DETAILED ACTION
Status
The filing on 01/30/2026 amended claims 1, 3, 4, 7, 8, 9, 13, and cancelled claims 2, 5, 6, 11, and 12. Claims 1, 3, 4, 7-10, and 13-15 are pending and rejected.
Objection/s to the Application, Drawings and Claims
The title of the invention, “PROJECTION SYSTEM INCLUDING A PROJECTION OPTICAL SYSTEM,” is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “PROJECTION SYSTEM HAVING A LIGHT COLOR COMPONENT PEAK BETWEEN 700 NM AND 800 NM.”
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kito (US 20190113763 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kito teaches a projection system comprising: a light source unit (100) configured to emit a first visible light beam (B), a second visible light beam (Y) having a longer wavelength than the first visible light beam (B), and a near infrared light beam (R; [0077]); a spatial light modulation unit (400R/G/B) configured to subject the first visible light beam (B), the second visible light beam (Y), and the near infrared light beam (R), all emitted from the light source unit (100), to spatial light modulation to produce a first image light beam, a second image light beam, and a third image light beam, respectively (Fig. 1); a projection optical system (600); and, inherently, a controller configured to control the spatial light modulation unit (400R/G/B), the controller being able to make the projection optical system (600) not only selectively project any one of a plurality of image light beams, including the first image light beam, the second image light beam, and the third image light beam, but also selectively project any two or more of the plurality of image light beams, by controlling the spatial light modulation unit (400R/G/B) in two different manners, wherein the spatial light modulation unit (400R/G/B) includes: a first image display element (400B) configured to subject the first visible light beam (B) to spatial light modulation on a pixel-by-pixel basis to produce the first image light beam; a second image display element (400G) configured to subject the second visible light beam (Y) to spatial light modulation on the pixel-by-pixel basis to produce the second image light beam; and a third image display element (400R) configured to subject the near infrared light beam (R) to spatial light modulation on the pixel-by-pixel basis to produce the third image light beam; the first visible light beam (B) is a blue light beam, and the second visible light beam (Y) is a yellow light beam; the light source unit (100) includes: a light-emitting element (10; [0041]) configured to emit the first visible light beam (B); and a wavelength-converting portion (51, 52) including a first wavelength-converting element (51) that emits the second visible light beam (Y) when excited by the first visible light beam (B; [0069]) and a second wavelength-converting element (52) that emits the near infrared light beam (R) when excited by the first visible light beam (B; [0075]-[0077]), and the second visible light beam (Y) is fluorescent light having light components over an entire wavelength range equal to or longer than 500 nm and equal to or shorter than 600 nm ([0069]), and the near infrared light beam (R) is fluorescent light having a peak of fluorescence intensity within a wavelength range equal to or longer than 700 nm and equal to or shorter than 800 nm ([0077]).
Regarding claim 3, Kito further teaches each of the first image display element (400B), the second image display element (400G), and the third image display element (400R) is a liquid crystal display ([0035], [0037], [0052], [0054]-[0055], [0058]-[0060]).
Regarding claim 4, Kito further teaches each of the first image display element (400B), the second image display element (400G), and the third image display element (400R) is a DMD ([0126]).
Regarding claim 7, Kito further teaches the light-emitting element (10) is a semiconductor laser diode having an emission wavelength equal to or longer than 400 nm and equal to or shorter than 480 nm ([0041], [0046]).
Regarding claim 8, Kito further teaches the light source unit (100) includes a rotator (44) rotatable on a center axis of rotation and having a reflective surface (54) that reflects the second visible light beam (Y) and the near infrared light beam (R), and the wavelength-converting portion (51, 52) is disposed on the reflective surface (54) of the rotator (44) and has a ring shape when viewed in a direction aligned with the center axis of rotation (Fig. 2, 4, 5).
