DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 07/20/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kohl [US 20080073795].
Claim 1: Kohl teaches a method for forming an integrated circuit [abstract] where the method comprises producing a copper composite structure [0006], and the first step of forming a pillar copper structure [0011], and a second step of annealing the copper pillar structure under a nitrogen atmosphere [0011].
Claim 2: Kohl teaches the copper pillar structure is made of copper [0006].
Claim 3: Kohl teaches the copper pillar structure is formed by forming a template having a hole defined there, and plating copper so as to fill the hold via electroplating (molds) [0038; 0043] or electroless plating [0010-0011].
Claim 4: Kohl teaches annealing temperatures can be low temperatures that are appropriate for epoxy boards [0024], but also teaches the annealing can occur in other environments and other temperatures [0052] such as about 400 degrees C [0058].
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohl as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Chen [US 20070003698].
Teaching of the prior art is aforementioned, but does not appear to teach the limitations of claim 5. Chen is provided.
Claim 5: Chen teaches a method of forming a copper growth for interconnects [title] wherein a copper pillar can be annealed at a temperature of 100-400 degrees C [0087] and 10 minutes to 1 hours or about 30 minutes [0087] and under the pressure of 2-10 Torr [0087] where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (See MPEP 2144.05.I). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to anneal under the claimed annealing conditions since Chen teaches these are operable and known ranges for annealing post copper deposition interconnects.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohl as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chandler [Rationally 3D-textured copper surfaces for Laplace pressure imbalance-induced enhancement in dropwise condensation].
Teaching of the prior art is aforementioned, but does not appear to teach the limitations of claim 6. Chandler is provided.
Claim 6: Chander teaches 3-D texture comprising a copper surfaces having a hybrid structure of microscale size and fine protrusions of nanoscale size formed on the copper surfaces [abstract; Fig. 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a hybrid structure for the taught copper pillar structure because Chander teaches this 3-D textured structure allows for enhanced heat transfer [abstract].
Conclusion
/MANDY C LOUIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718