG. 6.33.2-1 in view of p117, Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay: - when the Remote UE is in coverage, the Remote UE can be provisioned with authorization policy …”; and p107, Section 6.31. 1 1st para This is a solution for Key Issue #4, UE-to-UE Relay. This solution is applicable for both Layer 2 UE-to-UE Relay and Layer 3 UE-to-UE Relay.”);
whether the wireless communication device is can act as a relay UE for Layer-2 U2U relay (p114, FIG. 6.33.2-1 in view of p117, Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay: - when the Remote UE is in coverage, the Remote UE can be provisioned with authorization policy …”; and p107, Section 6.31. 1 1st para This is a solution for Key Issue #4, UE-to-UE Relay. This solution is applicable for both Layer 2 UE-to-UE Relay and Layer 3 UE-to-UE Relay.”);
whether the wireless communication device is can act as a remote UE for Layer-3 U2U relay (p107, Section 6.31. 1 1st para This is a solution for Key Issue #4, UE-to-UE Relay. This solution is applicable for both Layer 2 UE-to-UE Relay and Layer 3 UE-to-UE Relay.”); and
whether the wireless communication device is can act as a relay UE for Layer-3 U2U relay (p107, Section 6.31. 1 1st para This is a solution for Key Issue #4, UE-to-UE Relay. This solution is applicable for both Layer 2 UE-to-UE Relay and Layer 3 UE-to-UE Relay.”),
wherein the authorization information specifies at least one of the following items (FIG. 6.33.2-1, step 3 “Unicast Via Direct PC5”, suggesting authorization for establishing a PC5 link):
whether the wireless communication device is authorized to act as a remote UE for Layer-2 U2N relay (p114, FIG. 6.33.2-1 in view of p117, Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay: when the Remote UE is in coverage, the Remote UE can be provisioned with authorization policy …”; note that FIG. 6.33.2-1 shows a relay UE: UE-R);
whether the wireless communication device is authorized to act as a relay UE for Layer-2 U2N relay (p114, FIG. 6.33.2-1 in view of p117, Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay: - when the Remote UE is in coverage, the Remote UE can be provisioned with authorization policy …”; and p39, Section 6.7.2.1 “… the protocol architecture supporting a L2 UE-to-Network Relay UE is provided. …”);
whether the wireless communication device is authorized to act as a remote UE for Layer-3 U2N relay (p114, FIG. 6.33.2-1 in view of p117, Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay: - when the Remote UE is in coverage, the Remote UE can be provisioned with authorization policy …”; and p150, Section 6.48.1, 2nd para “Relay UE serving cell information, i.e. Cell ID, PLMN ID, TAI, can be useful for the Remote UE for L3 UE-to-network relay …”);
whether the wireless communication device is authorized to act as a relay UE for Layer-3 U2N relay (p114, FIG. 6.33.2-1 in view of p117, Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay: - when the Remote UE is in coverage, the Remote UE can be provisioned with authorization policy …”; and p107, Section 6.31. 1 1st para This is a solution for Key Issue #4, UE-to-UE Relay. This solution is applicable for both Layer 2 UE-to-UE Relay and Layer 3 UE-to-UE Relay.” and p150, Section 6.48.1, 2nd para “Relay UE serving cell information, i.e. Cell ID, PLMN ID, TAI, can be useful for the Remote UE for L3 UE-to-network relay …”);
whether the wireless communication device is authorized to act as a remote UE for Layer-2 U2U relay (p114, FIG. 6.33.2-1 in view of p117, Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay: - when the Remote UE is in coverage, the Remote UE can be provisioned with authorization policy …”; and p107, Section 6.31. 1 1st para This is a solution for Key Issue #4, UE-to-UE Relay. This solution is applicable for both Layer 2 UE-to-UE Relay and Layer 3 UE-to-UE Relay.”);
whether the wireless communication device is authorized to act as a relay UE for Layer-2 U2U relay (p114, FIG. 6.33.2-1 in view of p117, Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay: - when the Remote UE is in coverage, the Remote UE can be provisioned with authorization policy …”; and p107, Section 6.31. 1 1st para This is a solution for Key Issue #4, UE-to-UE Relay. This solution is applicable for both Layer 2 UE-to-UE Relay and Layer 3 UE-to-UE Relay.”);
whether the wireless communication device is authorized to act as a remote UE for Layer-3 U2U relay (p114, FIG. 6.33.2-1 in view of p117, Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay: - when the Remote UE is in coverage, the Remote UE can be provisioned with authorization policy …”; and p107, Section 6.31. 1 1st para This is a solution for Key Issue #4, UE-to-UE Relay. This solution is applicable for both Layer 2 UE-to-UE Relay and Layer 3 UE-to-UE Relay.”); and
whether the wireless communication device is authorized to act as a relay UE for Layer-3 U2U relay (p114, FIG. 6.33.2-1 in view of p117, Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay: - when the Remote UE is in coverage, the Remote UE can be provisioned with authorization policy …”; and p107, Section 6.31. 1 1st para This is a solution for Key Issue #4, UE-to-UE Relay. This solution is applicable for both Layer 2 UE-to-UE Relay and Layer 3 UE-to-UE Relay.”).
