DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Therefore, the following claimed limitations (see below) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). The claimed limitations not shown are:
“a luffing winch” (see claim 41 line 11)
“an associated luffing wire” (see claim 41 line 11)
“a hoist” (claim 41 line 14)
“a hoisting winch” (claim 41 line 14)
“an associated hoisting wire” (claim 41 line 14)
“an upper sheave assembly” (claim 41 line 15)
“a lower sheave assembly” (claim 41 lines 15-16)
“a load coupling device” (claim 41 line 16)
“a wind turbine component engagement device” (claim 41 line 20)
“wherein the trolley is provided with a wind turbine component engagement device configured to pivotably support a wind turbine component at a top end thereof, or wherein the trolley is configured to receive a wind turbine component engagement device and/or a load coupling device supporting a wind turbine component engagement device” (see claim 41 lines 20-23, the figures do not appear to show the engagement device pivotally supporting a wind turbine device, the figures do not appear so show the trolley being configured to receive a wind turbine engagement device, and the figures do not appear to show a load coupling device supporting a wind turbine component engagement device).
“a boom securing device” (claim 42 lines 1-2)
“a stop” (claim 42 line 2)
“a boom locking device” (claim 42 line 3)
“a boom mobiliser (claim 43 lines 1-2)
“a boom section” (claim 45 lines 1-2)
“a base section” (claim 45 line 2)
wherein an active horizontal motion device is mounted between the trolley and the load coupling device, when received in the trolley, and/or a wind turbine component engagement device supported by the load coupling device, the active horizontal motion device being adapted to actively compensate for sea-state induced horizontal displacement of the wind turbine component engagement device in two non-parallel horizontal directions, while the wind turbine component is supported in an upright position by the wind turbine component engagement device (claim 46: An active horizontal motion device mounted between the trolley and the load coupling device is not clearly shown in the figures. Further, the receiving of the active horizontal motion device in the trolley and a wind turbine component engagement device supported by the load coupling device is not clearly shown in the figures.)
“a crane tower” (claim 47 lines 1-2)
“a base end” (claim 47 line 3)
“a top end (claim 47 line 3)
“a support trolley” (claim 47 line 7)
“a wind turbine component” (claim 47 line 7)
“a trolley guide” (claim 47 line 9)
“one or more rails” (claim 47 line 9)
“wherein the boom at the base end thereof comprises a gantry, and at the top end thereof comprises a gantry jib, and is provided with one or more gantry wires extending between the gantry and the gantry jib, and wherein the luffing wire extends between the luffing winch and the gantry of the boom.” (claim 50, figure 3 does not show a gantry at the base end of the boom, as figure 3 does not appear to show a gantry connected to the base end of the boom).
“a trolley hoist” (claim 55 lines 1-2)
“a trolley hoisting winch” (claim 55 line 2)
“an associated trolley hoisting wire” (claim 55 line 2)
“a crown block” (claim 55 line 3)
“a secondary hoist” (claim 56 lines 1-2)
“a secondary hoisting winch” (claim 56 line 2)
“an associated secondary hoisting wire” (claim 56 lines 2-3)
“a secondary load coupling device” (claim 56 line 3)
“a crown block” (claim 56 line 4)
“a cart track” (claim 57 line 6)
“a support cart” (claim 57 line 6)
“a gripper” (claim 57 line 11)
“a storage deck” (claim 58 lines 1-2)
“storage racks” (claim 58 line 3)
“a stern of the vessel” (claim 64 line 2)
“recess” (claim 65 line 1)
“two deck portions” (claim 65 line 2)
“a wind turbine assembly station” (claim 67 lines 1-2)
“a wind turbine assembly station” (claim 68 lines 3-4)
“a base” (claim 68 line 6)
“a dedicated trolley” (claim 68 lines 6-7)
“a connector” (claim 68 line 8)
“a wind turbine blade” (claim 68 lines 8-9)
“a blade support” (claim 68 line 9)
“a pivot arm” (claim 68 line 10)
“a second trolley” (claim 69 lines 2-3)
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 41-69 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 41, “a load coupling device” (lines 22-23) renders the claim indefinite because the limitation is unclear as whether the “a load coupling device” refers to 1) the load coupling device of line 16, or 2) a second load coupling device. For this office action, “a load coupling device” will be considered as referring to the load coupling device of line 16.
