DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on January 31, 2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the 202310099025.0 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 17, 2024, April 3, 2025, December 3, 2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Display Panels With Improved Anti-Reflective Performance and Display Devices.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the first electrode unit" in lines 15-16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination this will be interpreted as “a first electrode unit.”
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the first pixel definition layer" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination this will be interpreted as “the transparent first pixel definition layer.”
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the first pixel definition layer" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination this will be interpreted as “the transparent first pixel definition layer.”
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the first pixel definition layer" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination this will be interpreted as “the transparent first pixel definition layer.”
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the second pixel definition layer" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination this will be interpreted as “the transparent second pixel definition layer.”
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the first pixel definition layer" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination this will be interpreted as “the transparent first pixel definition layer.”
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the first electrode unit" in lines 17-18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination this will be interpreted as “a first electrode unit.”
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the first pixel definition layer" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination this will be interpreted as “the transparent first pixel definition layer.”
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the first pixel definition layer" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination this will be interpreted as “the transparent first pixel definition layer.”
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the first pixel definition layer" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination this will be interpreted as “the transparent first pixel definition layer.”
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the second pixel definition layer" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination this will be interpreted as “the transparent second pixel definition layer.”
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the first pixel definition layer" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination this will be interpreted as “the transparent first pixel definition layer.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8, 11, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin (US 2019/0206945).
Claim 1, Lin discloses (see annotated Fig. 1 below and Fig. 2) a display panel, comprising: a substrate (100, substrate, Para [0015]); a first electrode layer (A1/A2, first electrode, Para [0015]) disposed on a side of the substrate (A1/A2 is disposed on a top side of 100) and comprising a plurality of first electrode units (A1 and A2) arranged at intervals (A1 and A2 are arranged at intervals); a pixel definition layer (PDL/BM, pixel definition layer/shielding pattern layer, Para [0015]) disposed on a side of the first electrode layer (PDL/BM are disposed on a top side of A1/A2) away from the substrate (top side of A1/A2 is away from 100) and defining a plurality of pixel definition openings (openings between PDL/BM, hereinafter “pixel openings”) corresponding to the plurality of first electrode units (pixel openings corresponds to A1 and A2); a light-emitting layer (EL1/EL2, light emitting layer, Para [0015]) disposed on a side of the pixel definition layer away from the substrate (EL1/EL2 is disposed on a side surface of PDL away from 100) and covering the plurality of first electrode units exposed by the plurality of pixel definition openings (EL1/EL2 covers A1/A2 in pixel openings); and a light filter layer (CF1/CF2, color filter pattern layer, Para [0015]) disposed on a side of the light-emitting layer away from the substrate (CF1/CF2 is disposed on a top side of EL1/EL2 away from 100) and comprising a plurality of light filter units (CF1 and CF2) corresponding to the plurality of pixel definition openings (CF1 and CF2 corresponds to pixel openings); wherein each of the plurality of first electrode units (A1 and A2) comprises an edge part (edge) protruded from an edge of one of the plurality of pixel definition openings (edge protrudes from an edge of pixel openings) corresponding to a first electrode unit (each edge protrudes from a corresponding pixel openings of A1 or A2), the pixel definition layer (PDL/BM) comprises a light-shielding function layer (BM), an orthographic projection of the light-shielding function layer on the first electrode unit covers at least a portion of the edge part (an orthographic projection of BM covers edge, since BM overlaps edge) , and the light-shielding function layer (BM) and the light-emitting layer are arranged at intervals (EL1/EL2 are arranged at interval).
Claim 8, Lin discloses (see annotated Fig. 1 above and Fig. 2) The display panel according to claim 1, wherein the light-shielding function layer (BM) comprises a plurality of light holes (BM has holes V1/V2 as seen in Fig. 2, Para [0026]), and an orthographic projection of each of the plurality of light filter units on the light-shielding function layer cover respective one of the plurality of light holes (orthographic projection of CF1/CF2 covers V1/V2 since CF1/CF2 vertically overlaps V1/V2).
Claim 11, Lin discloses (see annotated Fig. 1 below and Fig. 2) a display device, comprising a housing (110, cover plate, under broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) is considered housing for the rest of the device, Para [0063]) and a display panel (all elements under 110) , wherein the housing defines an accommodating space, the display panel is disposed in the accommodating space (110 has a space under in which the rest of the elements are formed), and the display panel comprises: a substrate (100, substrate, Para [0015]); a first electrode layer (A1/A2, first electrode, Para [0015]) disposed on a side of the substrate (A1/A2 is disposed on a top side of 100) and comprising a plurality of first electrode units (A1 and A2) arranged at intervals (A1 and A2 are arranged at intervals); a pixel definition layer (PDL/BM, pixel definition layer/shielding pattern layer, Para [0015]) disposed on a side of the first electrode layer (PDL/BM are disposed on a top side of A1/A2) away from the substrate (top side of A1/A2 is away from 100) and defining a plurality of pixel definition openings (openings between PDL/BM, hereinafter “pixel openings”) corresponding to the plurality of first electrode units (pixel openings corresponds to A1 and A2); a light-emitting layer (EL1/EL2, light emitting layer, Para [0015]) disposed on a side of the pixel definition layer away from the substrate (EL1/EL2 is disposed on a side surface of PDL away from 100) and covering the plurality of first electrode units exposed by the plurality of pixel definition openings (EL1/EL2 covers A1/A2 in pixel openings); and a light filter layer (CF1/CF2, color filter pattern layer, Para [0015]) disposed on a side of the light-emitting layer away from the substrate (CF1/CF2 is disposed on a top side of EL1/EL2 away from 100) and comprising a plurality of light filter units (CF1 and CF2) corresponding to the plurality of pixel definition openings (CF1 and CF2 corresponds to pixel openings); wherein each of the plurality of first electrode units (A1 and A2) comprises an edge part (edge) protruded from an edge of one of the plurality of pixel definition openings (edge protrudes from an edge of pixel openings) corresponding to a first electrode unit (each edge protrudes from a corresponding pixel openings of A1 or A2), the pixel definition layer (PDL/BM) comprises a light-shielding function layer (BM), an orthographic projection of the light-shielding function layer on the first electrode unit covers at least a portion of the edge part (an orthographic projection of BM covers edge, since BM overlaps edge) , and the light-shielding function layer (BM) and the light-emitting layer are arranged at intervals (EL1/EL2 are arranged at interval).
