DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary amendment, received 10/26/2023, has been entered.
Claims 1-3, 9-22 and 26-28 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-10, 17, 27 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (CN218004907, pub. date 2022-12-09, English translation provided on IDS received 4/11/2024), hereafter referred to as Wu, in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0200175 A1), hereafter referred to as Kim.
As to claim 1, Wu discloses a display panel (fig 9, 100), comprising:
a substrate (140);
a plurality of light-emitting devices of different colors on the substrate (sub-pixels 104, [0059]); wherein each of the plurality of light-emitting devices comprises a first electrode (111), a light-emitting functional layer (112), and a second electrode (113) sequentially superimposed away from the substrate (140);
a supplementary electrode (120) on a side of the second electrode (113) away from the substrate (140), wherein an orthographic projection of the supplementary electrode on the substrate covers orthographic projections of light-emitting functional layers and/or second electrodes and/or first electrodes of the light-emitting devices of certain colors on the substrate (projection of 120 on sub-pixels 104);
a supplementary electrode mutual repulsion layer (130) on a side of the second electrode (113) away from the substrate (140), wherein an orthographic projection of the supplementary electrode mutual repulsion layer on the substrate is complementary in pattern with the orthographic projection of the supplementary electrode on the substrate ([0086]).
Wu does not disclose an encapsulation layer on a side of the supplementary electrode and the supplementary electrode mutual repulsion layer away from the substrate, and configured to encapsulate the light-emitting devices.
Nonetheless, Kim discloses an encapsulation layer on a side of the cathode electrode away from the substrate, and configured to encapsulate light-emitting devices (fig 2, encapsulation 400 on 270 away from substrate 110)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include the encapsulant of Kim on the display structure of Wu since this will protect the emission material from contamination caused by moisture.
As to claim 2, Wu in view of Kim disclose the display panel according to claim 1 (paragraphs above).
Wu further discloses wherein the plurality of light-emitting devices comprise red, green, and blue light-emitting devices ([0076]),
the supplementary electrode (120) is in contact with and connected to the second electrode (113); and
the supplementary electrode mutual repulsion layer (130) is in contact with the second electrode (113).
As to claim 3, Wu in view of Kim disclose the display panel according to claim 2 (paragraphs above).
Wu further discloses wherein the supplementary electrode is located on the second electrode of the red light-emitting device; and the supplementary electrode mutual repulsion layer is located on the second electrode of the green and blue light-emitting devices, or, wherein the supplementary electrode is located on the second electrode of the green light-emitting device; and the supplementary electrode mutual repulsion layer is located on the second electrodes of the red and blue light-emitting devices, or, wherein the supplementary electrode is located on the second electrode of the blue light-emitting device; and the supplementary electrode mutual repulsion layer is located on the second electrodes of the red and green light-emitting devices, or, wherein the supplementary electrode is located on the second electrodes of the red and green light-emitting devices; and the supplementary electrode mutual repulsion layer is located on the second electrode of the blue light-emitting device, or, wherein the supplementary electrode is located on the second electrodes of the blue and green light-emitting devices; and the supplementary electrode mutual repulsion layer is located on the second electrode of the red light-emitting device, or, wherein the supplementary electrode is located on the second electrodes of the blue and red light-emitting devices; and the supplementary electrode mutual repulsion layer is located on the second electrode of the green light-emitting device (120 on 113 and 130 on 113 as taught in [0086]).
As to claim 9, Wu in view of Kim disclose the display panel according to claim 2 (paragraphs above).
Wu further discloses wherein the second electrode is made of a light-transmitting metal material ([0068]).
Wu discloses that the supplementary electrode is transparent and may be a material such as ITO ([0068]) but does not disclose wherein the supplementary electrode is made of a metal material comprising any one of Mg, Ag, Al, Li, K and Ca, or a metal alloy material comprising any one of MgxAg(1-x), LixAl(1-x), LixCa(1.x) and LixAg(1.x).
Nonetheless, Kim discloses wherein a transparent electrode material may be ITO or a metal material comprising any one of Mg, Ag, Al, Li, K and Ca, or a metal alloy material comprising any one of MgxAg(1-x), LixAl(1-x), LixCa(1.x) and LixAg(1.x) ([0075]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to use one of the transparent electrode materials of Kim as the transparent material of Wu since Kim teaches that these any of these transparent materials were known to be used as electrode materials in the display devices and choosing one of these known materials would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
As to claim 10, Wu in view of Kim disclose the display panel according to claim 9 (paragraphs above).
Wu further discloses wherein the second electrode has a thickness ranging from 1nm to 20nm ([0057]); and
the supplementary electrode has a thickness ranging from 1nm to 10nm ([0069]).
As to claim 17, Wu in view of Kim disclose the display panel according to claim 1 (paragraphs above).