Regarding claim 42,”a boom securing device, the boom securing device comprising a stop for positioning the boom in the upend position” (lines 2-3) renders the claim indefinite because the limitation is unclear as to how a stop would function to position the boom in the upend position. How does the structure of a stop position the boom in the upend position? Stops in the art tend to prevent movement of a boom, not position the boom. Further, if the boom securing device is damper, how does the structure of a damper position the boom in the upend position? For this office action, prior art teaching of 1) structure that stops movement of a boom or 2) structure that positions a boom in the upend position will be considered obvious to the above limitation. Regarding claim 47, “a hoisting winch” (line 11) renders the claim indefinite because the limitation is unclear as whether the “a hoisting winch” refers to 1) the hoisting winch of claim 41 line 14, or 2) a second hoisting winch. For this office action, “a hoisting winch” will be considered as referring to the hoisting winch of claim 41 line 14.
Further regarding claim 47, “an associated hoisting wire” (line 11) renders the claim indefinite because the limitation is unclear as whether the “an associated hoisting wire” refers to 1) the associated hoisting wire of claim 41 line 14, or 2) a second associated hoisting wire. For this office action, “an associated hoisting wire” will be considered as referring to the associated hoisting wire of claim 41 line 14.
Regarding claim 50, “wherein the boom at the base end thereof comprises a gantry, and at the top end thereof comprises a gantry jib, and is provided with one or more gantry wires extending between the gantry and the gantry jib, and wherein the luffing wire extends between the luffing winch and the gantry of the boom.” renders the claim indefinite because the limitation does not appear to be consistent with the Disclosure. The limitation does not appear to be consistent with the Disclosure because figure 3 does not appear to show a gantry connected to the base end of the boom.
Further regarding claim 50, “wherein the boom at the base end thereof comprises a gantry, and at the top end thereof comprises a gantry jib, and is provided with one or more gantry wires extending between the gantry and the gantry jib, and wherein the luffing wire extends between the luffing winch and the gantry of the boom.” renders the claim indefinite because the limitation is unclear as to what claimed structure is provided with one or more gantry wires. What claimed structure is provided with one or more gantry wires? For this office action, the gantry will be considered as the claimed structure provided with one or more gantry wires.
Regarding claim 51, “the gripper” (line 1) lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 52, “a wind turbine component engagement device” (lines 1-2) renders the claim indefinite because the limitation is unclear as whether the “a wind turbine component engagement device” refers to 1) the wind turbine component engagement device of claim 41 line 20, or 2) a second wind turbine component engagement device. For this office action, “a wind turbine component engagement device” will be considered as referring to the wind turbine component engagement device of claim 41 line 20.
Further regarding claim 52, “a wind turbine component” (lines 2-3) renders the claim indefinite because the limitation is unclear as whether the “a wind turbine component” refers to 1) the wind turbine component of claim 41 line 21, or 2) a second wind turbine component. For this office action, “a wind turbine component” will be considered as referring to the wind turbine component of claim 41 line 21.
Regarding claim 54, “a wind turbine component engagement device” (lines 2-3) renders the claim indefinite because the limitation is unclear as whether the “a wind turbine component engagement device” refers to 1) the wind turbine component engagement device of claim 41 line 20, or 2) a second wind turbine component engagement device. For this office action, “a wind turbine component engagement device” will be considered as referring to the wind turbine component engagement device of claim 41 line 20.
Further regarding claim 54, “a wind turbine component” (line 3) renders the claim indefinite because the limitation is unclear as whether the “a wind turbine component” refers to 1) the wind turbine component of claim 41 line 21, or 2) a second wind turbine component. For this office action, “a wind turbine component” will be considered as referring to the wind turbine component of claim 41 line 21.
