DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first and second sub-holes of claim 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the third active layer" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 3 and 5 recite the limitation “a boundary” in line 6. The term "boundary" is not clearly defined in the specification (e.g., is it the edge, center, or midpoint). Accordingly, the 0.5–5 µm measurement cannot be accurately determined, making the claim indefinite.
The other claims are rejected as being dependent on an indefinite base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are, to the extent taught and understood, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 5,943,574 (Tehrani, patent family member of JP 2001-044279, cited by Applicant).
Tehrani discloses
1. (Original) A semiconductor device, comprising:
a substrate 10;
a first active layer 17, disposed on the substrate 10;
a first insulation layer 20, covering the first active layer 17; and
a second active layer 36, disposed on the first insulation layer 20, wherein the first insulation layer 20 is provided with a first via hole 25, and the third active layer 35 is disposed in the first via hole 25 and connects the first active layer 17 and the second active layer 36.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tehrani, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,772,904 (Kim).
Tehrani discloses
2. (Original) The semiconductor device according to claim 1, further comprising:
a first conductive layer 30, disposed in the first insulation layer 20 and comprising a gate (col. lines ) provided with a first opening 26,
Tehrani fails to disclose
wherein in a top view, the first via hole is disposed in the first opening.
Kim teaches
A semiconductor device comprising:
a first insulation layer 13 is provided with a first via hole 13”;
a first conductive layer 14, disposed in the first insulation layer 13 and comprising a gate (column 3, lines 26-44) provided with a first opening 14”, wherein in a top view (not shown, but the hole and the opening are aligned), the first via hole 13” is disposed in the first opening 14”.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the hole in an opening in Tehrani. The motivation would be driven by the need for high-density, low-parasitic, and high-performance interconnects. Such a structure typically enables precise, self-aligned contacts to the source/drain regions while maintaining electrical isolation from the surrounding gate as taught by Kim (column 4, lines 42-46).
Claim 3-5, 7, 8 is/are, to the extent taught and understood rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Tehran in view of Kim as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0258340 (Luo).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
The combination of references fails to teach
3. (Original) The semiconductor device according to claim 2, wherein the third active layer comprises:
a main body part, disposed in the first via hole; and
an extension part, connected to the main body part and disposed between the second active layer and the first insulation layer, wherein in the top view, an orthographic projection of a boundary of the main body part on the extension part is located within a boundary of the extension part.
Luo teaches
A semiconductor device comprising:
wherein the third active layer 7 comprises:
a main body part (middle portion), disposed in the first via hole 8; and
an extension part (top left and right portions), connected to the main body part (middle portion) and disposed between the second active layer 6 and the first insulation layer 4 / 28, wherein in the top view (not shown), an orthographic projection of a boundary of the main body part (middle portion) on the extension part (top left and right portions) is located within a boundary of the extension part (top left and right portions).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the third active layer with a main body part and an extension part in the modified device of Tehrani. The motivation would be to ensure that the area of the TFT projected in the direction of the array substrate is reduced based on higher mobility as taught by Luo ([0026]).
Luo teaches
4. (Original) The semiconductor device according to claim 3, wherein in the top view, the extension part (top left and right portions) partially overlaps the gate 5.
It would have been obvious to select the distance range by routine optimization. See MPEP 2144.05.
5.(Original) The semiconductor device according to claim 4, wherein a distance between the boundary of the extension part and the boundary of the main body part is greater than or equal to 0.5 microns and is less than or equal to 5 microns.
The combination of references fails to teach
7. (Original) The semiconductor device according to claim 2, wherein the first insulation layer comprises:
a first insulation sub-layer, covering the first active layer; and
a second insulation sub-layer, covering the first conductive layer, wherein the second active layer is disposed on the second insulation sub-layer.
Luo teaches
A semiconductor device comprising:
wherein the first insulation layer 4 / 28 comprises:
a first insulation sub-layer 11, covering the first active layer 3; and
a second insulation sub-layer 12, covering the first conductive layer 5, wherein the second active layer 6 is disposed on the second insulation sub-layer 12.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide first and second insulating sub-layers in the modified device of Tehrani. The motivation would be to form a multi-layer insulator which is well-known in the art as shown in Lou. See MPEP 2144.03.
It would have been obvious to select the thickness range by routine optimization. See MPEP 2144.05.
8. (Original) The semiconductor device according to claim 7, wherein a film thickness of the first conductive layer 5 ranges between 0.05 microns and 1 micron (Lou, [0048]), a thickness of the first insulation sub-layer ranges between 0.05 microns and 0.5 microns, and a thickness of the second insulation sub-layer ranges between 0.05 microns and 0.5 microns.
Claim 13 is/are, to the extent taught and understood rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Tehran as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0258340 (Luo).
