This office action is in response to amendments filed on October 27, 2023.
Claims 1-7 have been canceled.
Claims 8-16 have been added.
Claims 8-16 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
As required by M.P.E.P. 609(C), the applicant’s submissions of the Information Disclosure Statements dated October 27, 2023 and June 24, 2025 are acknowledged by the examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending. As required by M.P.E.P 609, a copy of the PTOL-1449 initialed and dated by the examiner is attached to the office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims are directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims recites a computer-implemented tool (i.e., software) without recitation of tangible media storing the software. The broadest reasonable interpretation of software covers forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals. Transmission media are forms of energy, per se, and thus currently not believed to fall within a statutory category.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, the claim recites the limitations "the automated process component" in lines 16, 17, and 21 of the claim, “the operator control” in lines 17 and 27 of the claim, and "the previously generated operator control" in line 28 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. For the purposes of examination the limitations are interpreted as “the process component automated”, “the generated operator control”, and “a previously generated operator control”.
Regarding claim 9, the claim recites the limitations "the automated process component" in lines 3 and 4 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination the limitations are interpreted as “the process component automated”.
Regarding claim 10, the claim recites “An engineering station server for a control system of a process plant … according to claim 8” lines 1 and 2 of the claim. It is unclear if the process plant recited in line 1 of claim 10 refers to the process plant as recited in line 2 of claim 8 or another process plant. Additionally, the claim recites “the configuration tool” in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination claim 10 is interpreted as “An engineering station server for a control system for configuring according to claim 8”.
Regarding claim 11, the claim recites “A first engineering station server and a second engineering station server … for a control system of a process plant … which a configuration tool in accordance with claim 8 is computer implemented” in lines 1-3 of the claim. It is unclear if the process plant recited in line 2 of claim 11 refers to the process plant as recited in line 2 of claim 8 or another process plant. For the purposes of examination claim 11 is interpreted as “A first engineering station server and a second engineering station server … for a control system … for configuring in accordance with claim 8”.
Regarding claim 12, the claim recites “A first engineering station server and a second engineering station server … for a control system of a process plant … which a configuration tool in accordance with claim 9 is computer implemented” in lines 1-3 of the claim. The examiner notes claim 9 depends on claim 8. It is unclear if the process plant recited in line 2 of claim 12 refers to the process plant as recited in line 2 of claim 8 or another process plant. For the purposes of examination claim 12 is interpreted as “A first engineering station server and a second engineering station server … for a control system … for configuring in accordance with claim 9”.
Regarding claim 13, the claim recites “A control system for a process plant comprising an engineering station server as claimed in claim 10” in lines 1-2 of the claim. The examiner notes claim 10 incorporates claim 8. It is unclear if the process plant recited in line 1 of claim 13 refers to the process plant as recited in line 2 of claim 8 or another process plant. Additionally, the claim recites “wherein the operator station server” in lines 3-4 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination claim 13 is interpreted as “A control system comprising an engineering station server as claimed in claim 10 … wherein the at least one operator station server”
Regarding claim 14, the claim recites “A control system for a process plant comprising … as claim in claim 11” in lines 1-2 of the claim. The examiner notes claim 11 incorporates claim 8. It is unclear if the process plant recited in line 1 of claim 14 refers to the process plant as recited in line 2 of claim 8 or another process plant. For the purposes of examination claim 14 is interpreted as “A control system comprising … as claimed in claim 11”.
Regarding claim 15, the claim recites the limitations "the automated process component" in line 9 of the claim, “the automated process components” in line 15 of the claim, and “the operator control” in lines 20 and 26 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. For the purposes of examination the limitations are interpreted as “an automated process component”, “the automated process component”, and “the generated operator control”.
Regarding claim 16, the claim recites the limitation “the operator control” in line 4 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination the limitation is interpreted as “the generated operator control”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kodosky et al. (US20030037322A1) in further view of Stump et al. (US20210096523A1).
