DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-8, 18, and 19 and Species I, claim 2, in the reply filed on 06/17/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Within Group I, claims 3, 18, and 19 are withdrawn as claims 18 and 19 depend from non-elected claim 3. Currently, claims 1, 2, and 4-8 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, and 4-8, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the instant claim requires a sulfide-based solid electrolyte in which a metal or metalloid is doped into a claimed Li2S- P2S5-LiX or Li2S- P2S5-LiX-LiX’- type sulfide based solid electrolyte system. It is not clear from the claim language how the metal or metalloid doped into the system is to be included. In view of the specification, the X and X’ are taught to be the metal or metalloid. For the purpose of examination, examiner will consider the X or the X’ included in the electrolyte to be the metal or metalloid. Clarification in the claim language is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Minami et al (JP 2018133227).
Regarding claim 1, Minami teaches a sulfide solid electrolyte prepared by adding Bi2S3 to a material comprising Li2S, P2S5, LiI and LiBr and modifying the material composition. Minami also teaches a method for preparing a sulfide solid electrolyte comprising the steps of mixing a material composition comprising Li2S, P2S5, LiI by means of a ball mill, adding Bi2S3 to the mixture and mixing by the ball mill, and ultimately treating the mixture at high temperature so as to obtain a sulfide solid electrolyte (abstract, claim 1). This is considered to meet the instantly claimed Li2S- P2S5-LiX-LiX’ wherein X is I and X’ is Br.
Regarding claim 5, Minami teaches LiI and LiBr (abstract and claim 1).
Regarding claim 7, Minami teaches the sulfide-based solid electrolyte as discussed above wherein the material is the same as the instantly claimed material. As the electrolyte of Minami is materially the same as the instantly claimed electrolyte, similar peaks would be expected if tested under the same conditions.
Regarding claim 8, Minami teaches the sulfide-based solid electrolyte as discussed above wherein the material is the same as the instantly claimed material. As the electrolyte of Minami is materially the same as the instantly claimed electrolyte, similar peaks would be expected if tested under the same conditions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minami et al (JP 2018133227).
Regarding claim 2, Minami teaches the sulfide-based solid electrolyte as discussed above.
Minami does not explicitly teach the electrolyte represented by Chemical Formula 1, as claimed.
Minami teaches the solid electrolyte being prepared using 75 mol% Li2S; 25 mol% P2S5; 10-35 mol% of LiI and LiBr; and 0.5-5 mol% Bi2S3 (0014-0015; 0026).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to obtain the instantly claimed chemical formula given the components of Minami are similar to the instantly claimed invention and therefore a similar chemical formula would be expected without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 4, Minami teaches Bi2S3 (abstract, claim 1).
Regarding claim 6, Minami teaches the sulfide-based solid electrolyte as discussed above.
Minami does not explicitly teach the electrolyte being represented by Chemical Formula 1 with 0<c≤0.3, as claimed.
Minami teaches the solid electrolyte being prepared using 75 mol% Li2S; 25 mol% P2S5; 10-35 mol% of LiI and LiBr; and 0.5-5 mol% Bi2S3 (0014-0015; 0026).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to obtain the instantly claimed chemical formula given the components of Minami are similar to the instantly claimed invention and therefore a similar chemical formula would be expected without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/SARAH A. SLIFKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759 August 27, 2026