Please review all claims before the formal response is submitted, as any new 112(b) rejections introduced in the response may be grounds for a Final Rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 41, 48-49 and 52-56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clymans (US Patent 10,161,380 B2) in view of Vehmeijer (WO 2020/212409 A1).
Regarding claim 41, Clymans discloses a device and method for placing components of a structure (see figures 1-11B) comprising:
An upend crane (see figures 1-11B) configured to be supported by a hull of a vessel (see figure 1A) adjacent an upend deck (see figure 1A) of the vessel for upending of wind turbine components (21 and/or 22, see figures 1A), wherein the upend crane
comprises:
a crane base (50a, see figure 1A);
a crane housing (50b, see figure 1A) and a slew bearing (considered the slew bearing that allows 50a to turn rotatably around 50, see column 8 lines 42-43, and figure 1A) provided between the crane base and the crane housing (see figure 1A), wherein the slew bearing enables the crane housing to slew about a vertical slew axis (51, see figure 1A);
a boom (6, see figure 1A), wherein the boom extends between a base end (considered the end of the boom next to pivot point 6a, see figure 1A) and a top end (considered the other end of the boom), wherein the boom is, at the base end, pivotable supported by the crane housing about a horizontal boom pivot axis (6a, see figure 1A) for pivoting between a lowered position (see leftmost position of boom in figure 1A) for lifting a load at a distance from the crane base and a raised upend position (considered rightmost position of boom in figure 1A) for upending wind turbine components adjacent the crane base;
a hoist (see below), wherein the hoist comprises a hoisting winch (considered the hoist of cable 7) and an associated hoisting wire (main hoisting cable 7, see figure 1A), wherein the hoisting wire is guided via an upper sheave assembly (considered the sheave assembly at the upper end of boom 6, as shown in figure 1A) in the boom to a lower sheave assembly (considered the sheave assembly of hoisting tackle 8, see figures 2A-2C) of a load coupling device (8 and 81, see figure 2B) for coupling with a load (22, see figure 4A) to enable the crane to lift the load using the hoisting winch;
a trolley guide (108, 109, and/or 109’, see figure 2B) comprising one or more guide rails (109 and/or 109’, see figure 2B) mounted to the boom of the crane (see figure 2B); and
a trolley (103, 104, 108, and 30, see figures 2A-2C) coupled with the trolley guide for being guided along the boom of the crane (see figure 1A),
wherein the trolley is provided with a wind turbine component engagement device (301, 202, 303, and 111, see figures 4A-4B) configured to pivotably support (as guide cable 111 is unwound the wind turbine component swings, i.e. moves pivotably) a wind turbine component (21 and/or 22) at a top end thereof (see figure 4A-4B), or wherein the trolley is configured to receive a wind turbine component engagement device (301, 202, 303, and 111, see figures 4A-4B, see figures 1A-1B, 2A-2B, and figures 4A-4B) and/or a load coupling device supporting a wind turbine component engagement device (as shown in figure 4A and 1A, the trolley is configured to receive a load coupling device (8 and 81) supporting a wind turbine component engagement device (301, 202, 303, and 111, see figures 4A-4B)).
Clymans does not explicitly disclose a luffing winch and an associated luffing wire, wherein the luffing winch is mounted on the crane housing and the luffing wire extends between the luffing winch and the boom to enable pivoting of the boom between the lowered position and the raised upend position.
