DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 05/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu (2017/0098557) in view of Fukutomi (2003/0217695).
Shimizu teaches a system comprising:
- a semiconductor processing chamber, see 105a, Fig. 2 and 20,
- a valve module configured to receive a fluid from the process chamber and selectably direct a flow – see vacuum, indicated in both – it is generally understood that a vacuum system will include some type of a valve, and therefore the vacuum system meets the broad requirements of a “valve module to receive fluid” (see implicit disclosure per MPEP 2144.01 wherein it is stated that it is proper to take into account both the explicit and implicit teachings of a reference),
- a cooling apparatus – see wherein cooling water per Fig. 2 and cooling unit 109 per Fig. 20 are described and provide cooling fluid to the chamber, but
the teachings do not explicitly include that the parts are stacked.
However, Fukutomi teaches that in semiconductor processing systems, it is useful to stack components to better use space in a clean room [0007]. It would have been obvious at the effective date of the invention to stack any of the components in the semiconductor system of Shimizu as Fukutomi teaches that such a rearrangement allows for better use of cleanroom space. Further, as per MPEP 2144.04 VI. C. a rearrangement of parts is obvious without a showing of criticality – in this case, Fukutomi shows the motivation for the modification.
Regarding claim 2, the claimed arrangement is obvious over the rearrangement of parts as noted above.
Regarding claim 3, the teachings include a (single) power source and power supply system [0004-05].
Regarding claim 8, further as per MEP 2144.04 VI. B., a duplication of parts is obvious. In this case, the suggested saving of space as per Fukutomi is further motivation to duplicate process regions within a singular apparatus as claimed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The teachings applied are the closest known prior art – the teachings of Kadobe (2020/0227287) and Qui (WO2004/008052), also of record are pertinent, but along with Kim (2020/0203198), which teaches an an arrangement with a valve and cooling chamber below a process chamber, do not teach any motivation to have a (common) pneumatic source for both the valve module and cooling apparatus.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH A MILLER, JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712