Claim Rejections - AIA 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 10, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kito in view of Ikeda (US 20200363710 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Kito teaches a projection system comprising: a light source unit (100) configured to emit a first visible light beam (B), a second visible light beam (Y) having a longer wavelength than the first visible light beam (B), and a near infrared light beam (R; [0077]); a spatial light modulation unit (400R/G/B) configured to subject the first visible light beam (B), the second visible light beam (Y), and the near infrared light beam (R), all emitted from the light source unit (100), to spatial light modulation to produce a first image light beam, a second image light beam, and a third image light beam, respectively (Fig. 1); a projection optical system (600); and, inherently, a controller configured to control the spatial light modulation unit (400R/G/B), the controller being able to make the projection optical system (600) not only selectively project any one of a plurality of image light beams, including the first image light beam, the second image light beam, and the third image light beam, but also selectively project any two or more of the plurality of image light beams, by controlling the spatial light modulation unit (400R/G/B) in two different manners, the light source unit (100) includes: a light-emitting element (10) configured to emit the first visible light beam (B); and a first wavelength-converting portion (51) configured to emit the second visible light beam (Y) when excited by the first visible light beam (B; [0069]); and a second wavelength-converting portion (52) configured to emit the near infrared light beam (R) when excited by the first visible light beam (B; [0075]-[0077]), the second visible light beam (Y) is fluorescent light having light components over an entire wavelength range equal to or longer than 500 nm and equal to or shorter than 600 nm ([0069]), and the near infrared light beam (R) is fluorescent light having a peak of fluorescence intensity within a wavelength range equal to or longer than 700 nm and equal to or shorter than 800 nm ([0077]); and the light-emitting element (10) is a semiconductor laser diode having an emission wavelength equal to or longer than 400 nm and equal to or shorter than 480 nm ([0041], [0046]).
Kito does not teach the light source unit (100) is configured to emit the first visible light beam (B), the second visible light beam (Y), and the near infrared light beam (R) by time division method, and the spatial light modulation unit (400R/G/B) includes an image display element configured to subject each of the first visible light beam (B), the second visible light beam (Y), and the near infrared light beam (R) to spatial light modulation on a pixel-by-pixel basis to produce the first image light beam, the second image light beam, and the third image light beam, respectively.
Ikeda teaches the light source unit (Fig. 5A/B, 7A/B, 10, 11, 14, 15) is configured to emit the first visible light beam (B), the second visible light beam (Y), and the near infrared light beam (R) by time division method, and the spatial light modulation unit (1221) includes an image display element configured to subject each of the first visible light beam (B), the second visible light beam (Y), and the near infrared light beam (R) to spatial light modulation on a pixel-by-pixel basis to produce the first image light beam, the second image light beam, and the third image light beam, respectively.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Kito with Ikeda; because it allows using only one SLM to reduce cost.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Kito and Ikeda consequently results in the image display element being a digital micromirror device ([0177] of Ikeda).
Regarding claim 13, Kito further teaches the light source unit (100) includes a first rotator (44) rotatable on a first center axis of rotation and having a reflective surface (54) intersecting with a thickness direction, the first wavelength-converting portion (51) is disposed on the reflective surface (54) of the first rotator (44) and has a shape of an arc, of which a center is defined by the first center axis of rotation (Fig. 2, 4, 5), the second wavelength-converting portion (52) is disposed on the reflective surface (54) of the first rotator (44) and has a shape of an arc, of which a center is defined by the first center axis of rotation (Fig. 2, 4, 5), but does not teach the first rotator (44) includes an emerging portion having a shape of an arc, of which a center is defined by the first center axis of rotation, and interposed between the first wavelength-converting portion (51) and the second wavelength-converting portion (52) when viewed in the thickness direction and configured to let the first visible light beam (B), emitted from the light-emitting element (10), emerge by either transmitting or reflecting the first visible light beam (B).
