Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to applicant’s amendment filed 8/20/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-8 and 14-20 are withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to non-elected inventions.
The previous rejection of claim 9 under 35 U.S.C. 102(1a)(1) as being anticipated by Kwon et al. (Journal of Applied Polymer Science, Vol. 110, 3737–3744 (2008) is withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendment/remarks.
The previous rejection of claims 10 and 11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (Journal of Applied Polymer Science, Vol. 110, 3737–3744 (2008) in view of Enomoto (6,153,683).is withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendment/remarks.
The previous rejection of claims 12 and 13 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (Journal of Applied Polymer Science, Vol. 110, 3737–3744 (2008) in view of Hoang et al. (US2018/0016391) is withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendment/remarks.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (Polymer 51 (2010) 3715-3721).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang discloses a composition (nanocomposite) comprising a plurality of particles (polystyrene/MWNT composite nanospheres), each particle comprising a polymeric core (Polystyrene PS) in contact with a shell comprising CNT (MWCNT) and a surfactant (PVP); wherein said polymeric core comprises a thermoplastic polymer; and wherein an average cross-section size of said plurality of particles is between 30 and 2000
µ
m (Fig. 8, abstract and page 3716, 2.6 Fabrication of PS/CNT core-shell nanospheres).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang discloses at least 99wt% of the polymeric core comprises a thermoplastic polymer; and at least 99wt% of the shell consists of CNT and the surfactant (core-shell nanospheres with polystyrene (PS) as the core and multi-walled carbon nanotubes (MWNTs), and the MWNTs were grafted with poly(vinyl pyrrolidone) (PVP), abstract and page 3716, 2.6 Fabrication of PS/CNT core-shell nanospheres).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (Polymer 51 (2010) 3715-3721) in view of Enomoto (6,153,683).
Zhang discloses a composition as set forth above. Zhang does not disclose the composition
further comprising an additive, wherein a w/w ratio between the additive and the plurality of particles within the composition is between 1:100 and 100:1, wherein said additive comprises glass fiber, polymeric particles, or both. Enomoto discloses using glass fiber in an amount within range of from 5 to 90 wt% in a thermoplastic resin product (abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to add glass fiber to the composition of Zhang, for improving strength, melting and kneading of the composition carried out on a biaxial or uniaxial extruder.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (Polymer 51 (2010) 3715-3721) in view of Hoang et al. (US2018/0016391).
Zhang discloses a composition as set forth above. Zhang does not disclose the surfactant comprises polyalkylammonium-co-polyether. Hoang discloses polyether-based surfactant including polyalkylammonium-co-polyether (example 5, para 0163), which can be used for preparing a nanocarbon material dispersion in which the nanocarbon material is favorably dispersed. The reference does not disclose a weight portion of the PS or MWCNT or a w/w ratio of said surfactant to said MWCNT. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to use polyether-based surfactant taught by Hoang as the surfactant in the composition of Zhang as well as its concentration and w/w ratio of said surfactant to said CNT suitable for use in the composition, to promote the dispersion of the polymeric core, thus proving a stable dispersion.
Zhang does not disclose the composition is extrudable. However, given that Zhang’s composition and the claimed composition is structurally similar, it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art that Zhang’s composition would be also extrudable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 1/28/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/HAIDUNG D NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
3/7/2026