DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-8, 11-13) in the reply filed on 04/23/2026 is acknowledged.
3. Claims 9-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/23/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-5, 8, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee (US 2018/0346811 A1).
As to claim 1, Lee discloses a etchant for removing silicon nitride comprises:
a siloxane compound modified with a compound having an alkyleneoxy group (See paragraph 0041; i.e. Silwet L-77 aka 3-(2-Methoxyethoxy)propyl-methyl-bis(trimethylsilyloxy)silane; See evidence reference PubChem “3-(2-Methoxyethoxy)propyl-methyl-bis(trimethylsilyloxy)silane” via https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/Silwet-L-77 Note: Silwet L-77 read on applicant’s limitation siloxane compound modified with a compound having an alkyleneoxy group);
a phosphoric acid (abstract, paragraph 0028);
water (paragraph 0026).
As to claim 2, Lee discloses wherein a siloxane compound modified with a compound having an alkylneoxy group, a phosphoric acid and water are blended to form the etchant (paragraph 0041, 0026-0028).
As to claim 3, Lee discloses a siloxane compound modified with a compound having an alkyleneoxy group is a siloxane with the following structure as shown below based on evidence reference (See paragraph 0041; i.e. Silwet L-77 aka 3-(2-Methoxyethoxy)propyl-methyl-bis(trimethylsilyloxy)silane. It is well known in the art that Silwet L-77 has the following structure (See evidence reference: PubChem “3-(2-Methoxyethoxy)propyl-methyl-bis(trimethylsilyloxy)silane” via https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/Silwet-L-77
Therefore, Lee discloses the siloxane compound modified with a compound having an alkyleneoxy group is a siloxane with the structure represented by formula (I):
Wherein R = methyl or methoxy group having 1 carbon atoms; r = 1 or 2; t = 1.
As to claim 4, Lee discloses the siloxane compound modified with a compound having an alkyleneoxy group is a siloxane with the structure represented by formula (II):
Wherein
Wherein R = methyl or methoxy group having 1 carbon atoms; r = 1 or 2; t = 1. s = 0; and t/(s+t) x 100 = 100 (within applicant’s range of “4 or more”)
As to claim 5, Lee discloses the R in the formula (I) is a methyl group or methoxy group (See structure of Silwet L-77 above).
As to claim 8, Lee discloses an etching temperature of 100 °C to 200 °C, preferable 150 to 180 °C (See paragraph 0065; Note: 150 °C, 180 °C or 200 °C are within applicant’s range of 110 °C or more and 250 °C or less).
As to claim 12, Lee discloses the R in the formula (II) is a methyl group or methoxy group (See structure of Silwet L-77 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2018/0346811 A1) as applied to claims 1-5, 8 above, and further in view of Yoo (US 2020/0239771 A1)
As to claim 7, Lee fails to disclose the etchant having a pH of 2 or less. However, Lee clearly discloses the etchant is used to remove silicon nitride. Yoo discloses an etching solution to remove silicon nitride having a pH of 2 to 2.5 (paragraph 0089, 0096, within applicant’s range of 2 or less). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lee in view of Yoo by having a pH of 2 because in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05(I)).
9. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2018/0346811 A1) as applied to claims 1-5, 8 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2020/0216758 A1)
As to claim 7, Lee fails to disclose the etchant having a pH of 2 or less. However, Lee clearly discloses the etchant is used to remove silicon nitride. Kim discloses an etching solution to remove silicon nitride having a pH of 1 or less (paragraph 0027, within applicant’s range of 2 or less). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lee in view of Kim by having a pH of 2 because in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 6, 11, 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
11. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 6, the cited prior arts fail to disclose or suggest wherein R in the formula (I) is a phosphate group.
As to claim 11, the cited prior arts fail to disclose or suggest wherein t/(s+t) is 10 or more and 80 or less in the formula (II).
As to claim 13, the cited prior arts fail to disclose or suggest wherein R in the formula (II) is a phosphate group.
Conclusion
BINH X. TRAN
Examiner
Art Unit 1713
/BINH X TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713