Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 9 of the Applicant’s Response, Applicant: “information (e.g., NB-MIB). However, it is respectfully submitted that the combination of Qu and Xue fails to teach or suggest the amended claimed relationship in which the deployment- mode indication from system information or UE-specific configuration is used as the basis for interpreting the separately signaled DCI third indication. While Qu describes DCI field structures and mode-dependent TBS spans and Xue describes mode acquisition via NB-MIB, the rejection does not identify a teaching or suggestion of the specific first-indication/third-indication dependency as now set forth in the amended independent claims.“.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s argument. Qu discloses the different MCS/TBS tables that are applied to NB-IOT devices based on the deployment mode and modulation order. For example, Qu discloses a in-band deployment with 16QAM modulation requires MCS indices 11 to 17 that correspond to TBSs 11 to 17 while in-band deployment with QPSK modulation requires MCS indices 0-10 that correspond to TBSs 0 to 10. Similarly, a standalone or guard-band deployment with 16QAM modulation requires MCS indices 14 to 21 that correspond to TBSs 14 to 21 while a standalone or guard-band deployment with QPSK modulation requires MCS indices 0-13 that correspond to TBSs 0 to 13 (paragraphs 179-183). Since the NB-IOT DCI format only has 4 bits MCS field (Table 1.1), the NB-IOT DCI can not include all MCS/TBS indices for 16QAM configurations. Qu proposes the NB-IOT interpret the NB-IOT DCI fields differently based on the deployment mode when 16QAM is indicated in the NB-IOT DCI to determine the MCS/TBS indices. In one embodiment, Qu discloses the 16QAM is indicated as a MCS field value such as “1111”; if the deployment mode is in-band, then 3 bits in the repetition field are interpreted as the MCS/TBS range of 11 to 17; and if the deployment mode is standalone or guard-band, then 3 bits in the repetition field are interpreted as the MCS/TBS range of 14 to 21. The mapping of different MCS/TBS index ranges to the repetition bits reads on the limitation “interpreting, based on the first indication of said deployment mode, the third indication of the range of TBS indices for 16-QAM as a range of TBS indices for 16-QAM in said deployment mode indicated in the first indication”.
On page 9 of the Applicant’s Response, Applicant: “Furthermore, it is respectfully submitted that the Office Action does not adequately explain why a person of ordinary skill in the art would have combined the mode indication signaling of Xue with the DCI signaling of Qu in the specific manner claimed. In the absence of a teaching or suggestion of this mode-dependent interpretation logic, the combination of Qu and Xue fails to reach the subject matter of the amended independent claims“.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s argument. Qu expressly discloses the NB-IOT device uses its deployment mode to interpret the DCI for MCS/TBS indices (discussed above). Qu is silent on how the NB-IOT device is configured with its deployment mode. Xue discloses the deployment mode can be configured by a NB-MIB, i.e. system information (paragraph 166-169). The combination would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since messaging allows the NB-IOT device to be configured/reconfigured as needed in the network.
In view of the above discussions the rejection of claims 1-19, 21, 23, and 24 still stands.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-13, 15-19, 21, 23, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qu et al. (US 2024/0030942) (“Qu”) in view of Xue et al. (US 2020/0036466) (“Xue”).
For claims 1, 10, 19, 21, 23, and 24; Qu discloses: receiving, from a network node, information comprising: a second indication of use of 16-quadrature amplitude modulation, 16-QAM, (paragraph 207-210, Table 2.1, 2.2: Standalone or Guard-Band deployment modes, refer to Table 2.1…the first state is “1111”, the first modulation scheme is the 16QAM…in-band deployment mode, refer to Table 2.2…first state is “1111”, the first modulation scheme is the 16QAM) and a third indication of a range of transport block size, TBS, indices for 16-QAM (paragraph 214-216, Table 2.3, Table 2.4: the MCS index needs to be determined based on a state of a field indicating the MCS index of the first modulation scheme in the DCI, to further determine a TBS index of the first modulation scheme. Table 2.3 shows an indication manner used when the TBS indexes of the 16QAM are 14 to 21, and Table 2.4 shows an indication manner used when the TBS indexes of the 16QAM are 11 to 17); and interpreting, based on the first indication of said deployment mode, the third indication of the range of TBS indices for 16-QAM as a range of TBS indices for 16-QAM in said deployment mode indicated in the first indication, (paragraph 179, 185, 195-216, Table 2.1, 2.2, 2.2, 2.4: There are two deployment modes during downlink transmission: Standalone or Guard-Band (Standalone or Guard-Band, SA/GB), and In-Band (In-Band, IB). In the SA/GB deployment mode, the MCS indexes of the QPSK correspond to the TBS indexes 0 to 13 in the TBS table, and MCS indexes of the 16QAM correspond to the TBS indexes 13 to 21 in the TBS table. In the D3 mode, the MCS indexes of the QPSK correspond to the TBS indexes 0 to 10 in the TBS table, and MCS indexes of the 16QAM correspond to the TBS indexes 11 to 17 in the TBS table), and wherein the second indication of the use of 16-QAM and the third indication of the range of TBS indices for 16-QAM are received from the network node in downlink control information, DCI (paragraph 179, 185, 195-216, Table 2.1, 2.2, 2.2, 2.4: scheduling in the new modulation scheme can be indicated by the DCI. An embodiment of this application provides a data transmission method, to further optimize allocation of bit values in the DCI, ensure that all TBS indexes are fully indicated, and reduce overheads caused by increasing bit values in the DCI).