As to claims 73, D1 discloses claim 71, D1 further discloses: wherein the wireless communication device is authorized to act or can act as a remote UE for Layer-2 U2N relay and Layer-3 U2N relay, and the policies and parameters specify which relay type is preferred for all or specific ProSe services (p117, Section 6.35.1, last para “… For both Layer 2 and Layer 3 Relay: - when the Remote UE is in coverage, the Remote UE can be provisioned with authorization policy …” and p150, Section 6.48.1, 2nd para “Relay UE serving cell information, i.e. Cell ID, PLMN ID, TAI, can be useful for the Remote UE for L3 UE-to-network relay …”).
As to claim 75, D1 discloses claim 71, D1 further discloses: wherein the wireless communication device is authorized to act or can act as a remote UE for Layer-3 U2N relay, and the policies and parameters specify whether the wireless communication device acting as the remote UE needs to access N3IWF for all or specific ProSe service (p98, FIG. 6.25.3-1: “QoS control for L3 UE-to-Network Relay …”, in view of p98, Section 6.25.4, Step 4 “… The E2E QoS parameters may be derived from the application requirement or based on the mapping of the ProSe service type to E2E QoS parameters …” and p150, Section 6.48.1, 2nd para “Relay UE serving cell information, i.e. Cell ID, PLMN ID, TAI, can be useful for the Remote UE for L3 UE-to-network relay …”).
As to claim 76, D1 discloses claim 71, D1 further discloses: wherein the policies and parameters include UE Route Selection Policy (URSP) rules specifying relay type selection for the wireless communication device (p115, Section 6.34.1, 5th para “…The URSP can be used to identify the corresponding parameters for the PDU session to use for this reporting purpose. …”).
As to claim 77, D1 discloses claim 73, D1 further discloses: wherein an indication of PC5 or sidelink is included in an Access Type preference to indicate that traffic is transferred via a PC5 interface or sidelink (p100, Section 6.26.2, 2nd para from the bottom “Therefore, it is preferable to extend the existing "Access Type preference" IE to include PC5 path, so that the Remote UE will be able to determine which type of access should be used.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 56 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (3GPP TR 23.752 V2.0.0 (2021-03), 183 pages) in view of Ghozian (US 20220095240 A1).
As to claim 56, D1 discloses claim 54, and is silent but Ghozian, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication, discloses: wherein the wireless communication device is selected from a group comprising UE, Tablet, mobile terminals, smart phone, laptop embedded equipped, laptop mounted equipment, and Internet of Things (IoT) device (“[0048] As shown by FIG. 7, the system 700 includes UE 701a and UE 701b (collectively referred to as “UEs 701” or “UE 701”). In this example, UEs 701 are illustrated as smartphones (e.g., handheld touchscreen mobile computing devices connectable to one or more cellular networks), but may also comprise any mobile or non-mobile computing device, such as consumer electronics devices, cellular phones, smartphones, feature phones, tablet computers, wearable computer devices, personal digital assistants (PDAs), pagers, wireless handsets, desktop computers, laptop computers, in-vehicle infotainment (IVI), in-car entertainment (ICE) devices, an Instrument Cluster (IC), head-up display (HUD) devices, onboard diagnostic (OBD) devices, dashtop mobile equipment (DME), mobile data terminals (MDTs), Electronic Engine Management System (EEMS), electronic/engine control units (ECUs), electronic/engine control modules (ECMs), embedded systems, microcontrollers, control modules, engine management systems (EMS), networked or “smart” appliances, MTC devices, M2M, IoT devices, and/or the like.”). OOSA would have been motivated to apply the teaching of Ghozian above to the UEs disclosed by D1 to yield of predictable result of clarifying UEs being any user wireless communication devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to OOSA before the effective filing date of the application to combine D1 and Ghozian for benefit of clarifying the meaning of UEs ([0048] of Ghozian).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIANYE WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462