Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 20 April 2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 4 June 2026. These drawings are approved.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "9" and "12" have both been used to designate the fourth recess in Figure 1.
The drawings are objected to because reference character “8” should include an arrowhead at the end of its leader line, given the fact that the reference character denotes the geometric center of the wheel and not the central opening.
Reference character “9” should be moved back to its original position (denoting the first recess), and should include an arrowhead at the end of its leader line, given the fact that the reference character denotes the overall recess.
Reference characters “10”, “11”, and “12” should include an arrowhead at the end of their leader lines, given the fact that these reference characters each denote and overall recess.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-25, 31-37, and 39-42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bell (1,781,867).
Per claim 21, Bell shows a rail wheel including a wheel web 13, a hub 11, and a wheel rim 12 having a running surface and flange. The wheel is forged (see lines 77-88), and material is recessed out (at 14) of the web 13 to form solid sections (i.e. spokes 15) between the recesses 14 in the circumferential direction. The recesses 14 also extend transversely to the radial direction (i.e. extend through the thickness of the web, i.e. axially) of the web 13. At least one first distance and one second distance between a center point and an edge of the recess 14 differ in size (see Figure 1).
Per claim 22, the recess 14 is has a rounded edge (i.e. the recess 14 includes rounded corners).
Per claim 23-24, the wheel only has a single web 13.
Per claim 25, the center of mass of the wheel is arranged at least approximately at the geometric center thereof.
Per claims 31-35, there are four recesses 14 arranged symmetrically in the web 13 with respect to first (i.e. axial) and second (i.e. radial) axes of the wheel.
Per claim 36, the recesses 14 are formed in the shape of a circular ring sector.
Per claim 37, an arc length, defined by a center radius of the recess 14 is greater than an eighth and less than a quarter of the circumference of a circle defined by the center radius.
Per claims 39-40, the limitations that the recesses 14 are “milled out” or “punched out” are method steps in a product claim, and thus receive no patentable weight (see MPEP 2113).
Per claim 40, the recesses 14 are punched out of the web 13.
Per claim 41, the wheel of Bell would inherently be mounted on a rail chassis.
Per claim 42, Bell discloses a method of making a rail wheel including forging the wheel and recessing material out of the wheel web 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bell as applied to claims 21-25, 31-37, and 39-42 above, and further in view of Brown (435,963).
Bell does not show the recesses 14 having at least one first end section “formed as semicircular”.
Brown teaches the use of a rail wheel including recesses within a web section, wherein the recesses have at least a first end having a semicircular shape. Therefore, from this teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to form the recesses of Bell in the manner taught by Brown, as a functional equivalent shape, dependent upon the desired appearance of the wheel and wheel thereof.
Claim(s) 26-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bell as applied to claims 21-25, 31-37, and 39-42 above, and further in view of Arndt et al (2006/0102257).
Bell does not disclose the chemical properties of the forged material used to form the rail wheel.
Arndt et al teaches the use of a forged material including less than 0.6% carbon (claim 26), an upper yield point greater than 520 MPa (claim 27), a tensile strength greater than 820 MPa (claim 28), and a notch impact energy greater than 12 J (claim 29). Therefore, from this teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to form the rail wheel of Bell from the material of Arndt et al, dependent upon the desired physical and chemical properties of the wheel such that said wheel does not fail during use, and dependent upon availability and cost.
While Bell as modified by Arndt et al does not disclose the fracture toughness of the forged material, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to form the rail wheel of Bell as modified by Arndt et al with any fracture toughness based on the same reasoning above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that the wheel of Bell is not a “forged” wheel, by arguing that the “reference is silent as to the method of manufacture”, and “the structure shown, i.e., a spoked wheel with open recesses, is characteristic of cast constructions rather than forged wheels.” However, neither is the case. First, Bel does indeed disclose the “method of manufacture” of the wheel. Namely, in lines 77-88, Bell discloses that the wheel is rolled into its final shape while heated (i.e. forming a heated billet), and then compressed between upper and lower dies to draw or upset the metal into the ribs 16-17 (the very definition of the forging process). Finally, the web 21 may be punched out, thus forming the openings 14. Second, the Hansen reference (and the Applicant’s own invention) shows a forged wheel having “spokes with open recesses”, with both wheels looking very similar to the wheel of Bell. Furthermore, the Applicant has failed to provide any evidence, in the form of a declaration or affidavit filed under 37 CFR 1.131 or 1.132, to support the argument that Bell does not disclose a forged wheel.
The Applicant argues that Bell “fails to teach or suggest a wheel that provided these advantageous features” (i.e. formation of a lightweight wheel by a “simplified manufacturing process” that is not “prone to casting defects”). However, it should be noted that a reference is not required to disclose all of the benefits of the invention disclosed therein. It should be noted that Bell does disclose similar benefits as presented in the Applicant’s arguments; namely a lightweight wheel lacking weakened structure in lines 10-43.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON R BELLINGER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615