Regarding claim 8, Kodosky teaches a computer-implemented configuration tool for configuring a plurality of process components of a process plant comprising a first tool component and a second tool component;
wherein the first tool component is configured to generate automation of the plurality of process components for the process plant (present invention comprises a system and method for creating and using configuration diagrams for configuring systems … including control and/or modeling of instrumentation or industrial automation hardware … FIG. 5 illustrates an exemplary system which includes the distributed LabVIEW integrated development environment (IDE) ... include a system editor 732. The system editor may be used for creating a configuration diagram 712)([0009], [0120], [0149], and [0151]; Figure 5 - a computer-implemented configuration tool (i.e., IDE) includes a first component (i.e., configuration diagram) for automating process components for a plant (i.e., industrial hardware));
wherein the first tool component is embodied to assign parameterization and interaction with further process components to each process component in the context of the generation of the automation (FIG. 29 illustrates a simple configuration diagram ... As shown, the user can select the configuration option on a first menu ... when the user selects the I/O selection ... to configure I/O channels)([0419], [0420], and [0421]; Figure 29 – using the configuration diagram for parameterization and interaction (e.g., configuration of I/O channels) is shown);
wherein the second tool component is configured to generate operator control and monitoring for the plurality of process components of the process plant (“front panel” refers to a user interface wherein the user is able to interactively control or manipulate the input being provided to the graphical program and view resulting output ... FIG. 5 illustrates an exemplary system which includes the distributed LabVIEW integrated development environment (IDE) ... include one or more graphical programs, e.g., may include a block diagram and/or front panel 706 of a graphical program)([0110], [0149], and [0150]; Figure 5 – the IDE includes a second component (i.e., front panel) for controlling and monitoring);
wherein the computer-implemented configuration tool is configured to provide the second tool component with a process component automated by the first tool component, along with its parameterization and its interaction with further process components, such that the second tool component is not require to make any adjustments to the automated process component in order to integrate the automated process component into the operator control and monitoring to be generated of the plurality of process components of the process plant (In this example, the user has selected the RPM (Revolutions Per Minute) data point item … When the user associates ... a data point item onto the user interface or front panel of a program ... may automatically create or display a GUI element, e.g., an indicator or control, in the user interface or front panel ... This GUI element may be “bound” to the data point ... The binding may be accomplished using data socket technology ... the user can view this GUI element to monitor the value of the data point in a “live” fashion, and may optionally adjust the data point value or parameters associated with the data point value … similar operations to those described above may be performed when the user associates ... other types of data points, such as an I/O element or channel)([0429] and [0431]; the front panel is provided with a process component (e.g., RPM, I/O, etc.) which is automated by the configuration diagram and provides associated data to an operator control (i.e., GUI element) via data binding to enable controlling and monitoring, in particular, the examiner notes data socket technology does not require adjustments to the underlining component as data is shared via streaming);
wherein the computer-implemented configuration tool is further configured, in a context of the generation of the automation, to provide the second tool component with the automated process component by a displacement operation which is triggerable by a project engineer of the process plant and represents a graphical dragging movement or a copy and paste operation (FIG. 32 illustrates an example of a user selecting a data point item associated with a device icon (Controller1) and associating or dragging and dropping this data point item onto the user interface or front panel of a program)([0429]; Figure 32 – providing the front panel with a process component (i.e., RPM) by a displacement drag operation is shown); and
wherein the computer-implemented configuration tool is further configured to transmit the generated operator control and monitoring to an operator station client of an operator station server of the process plant, a visual display of the operator control and monitoring occurring via the operator station client … (the user may select an “Open Front Panel” option to view the front panel or user interface of the program ... Where the program is executing on a remote device, i.e., a device separate from the computer system, the panel or user interface information may be transferred to the main computer system 82 for display)([0285]; the IDE transmits the front panel with associated GUI elements to a remote user for controlling and monitoring).
Kodosky differs from the claim in that Kodosky fails to teach the visual display is based on a previously generated operator control and monitoring (i.e., interface). However, transmitting a visual display is based on a previously generated interface is taught by Stump (the dashboard 200 may be configured to facilitate two or more people accessing and editing the project simultaneously ... a user's computing device may make a local copy of the project to edit ... Differences or conflicts between the master and the local copy may be considered ... merging the local file with the master version)([0163] and [0164]).
The examiner notes Kodosky and Stump teach configuring industrial automation. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kodosky to include the transmitting of Stump such that a visual display based on a previously generated operator control and monitoring is transmitted. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of allowing multiple user to simultaneously access an interface for industrial automation.
Regarding claim 9, Kodosky-Stump teach the computer-implemented configuration tool as claimed in claim 8, wherein the second tool component is configured to offer the project engineer of the process plant a selection option upon acceptance of the automated process component such that the project engineer can select a manifestation of the automated process component for the operator control and monitoring from a plurality of options (although Kodosky fails to teach offering a plurality of selectable options of process components for user acceptance, said offering is taught by Stump (The dashboard 200 may also use historical data to suggest specific components ... FIG. 33 is a screenshot of the dashboard 200 in which the system is suggesting controllers ... FIG. 34 is a screenshot of the dashboard 200 in which the controller suggestions have been accepted (e.g., via user input) and the controllers are being added to the project)([0156] and [0158]; Figures 33 and 34 – offering suggested process components to a user and user acceptance of an offering is shown). The examiner notes Kodosky and Stump teach configuring industrial automation. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kodosky to include the offering of Stump such that a user is offered a plurality of selectable options of process components for user acceptance. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of reducing the amount of time for designing industrial automation).
