DETAILED ACTION
STATUS OF THE APPLICATION
Receipt is acknowledged of Applicant’s Amendments and Remarks, filed 25 October 2023, in the matter of Application No. 18/288,228. Said documents have been entered on the record. The Examiner further acknowledges the following:
Claims 5-23 have been withdrawn.
Claims 14-19 and 21 have been amended.
No claims have been cancelled.
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 1-4), without traverse, is acknowledged.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-4) in the reply filed on 21 April 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 21 April 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of a species in the reply filed on 21 April 2026 is acknowledged. The Examiner notes the following election of species (A) specific forming material: CpHf, a compound represented by Chemical Formula 3-1:
and the following election of species (B) specific inorganic material: tert-butyl iodide (TBI), a compound represented by Chemical Formula 3-2:
Applicant submits that the claims encompassing the elected species are claims 1-4.
These designations of species (A) and (B) appear to have been made in error. Therefore, species (A) will be interpreted as the specific inorganic material, and species (B) will be interpreted as the specific film-forming material. As such, the CpHf species (CpHf(NMe2)3) elected by Applicant will be interpreted as reading on the “inorganic precursor” limitation of instant claim 3, and the species tert-butyl iodide (TBI) elected by Applicant will be interpreted as reading on the genus of Chemical Formula 1 of instant claim 4 when A is carbon, n is 1, B is methyl, m is 3 (i.e., 2n+1), X is I, o is 1, and i and j are 0.
Thus, claims 1-4 are presented and represent all claims currently under consideration.
Priority
Domestic Priority data as claimed by Applicant:
This application is a 371 of PCT/KR2022/007539 (05/27/2022)
Foreign Applications:
REPUBLIC OF KOREA 10-2022-0063835 (05/25/2022)
REPUBLIC OF KOREA 10-2021-0069947 (05/31/2021)
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figures 4-6 are blurry and difficult to read.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-3, claim 1 recites “A film-forming material, comprising a blocking agent and a ligand exchange reaction agent.” Yet, claim 2 recites “…wherein the blocking agent is…formed from the film-forming material in a film formation process.” and claim 3 recites “…wherein the ligand exchange reaction agent is…formed from the film-forming material in a film formation process…” Therefore, it is unclear how the recited “film-forming material” of claim 1 can comprise a blocking agent and a ligand exchange reaction agent when both the blocking agent and the ligand exchange reaction agent are the product of a reaction of the recited “film-forming material”, and it is likewise unclear how the blocking agent or ligand exchange reaction agent of claims 2-3 can be a part of the film-forming material of claim 1 on which they depend when they are the products of a “film formation process” of the recited “film-forming material”. In the specification as filed, the “film-forming material” is described as both either providing or including a blocking agent and a ligand exchange reaction agent (Specification; pages 4-5, paragraphs 8 and 11), however it is not clear which is meant in the claims.
Further regarding claims 1-3, Examples 1-14 of the present application states that tert-butyl iodide (TBI) was used as the film-forming material (Specification; page 45, paragraph 193; page 56, paragraph 266, Table 1, Examples 1-14). Furthermore, the present application describes Fig. 4 as a flowchart for schematically explaining a first process in which a blocking agent generated when a film is formed using a film-forming material according to Example 1, wherein the blocking agent is 2-methylpropene and the ligand exchange reaction agent is hydrogen iodide (Fig. 4b and Specification; pages 19-20, paragraph 91). Thus, the present application recites TBI as the film-forming material, and this compound does not comprise a blocking agent and a ligand exchange reaction agent. Instead, the film-forming material (TBI) must be further transformed into the blocking agent (2-methylpropene) and the ligand exchange reaction agent (hydrogen iodide). This lack of clarity renders instant claims 1-3 indefinite.
For the purposes of compact prosecution, a “film-forming material” will be reasonably interpreted as either (1) TBI; or (2) a mixture of 2-methylpropene and HI (as shown in Figs. 4-5), until the 112 issues detailed herein are resolved.
Regarding claims 2-4, these dependent claims do not resolve the indefiniteness of claim 1 described above.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the film formation process" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 4 recites “…wherein the film-forming material is a branched, cyclic, or aromatic compound represented by Chemical Formula 1…” in lines 1-2. However, the instant claim recites that the film-forming material is the genus of Chemical Formula 1, and therefore does not further comprise a blocking agent and a ligand exchange reaction agent as recited in claim 1 on which the instant claim depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by R. Heasley et al. (“Vapor Deposition of Halide Perovskites and Hole- Transport Materials for Use in Thin-Film Photovoltaics” PhD Dissertation; published 08-2017; hereinafter “Heasley”).