Ikeda teaches the first rotator (5/7; Fig. 5A, 7A) includes an emerging portion (502a/b, 701a/b) having a shape of an arc, of which a center is defined by the first center axis of rotation (508), and interposed between the first wavelength-converting portion (501) and the second wavelength-converting portion (503) when viewed in the thickness direction and configured to let the first visible light beam (B), emitted from the light-emitting element (1001/1101), emerge by either transmitting or reflecting the first visible light beam (B).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Kito with Ikeda; because it allows using only one SLM to reduce cost.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Kito and Ikeda consequently results in the light source unit (10/11; Fig. 5A/B, 7A/B, 10, 11, 14, 15 of Ikeda) further includes a second rotator (1011, 1110 of Ikeda) rotatable on a second center axis of rotation, and the second rotator (1011, 1110 of Ikeda) includes: a transmitting portion having a shape of an arc, of which a center is defined by the second center axis of rotation, and configured to transmit the first visible light beam (B) emerging from the emerging portion of the first rotator, a first filter portion having a shape of an arc, of which a center is defined by the second center axis of rotation, and configured to transmit the second visible light beam (Y) emerging from the first wavelength-converting portion; and a second filter portion having a shape of an arc, of which a center is defined by the second center axis of rotation, and configured to transmit the near infrared light beam (R) emerging from the second wavelength-converting portion ([0150], [0151], [0165], [0166] of Ikeda).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Kito and Ikeda consequently results in the light source unit (10/11; Fig. 5A/B, 7A/B, 10, 11, 14, 15 of Ikeda) further includes a second rotator (1011, 1110 of Ikeda) rotatable on a second center axis of rotation, and the second rotator (1011, 1110 of Ikeda) includes: a transmitting portion having a shape of an arc, of which a center is defined by the second center axis of rotation, and configured to transmit the first visible light beam (B) emerging from the emerging portion of the first rotator (44); a green light filtering portion having a shape of an arc, of which a center is defined by the second center axis of rotation, and configured to extract a green light component from the second visible light beam (Y) emerging from the first wavelength-converting portion (51); a red light filtering portion having a shape of an arc, of which a center is defined by the second center axis of rotation, and configured to extract a red light component from the second visible light beam (Y) emerging from the first wavelength-converting portion (51); and a near infrared light filtering portion having a shape of an arc, of which a center is defined by the second center axis of rotation, and configured to transmit the near infrared light beam (R) emerging from the second wavelength-converting portion ([0150], [0151], [0165], [0166] of Ikeda).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 1 and 9 have been considered but are found not persuasive; hence the rejection/s of all pending claims are maintained.
Regarding claims 1 and 9, applicant/s argue,
However, Kito only teaches that a color image is formed by combining the red light R, the green light G, and the blue light B with one another. That is to say, Kito teaches that the dichroic mirror 210 is a dichroic mirror that transmits a red light component and reflects a green light component and a blue light component (refer to paragraph [0057]). Kito also teaches that the red light R having passed through the dichroic mirror 210 is reflected off the reflection mirror 230, passes through the field lens 300R, and is incident on the image formation region of the liquid crystal light modulator 400R (refer to paragraph [0058]). Nevertheless, Kito fails to teach that a near infrared light beam is used as an image light beam. Furthermore, Kito teaches none of the following limitations of claim 1 as amended: "a spatial light modulation unit configured to subject the first visible light beam, the second visible light beam, and the near infrared light beam, all emitted from the light source unit, to spatial light modulation to produce a first image light beam, a second image light beam, and a third image light beam, respectively;" "a controller configured to control the spatial light modulation unit, the controller being able to make the projection optical system [...] selectively project any one of a plurality of image light beams, including the first image light beam, the second image light beam, and the third image light beam (i.e., the controller is able to make the projection optical system selectively project the third image light beam);" and "the near infrared light beam is fluorescent light having a peak of fluorescence intensity within a wavelength range equal to or longer than 700 nm and equal to or shorter than 800 nm (i.e., the third image light beam is a near infrared light beam having a peak of fluorescence intensity within a wavelength range equal to or longer than 700 nm and equal to or shorter than 800 nm)." (Remarks; p. 10-11).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claims 1 and 9 do not limit the wavelength range of the near infrared light beam other than limiting the peak of the infrared light beam to be between 700-800 nm. Kito clearly teaches in paragraph [0077] “[f]or example, in the case where the second phosphor layer 52 is formed of the Cr:YAG phosphor, the second phosphor layer 52 absorbs the excitation light E having a peak wavelength of about 450 nm and produces the red fluorescence R that has a peak wavelength of about 710 nm and belongs to a wavelength region ranging from about 600 to 800 nm.” A peak wavelength of about 710 nm clearly falls within “a peak of fluorescence intensity within a wavelength range equal to or longer than 700 nm and equal to or shorter than 800 nm” as recited in claims 1 and 9.”
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Virginia 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
Or:
(571) 273-7490, (for informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”)
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882