Qu does not expressly disclose, but Xue from similar fields of endeavor teaches: a first indication of a deployment mode for communication, wherein the first indication of said deployment mode is received from the network node in at least one of: system information, or UE specific configuration (paragraph 166-169, fig. 26: An NB-IoT device may detect an NB-MIB, and then acquire operation mode information and related parameters (for example, channel information, CRS-related information, and so on) for further processing). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling as described by Xue in the NB-IOT configuration as described by Qu. The motivation is to improve interpretation of standard DCI fields.
For claim 2 and 11; Qu discloses: wherein the deployment mode comprises one of: a Stand-alone deployment, a Guard-band deployment, and an In-band deployment (paragraph 207-210, Table 2.1, 2.2: Standalone or Guard-Band deployment modes, refer to Table 2.1…the first state is “1111”, the first modulation scheme is the 16QAM…in-band deployment mode, refer to Table 2.2…first state is “1111”, the first modulation scheme is the 16QAM) (paragraph 179, 185, 195-216, Table 2.1, 2.2, 2.2, 2.4: There are two deployment modes during downlink transmission: Standalone or Guard-Band (Standalone or Guard-Band, SA/GB), and In-Band (In-Band, IB). In the SA/GB deployment mode, the MCS indexes of the QPSK correspond to the TBS indexes 0 to 13 in the TBS table, and MCS indexes of the 16QAM correspond to the TBS indexes 13 to 21 in the TBS table. In the D3 mode, the MCS indexes of the QPSK correspond to the TBS indexes 0 to 10 in the TBS table, and MCS indexes of the 16QAM correspond to the TBS indexes 11 to 17 in the TBS table).
For claim 3 and 12; Qu discloses: wherein said interpreting the range of TBS indices for 16-QAM further comprises: in a case where the first indication indicates the Stand-alone or Guard-band deployment, interpreting the range of TBS indices for 16-QAM as a range of TBS indices spanning from 14 to 21 for 16-QAM in the Stand-alone or Guard-band deployment; and in a case where the first indication indicates the In-band deployment, interpreting the range of TBS indices for 16-QAM as a range of TBS indices spanning from 11 to 17 for 16-QAM in the In-band deployment (paragraph 207-210, Table 2.1, 2.2: Standalone or Guard-Band deployment modes, refer to Table 2.1…the first state is “1111”, the first modulation scheme is the 16QAM…in-band deployment mode, refer to Table 2.2…first state is “1111”, the first modulation scheme is the 16QAM) (paragraph 179, 185, 195-216, Table 2.1, 2.2, 2.2, 2.4: There are two deployment modes during downlink transmission: Standalone or Guard-Band (Standalone or Guard-Band, SA/GB), and In-Band (In-Band, IB). In the SA/GB deployment mode, the MCS indexes of the QPSK correspond to the TBS indexes 0 to 13 in the TBS table, and MCS indexes of the 16QAM correspond to the TBS indexes 13 to 21 in the TBS table. In the D3 mode, the MCS indexes of the QPSK correspond to the TBS indexes 0 to 10 in the TBS table, and MCS indexes of the 16QAM correspond to the TBS indexes 11 to 17 in the TBS table).
For claim 4 and 13; Qu discloses the subject matter in claim 1 as described above in the office action.