Regarding claim 10, Kodosky teaches an engineering station server for a control system of a process plant on which the configuration tool according to a computer-implemented configuration tool for configuring a plurality of process components of a process plant comprising a first tool component and a second tool component;
wherein the first tool component is configured to generate automation of the plurality of process components for the process plant (present invention comprises a system and method for creating and using configuration diagrams for configuring systems … the server computer system 90 may provide various services to the system … including control and/or modeling of instrumentation or industrial automation hardware … FIG. 5 illustrates an exemplary system which includes the distributed LabVIEW integrated development environment (IDE) ... include a system editor 732. The system editor may be used for creating a configuration diagram 712)([0009], [0098], [0120], [0149], and [0151]; Figure 5 - a computer-implemented configuration tool (i.e., IDE) includes a first component (i.e., configuration diagram) for automating process components for a plant (i.e., industrial hardware), the automating includes using a server);
wherein the first tool component is embodied to assign parameterization and interaction with further process components to each process component in the context of the generation of the automation (FIG. 29 illustrates a simple configuration diagram ... As shown, the user can select the configuration option on a first menu ... when the user selects the I/O selection ... to configure I/O channels)([0419], [0420], and [0421]; Figure 29 – using the configuration diagram for parameterization and interaction (e.g., configuration of I/O channels) is shown);
wherein the second tool component is configured to generate operator control and monitoring for the plurality of process components of the process plant (“front panel” refers to a user interface wherein the user is able to interactively control or manipulate the input being provided to the graphical program and view resulting output ... FIG. 5 illustrates an exemplary system which includes the distributed LabVIEW integrated development environment (IDE) ... include one or more graphical programs, e.g., may include a block diagram and/or front panel 706 of a graphical program)([0110], [0149], and [0150]; Figure 5 – the IDE includes a second component (i.e., front panel) for controlling and monitoring);
wherein the computer-implemented configuration tool is configured to provide the second tool component with a process component automated by the first tool component, along with its parameterization and its interaction with further process components, such that the second tool component is not require to make any adjustments to the automated process component in order to integrate the automated process component into the operator control and monitoring to be generated of the plurality of process components of the process plant (In this example, the user has selected the RPM (Revolutions Per Minute) data point item … When the user associates ... a data point item onto the user interface or front panel of a program ... may automatically create or display a GUI element, e.g., an indicator or control, in the user interface or front panel ... This GUI element may be “bound” to the data point ... The binding may be accomplished using data socket technology ... the user can view this GUI element to monitor the value of the data point in a “live” fashion, and may optionally adjust the data point value or parameters associated with the data point value … similar operations to those described above may be performed when the user associates ... other types of data points, such as an I/O element or channel)([0429] and [0431]; the front panel is provided with a process component (e.g., RPM, I/O, etc.) which is automated by the configuration diagram and provides associated data to an operator control (i.e., GUI element) via data binding to enable controlling and monitoring, in particular, the examiner notes data socket technology does not require adjustments to the underlining component as data is shared via streaming);
wherein the computer-implemented configuration tool is further configured, in a context of the generation of the automation, to provide the second tool component with the automated process component by a displacement operation which is triggerable by a project engineer of the process plant and represents a graphical dragging movement or a copy and paste operation (FIG. 32 illustrates an example of a user selecting a data point item associated with a device icon (Controller1) and associating or dragging and dropping this data point item onto the user interface or front panel of a program)([0429]; Figure 32 – providing the front panel with a process component (i.e., RPM) by a displacement drag operation is shown); and
wherein the computer-implemented configuration tool is further configured to transmit the generated operator control and monitoring to an operator station client of an operator station server of the process plant, a visual display of the operator control and monitoring occurring via the operator station client … (the user may select an “Open Front Panel” option to view the front panel or user interface of the program ... Where the program is executing on a remote device, i.e., a device separate from the computer system, the panel or user interface information may be transferred to the main computer system 82 for display)([0285]; the IDE transmits the front panel with associated GUI elements to a remote user for controlling and monitoring).
Kodosky differs from the claim in that Kodosky fails to teach the visual display is based on a previously generated operator control and monitoring (i.e., interface). However, transmitting a visual display is based on a previously generated interface is taught by Stump (the dashboard 200 may be configured to facilitate two or more people accessing and editing the project simultaneously ... a user's computing device may make a local copy of the project to edit ... Differences or conflicts between the master and the local copy may be considered ... merging the local file with the master version)([0163] and [0164]).
The examiner notes Kodosky and Stump teach configuring industrial automation. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kodosky to include the transmitting of Stump such that a visual display based on a previously generated operator control and monitoring is transmitted. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of allowing multiple user to simultaneously access an interface for industrial automation.
