DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2019/0067755), herein after Kim, and Sung (US 2020/0200828).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a battery management apparatus (BMS-610-1, fig. 12A) of a first battery pack among a plurality of battery packs included in a battery rack (the first S-BMS 610-1 is connected to the first battery module 110-1,fig. 12A), the battery management apparatus comprising:
a wireless communication module (the second antenna 615-1 is provided on the first surface 111 and the second antenna 615-2 is provided on the second surface 112, paragraph [0139] these antennas are used for the communications, claim 2);
a first electromagnetic induction coil ; a second electromagnetic induction coil (The second coils 613-1 to 613-2n are provided at both sides of the respective corresponding battery modules 110-1 to 110-n, paragraph [0140], fig. 6; Note: the coils are used for wireless charging and discharging and can be considered as the electromagnetic induction coil, paragraph [0141]); and
a controller configured to: wake up in response to power supplied from a battery management apparatus of the battery rack through the first electromagnetic induction coil ((an M-BMS transmits a wake-up signal to a first S-BMS from among a plurality of S-MBSs and requests information of the n battery modules, paragraph [0184] where the M-BMS 220 may control output power of the battery modules 110-1 to 110-n based on the states of the battery modules 110-1 to 110-n and the M-BMS wake up by transferring power from the coil 531, paragraph [0146]), receive information of the first battery pack from the battery management apparatus of the battery rack through the wireless communication module (when the wake-up signal is received, the first S-BMS switches from an idle mode to an active mode. In Step 1603, the first S-BMS acquires information of the first battery module from among a plurality of battery modules, paragraph [0184]), and supply power to a second battery pack located near the first battery pack through the second electromagnetic induction coil (the first S-BMS transmits the acquired information of the first battery module to the next S-BMS in a first direction, i.e., to the second S-BMS, through the second of the two second antenna of the first S-BMS, paragraph [0186] the M-BMS commands the wireless charging or the wireless discharging of a battery module based on the state of adjacent battery module, paragraph [0188] after identifying the state of the second battery module provide power through the second induction coil e.g. 613-2, fig. 13, paragraph [0176]).
Although Kim substantially teaches all the elements of claim 1, however, Kim does not explicitly discloses that the communication module transmit the information about an identifier of the first battery pack and allocate an identifier to the first battery pack based on the information about the identifier of the first battery pack.
Sung discloses a wireless battery control system (Abstract) comprising plurality of battery pack ((Abstract)). Sung further discloses the plurality of the battery packs has the communication circuit (220, fig. 2) to identify the battery pack and allocate the identification of the battery. Sung’s communication module transmit the information about an identifier of the first battery pack and allocate an identifier to the first battery pack based on the information about the identifier of the first battery pack (The slave 200_i may measure the RSSI of the preparation signal wirelessly received, and wirelessly transmit the measured RSSI to the master 100 through the first slave antenna SA1_i. he slave 200_i may wirelessly receive an ID from the master 100 through the first slave antenna SA1_i. The slave 200_i may store the wirelessly received ID, and wirelessly transmit a response signal to the master 100 through the first slave antenna SA1_i. The response signal is a signal for reporting to the master 100 that the ID for the slave 200_i is wirelessly received normally, paragraph [0075]-[0076] where RSSI is the information on which identification of the battery pack can be determined).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Kim’s wireless battery pack system to include a control to identification and allocation of the battery pack as taught by Sung, in order to uniquely identify and address each battery module, thereby enabling reliable individual battery management.
Regarding claim 2, Kim in view of Sung discloses the battery management apparatus of claim 1. Kim further discloses the controller controls the wireless communication module to transmit information of the second battery pack to the second battery pack when the second battery pack wakes up according to the power supplied by the first battery pack (paragraph [0186]).
However, Kim does not explicitly discloses that the communication module of the battery pack transmit information about the identification of the battery pack.
Sung discloses a wireless battery packs system where the battery packs are sequentially identified (paragraph [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Kim’s wireless battery pack system to include a control to identification and allocation of the battery pack as taught by Sung, in order to uniquely identify and address each battery module, thereby enabling reliable individual battery management.
Regarding claim 3, Kim further discloses wherein the second battery pack is a battery pack positioned closest to the first battery pack among the plurality of battery packs (the first 110-1 and the second 110-2 positioned together, fig. 11).
