Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1-3, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WIPO Publication (2019/011591) to Maier (cited previously) in view U.S. Patent (7,168,127) to Genoa et al.
Regarding independent claim 1, Maier teaches most of the elements of claim 1, vacuum cleaner hose (30), with an inner hose (40), which is profiled in wave shape and surrounded by a substantially smooth sheathing (51) and which is provided at least one end (160) with a hollow connecting member (90), into which the inner hose (40) with the sheathing (51) extends and in which the sheathing (51) is secured to the inner hose (40) (See page 8 fourth paragraph English translation for Maier). Except, Maier is silent regarding the inner hose (40) retained by way of a sheathing lock.
However, Genoa et al. teaches a vacuum cleaner hose assembly (See Col. 55-60 and FIG. 26 of Genoa et al.) having a flexible cleaner hose (14). Genoa et al. teaches that a cuff end (28) of the hose (14) includes locking surfaces (112B, 174) in order to facilitate the locking of the cuff end (28) onto the tool part (126) (See Col. 12 lines 25-45 of Genoa et al.). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date to modify Maier with Genoa et al. to include a sheathing lock (172, 174) as taught in Genoa et al. et al. in order to facilitate locking onto the connecting member (90).
Maier as modified with Genoa et al. teaches a retaining sleeve (70) is mounted on the inner hose (40), the sleeve forming a first abutment surface (71) for the connecting member (90) and having a second abutment surface (SA) for a connecting member lock (80) (See page 9 of English translation for Maier), which is secured to the connecting member (90) so as to fix the connecting member (90) tension-resistantly and compression-resistantly with respect to the inner hose (40) by way of the retaining sleeve (70), characterized in that the sheathing (51) in the connecting member (90) ends substantially either flushly with the end (41) of the inner hose (40) or projects axially slightly beyond the end (16, 16') of the inner hose (12, 12') only slightly, with the sheathing lock (29, 30) mechanically positively fixes the sheathing (51) to the outer circumference (52) of the inner hose (40) so that at the sheathing lock (172, 174) a relative sliding or rotation between the sheathing (51) and the inner hose (40) does not take place, when the retaining sleeve (70) is mechanically positively secured to the inner circumference (52) of the inner hose (40) (See page 10 of English translation for Maier).
Regarding claim 2, Maier as modified with Genoa et al. teaches that the retaining sleeve (70) is constructed in the form of a collar sleeve (72), with a sleeve section (72) joinable to the inner circumference (26, 26') of the inner hose (40) and a collar section (56, 56') which is connected with the sleeve section (54, 54') and which forms the first and second abutment surfaces (SA) (See page 10 of English translation for Maier).
Regarding claim 3, , Maier as modified with Genoa et al. teaches extends in radial direction, for mechanically positive engagement with the wave-shaped profiling (See FIG. 6 of Maier) of the inner hose (40) or a contour (60, 60') complementary with the wave-shaped profiling (38, 38') of the inner hose (12, 12') is formed at the outer circumference (near SA) of the sleeve section (72) of the retaining sleeve (70).
Regarding claim 17, Maier as modified with Genoa et al. teaches that the sheathing (51) is a braiding of monofilamentary and/or multifilamentary plastics material threads.
Regarding claim 18, Maier as modified with Genoa et al. teaches that the sheathing lock (172, 174) is arranged axially in the region of the retaining sleeve (70) so that the retaining sleeve (70) forms a counter-bearinq for the inner hose (40) when the sheathing (51) is secured to the inner hose (40) by way of the sheathing lock (172, 174). As mentioned above, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date to modify Maier with Genoa et al. to include a sheathing lock (172, 174) as taught in Wood et al. in order to facilitate locking onto the connecting member (90).
Allowable Subject Matter
2. Claims 4-16, 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 17 and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any rejection applied in the Office Action of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL D JENNINGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723