Tehran fails to disclose
13. (Original) The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the first via hole has a shape of a circular truncated cone.
Luo teaches (Fig. 5)
A semiconductor device comprising:
wherein the first via hole 8 has a shape of a circular truncated cone.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a hole having a certain shape in Tehrani. The motivation would be a determination of the optimum based on routine engineering design considerations ([0045]). See MPEP 2144.04.
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tehran in view of Kim and Luo as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0208631 (Xiong).
The combination of references fails to teach
6. (Original) The semiconductor device according to claim 3, wherein the first via hole comprises a first sub-hole and a second sub-hole communicated with each other in a thickness direction
Xiong teaches (at least Figs. 1A, 1B)
A semiconductor device comprising:
wherein the first via hole 136 comprises a first sub-hole 136a and a second sub-hole 136b communicated with each other in a thickness direction, a size of the second sub-hole is greater than a size of the first sub-hole. ([0033], the via 136 includes a wide cylindrical opening 136a and a narrow cylindrical opening 136b, where the two cylindrical openings 136a and 136b are electrically connected)
Xiong teaches the general concept of a via hole formed in two stages—such as a "dual-drill" process—where a wide top portion (first sub-hole) and a narrower bottom portion (second sub-hole) are aligned to form a single continuous hole. Given the "broadest reasonable interpretation" (BRI) of a sub-hole, a single, complex-shaped via hole is interpreted to encompass a hole created by two smaller sub-holes.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide sub-holes for the main body part and the extension part in the modified device of Tehrani. The motivation would be sub-holes may provide improved signal integrity and reduce crosstalk as taught by Xiong ([0033]-[0040]).
Claim 9, 10 is/are, to the extent taught and understood rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tehran as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 6,107,660 (Yang).
Tehran fails to disclose
9. (Original) The semiconductor device according to claim 1, further comprising:
a second conductive layer, disposed between the substrate and the first active layer and comprising a first electrode; and
a second insulation layer, covering the second conductive layer and provided with a second via hole, wherein the first active layer is electrically connected to the first electrode through the second via hole.
Yang teaches
A semiconductor device comprising:
a second conductive layer 24, disposed between the substrate 20 and the first active layer 36 and comprising a first electrode (doped polysilicon); and
a second insulation layer 26, covering the second conductive layer 24 and provided with a second via hole 32, wherein the first active layer 36 is electrically connected to the first electrode 24 through the second via hole 32.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a second conductive layer and a second insulating layer in Tehrani. The motivation would be to provide a contact to the first active layer which can act as a doped region (source or drain), which are all well-known elements of a vertical semiconductor device that reduces occupied area and increases packing density as taught by Yang (Background).
Yang teaches
10. (Original) The semiconductor device according to claim 9, further comprising:
a third insulation layer 42, covering the second active layer 40 and provided with a third via hole 44c; and
a third conductive layer (not shown), disposed on the third insulation layer 42, and comprising:
a second electrode (not shown); and
an electrode connecting part (not shown), spaced apart from the second electrode (not shown), wherein the second electrode (not shown) is electrically connected to the second active layer 40 through the third via hole 44c, and the electrode connecting part (not shown) is electrically connected to the first electrode 24 through a fourth via hole 44a that penetrates through the third insulation layer 42, the first insulation layer 30, and the second insulation layer 26.
Claim 11, 12 is/are, to the extent taught and understood rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tehran in view of Yang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0367081 (Yan).
The combination of references fails to teach
11.(Original) The semiconductor device according to claim 10, wherein the first electrode comprises:
a first electrode part;
a second electrode part; and
a third electrode part, connected between the first electrode part and the second electrode part, wherein in a top view, the first electrode part partially overlaps the first active layer, and the second electrode part partially overlaps the electrode connecting part.
Yan teaches
A semiconductor device comprising:
wherein the first electrode 400 / 410 / 160 comprises:
a first electrode part 400;
a second electrode part 160; and
a third electrode part 410, connected between the first electrode part 400 and the second electrode part 160, wherein in a top view (Fig. 5), the first electrode part 400 partially overlaps the first active layer 100, and the second electrode part 410 partially overlaps the electrode connecting part 400.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the first electrode having three parts in the modified device of Tehrani. The motivation would be to reduce leakage current as taught by Yan ([0033]-[0037]).
Yan teaches
12. (Original) The semiconductor device according to claim 11, wherein a width of the third electrode part 410 is less than a width of the second electrode part 160, and the width of the second electrode part 160 is less than a width of the first electrode part 400.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication Nos. 2017/0271375 (Sasaki, patent family member of CN 10-7204362, cited by Applicant), 2018/0358388 (Zhao), 2023/0350257 (Muramoto), 2024/0234577 (Li) teach a vertical semiconductor device.
/TERESA M. ARROYO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893