Regarding claim 11, Kodosky teaches a first engineering station server and a second engineering station server, the first and second engineering station servers being for a control system of a process plant, on which a configuration tool in accordance with a computer-implemented configuration tool for configuring a plurality of process components of a process plant comprising a first tool component and a second tool component;
wherein the first tool component is configured to generate automation of the plurality of process components for the process plant (present invention comprises a system and method for creating and using configuration diagrams for configuring systems … including control and/or modeling of instrumentation or industrial automation hardware … FIG. 5 illustrates an exemplary system which includes the distributed LabVIEW integrated development environment (IDE) ... include a system editor 732. The system editor may be used for creating a configuration diagram 712)([0009], [0120], [0149], and [0151]; Figure 5 - a computer-implemented configuration tool (i.e., IDE) includes a first component (i.e., configuration diagram) for automating process components for a plant (i.e., industrial hardware));
wherein the first tool component is embodied to assign parameterization and interaction with further process components to each process component in the context of the generation of the automation (FIG. 29 illustrates a simple configuration diagram ... As shown, the user can select the configuration option on a first menu ... when the user selects the I/O selection ... to configure I/O channels)([0419], [0420], and [0421]; Figure 29 – using the configuration diagram for parameterization and interaction (e.g., configuration of I/O channels) is shown);
wherein the second tool component is configured to generate operator control and monitoring for the plurality of process components of the process plant (“front panel” refers to a user interface wherein the user is able to interactively control or manipulate the input being provided to the graphical program and view resulting output ... FIG. 5 illustrates an exemplary system which includes the distributed LabVIEW integrated development environment (IDE) ... include one or more graphical programs, e.g., may include a block diagram and/or front panel 706 of a graphical program)([0110], [0149], and [0150]; Figure 5 – the IDE includes a second component (i.e., front panel) for controlling and monitoring);
wherein the computer-implemented configuration tool is configured to provide the second tool component with a process component automated by the first tool component, along with its parameterization and its interaction with further process components, such that the second tool component is not require to make any adjustments to the automated process component in order to integrate the automated process component into the operator control and monitoring to be generated of the plurality of process components of the process plant (In this example, the user has selected the RPM (Revolutions Per Minute) data point item … When the user associates ... a data point item onto the user interface or front panel of a program ... may automatically create or display a GUI element, e.g., an indicator or control, in the user interface or front panel ... This GUI element may be “bound” to the data point ... The binding may be accomplished using data socket technology ... the user can view this GUI element to monitor the value of the data point in a “live” fashion, and may optionally adjust the data point value or parameters associated with the data point value … similar operations to those described above may be performed when the user associates ... other types of data points, such as an I/O element or channel)([0429] and [0431]; the front panel is provided with a process component (e.g., RPM, I/O, etc.) which is automated by the configuration diagram and provides associated data to an operator control (i.e., GUI element) via data binding to enable controlling and monitoring, in particular, the examiner notes data socket technology does not require adjustments to the underlining component as data is shared via streaming);
wherein the computer-implemented configuration tool is further configured, in a context of the generation of the automation, to provide the second tool component with the automated process component by a displacement operation which is triggerable by a project engineer of the process plant and represents a graphical dragging movement or a copy and paste operation (FIG. 32 illustrates an example of a user selecting a data point item associated with a device icon (Controller1) and associating or dragging and dropping this data point item onto the user interface or front panel of a program)([0429]; Figure 32 – providing the front panel with a process component (i.e., RPM) by a displacement drag operation is shown); and
wherein the computer-implemented configuration tool is further configured to transmit the generated operator control and monitoring to an operator station client of an operator station server of the process plant, a visual display of the operator control and monitoring occurring via the operator station client … (the user may select an “Open Front Panel” option to view the front panel or user interface of the program ... Where the program is executing on a remote device, i.e., a device separate from the computer system, the panel or user interface information may be transferred to the main computer system 82 for display)([0285]; the IDE transmits the front panel with associated GUI elements to a remote user for controlling and monitoring),
wherein the first tool component of the configuration tool is computer-implemented on the first engineering station server and the second tool component is computer-implemented on the second engineering station server (FIGS. 2A and 2B—Instrumentation and Industrial Automation Systems ... the system and method of the present invention is operable ... including distributed systems which include other types of devices ... The computer 82 may couple to one or more other computers, such as computer 90, over a network, wherein the one or more other computers may form part of the distributed system)([0119], [0120], and [0121]; implementing the configuration diagram and the front panel in a distributed systems comprises utilizing servers).
Kodosky differs from the claim in that Kodosky fails to teach the visual display is based on a previously generated operator control and monitoring (i.e., interface). However, transmitting a visual display is based on a previously generated interface is taught by Stump (the dashboard 200 may be configured to facilitate two or more people accessing and editing the project simultaneously ... a user's computing device may make a local copy of the project to edit ... Differences or conflicts between the master and the local copy may be considered ... merging the local file with the master version)([0163] and [0164]).
The examiner notes Kodosky and Stump teach configuring industrial automation. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kodosky to include the transmitting of Stump such that a visual display based on a previously generated operator control and monitoring is transmitted. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of allowing multiple user to simultaneously access an interface for industrial automation.