Regarding claims 1-4, Heasley discloses the growth of methylammonium tin halide perovskite materials by atomic layer deposition and chemical vapor deposition using the reaction between precursors N,N’-di-tert-butyl-2,3-diamidobutanetin(II) and HI or HBr (page 9, paragraph 1). Thin films of nominal SnI2 were deposited by ALD and CVD using the reaction between precursors N,N’-di-tert-butyl-2,3-diamidobutanetin(II) (Sn(cyc)) and anhydrous hydrogen iodide (HI). This process involves ligand exchange between the in situ generated HI and the ligands of the Sn(cyc):
HI is not commercially available and it was therefore necessary to generate HI in situ during each deposition of an iodine-containing film through the thermal decomposition of tert-butyl iodide. Heasley further discloses that pulsed-CVD, in which Sn(cyc) and HI are present simultaneously, deposited films containing tin and iodine. In addition to the desired HI, this reaction also produces isobutene (page 9, paragraph 1; page 13, paragraph 2; page 14, Fig. 2.1; page 16, paragraph 2; page 22, Fig. 2.6):
Thus, Heasley discloses the production of SnI2 thin films via pulsed-CVD, wherein tert-butyl iodide is thermally decomposed in a process that produces HI and 2-methylpropene in situ, and the HI generated forms SnI2 via a ligand exchange reaction.
tert-Butyl iodide (TBI) is the same film-forming material recited in the present application that reacts to form HI and 2-methylpropene (Specification; page 56, paragraph 266, Table 1, Examples 1-14; Fig. 4), in a manner consistent with instant claim 1. In addition, TBI resides within the genus of Chemical Formula 1 of instant claim 4 when A is carbon, n is 1, B is methyl, m is 3 (i.e., 2n+1), X is I, o is 1, and i and j are 0.
Heasley discloses that the in situ generated HI reacts with Sn(cyc) to for SnI2 via an exchange reaction with the ligands of the inorganic precursor, in a manner consistent with the limitation of instant claim 3.
2-Methylpropene is the same blocking agent formed from TBI as described in the written description (Fig. 4), in a manner consistent with instant claim 1, and 2-methylpropene is an unsaturated hydrocarbon have 4 carbon atoms and is formed in the film formation process, as recited in instant claim 2. Although Heasley does not explicitly teach that 2-methylpropene is a blocking agent, Heasley inherently teaches this limitation. MPEP § 2112(II) states that “There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference.”
Therefore, regardless of whether the Applicant elected TBI or a mixture of 2-methylpropene and HI, Heasley anticipates either interpretation.
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yeon et al. (“Tertiary alkyl halides as growth activator and inhibitor for novel atomic layer deposition of low resistive titanium nitride” AIP Advances, 2021, 11, 015218, pages 1-9; published 01-07-2021; IDS of 11-14-2024; hereinafter “Yeon”).
Regarding claims 1-4, Yeon discloses a novel atomic layer deposition (ALD) that utilizes tertiary alkyl (tert-alkyl) halides as both growth activator and inhibitor for the deposition of a low resistive TiN film using TiCl4 and NH3 (Abstract).
Yeon further discloses that among the alkyl halides, tert-butyl iodide is identified as a suitable material for both growth inhibition and growth activation without any incorporation of C impurity in the film (Abstract). For inhibitor-type ALD, tert-butyl iodide is fed prior to TiCl4 source feed, and the base-induced elimination reaction occurs when tert-butyl iodide approaches the OH-terminated substrate, resulting in the formation of 2-methylpropene and hydrogen iodide (page 4, Col. 1, paragraph 1). Both 2-methylpropene and the adsorbed iodine are expected to reduce the sticking probability of the subsequent TiCl4 precursor on the substrate, decreasing the growth per cycle (GPC), and it is predicted that the Ti-I bond can be formed by direct ligand exchange between tert-butyl iodide and -TiCl3 or -TiCl2 group adsorbed on the substrate (page 4, Col. 1, paragraph 3 and Col. 2, paragraph 1).