Regarding claim 4, Kim in view of Sung discloses the battery management system of claim 1. Kim is silent about the information transmitted contains the identification information of the battery.
Sung discloses the wireless battery control system to allocate the identifier to each battery pack (abstract). Sung further discloses wherein the identifier of the second battery pack is assigned a number next to the identifier of the first battery pack. (After the slave 200_1 wirelessly transmits the response signal to the master 100 through the first slave antenna SA1_1, the slave 200_1 wirelessly transmits the preparation signal through the second slave antenna SA2_1. Each of the slaves 200_2˜200_N operating in the standby mode measures the RSSI of the preparation signal from the slave 200_1, and wirelessly transmits the measured RSSI to the master 100 through the first slave antenna SA1. Then, the master 100 determines a maximum RSSI among the RSSIs from each of the slaves 200_2˜200_N. Because the slave 200_2 is closest to the slave 200_1, paragraph [0082]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Kim’s wireless battery pack system to include a control to identification and allocation of the battery pack as taught by Sung, in order to uniquely identify and address each battery module, thereby enabling reliable individual battery management.
Regarding claim 5, Kim in view of Sung discloses the battery management system of claim 1. Kim is silent about the information transmitted contains the identification information of the battery.
Sung discloses the wireless battery control system to allocate the identifier to each battery pack (abstract). Sung further discloses wherein, in response to completion of allocating the identifier to the first battery pack, the controller transmits information on the identifier assigned to the first battery pack to the battery rack through the wireless communication module (paragraph [0081]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Kim’s wireless battery pack system to include a control to identification and allocation of the battery pack as taught by Sung, in order to uniquely identify and address each battery module, thereby enabling reliable individual battery management.
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses a battery management apparatus (520, fig. 11) of a battery rack including a plurality of battery packs (110_1, 110_2, 110_3, fig. 11), the battery management apparatus comprising:
an electromagnetic induction coil (531, fig. 1);
a wireless communication module (antenna 521, fig. 11, claim 2); and
a controller (every BMS has the controller in like 611, paragraph [0154]) configured to: apply power to a first battery pack among the plurality of battery packs through the electromagnetic induction coil to wake up the first battery pack (an M-BMS transmits a wake-up signal to a first S-BMS from among a plurality of S-MBSs and requests information of the n battery modules. In an example the wake-up signal is transmitted using the first antenna of the M-BMS. In an example, the wake-up signal is received by first of the two second antennas of the first S-BMS, paragraph [0184]; where the M-BMS 220 may control output power of the battery modules 110-1 to 110-n based on the states of the battery modules 110-1 to 110-n and the M-BMS wake up by transferring power from the coil 531, paragraph [0146]), and transmit information of the first battery pack through the wireless communication module to the woken up first battery pack (paragraph [0184]).
Although Kim substantially teaches all the elements of claim 6, however, Kim does not explicitly discloses that the communication module transmit the information about an identifier of the first battery pack.
Sung discloses a wireless battery control system (Abstract) comprising plurality of battery pack ((Abstract)). Sung further discloses the plurality of the battery packs has the communication circuit (220, fig. 2) to identify the battery pack and allocate the identification of the battery. Sung’s communication module transmit the information about an identifier of the first battery pack (The slave 200_i may measure the RSSI of the preparation signal wirelessly received, and wirelessly transmit the measured RSSI to the master 100 through the first slave antenna SA1_i. he slave 200_i may wirelessly receive an ID from the master 100 through the first slave antenna SA1_i. The slave 200_i may store the wirelessly received ID, and wirelessly transmit a response signal to the master 100 through the first slave antenna SA1_i. The response signal is a signal for reporting to the master 100 that the ID for the slave 200_i is wirelessly received normally, paragraph [0075]-[0076] where RSSI is the information on which identification of the battery pack can be determined).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Kim’s wireless battery pack system to include a control to identification and allocation of the battery pack as taught by Sung, in order to uniquely identify and address each battery module, thereby enabling reliable individual battery management.