Regarding claim 12, Kodosky teaches a first engineering station server and a second engineering station server, the first and second engineering station servers being for a control system of a process plant, on which a configuration tool in accordance with a computer-implemented configuration tool for configuring a plurality of process components of a process plant comprising a first tool component and a second tool component;
wherein the first tool component is configured to generate automation of the plurality of process components for the process plant (present invention comprises a system and method for creating and using configuration diagrams for configuring systems … including control and/or modeling of instrumentation or industrial automation hardware … FIG. 5 illustrates an exemplary system which includes the distributed LabVIEW integrated development environment (IDE) ... include a system editor 732. The system editor may be used for creating a configuration diagram 712)([0009], [0120], [0149], and [0151]; Figure 5 - a computer-implemented configuration tool (i.e., IDE) includes a first component (i.e., configuration diagram) for automating process components for a plant (i.e., industrial hardware));
wherein the first tool component is embodied to assign parameterization and interaction with further process components to each process component in the context of the generation of the automation (FIG. 29 illustrates a simple configuration diagram ... As shown, the user can select the configuration option on a first menu ... when the user selects the I/O selection ... to configure I/O channels)([0419], [0420], and [0421]; Figure 29 – using the configuration diagram for parameterization and interaction (e.g., configuration of I/O channels) is shown);
wherein the second tool component is configured to generate operator control and monitoring for the plurality of process components of the process plant (“front panel” refers to a user interface wherein the user is able to interactively control or manipulate the input being provided to the graphical program and view resulting output ... FIG. 5 illustrates an exemplary system which includes the distributed LabVIEW integrated development environment (IDE) ... include one or more graphical programs, e.g., may include a block diagram and/or front panel 706 of a graphical program)([0110], [0149], and [0150]; Figure 5 – the IDE includes a second component (i.e., front panel) for controlling and monitoring);
wherein the computer-implemented configuration tool is configured to provide the second tool component with a process component automated by the first tool component, along with its parameterization and its interaction with further process components, such that the second tool component is not require to make any adjustments to the automated process component in order to integrate the automated process component into the operator control and monitoring to be generated of the plurality of process components of the process plant (In this example, the user has selected the RPM (Revolutions Per Minute) data point item … When the user associates ... a data point item onto the user interface or front panel of a program ... may automatically create or display a GUI element, e.g., an indicator or control, in the user interface or front panel ... This GUI element may be “bound” to the data point ... The binding may be accomplished using data socket technology ... the user can view this GUI element to monitor the value of the data point in a “live” fashion, and may optionally adjust the data point value or parameters associated with the data point value … similar operations to those described above may be performed when the user associates ... other types of data points, such as an I/O element or channel)([0429] and [0431]; the front panel is provided with a process component (e.g., RPM, I/O, etc.) which is automated by the configuration diagram and provides associated data to an operator control (i.e., GUI element) via data binding to enable controlling and monitoring, in particular, the examiner notes data socket technology does not require adjustments to the underlining component as data is shared via streaming);
wherein the computer-implemented configuration tool is further configured, in a context of the generation of the automation, to provide the second tool component with the automated process component by a displacement operation which is triggerable by a project engineer of the process plant and represents a graphical dragging movement or a copy and paste operation (FIG. 32 illustrates an example of a user selecting a data point item associated with a device icon (Controller1) and associating or dragging and dropping this data point item onto the user interface or front panel of a program)([0429]; Figure 32 – providing the front panel with a process component (i.e., RPM) by a displacement drag operation is shown); and
wherein the computer-implemented configuration tool is further configured to transmit the generated operator control and monitoring to an operator station client of an operator station server of the process plant, a visual display of the operator control and monitoring occurring via the operator station client … (the user may select an “Open Front Panel” option to view the front panel or user interface of the program ... Where the program is executing on a remote device, i.e., a device separate from the computer system, the panel or user interface information may be transferred to the main computer system 82 for display)([0285]; the IDE transmits the front panel with associated GUI elements to a remote user for controlling and monitoring),
wherein the first tool component of the configuration tool is computer-implemented on the first engineering station server and the second tool component is computer-implemented on the second engineering station server (FIGS. 2A and 2B—Instrumentation and Industrial Automation Systems ... the system and method of the present invention is operable ... including distributed systems which include other types of devices ... The computer 82 may couple to one or more other computers, such as computer 90, over a network, wherein the one or more other computers may form part of the distributed system)([0119], [0120], and [0121]; implementing the configuration diagram and the front panel in a distributed systems comprises utilizing servers).
Kodosky differs from the claim in that Kodosky fails to teach the visual display is based on a previously generated operator control and monitoring (i.e., interface) and offering a plurality of selectable options of process components for user acceptance. However, transmitting a visual display is based on a previously generated interface and offering a plurality of selectable options of process components for user acceptance is taught by Stump (The dashboard 200 may also use historical data to suggest specific components ... FIG. 33 is a screenshot of the dashboard 200 in which the system is suggesting controllers ... FIG. 34 is a screenshot of the dashboard 200 in which the controller suggestions have been accepted (e.g., via user input) and the controllers are being added to the project … the dashboard 200 may be configured to facilitate two or more people accessing and editing the project simultaneously ... a user's computing device may make a local copy of the project to edit ... Differences or conflicts between the master and the local copy may be considered ... merging the local file with the master version)([0156], [0158], [0163], and [0164]; Figures 33 and 34 – offering suggested process components to a user and user acceptance of an offering is shown).
The examiner notes Kodosky and Stump teach configuring industrial automation. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kodosky to include the transmitting and the offering of Stump such that a visual display based on a previously generated operator control and monitoring is transmitted and a user is offered a plurality of selectable options of process components for user acceptance. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of allowing multiple user to simultaneously access an interface for industrial automation and reducing the amount of time for designing industrial automation.