Vehmeijer discloses a vessel and method for installation of a pile adapted to support an offshore wind turbine (see figures 1-5) and teaches of the crane (10) being provided with a luffing cable (15, see figure 1) extending between an upper end of a crane housing (12) and a upper end of a boom (13), which luffing cable is configured to hauled and paid out using a luffing winch in order to set the an angular orientation of the boom relative to the crane housing, and the luffing winch may be arranged inside the crane housing (see page 5 lines 26-30).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the crane of Clymans by providing a luffing winch and an associated luffing wire, with the luffing winch is mounted on the crane housing and the luffing wire extending between the luffing winch and the boom, to provide luffing means to a crane to haul and pay out a luffing cable using a luffing winch to set the an angular orientation of a boom relative to a crane housing as taught by Vehmeijer, to use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way, and/or to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 48, Clymans further shows wherein the boom (6) comprises a jib (6), and wherein the upper sheave assembly is provided in the jib (see figures 1A-1B) such that the hoisting wire, when the load coupling device is received in the trolley, is positioned away from the boom (see figures 1A-1B, 2A-2C, and 4A-4C), and is positioned at the position of a central axis of a wind turbine component supported in a vertical position by the trolley (see figures 1A-1B, 2A-2C, and 4A-4C, especially figures 1A-1B).
Regarding claim 49, Clymans further shows wherein the part of the hoisting wire that extends between the trolley and the upper sheave assembly runs parallel to the trolley guide (when the hoisting block 80, as shown in figure 2B, is located closest to the boom 6, the hoisting wire extends parallel to the trolley guide).
Regarding claim 52, Clymans further shows wherein the trolley is provided with a wind turbine component engagement device (301, 202, 303, and 111, see figures 4A-4B) configured to pivotably support (as guide cable 111 is unwound the wind turbine component swings, i.e. moves pivotably) a wind turbine component (21 and/or 22) at the top end thereof (see figure 4A-4B), and wherein the trolley is configured to be coupled with the load coupling device of the hoist (see figures 1A-1B, 2A-2B, and figures 4A-4B).
Regarding claim 53, Clymans further shows wherein the trolley is configured to receive a wind turbine component engagement device (301, 202, 303, and 111, see figures 4A-4B) supported by the load coupling device of the hoist (see figures 1A-1B, 2A-2B, and figures 4A-4B).
Regarding claim 54, Clymans further shows wherein the trolley is configured to receive the load coupling device (8 and 81) of the hoist (see figures 1A-1B, 2A-2B, and figures 4A-4B), the load coupling device supporting a wind turbine component engagement device configured to pivotably support (as 8 and 81 can swing a load before contact with the trolley occurs) a wind turbine component at the top end thereof (see figures 1A-1B, 2A-2B, and figures 4A-4B).
Regarding claim 55, Clymans further shows wherein the crane further comprises a trolley hoist (see column 10 lines 54-57) comprising a trolley hoisting winch (considered the winch of the displacing device, see column 10 lines 54-57) with an associated trolley hoisting wire (considered the tensioning cable of the displacing device, see column 10 lines 54-57), and wherein the trolley hoisting wire is guided via (i.e. in the vicinity of) a crown block (considered the hoisting sheave of the displacing device, see column 10 lines 54-57) to the trolley for moving the trolley along the trolley guide (see figures 1A-1B, 2A-2B, and figures 4A-4B).
Regarding claim 56, Clymans does not explicitly disclose wherein the crane further comprises a secondary hoist comprising a secondary hoisting winch with an associated secondary hoisting wire supporting a secondary load coupling device configured to be connected to a load, and wherein the hoisting wire is guided via a crown block to the load coupling device for lifting a load at a distance from the crane base using the secondary hoisting winch.
Clymans teaches the crane comprises a hoist (see below) comprising a hoisting winch (considered the hoist of cable 7) with an associated hoisting wire (main hoisting cable 7, see figure 1A) supporting a load coupling device (8 and 81) configured to be connected to a load (21 and/or 22), and wherein the hoisting wire is guided via a crown block (considered the sheave assembly of hoisting tackle 8, see figures 2A-2C) to the load coupling device for lifting a load at a distance from the crane base using the hoisting winch (see figures 1A-1B, 2A-2B, and figures 4A-4B).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the crane of Clymans by providing a second hoist comprising a second hoisting winch with a second hoisting wire supporting a second load coupling device and the hoisting wire guided by a second crown block to the crane, to provide a hoisting assembly to a crane as taught by Clymans, to double the lifting capacity of the crane for the benefit lifting heavier wind turbine components, and/or to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claims 42-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clymans (US Patent 10,161,380 B2) in view of Vehmeijer (WO 2020/212409 A1) as applied to claims 41, 48-49 and 52-56 above, and further in view of Lissandre et al. (US 2019/0106304 A1).