Kim further discloses a pixel defining layer (350) on the substrate (110), wherein a plurality of openings are formed in the pixel defining layer (opening 351);
each of the plurality of light-emitting devices comprises a portion in a corresponding one of the plurality of openings (ED in 351);
a side surface of the pixel defining layer, formed between two adjacent ones of the plurality of openings and away from the substrate, forms an arc surface that protrudes towards a side away from the substrate (arc surface of 350); and
the two adjacent light-emitting devices have different colors ([0081]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include the PDL and encapsulation layer of Kim in the display of Wu since the pixel defining layer prevents light leaking between pixels and the encapsulation layer prevents moisture from contaminating the display.
As to claim 27, Wu further discloses a display apparatus ([0057]), comprising the display panel according to claim 1 (paragraphs above).
As to claim 28, Wu discloses a method of manufacturing a display panel ([0092]), comprising:
preparing a substrate (fig 9, 140);
preparing a first electrode (111) of a light-emitting device (110) on the substrate (140);
sequentially preparing a light-emitting functional layer (112) and a second electrode (113) on the substrate (140);
preparing a supplementary electrode mutual repulsion layer (130) on the substrate (140); and
preparing a supplementary electrode (120) on the substrate (140).
Wu does not disclose preparing a pixel defining layer and openings therein on the substrate; and
preparing an encapsulation layer on the substrate.
Nonetheless, Kim discloses a method of manufacturing a display panel comprising preparing a pixel defining layer (fig 2, 350) and openings therein on a substrate (openings for the LEDs on substrate 110); and
preparing an encapsulation layer on the substrate (encapsulation layer 400 on substrate 110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include the PDL and encapsulation layer of Kim in the display of Wu since the pixel defining layer prevents light leaking between pixels and the encapsulation layer prevents moisture from contaminating the display.
Claim(s) 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Kim and further in view of Sun et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0190272 A1), hereafter referred to as Sun.
As to claim 13, Wu in view of Kim disclose the display panel according to claim 2 (paragraphs above).
Wu in view of Kim does not disclose a light extraction layer on a side of the supplementary electrode and the supplementary electrode mutual repulsion layer away from the substrate, and on a side of the encapsulation layer close to the substrate;
wherein an orthographic projection of the light extraction layer on the substrate covers orthographic projections of at least the plurality of light-emitting devices on the substrate.
Nonetheless, Sun discloses a similar display panel including a light extraction layer (fig 2, 17) on a side of a cathode electrode (16) away from the substrate (19), and on a side of the encapsulation layer (18) close to the substrate (19);
wherein an orthographic projection of the light extraction layer on the substrate covers orthographic projections of at least the plurality of light-emitting devices on the substrate (17 on LEDs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include the light extraction layer of Sun in the display panel of Wu in view of Kim since this will improve the light emitting efficiency of the display.
As to claim 14, Wu in view of Kim and Sun disclose the display panel according to claim 13 (paragraphs above).
Sun further discloses wherein the light extraction layer has a refractive index of 1.8 ([0069]) but does not explicitly disclose at a wavelength of 530nm, and an extinction coefficient of 0.01 or less at a wavelength of 450nm to 780nm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to form the material of Sun from one of the known organic materials for its intended purpose.
As to claim 15, Wu in view of Kim and Sun disclose the display panel according to claim 14 (paragraphs above).
Sun further discloses wherein the light extraction layer is made of an organic molecule material ([0069]) however does not explicitly disclose a material comprising any one of N,N'-bis(1-naphthyl)- N,N'-diphenyl-1,1'-biphenyl-4-4'-diamine; a triphenyldiamine derivative; N,N'- diphenyl-N,N'-bis(4'-(N,N-bis(1-naphthyl)-amido)-4-biphenyl)-benzidine; 1,3,5- tris(N-3-methylphenyl-N-phenylamino)benzene; or copper phthalocyanine.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to form the material of Sun from one of the known organic materials for its intended purpose.
As to claim 16, Wu in view of Kim and Sun disclose the display panel according to claim 13 (paragraphs above).
Sun further discloses wherein the light extraction layer has a thickness ranging from 60nm to 100nm ([0069]).
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Kim and further in view of Park et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0176533 A1), hereafter referred to as Park.
As to claim 18, Wu in view of Kim disclose the display panel according to claim 17 (paragraphs above).
Wu in view of Kim do not disclose wherein light-emitting functional layers of the two adjacent light-emitting devices extend onto the arc surface and meet each other; and
second electrodes of the two adjacent light-emitting devices extend onto the arc surface, and meet each other or are spaced apart from each other.
Nonetheless, Park discloses wherein light-emitting functional layers of the two adjacent light-emitting devices extend onto the arc surface and meet each other (figs 4-5, 510-530); and
second electrodes of the two adjacent light-emitting devices extend onto the arc surface, and meet each other or are spaced apart from each other (figs 4-5, 600).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to extend the functional layers and second electrodes of Wu in view of Kim to meet each other as taught by Park since this will ensure uniform filling of the emission material layers.
As to claim 19, Wu in view of Kim disclose the display panel according to claim 17 (paragraphs above).