Regarding claim 13, Kodosky teaches a control system for a process plant comprising an engineering station server for a control system of a process plant on which the configuration tool according to a computer-implemented configuration tool for configuring a plurality of process components of a process plant comprising a first tool component and a second tool component;
wherein the first tool component is configured to generate automation of the plurality of process components for the process plant (present invention comprises a system and method for creating and using configuration diagrams for configuring systems … the server computer system 90 may provide various services to the system … including control and/or modeling of instrumentation or industrial automation hardware … FIG. 5 illustrates an exemplary system which includes the distributed LabVIEW integrated development environment (IDE) ... include a system editor 732. The system editor may be used for creating a configuration diagram 712)([0009], [0098], [0120], [0149], and [0151]; Figure 5 - a computer-implemented configuration tool (i.e., IDE) includes a first component (i.e., configuration diagram) for automating process components for a plant (i.e., industrial hardware), the automating includes using a server);
wherein the first tool component is embodied to assign parameterization and interaction with further process components to each process component in the context of the generation of the automation (FIG. 29 illustrates a simple configuration diagram ... As shown, the user can select the configuration option on a first menu ... when the user selects the I/O selection ... to configure I/O channels)([0419], [0420], and [0421]; Figure 29 – using the configuration diagram for parameterization and interaction (e.g., configuration of I/O channels) is shown);
wherein the second tool component is configured to generate operator control and monitoring for the plurality of process components of the process plant (“front panel” refers to a user interface wherein the user is able to interactively control or manipulate the input being provided to the graphical program and view resulting output ... FIG. 5 illustrates an exemplary system which includes the distributed LabVIEW integrated development environment (IDE) ... include one or more graphical programs, e.g., may include a block diagram and/or front panel 706 of a graphical program)([0110], [0149], and [0150]; Figure 5 – the IDE includes a second component (i.e., front panel) for controlling and monitoring);
wherein the computer-implemented configuration tool is configured to provide the second tool component with a process component automated by the first tool component, along with its parameterization and its interaction with further process components, such that the second tool component is not require to make any adjustments to the automated process component in order to integrate the automated process component into the operator control and monitoring to be generated of the plurality of process components of the process plant (In this example, the user has selected the RPM (Revolutions Per Minute) data point item … When the user associates ... a data point item onto the user interface or front panel of a program ... may automatically create or display a GUI element, e.g., an indicator or control, in the user interface or front panel ... This GUI element may be “bound” to the data point ... The binding may be accomplished using data socket technology ... the user can view this GUI element to monitor the value of the data point in a “live” fashion, and may optionally adjust the data point value or parameters associated with the data point value … similar operations to those described above may be performed when the user associates ... other types of data points, such as an I/O element or channel)([0429] and [0431]; the front panel is provided with a process component (e.g., RPM, I/O, etc.) which is automated by the configuration diagram and provides associated data to an operator control (i.e., GUI element) via data binding to enable controlling and monitoring, in particular, the examiner notes data socket technology does not require adjustments to the underlining component as data is shared via streaming);
wherein the computer-implemented configuration tool is further configured, in a context of the generation of the automation, to provide the second tool component with the automated process component by a displacement operation which is triggerable by a project engineer of the process plant and represents a graphical dragging movement or a copy and paste operation (FIG. 32 illustrates an example of a user selecting a data point item associated with a device icon (Controller1) and associating or dragging and dropping this data point item onto the user interface or front panel of a program)([0429]; Figure 32 – providing the front panel with a process component (i.e., RPM) by a displacement drag operation is shown); and
wherein the computer-implemented configuration tool is further configured to transmit the generated operator control and monitoring to an operator station client of an operator station server of the process plant, a visual display of the operator control and monitoring occurring via the operator station client … (the user may select an “Open Front Panel” option to view the front panel or user interface of the program ... Where the program is executing on a remote device, i.e., a device separate from the computer system, the panel or user interface information may be transferred to the main computer system 82 for display)([0285]; the IDE transmits the front panel with associated GUI elements to a remote user for controlling and monitoring),
wherein the operator station server is configured to transmit operator control and monitoring of the process plant created by the computer-implemented configuration tool on the engineering station server to at least one operator station client for visual display (FIGS. 2A and 2B—Instrumentation and Industrial Automation Systems ... the system and method of the present invention is operable ... including distributed systems which include other types of devices ... The computer 82 may couple to one or more other computers, such as computer 90, over a network, wherein the one or more other computers may form part of the distributed system)([0119], [0120], and [0121]; implementing the configuration diagram and the front panel in a distributed systems comprises transmitting data between servers).
Kodosky differs from the claim in that Kodosky fails to teach the visual display is based on a previously generated operator control and monitoring (i.e., interface). However, transmitting a visual display is based on a previously generated interface is taught by Stump (the dashboard 200 may be configured to facilitate two or more people accessing and editing the project simultaneously ... a user's computing device may make a local copy of the project to edit ... Differences or conflicts between the master and the local copy may be considered ... merging the local file with the master version)([0163] and [0164]).
The examiner notes Kodosky and Stump teach configuring industrial automation. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kodosky to include the transmitting of Stump such that a visual display based on a previously generated operator control and monitoring is transmitted. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of allowing multiple user to simultaneously access an interface for industrial automation.