Regarding claim 42, Neither Clymans nor Vehmeijer explicitly disclose wherein the crane further comprises a boom securing device, the boom securing device comprising a stop for positioning the boom in the upend position, and a boom locking device for securing the boom in the upend position.
Lissandre et al. (from here on just referred to as Lissandre) discloses a luffing jib crane with a device for locking the jib in a raised configuration (see figures 1-15, especially figures 4-7) and teaches of providing a boom securing device (3, see figures 1-15, especially figures 4-7), the boom securing device comprising a stop (3, see figures 4-7) for positioning the boom in the upend position (paragraph 0102 discloses that the cylinder 3 displaces a boom (2) between at least one lowered position and at least one raised position), and a boom locking device (4, 5, and 6) for securing the boom in the upend position (paragraphs 0111-0114 discloses the locking device locks the cylinder in a locking position), to displace a boom (see paragraph 0102), and to mechanically lock the boom in a deployed holding position (see paragraph 0111-0114).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the crane of Clymans as modified by Vehmeijer by providing 1) a stop for positioning the boom in the upend position between the boom and crane housing, and 2) a boom locking device between the stop/cylinder and boom for securing the boom in the upend position, to provide structure (or additional structure) to displace a boom as taught by Lissandre, to mechanically lock the boom in a deployed holding position as taught by Lissandre, and/or to increase the lifting capacity of the crane for the benefit lifting heavier wind turbine components.
Regarding claim 43, Neither Clymans nor Vehmeijer explicitly disclose wherein the crane further comprises a boom mobiliser for moving the boom out of the upend position.
Lissandre et al. (from here on just referred to as Lissandre) discloses a luffing jib crane with a device for locking the jib in a raised configuration (see figures 1-15, especially figures 4-7) and teaches of providing a boom mobiliser (3, see figures 1-15, especially figures 4-7) for moving the boom out of the upend position (paragraph 0102 discloses that the cylinder 3 displaces a boom (2) between at least one lowered position and at least one raised position), to displace a boom (see paragraph 0102).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the crane of Clymans as modified by Vehmeijer by providing a boom mobiliser between the boom and crane housing, to provide structure (or additional structure) to displace a boom as taught by Lissandre, and/or to increase the lifting capacity of the crane for the benefit lifting heavier wind turbine components.
Claim 47 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clymans (US Patent 10,161,380 B2) in view of Vehmeijer (WO 2020/212409 A1) as applied to claims 41, 48-49 and 52-56 above, and further in view of Oda et al. (US Patent 3,684,104).
Regarding claim 47, Neither Clymans nor Vehmeijer explicitly disclose the claim subject matter of this claim.
Clymans teaches a crane (see figures see figures 1-11B) comprising a crane tower (6, see figures 1A-1B) for supporting a wind turbine component (21 and/or 22, see figures 1A), wherein the crane tower extends between a base end (considered the end of the boom next to pivot point 6a, see figure 1A) and a top end (considered the other end of the boom) thereof, and wherein the crane tower is mounted in a fixed and upright position (as the boom is pivotally mounted and can be held in a fixed angle and upright position) on the crane housing (50b, see figure 1A), wherein the crane tower is provided with: a support trolley (103, 104, 108, and 30, see figures 2A-2C), configured to support a wind turbine component at the top end thereof (see figures 1A-1B); a trolley guide (108, 109, and/or 109’, see figure 2B) comprising one or more guide rails (109 and/or 109’, see figure 2B), for guiding the trolley along the crane tower (see figures 1A-1B); and a hoisting winch (considered the hoisting winch of the displacing device, see column 10 line 54 to column 11 line 30) and an associated hoisting wire (at least one of the wire of the winch of the displacing device, or the tensioning cable of the displacing device, see column 10 line 54 to column 11 line 30), wherein the hoisting wire is guided via the top of the crane tower (as the guide device 10 and the displacing device extend to the top of boom 6, see figures 1A-1B) for hoisting the trolley along the trolley guide for lifting and lowering the wind turbine component (see figures 1A-1B).