Wu in view of Kim do not disclose wherein light-emitting functional layers of the two adjacent light-emitting devices extend onto the arc surface and are arranged in a lapped manner.
Nonetheless, Park discloses wherein light-emitting functional layers of the two adjacent light-emitting devices extend onto the arc surface and are arranged in a lapped manner (figs 4-5, 510-530).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to extend the functional layers and second electrodes of Wu in view of Kim to meet each other as taught by Park since this will ensure uniform filling of the emission material layers.
As to claim 20, Wu in view of Kim and Park disclose the display panel according to claim 19 (paragraphs above).
Park further discloses wherein a lapped area of the light-emitting functional layers has a cross section perpendicular to the substrate with a length A, each opening has a cross section perpendicular to the substrate with a length B; the cross section of the lapped area of the light-emitting functional layers perpendicular to the substrate is parallel to the cross section of the opening perpendicular to the substrate; and the length of the cross section of the lapped area of the light-emitting functional layers perpendicular to the substrate, and the length of the cross section of the opening perpendicular to the substrate, are parallel to the substrate (figs 4-5, overlapping elements of 510-530).
Park does not explicitly disclose where A/B is less than 5%.
Nonetheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to make the overlap to opening ratio less than 5% since determining the optimum overlap would have been obvious to improve the light emission efficiency of the display.
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Kim and Sun and further in view of Park.
As to claim 26, Wu in view of Kim and Sun disclose the display panel according to claim 15 (paragraphs above).
Wu in view of Kim and Sun do not disclose wherein the light- emitting functional layer comprises a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an electron blocking layer, a light-emitting layer, a hole blocking layer, an electron transport layer and an electron injection layer, the hole injection layer, the hole transport layer, the electron blocking layer, the light-emitting layer, the hole blocking layer, the electron transport layer and the electron injection layer are sequentially superimposed along a direction away from the substrate; and the light-emitting layer is made of an organic electroluminescent material or a quantum dot light-emitting material.
Nonetheless, Park discloses wherein the light- emitting functional layer comprises a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an electron blocking layer, a light-emitting layer, a hole blocking layer, an electron transport layer and an electron injection layer, the hole injection layer, the hole transport layer, the electron blocking layer, the light-emitting layer, the hole blocking layer, the electron transport layer and the electron injection layer are sequentially superimposed along a direction away from the substrate; and the light-emitting layer is made of an organic electroluminescent material or a quantum dot light-emitting material ([0098]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include the functional layers taught by Park in the OLED of Wu in view of Kim and Sun since this will improve the emission characteristics of the OLED.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Kim and further in view of Kim (US Pub. No. 2024/0191092 A1), hereafter referred to as Kim2.
As to claim 11, Wu in view of Kim disclose the display panel according to claim 9 (paragraphs above).
Wu in view of Kim do not disclose wherein the supplementary electrode mutual repulsion layer is made of an amine, diamine, or triamine based material.
Nonetheless, Kim2 discloses wherein a mutual repulsion layer is made of an amine, diamine, or triamine based material ([0117]-[0118]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to one of the known hydrophobic materials taught by Kim2 as the hydrophobic repulsion layer of Wu in view of Kim since selecting a known material for the same process of mutual repulsion is within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art.
As to claim 12, Wu in view of Kim and Kim2 disclose the display panel according to claim 11 (paragraphs above).
Wu in view of Kim do not disclose wherein the supplementary electrode mutual repulsion layer is made of any one of -N,N'- diphenyl-N,N'-bis(9-phenyl-9H-carbazol-3-yl)biphenyl-4,4'-diamine; N-(biphenyl- 4-yl)-9,9-dimethyl-N-(4-(9-phenyl-9H-carbazol-3-yl)phenyl)-9H-fluoren-2-amine; 4,4',4"-tris(3-methylphenylphenylamino)triphenylamine; N,N'-bis(1-naphthyl)-N,N'- diphenyl[1,1'-biphenyl]-4,4'-diamine, or 4,4'-bis[N-(3-methylphenyl)-N- phenylamino]biphenyl; or N4,N4'-diphenyl-N4,N4'-bis(9-phenyl-9H-carbazol-3- yl)diphenyl-4,4'-diamine'N(diphenyl-4-yl)9,9-dimethyl-N-(4(9-phenyl-9H-carbazol- 3 -yl)phenyl)-9H-fluoren-2-amine.
Nonetheless, Kim2 discloses wherein a mutual repulsion layer is made of an amine, diamine, or triamine based material ([0117]-[0118]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to one of the known hydrophobic materials taught by Kim2 as the hydrophobic repulsion layer of Wu in view of Kim since selecting a known material for the same process of mutual repulsion is within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fails to teach or suggest wherein second electrodes of the two adjacent light-emitting devices extend onto the arc surface and are arranged in a lapped manner, as recited in claim 21 and including all of the limitations of independent claim 1 and all intervening claims. Claim 22 is allowable because of its dependence from claim 21.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Pub. No. 2019/0058163 A1.
Conclusion
/SHAUN M CAMPBELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893 2/3/2026