Regarding claim 14, Kodosky teaches a control system for a process plant comprising the first and second engineering station servers the first and second engineering station servers being for a control system of a process plant, on which a configuration tool in accordance with a computer-implemented configuration tool for configuring a plurality of process components of a process plant comprising a first tool component and a second tool component;
wherein the first tool component is configured to generate automation of the plurality of process components for the process plant (present invention comprises a system and method for creating and using configuration diagrams for configuring systems … including control and/or modeling of instrumentation or industrial automation hardware … FIG. 5 illustrates an exemplary system which includes the distributed LabVIEW integrated development environment (IDE) ... include a system editor 732. The system editor may be used for creating a configuration diagram 712)([0009], [0120], [0149], and [0151]; Figure 5 - a computer-implemented configuration tool (i.e., IDE) includes a first component (i.e., configuration diagram) for automating process components for a plant (i.e., industrial hardware));
wherein the first tool component is embodied to assign parameterization and interaction with further process components to each process component in the context of the generation of the automation (FIG. 29 illustrates a simple configuration diagram ... As shown, the user can select the configuration option on a first menu ... when the user selects the I/O selection ... to configure I/O channels)([0419], [0420], and [0421]; Figure 29 – using the configuration diagram for parameterization and interaction (e.g., configuration of I/O channels) is shown);
wherein the second tool component is configured to generate operator control and monitoring for the plurality of process components of the process plant (“front panel” refers to a user interface wherein the user is able to interactively control or manipulate the input being provided to the graphical program and view resulting output ... FIG. 5 illustrates an exemplary system which includes the distributed LabVIEW integrated development environment (IDE) ... include one or more graphical programs, e.g., may include a block diagram and/or front panel 706 of a graphical program)([0110], [0149], and [0150]; Figure 5 – the IDE includes a second component (i.e., front panel) for controlling and monitoring);
wherein the computer-implemented configuration tool is configured to provide the second tool component with a process component automated by the first tool component, along with its parameterization and its interaction with further process components, such that the second tool component is not require to make any adjustments to the automated process component in order to integrate the automated process component into the operator control and monitoring to be generated of the plurality of process components of the process plant (In this example, the user has selected the RPM (Revolutions Per Minute) data point item … When the user associates ... a data point item onto the user interface or front panel of a program ... may automatically create or display a GUI element, e.g., an indicator or control, in the user interface or front panel ... This GUI element may be “bound” to the data point ... The binding may be accomplished using data socket technology ... the user can view this GUI element to monitor the value of the data point in a “live” fashion, and may optionally adjust the data point value or parameters associated with the data point value … similar operations to those described above may be performed when the user associates ... other types of data points, such as an I/O element or channel)([0429] and [0431]; the front panel is provided with a process component (e.g., RPM, I/O, etc.) which is automated by the configuration diagram and provides associated data to an operator control (i.e., GUI element) via data binding to enable controlling and monitoring, in particular, the examiner notes data socket technology does not require adjustments to the underlining component as data is shared via streaming);
wherein the computer-implemented configuration tool is further configured, in a context of the generation of the automation, to provide the second tool component with the automated process component by a displacement operation which is triggerable by a project engineer of the process plant and represents a graphical dragging movement or a copy and paste operation (FIG. 32 illustrates an example of a user selecting a data point item associated with a device icon (Controller1) and associating or dragging and dropping this data point item onto the user interface or front panel of a program)([0429]; Figure 32 – providing the front panel with a process component (i.e., RPM) by a displacement drag operation is shown); and
wherein the computer-implemented configuration tool is further configured to transmit the generated operator control and monitoring to an operator station client of an operator station server of the process plant, a visual display of the operator control and monitoring occurring via the operator station client … (the user may select an “Open Front Panel” option to view the front panel or user interface of the program ... Where the program is executing on a remote device, i.e., a device separate from the computer system, the panel or user interface information may be transferred to the main computer system 82 for display)([0285]; the IDE transmits the front panel with associated GUI elements to a remote user for controlling and monitoring),
wherein the first tool component of the configuration tool is computer-implemented on the first engineering station server and the second tool component is computer-implemented on the second engineering station server and at least one operator station server, the at least one operator station server is configured to transmit operator control and monitoring of the process plant created by the computer-implemented configuration tool on the first and second engineering station servers to at least one operator station client for visual display (FIGS. 2A and 2B—Instrumentation and Industrial Automation Systems ... the system and method of the present invention is operable ... including distributed systems which include other types of devices ... The computer 82 may couple to one or more other computers, such as computer 90, over a network, wherein the one or more other computers may form part of the distributed system)([0119], [0120], and [0121]; implementing the configuration diagram and the front panel in a distributed systems comprises transmitting data between servers and clients).
Kodosky differs from the claim in that Kodosky fails to teach the visual display is based on a previously generated operator control and monitoring (i.e., interface). However, transmitting a visual display is based on a previously generated interface is taught by Stump (the dashboard 200 may be configured to facilitate two or more people accessing and editing the project simultaneously ... a user's computing device may make a local copy of the project to edit ... Differences or conflicts between the master and the local copy may be considered ... merging the local file with the master version)([0163] and [0164]).
The examiner notes Kodosky and Stump teach configuring industrial automation. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kodosky to include the transmitting of Stump such that a visual display based on a previously generated operator control and monitoring is transmitted. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of allowing multiple user to simultaneously access an interface for industrial automation.