Oda et al. (from here on just referred to as Oda) discloses a twin-type slewing crane (see figures 1-7) comprising a crane tower (2’, see figures 1-2) on a side of a crane (considered the crane on the right side of figures 1-2) opposite a boom (4, see figures 1-2) of the crane. Oda teaches that cranes are to be used as a twin crane, the jibs or booms of the two cranes are arranged in parallel relation and operated concurrently, whereby a heavy load may be handled by a force which is twice that of the single crane (see column 1 lines 8-12).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the crane of Clymans as modified above by Vehmeijer by providing a second crane (i.e. crane tower) as taught by Clymans on a side opposite the side of the crane of Clymans as shown in figures 1A-1B, to handle a heavy load with a force which is twice that of a single crane as taught by Oda, and/or to provide better balanced lifting of a load by having two points of load lifting, as opposed a single point of lifting of a single crane.
With the modification above, the crane tower is rotatable with the boom of the first crane about (i.e. reasonably close to) the vertical slew axis of the first crane.
Claim 51 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clymans (US Patent 10,161,380 B2) in view of Vehmeijer (WO 2020/212409 A1) as applied to claims 41, 48-49 and 52-56 above, and further in view of Roodenburg (WO 2019/172752 A2, see US Publication 2021/0047009 A1 as an additional English Translation).
Regarding claim 51, Neither Clymans nor Vehmeijer explicitly disclose wherein the gripper is x-y compensated and configured to position a monopile, supported in an upright position, in the X-Y plane, and thus compensate for movement of the vessel relative to a monopile installation location.
Roodenburg discloses an adjustable pile holding system, vessel, and pile installation method (see figures 1-20, especially figures 2-4) and teaches a gripper (1 and PH, see figures 1-4) is x-y compensated (see directions SD and FD in at least figure 2) and configured to position a monopile (PI, see figures 1-4), supported in an upright position (see figures 1-4), in the X-Y plane (see figures 1-4), to hold a pile PI in an upright position at a pile installation location next to the vessel VE (see paragraph 0390, of US Publication 2021/0047009 A1).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the crane of Clymans as modified by Vehmeijer by providing a gripper (that is x-y compensated and configured to position a monopile, and supported in an upright position in the X-Y plane) to the vessel of Clymans that is supporting the crane, to hold a pile PI in an upright position at a pile installation location next to the vessel VE as taught by Roodenburg, to increase the variety of wind turbine components supported by the crane as the gripper works with the crane to support monopiles, and/or to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 44-46 and 57-69 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 50 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Clymans (US Patent 10,161,380 B2), Vehmeijer (WO 2020/212409 A1), Lissandre et al. (US 2019/0106304 A1) Roodenburg (WO 2019/172752 A2, see US Publication 2021/0047009 A1 as an additional English Translation) and Oda et al. (US Patent 3,684,104) are considered the closest prior art references to the claimed invention of dependent claims 44-46, 50 and 57-69.
Claim 44 claims:
“wherein the trolley guide extends from above to below the horizontal boom pivot axis when the boom is in the upend position.”
Important Note: Underlining is provided to point out the important area(s) of the limitation(s) above.
None of Clymans, Vehmeijer, Lissandre et al., Roodenburg, nor Oda et al. explicitly disclose the limitation(s) of “wherein the trolley guide extends from above to below the horizontal boom pivot axis when the boom is in the upend position.”, in conjunction with the limitations of independent claim 41.
Claim 45 claims:
“wherein the trolley guide comprises a boom section mounted to the boom of the crane, and a base section mounted to the base of the crane, and the trolley is configured to be lowered from the boom section onto the base section for coupling the trolley with a top end of a wind turbine component using the wind turbine component engagement device, and wherein the trolley is configured to be moved from the base section onto the boom section to upend the wind turbine component coupled to the trolley.”