Regarding claim 7, Kim in view of Sung discloses the battery management apparatus of claim 6. Kim further discloses the system is capable of supplying power to a second battery pack through an electromagnetic induction coil of the first battery pack (the first S-BMS transmits the acquired information of the first battery module to the next S-BMS in a first direction, i.e., to the second S-BMS, through the second of the two second antenna of the first S-BMS, paragraph [0186] the M-BMS commands the wireless charging or the wireless discharging of a battery module based on the state of adjacent battery module, paragraph [0188]after identifying the state of the second battery module provide power through the second induction coil e.g. 613-2, fig. 13, paragraph [0176]). Kim further discloses the controller controls the wireless communication module to transmit information of the first battery pack based on its state and information about second battery pack when the second battery pack wakes up according to the power supplied by the first battery pack (paragraph [0184]- [0186]).
However, Kim does not explicitly disclose identification and allocation of the first battery.
Sung discloses the communication module transmit the information about an identifier of the first battery pack and allocate an identifier to the first battery pack based on the information about the identifier of the first battery pack (The slave 200_i may measure the RSSI of the preparation signal wirelessly received, and wirelessly transmit the measured RSSI to the master 100 through the first slave antenna SA1_i. he slave 200_i may wirelessly receive an ID from the master 100 through the first slave antenna SA1_i. The slave 200_i may store the wirelessly received ID, and wirelessly transmit a response signal to the master 100 through the first slave antenna SA1_i. The response signal is a signal for reporting to the master 100 that the ID for the slave 200_i is wirelessly received normally, paragraph [0075]-[0076] where RSSI is the information on which identification of the battery pack can be determined).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Kim’s wireless battery pack system to include a control to identification and allocation of the battery pack as taught by Sung, in order to uniquely identify and address each battery module, thereby enabling reliable individual battery management.
Regarding claim 8, Kim in view of Sung discloses the battery management apparatus of claim 7. Kim further discloses the controller controls the wireless communication module to transmit information of the first battery pack to the second battery pack when the second battery pack wakes up according to the power supplied by the first battery pack (paragraph [0186]).
However, Kim does not explicitly discloses that the communication module of the battery pack transmit information about the identification of the battery pack.
Sung discloses a wireless battery packs system where the battery packs are sequentially identified (paragraph [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Kim’s wireless battery pack system to include a control to identification and allocation of the battery pack as taught by Sung, in order to uniquely identify and address each battery module, thereby enabling reliable individual battery management.
Regarding claim 9, Kim in view of Sung discloses the battery management system of claim 9. Kim further discloses the second battery pack battery management system transmit battery pack in formation to the battery management system and supply power to the third battery pack power through electromagnetic induction coil (613-4 will inductively provide power to the third battery pack, fig. 14, paragraph [0186]).
However, Kim does not explicitly discloses that the communication module of the battery pack transmit information about the identification of the battery pack.
Sung discloses a wireless battery packs system where the battery packs are sequentially identified (paragraph [0063]-[0064]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Kim’s wireless battery pack system to include a control to identification and allocation of the battery pack as taught by Sung, in order to uniquely identify and address each battery module, thereby enabling reliable individual battery management.
Regarding claim 10, Kim in view of Sung discloses the battery management system of claim 6. Kim further discloses the controller of M-BMS (52, fig. 110) receives information individually about a plurality of battery pack (paragraph [0164]). However, Kim is silent about identification the battery packs.
Sung discloses a wireless battery packs system where the battery packs are sequentially identified (paragraph [0063]-[0064]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Kim’s wireless battery pack system to include a control to identification and allocation of the battery pack as taught by Sung, in order to uniquely identify and address each battery module, thereby enabling reliable individual battery management.
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses a wireless communication method of a battery management apparatus in a first battery pack among a plurality of battery packs included in a battery rack ((the first S-BMS 610-1 is connected to the first battery module 110-1,fig. 12A),), the wireless communication (the system has the strong wireless communication disclosure because of NFC antenna like 615 and each BMS are equipped with it, claim2, fig. 11 ) method comprising:
the first battery pack waking up in response to power supplied from a battery management apparatus of the battery rack through a first electromagnetic induction coil and receiving information of the first battery pack from the battery management apparatus of the battery rack (an M-BMS transmits a wake-up signal to a first S-BMS from among a plurality of S-MBSs and requests information of the n battery modules, paragraph [0184] where the M-BMS 220 may control output power of the battery modules 110-1 to 110-n based on the states of the battery modules 110-1 to 110-n and the M-BMS wake up by transferring power from the coil 531, paragraph [0146]); by the first battery pack, to a second battery pack located near the first battery pack through a second electromagnetic induction coil (the second battery pack 110_2 is positioned closest to the first battery pack 110_1 and connected through electromagnetic induction coil 613-3 to 613-2, figs. 11, 14).