Thus, Yeon discloses the production of TiN thin films via ALD with TiCl4 and tert-butyl iodide, wherein the tert-butyl iodide is decomposed in the process and produces HI and 2-methylpropene in situ. The 2-methylpropene acts as a blocking agent (i.e., reduces the sticking probability of the subsequent TiCl4 precursor), and the HI generated forms Ti-I bonds by direct ligand exchange, as detailed above.
tert-Butyl iodide (TBI) is the same film-forming material recited in the present application that reacts to form HI and 2-methylpropene (Specification; page 56, paragraph 266, Table 1, Examples 1-14; Fig. 4), in a manner consistent with instant claim 1. In addition, TBI resides within the genus of Chemical Formula 1 of instant claim 4 when A is carbon, n is 1, B is methyl, m is 3 (i.e., 2n+1), X is I, o is 1, and i and j are 0.
Yeon discloses that the in situ generated HI reacts with -TiCl3 or -TiCl2 group adsorbed on the substrate via direct ligand exchange, in a manner consistent with the limitation of instant claim 3.
2-Methylpropene is the same blocking agent formed from TBI as described in the written description (Fig. 4), in a manner consistent with instant claim 1, and 2-methylpropene is an unsaturated hydrocarbon have 4 carbon atoms and is formed in the film formation process, as recited in instant claim 2. Furthermore, Yeon discloses that reduces the sticking probability of the subsequent TiCl4 precursor, as detailed above, and therefore acts as a blocking agent.
Therefore, regardless of whether the Applicant elected TBI or a mixture of 2-methylpropene and HI, Yeon anticipates either interpretation.
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application filed 31 May 2021 has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tan et al. (“Utilizing tertiary butyl iodide as an effective film quality enhancing agent for atomic layer deposition of HfO2 dielectric thin films” AIP Advances, 2021, 11, 075008, pages 1-6; published 07-02-2021; hereinafter “Tan”).
Regarding claims 1-4, Tan discloses the effects of the initial pulse of tert-butyl iodide as a surfactant in atomic layer deposition of HfO2 using cyclopentadienyl tris(dimethylamino) hafnium, CpHf(NMe2)3, and ozone (O3), wherein the formation of 2-methylpropene and hydrogen iodide from tert-butyl iodide via elimination reactions is the key idea of the effective approach for improving film conformality, film quality, and leakage current simultaneously (Abstract).
The predicted growth mechanisms and experimental results of Tan suggest that different blocking probabilities by 2-methylpropene and hydrogen iodide on the top and bottom of the trench feature lead to 10% improvement in film conformality. In addition, ligand exchanges between the Hf precursor and hydrogen iodide lead to effective removal of large portions of carbon-containing ligands, resulting in a significant reduction in carbon residues (Abstract; page 4, Figs. 5-6).
Thus, Tan discloses the production of HfO2 thin films with CpHf(NMe2)3 and tert-butyl iodide, wherein the tert-butyl iodide is decomposed in the process and produces HI and 2-methylpropene in situ. The 2-methylpropene acts as a blocking agent, and the HI generated effectively removes large portions of carbon-containing ligands via ligand exchanges, as detailed above.
tert-Butyl iodide (TBI) is the same film-forming material recited in the present application that reacts to form HI and 2-methylpropene (Specification; page 56, paragraph 266, Table 1, Examples 1-14; Fig. 4), in a manner consistent with instant claim 1. In addition, TBI resides within the genus of Chemical Formula 1 of instant claim 4 when A is carbon, n is 1, B is methyl, m is 3 (i.e., 2n+1), X is I, o is 1, and i and j are 0.
Tan discloses that the in situ generated HI effectively removes large portions of carbon-containing ligands via ligand exchanges, in a manner consistent with the limitation of instant claim 3.
2-Methylpropene is the same blocking agent formed from TBI as described in the written description (Fig. 4), in a manner consistent with instant claim 1, and 2-methylpropene is an unsaturated hydrocarbon have 4 carbon atoms and is formed in the film formation process, as recited in instant claim 2. Furthermore, Tan discloses that 2-methylpropene acts as a blocking agent, as detailed above.
Therefore, regardless of whether the Applicant elected TBI or a mixture of 2-methylpropene and HI, Tan anticipates either interpretation.
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application filed 31 May 2021 has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Conclusion
/D.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1692
/AMY C BONAPARTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692