Claim 18, Lin discloses (see annotated Fig. 1 above and Fig. 2) the display device according to claim 11, wherein the light-shielding function layer (BM) comprises a plurality of light holes (BM has holes V1/V2 as seen in Fig. 2, Para [0026]), and an orthographic projection of each of the plurality of light filter units on the light-shielding function layer cover respective one of the plurality of light holes (orthographic projection of CF1/CF2 covers V1/V2 since CF1/CF2 vertically overlaps V1/V2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US 2019/0206945) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Xiao (US 2021/0242433).
Claim 10, Lin discloses (see annotated Fig. 1 above and Fig. 2) the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the display panel further comprises a touch function layer (TP, touch structure layer, Para [0034]) disposed on a side of the pixel definition layer away from the substrate (TP is on PDL on a top side away from 100), wherein the touch function layer are covered by an orthographic projection of the light-shielding function layer (BM) on the substrate (TP is covered by an orthographic projection as seen in Fig. 1). Lin does not explicitly disclose wherein the touch function layer comprises a plurality of first touch electrodes and a plurality of second touch electrodes, and orthographic projections of the plurality of first touch electrodes and the plurality of second touch electrodes on the substrate are covered by the orthographic projection of the light-shielding function layer on the substrate. However, Xiao discloses (Fig. 18) a touch function layer 600 with a plurality of first and second touch electrodes 610 (which comprise sensing and driving touch electrodes which are not labeled), Para [0066]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the touch function layer of Lin to have sensing and driving touch electrodes as taught in Xiao as the two types of electrodes help the device realize the touch function capability (Xiao, Para [0066]). As a result, the sensing and driving touch electrodes of Xiao may be present in Lin as the plurality of first and second touch electrodes and orthographic projections of these would be covered by the BM layer. Claim 20, Lin discloses (see annotated Fig. 1 above and Fig. 2) the display device according to claim 11, wherein the display panel further comprises a touch function layer (TP, touch structure layer, Para [0034]) disposed on a side of the pixel definition layer away from the substrate (TP is on PDL on a top side away from 100), wherein the touch function layer are covered by an orthographic projection of the light-shielding function layer (BM) on the substrate (TP is covered by an orthographic projection as seen in Fig. 1). Lin does not explicitly disclose wherein the touch function layer comprises a plurality of first touch electrodes and a plurality of second touch electrodes, and orthographic projections of the plurality of first touch electrodes and the plurality of second touch electrodes on the substrate are covered by the orthographic projection of the light-shielding function layer on the substrate. However, Xiao discloses (Fig. 18) a touch function layer 600 with a plurality of first and second touch electrodes 610 (which comprise sensing and driving touch electrodes which are not labeled), Para [0066]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the touch function layer of Lin to have sensing and driving touch electrodes as taught in Xiao as the two types of electrodes help the device realize the touch function capability (Xiao, Para [0066]). As a result, the sensing and driving touch electrodes of Xiao may be present in Lin as the plurality of first and second touch electrodes and orthographic projections of these would be covered by the BM layer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 9, 12-17, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the 112 rejection above and in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior art of record, Lin (US 2019/0206945), Xiao (US 2021/0242433), fail to disclose (by themselves or in combination) the following limitations in combination with the rest of the claim:
Regarding Claim 2 (from which claims 3-7 depend), wherein the light-shielding function layer is disposed on a surface of a side of the transparent first pixel definition layer away from the substrate, and an orthographic projection of the transparent first pixel definition layer on each of the plurality of first electrode units covers an edge part corresponding to the first electrode unit.
Regarding Claim 9, wherein the plurality of light filter units comprise a red light filter unit, a blue light filter unit, and a green light filter unit, and a transmittance of each of the plurality of light filter units for light with a color corresponding to the light filter unit is larger than or equal to 43%.
Regarding Claim 12 (from which claims 13-17 depend), wherein the light-shielding function layer is disposed on a surface of a side of the transparent first pixel definition layer away from the substrate, and an orthographic projection of the transparent first pixel definition layer on each of the plurality of first electrode units covers an edge part corresponding to the first electrode unit.
Regarding Claim 19, wherein the plurality of light filter units comprise a red light filter unit, a blue light filter unit, and a green light filter unit, and a transmittance of each of the plurality of light filter units for light with a color corresponding to the light filter unit is larger than or equal to 43%.
Conclusion
/G.G.R/Examiner, Art Unit 2812