Although Kim substantially teaches all the elements of claim 11, however, Kim does not explicitly discloses that the communication module transmit the information about an identifier of the first battery pack and allocate an identifier to the first battery pack based on the information about the identifier of the first battery pack.
Sung discloses a wireless battery control system (Abstract) comprising plurality of battery pack ((Abstract)). Sung further discloses the plurality of the battery packs has the communication circuit (220, fig. 2) to identify the battery pack and allocate the identification of the battery. Sung’s communication module transmit the information about an identifier of the first battery pack and allocate an identifier to the first battery pack based on the information about the identifier of the first battery pack (The slave 200_i may measure the RSSI of the preparation signal wirelessly received, and wirelessly transmit the measured RSSI to the master 100 through the first slave antenna SA1_i. he slave 200_i may wirelessly receive an ID from the master 100 through the first slave antenna SA1_i. The slave 200_i may store the wirelessly received ID, and wirelessly transmit a response signal to the master 100 through the first slave antenna SA1_i. The response signal is a signal for reporting to the master 100 that the ID for the slave 200_i is wirelessly received normally, paragraph [0075]-[0076] where RSSI is the information on which identification of the battery pack can be determined).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Kim’s wireless battery pack system to include a control to identification and allocation of the battery pack as taught by Sung, in order to uniquely identify and address each battery module, thereby enabling reliable individual battery management.
Regarding claim 12, Kim in view of Sung discloses the battery management apparatus of claim 11. Kim further discloses the controller controls the wireless communication module to transmit information of the first battery pack to the second battery pack when the second battery pack wakes up according to the power supplied by the first battery pack (paragraph [0186]).
However, Kim does not explicitly discloses that the communication module of the battery pack transmit information about the identification of the battery pack.
Sung discloses a wireless battery packs system where the battery packs are sequentially identified (paragraph [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Kim’s wireless battery pack system to include a control to identification and allocation of the battery pack as taught by Sung, in order to uniquely identify and address each battery module, thereby enabling reliable individual battery management.
Regarding claim 13, Kim further discloses wherein the second battery pack is a battery pack positioned closest to the first battery pack among the plurality of battery packs(the first 110-1 and the second 110-2 positioned together, fig. 11).
Regarding claim 14, Kim in view of Sung discloses the battery management system of claim 11. Kim is silent about the information transmitted contains the identification information of the battery.
Sung discloses the wireless battery control system to allocate the identifier to each battery pack (abstract). Sung further discloses wherein the identifier of the second battery pack is assigned a number next to the identifier of the first battery pack. (After the slave 200_1 wirelessly transmits the response signal to the master 100 through the first slave antenna SA1_1, the slave 200_1 wirelessly transmits the preparation signal through the second slave antenna SA2_1. Each of the slaves 200_2˜200_N operating in the standby mode measures the RSSI of the preparation signal from the slave 200_1, and wirelessly transmits the measured RSSI to the master 100 through the first slave antenna SA1. Then, the master 100 determines a maximum RSSI among the RSSIs from each of the slaves 200_2˜200_N. Because the slave 200_2 is closest to the slave 200_1, paragraph [0082]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Kim’s wireless battery pack system to include a control to identification and allocation of the battery pack as taught by Sung, in order to uniquely identify and address each battery module, thereby enabling reliable individual battery management.
Regarding claim 15, Kim in view of Sung discloses the battery management system of claim 11. Kim is silent about the information transmitted contains the identification information of the battery.
Sung discloses the wireless battery control system to allocate the identifier to each battery pack (abstract). Sung further discloses wherein, in response to completion of allocating the identifier to the first battery pack, the controller transmits information on the identifier assigned to the first battery pack to the battery rack through the wireless communication module (paragraph [0081]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Kim’s wireless battery pack system to include a control to identification and allocation of the battery pack as taught by Sung, in order to uniquely identify and address each battery module, thereby enabling reliable individual battery management.
Conclusion
SADIA . KOUSAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/SADIA KOUSAR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859