Regarding claim 15, Kodosky teaches a method for displaying operator control and monitoring of a process plant via a computer-implemented configuration tool implemented on an engineering station server, the method comprising:
a) generating automation for a plurality of process components for the process plant by a first tool component of the computer-implemented configuration tool (present invention comprises a system and method for creating and using configuration diagrams for configuring systems … including control and/or modeling of instrumentation or industrial automation hardware … FIG. 5 illustrates an exemplary system which includes the distributed LabVIEW integrated development environment (IDE) ... include a system editor 732. The system editor may be used for creating a configuration diagram 712)([0009], [0120], [0149], and [0151]; Figure 5 - a computer-implemented configuration tool (i.e., IDE) includes a first component (i.e., configuration diagram) for automating process components for a plant (i.e., industrial hardware)), the first tool component assigning parameterization and interaction with further process components to each process component during generation of the automation (FIG. 29 illustrates a simple configuration diagram ... As shown, the user can select the configuration option on a first menu ... when the user selects the I/O selection ... to configure I/O channels)([0419], [0420], and [0421]; Figure 29 – using the configuration diagram for parameterization and interaction (e.g., configuration of I/O channels) is shown);
b) providing the automated process component, along with its parameterization and its interaction with further process components, for a second tool component of the computer-implemented configuration tool by the first tool component (“front panel” refers to a user interface wherein the user is able to interactively control or manipulate the input being provided to the graphical program and view resulting output ... FIG. 5 illustrates an exemplary system which includes the distributed LabVIEW integrated development environment (IDE) ... include one or more graphical programs, e.g., may include a block diagram and/or front panel 706 of a graphical program … In this example, the user has selected the RPM (Revolutions Per Minute) data point item … When the user associates ... a data point item onto the user interface or front panel of a program ... element may be “bound” to the data point … similar operations to those described above may be performed when the user associates ... other types of data points, such as an I/O element or channel)([0110], [0149], [0150], [0429] and [0431]; the configuration diagram provides a process component (e.g., RPM, I/O, etc.) to a second component (i.e., front panel));
c) generating operator control and monitoring for the plurality of process components of the process plant by the second tool component based on the automated process components obtained from the first tool component (the system may automatically create or display a GUI element, e.g., an indicator or control, in the user interface or front panel that is associated with this data point … the user can view this GUI element to monitor the value of the data point in a “live” fashion, and may optionally adjust the data point value or parameters associated with the data point value)([0429]); and
d) transmitting the generated operator control and monitoring to an operator station client of an operator station server of the process plant … visual display of the operator control and monitoring via the operator station client (the user may select an “Open Front Panel” option to view the front panel or user interface of the program ... Where the program is executing on a remote device, i.e., a device separate from the computer system, the panel or user interface information may be transferred to the main computer system 82 for display)([0285]; the IDE transmits the front panel with associated GUI elements to a remote user for controlling and monitoring);
wherein the first tool component in each case provides the second tool component with the automated process component, along with its parameterization and its interaction with further process components, such that the second tool component is not required to make any adjustments to the automated process component in order to integrate the automated process component into the operator control and monitoring of the plurality of process components of the process plant (The binding may be accomplished using data socket technology)([0489]; binding data using data socket technology does not require adjustments to the underlining component as data is shared via streaming); and
wherein the automated process component is provided to the second tool component by a displacement operation which is triggerable by a project engineer of the process plant and represents a graphical dragging movement or a copy and paste operation (FIG. 32 illustrates an example of a user selecting a data point item associated with a device icon (Controller1) and associating or dragging and dropping this data point item onto the user interface or front panel of a program)([0429]; Figure 32 – providing the front panel with a process component (i.e., RPM) by a displacement drag operation is shown).
Kodosky differs from the claim in that Kodosky fails to teach the visual display is based on a previously generated operator control and monitoring (i.e., interface). However, transmitting a visual display is based on a previously generated interface is taught by Stump (the dashboard 200 may be configured to facilitate two or more people accessing and editing the project simultaneously ... a user's computing device may make a local copy of the project to edit ... Differences or conflicts between the master and the local copy may be considered ... merging the local file with the master version)([0163] and [0164]).
The examiner notes Kodosky and Stump teach configuring industrial automation. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kodosky to include the transmitting of Stump such that a visual display based on a previously generated operator control and monitoring is transmitted. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of allowing multiple user to simultaneously access an interface for industrial automation.
Regarding claim 16, Kodosky-Stump teach he method as claimed in claim 15, wherein the second tool component offers the project engineer of the process plant a selection option upon acceptance of the automated process component such that the project engineer can select an embodiment of the automated process component for the operator control and monitoring from a plurality of options (although Kodosky fails to teach offering a plurality of selectable options of process components for user acceptance, said offering is taught by Stump (The dashboard 200 may also use historical data to suggest specific components ... FIG. 33 is a screenshot of the dashboard 200 in which the system is suggesting controllers ... FIG. 34 is a screenshot of the dashboard 200 in which the controller suggestions have been accepted (e.g., via user input) and the controllers are being added to the project)([0156] and [0158]; Figures 33 and 34 – offering suggested process components to a user and user acceptance of an offering is shown). The examiner notes Kodosky and Stump teach configuring industrial automation. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kodosky to include the offering of Stump such that a user is offered a plurality of selectable options of process components for user acceptance. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of reducing the amount of time for designing industrial automation).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider the reference fully when responding to this action. The document cited therein and enumerated below teaches a method and apparatus for using tools to configure components in a process plant.
US20120272215A1
US20070006143A1
US20200218240A1
US6802053B1
US7890927B2
US8010939B2
US11442439B2
WO2004029785A2
/YONGJIA PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118