Important Note: Underlining is provided to point out the important area(s) of the limitation(s) above.
None of Clymans, Vehmeijer, Lissandre et al., Roodenburg, nor Oda et al. explicitly disclose the limitation(s) of “wherein the trolley guide comprises a boom section mounted to the boom of the crane, and a base section mounted to the base of the crane, and the trolley is configured to be lowered from the boom section onto the base section for coupling the trolley with a top end of a wind turbine component using the wind turbine component engagement device, and wherein the trolley is configured to be moved from the base section onto the boom section to upend the wind turbine component coupled to the trolley.”, in conjunction with the limitations of independent claim 41.
Claim 46 claims:
“wherein an active horizontal motion device is mounted between the trolley and the load coupling device, when received in the trolley, and/or a wind turbine component engagement device supported by the load coupling device, the active horizontal motion device being adapted to actively compensate for sea-state induced horizontal displacement of the wind turbine component engagement device in two non-parallel horizontal directions, while the wind turbine component is supported in an upright position by the wind turbine component engagement device.”
Important Note: Underlining is provided to point out the important area(s) of the limitation(s) above.
None of Clymans, Vehmeijer, Lissandre et al., Roodenburg, nor Oda et al. explicitly disclose the limitation(s) of “wherein an active horizontal motion device is mounted between the trolley and the load coupling device, when received in the trolley, and/or a wind turbine component engagement device supported by the load coupling device, the active horizontal motion device being adapted to actively compensate for sea-state induced horizontal displacement of the wind turbine component engagement device in two non-parallel horizontal directions, while the wind turbine component is supported in an upright position by the wind turbine component engagement device.”, in conjunction with the limitations of independent claim 41.
Claim 50 claims:
“wherein the boom at the base end thereof comprises a gantry, and at the top end thereof comprises a gantry jib, and is provided with one or more gantry wires extending between the gantry and the gantry jib, and wherein the luffing wire extends between the luffing winch and the gantry of the boom.”
Important Note: Underlining is provided to point out the important area(s) of the limitation(s) above.
None of Clymans, Vehmeijer, Lissandre et al., Roodenburg, nor Oda et al. explicitly disclose the limitation(s) of “wherein the boom at the base end thereof comprises a gantry, and at the top end thereof comprises a gantry jib, and is provided with one or more gantry wires extending between the gantry and the gantry jib, and wherein the luffing wire extends between the luffing winch and the gantry of the boom.”, in conjunction with the limitations of independent claim 41.
Claim 57 claims:
“An installation vessel for installation of wind turbine components, the installation vessel comprising:
a hull, the hull forming an upend deck;
the upend crane according to claim 41, wherein the upend crane is supported by the hull of the vessel adjacent the upend deck;
a cart track, extending along the upend deck;
a support cart for supporting a bottom end of the wind turbine component, wherein the support cart is supported by the cart track to enable the cart to move along the cart track for guiding the bottom end of the wind turbine component along the upend deck from a position distal from the crane to a position adjacent the crane; and
a gripper, the gripper extending outside a contour of the vessel.”
Important Note: Underlining is provided to point out the important area(s) of the bolded limitation(s) above.
None of Clymans, Vehmeijer, Lissandre et al., Roodenburg, nor Oda et al. explicitly disclose the limitation(s) of 1) “the upend crane according to claim 41, wherein the upend crane is supported by the hull of the vessel adjacent the upend deck” and 2) “a support cart for supporting a bottom end of the wind turbine component, wherein the support cart is supported by the cart track to enable the cart to move along the cart track for guiding the bottom end of the wind turbine component along the upend deck from a position distal from the crane to a position adjacent the crane”, in conjunction with the remaining limitations of dependent claim 57 and the limitations of independent claim 41.
Claims 58-69 depend on claim 57.
Conclusion
/JJC/
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654