Qu does not expressly disclose, but Xue from similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the system information comprises: MasterInformationBlock-Narrowband, MIB-NB, mapped to Narrowband Physical Broadcast Channel, NPBCH, for anchor carriers, or SystemInformationBlockType22-NB-r14 for non-anchor carriers (paragraph 166-169, fig. 26: An NB-IoT device may detect an NB-MIB, and then acquire operation mode information and related parameters (for example, channel information, CRS-related information, and so on) for further processing). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling as described by Xue in the NB-IOT configuration as described by Qu. The motivation is to improve interpretation of standard DCI fields.
For claim 6 and 15; Qu discloses: wherein the use of 16-QAM is indicated in one of reserved states of a modulation and coding scheme, MCS, field in the DCI (paragraph 207-210, Table 2.1, 2.2: Standalone or Guard-Band deployment modes, refer to Table 2.1…the first state is “1111”, the first modulation scheme is the 16QAM…in-band deployment mode, refer to Table 2.2…first state is “1111”, the first modulation scheme is the 16QAM) and the range of TBS indices for 16-QAM in said deployment mode is indicated in at least a subset of bits in a repetition field in the DCI (paragraph 214-216, Table 2.3, Table 2.4: the MCS index needs to be determined based on a state of a field indicating the MCS index of the first modulation scheme in the DCI, to further determine a TBS index of the first modulation scheme. Table 2.3 shows an indication manner used when the TBS indexes of the 16QAM are 14 to 21, and Table 2.4 shows an indication manner used when the TBS indexes of the 16QAM are 11 to 17).
For claim 7 and 16; Qu discloses: wherein the reserved state of the MCS field in the DCI for indicating the use of 16-QAM is represented by multiple bits in the MCS field in the DCI (paragraph 207-210, Table 2.1, 2.2: Standalone or Guard-Band deployment modes, refer to Table 2.1…the first state is “1111”, the first modulation scheme is the 16QAM…in-band deployment mode, refer to Table 2.2…first state is “1111”, the first modulation scheme is the 16QAM).
For claim 8 and 17; Qu discloses: wherein in the case where the first indication indicates the In-band deployment, a first range of TBS indices spanning from 11 to 13 for 16-QAM in the In-band deployment is indicated in a modulation and coding scheme, MCS, field in DCI; and a second range of TBS indices spanning from 14 to 17 for 16-QAM in the In-band deployment is indicated in at least a subset of bits in a repetition field in the DCI (paragraph 267-268, Table 4.1, 4.4: when the DCI indicates both the first modulation scheme and the second modulation scheme, a length of the MCS field is N1+1 bits, and indicates the MCS index of the first modulation scheme or the second modulation scheme…FIG. 4B is a schematic diagram of a structure of DCI…a field from which 1 bit is reduced is the repetition field).
For claim 9 and 18; Qu discloses: wherein the use of 16-QAM is indicated in a single bit in the DCI (paragraph 190: Alternatively, the new 1 bit may be “0”, indicating that another bit value in the MCS field represents a corresponding MCS index in the 16QAM modulation scheme. The new 1 bit may be “1”, indicating that another bit value in the MCS field represents a corresponding MCS index in the QPSK modulation scheme).
Claim(s) 5 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qu in view of Xue as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rathonyi et al. (US 2018/0249511) (“Rathonyi”).
For claim 5 and 14; Qu discloses the subject matter in claim 1 as described above in the office action.
Qu does not expressly disclose, but Rathonyi from similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the system information comprises: wherein the UE specific configuration comprises DL-CarrierConfigDedicated-NB for non-anchor carriers (paragraph 57: configurations for non-anchor carriers signaled in Rel-13 as part of Msg4 within CarrierConfigDedicated-NB-r13, i.e. the parameter UL-CarrierConfigDedicated-NB-r13 for UL and the parameter DL-CarrierConfigDedicated-NB-r13 for DL). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling as described by Rathonyi in the NB-IOT configuration as described by Qu. The motivation is to improve UE specific configuration like power boosting.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yerramalli et al. (US 2016/0021661); Yerramalli discloses LTE/LTE-A communication system may support one or more modes of operation or deployment in a licensed radio frequency spectrum band (e.g., a radio frequency spectrum band for which apparatuses do not contend for access because the radio frequency spectrum band is licensed to users for uses, such as for LTE/LTE-A communications) and/or an unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN D BLANTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466